DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species III in the reply filed on December 3, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are not independent or distinct because they are not mutually exclusive. Examiner agrees with Applicant, the restriction requirement, as set forth in the Office action mailed on October 16, 2025, has been reconsidered and the restriction requirement of is fully withdrawn.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on December 30, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Chinese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 – 7, 13 – 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 and 13 recites the limitation "the acquisition orientation” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 and 13 recites the limitations "the optical output assembly”, “the output orientation”, “the first direction”, and “the second direction” in lines 2, 5, 6 and 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitations "the optical output assembly” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitations " the first direction is a direction faced by the first side surface, the second direction is a direction faced by the second side surface, and a third direction is a direction faced by a third side surface; and the first direction is the direction facing the first side, the second direction is the direction facing the second side, and the third direction is the direction facing the third side”. These limitations seem to contradict each other. Is the first direction facing the first side surface or faced by the first side surface? For purposes of art examiner, broadest reasonable interpretation will be exercised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schirdewahn (US 2012/0001999).
Regarding claim 1, Schirdewahn discloses an accessory device comprising: a first body (170) including a first functional assembly (camera 170) (fig. 3, 4; ¶21); a first connection assembly (172) connected to the first body (fig. 3, 4; ¶23); and a second body (173) connected to the first connection assembly and including a first communication assembly configured to be electrically connected to an electronic device (fig. 4; ¶25-26); wherein: the first functional assembly has a functional orientation (fig. 3; ¶23: such that the camera may be tilted downwards from a start position to an end position); and a position relationship between the first body and the second body is changed according to the first connection assembly to change the functional orientation of the first functional assembly (fig. 7, 9; ¶51: if tilt reaches threshold, mode switches).
Regarding claim 2, Schirdewahn disclose the limitations of claim 1. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein: the first connection assembly is a rotatable connection assembly (172) (fig. 3-4); and the first functional assembly includes at least one of: an optical acquisition assembly with an acquisition orientation (camera 170); or an optical output assembly with an output orientation.
Regarding claim 3, Schirdewahn disclose the limitations of claim 1. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein: the second body includes a second connection assembly detachably connected to the electronic device (¶26: detachable USB interface between camera interface and controller); and after the second connection assembly is connected to the electronic device, a position relationship between the accessory device and the electronic device is maintained, and the first communication assembly is electrically connected to the electronic device (figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 4, Schirdewahn disclose the limitations of claim 1. Schirdewahn also teaches further comprising: a first detection assembly configured to obtain a detection result representing a function mode of the first functional assembly (fig. 7; ¶47-49: S2 sensor signal); and a response assembly configured to respond to a detection result to adjust a functional parameter of the first functional assembly (figs. 7; ¶51: S5, switch mode and modify image).
Regarding claim 5, Schirdewahn disclose the limitations of claim 4. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein the first detection assembly is configured to: obtain a first trigger operation and determine the function mode of the first functional assembly based on the first trigger operation; or detect the functional orientation of the first functional assembly and determine the function mode of the first functional assembly based on the functional orientation (figs. 7; ¶47-51: detect position and switch mode and modify image).
Regarding claim 6, Schirdewahn disclose the limitations of claim 5. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein: the first functional assembly is an optical acquisition assembly (camera 170); the function mode includes a first mode and a second mode (¶28: document camera mode function 222 according to the present invention, and optionally a normal mode function 223); the first detection assembly is configured to determine that the acquisition orientation of the optical acquisition assembly is a first direction in the first mode (¶23: In the start position, the camera 170 is oriented forward, such that it captures at least parts of a person sitting on a chair in front of the desktop system), and the acquisition orientation is a second direction in the second mode (¶23: At the other end of the camera's rotational dynamic range, the camera is oriented downwards such that the camera captures at least parts of a document placed on a desk in front of the desktop system); and the response assembly is configured to collect an image in the first mode with a third direction as a positive direction and an image in the second mode with a fourth direction as the positive direction (¶23, 28).
Claim(s) 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wada (US 2017/0115549).
Regarding claim 1, Wada discloses an accessory device comprising: a first body (17) including a first functional assembly (camera 23/LEDs 45) (fig. 4; ¶43-45); a first connection assembly (37) connected to the first body (fig. 2; ¶35-36); and a second body (19) connected to the first connection assembly and including a first communication assembly (27) configured to be electrically connected to an electronic device (fig. 2; ¶27-30); wherein: the first functional assembly has a functional orientation (fig. 3, 5, 6, 8: such that the camera/LED may be tilted downwards from a start position to an end position); and a position relationship between the first body and the second body is changed according to the first connection assembly to change the functional orientation of the first functional assembly (fig. 3, 5, 6, 8: tilting changes orientation of camera/LEDs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 – 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schirdewahn in view of Martinez (US 8,432,485).
Regarding claim 8, Schirdewahn discloses an accessory device comprising: a first body (170) including a first functional assembly (camera 170) (fig. 3, 4; ¶21); a first connection assembly (172) connected to the first body (fig. 3, 4; ¶23); and a second body (173) connected to the first connection assembly and including a first communication assembly configured to be electrically connected to an electronic device (fig. 4; ¶25-26); wherein: the first functional assembly has a functional orientation (fig. 3; ¶23: such that the camera may be tilted downwards from a start position to an end position); and a position relationship between the first body and the second body is changed according to the first connection assembly to change the functional orientation of the first functional assembly (fig. 7, 9; ¶51: if tilt reaches threshold, mode switches). Schirdewahn also teaches an electronic device (100) including: a third body in a plate shape including a first side surface and a second side surface (110), a display assembly (120) having a display function being arranged on the second side surface (fig. 3, 5, 6, 9). Schirdewahn fails to explicitly disclose an electronic device including: a third body in a plate shape including a first side surface and a second side surface, a display assembly having a display function being arranged on the second side surface; a third connection assembly connected to the third body; a fourth body connected to the third connection assembly and including a third side surface and a fourth side surface that are opposite to each other, an input assembly having an input function being arranged at the third side surface; wherein a second communication assembly is arranged at the first side surface and configured to be electrically connected to the first communication assembly.
In a similar field of endeavor, Martinez teaches providing image capturing modules which can be embedded into thin displays (e.g., in laptop computers) while providing for improved image quality, wherein the laptop includes an upper portion 120 (corresponding to the third body) with a display and a lower portion 110 (corresponding to the fourth body) with a keyboard (corresponding to the input assembly) (fig. 1). The laptop includes a webcam connected to the upper portion via connector 340 (corresponding to second communication assembly) (fig. 3J; c.7; ll.45-50). In light of the teaching of Martinez, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Martinez’s teaching in Schirdewahn’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in a webcam module which can easily switch from one position to another, provides for improved image quality, and can fit into different small spaces.
Regarding claim 9, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 8. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein: the first connection assembly is a rotatable connection assembly (172) (fig. 3-4); and the first functional assembly includes at least one of: an optical acquisition assembly with an acquisition orientation (camera 170); or an optical output assembly with an output orientation.
Regarding claim 10, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 8. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein: the second body includes a second connection assembly detachably connected to the electronic device (¶26: detachable USB interface between camera interface and controller); and after the second connection assembly is connected to the electronic device, a position relationship between the accessory device and the electronic device is maintained, and the first communication assembly is electrically connected to the electronic device (figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 11, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 8. Schirdewahn also teaches further comprising: a first detection assembly configured to obtain a detection result representing a function mode of the first functional assembly (fig. 7; ¶47-49: S2 sensor signal); and a response assembly configured to respond to a detection result to adjust a functional parameter of the first functional assembly (figs. 7; ¶51: S5, switch mode and modify image).
Regarding claim 12, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 11. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein the first detection assembly is configured to: obtain a first trigger operation and determine the function mode of the first functional assembly based on the first trigger operation; or detect the functional orientation of the first functional assembly and determine the function mode of the first functional assembly based on the functional orientation (figs. 7; ¶47-51: detect position and switch mode and modify image).
Regarding claim 13, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 12. Schirdewahn also teaches wherein: the first functional assembly is an optical acquisition assembly (camera 170); the function mode includes a first mode and a second mode (¶28: document camera mode function 222 according to the present invention, and optionally a normal mode function 223); the first detection assembly is configured to determine that the acquisition orientation of the optical acquisition assembly is a first direction in the first mode (¶23: In the start position, the camera 170 is oriented forward, such that it captures at least parts of a person sitting on a chair in front of the desktop system), and the acquisition orientation is a second direction in the second mode (¶23: At the other end of the camera's rotational dynamic range, the camera is oriented downwards such that the camera captures at least parts of a document placed on a desk in front of the desktop system); and the response assembly is configured to collect an image in the first mode with a third direction as a positive direction and an image in the second mode with a fourth direction as the positive direction (¶23, 28).
Regarding claim 15, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 8. Martinez also teaches wherein: the third body includes a first end (top) and a second end (bottom) opposite to each other, the second end being connected to the third connection assembly (fig. 1); the fourth body includes a third end (end closest to display) and a fourth end opposite to each other, the third end being connected to the third connection assembly (fig. 1); the third body and the fourth body rotate relative to each other through the third connection assembly (c.2, ll.15-20: disclose closing laptop); and the second communication assembly is arranged at the first end (fig. 1, 4; camera at top).
Regarding claim 16, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 8. Martinez also teaches wherein: the first functional assembly includes an optical acquisition assembly (webcam 410); an angle between the third body and the fourth body is between 90° and 180°; after the accessory device is connected to the electronic device, the first body and the second body rotate to cause the acquisition orientation to be switched between a first direction and a second direction; and the first direction is a direction faced by the first side surface, and the second direction is a direction facing by the second side surface (fig. 1, 4; c.8, ll.25-30: webcam module to rotate both clockwise and counterclockwise--allowing the lens to point to the front or rear of the notebook display).
Regarding claim 17, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 8. Martinez also teaches wherein: the first functional assembly includes the optical output assembly; an angle between the third body and the fourth body is between 90° and 180°; after the accessory device is connected to the electronic device, the first body and the second body rotate to cause the output orientation to be switched among a first direction, a second direction, and a third direction; and the first direction is a direction faced by the first side surface, the second direction is a direction faced by the second side surface, and a third direction is a direction faced by a third side surface; and the first direction is the direction facing the first side, the second direction is the direction facing the second side, and the third direction is the direction facing the third side (fig. 4; illumination 128).
Regarding claim 18, Schirdewahn in view of Martinez disclose the limitations of claim 8. Martinez also teaches wherein the electronic device includes a second functional assembly, and a performance parameter of the first functional assembly is better than a performance parameter of the second functional assembly; or the first functional assembly is configured to improve an operation environment of the second functional assembly (fig. 1, 4; LED illuminate keyboard).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639