DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 10, and 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Published Patent Application No. 2018/0130912 to Tateno et al.
Regarding claim 1, Tateno et al. teach a method of fabricating a graphene-based solid-state device, the method (Figs. 4 – 5, for example) including the following steps:
disposing a graphene layer (12) on a substrate (10),
depositing a sacrificial layer (16) on the graphene layer, the sacrificial layer being made of a non-polymeric dielectric material (¶ [0017]),
patterning the graphene layer (Fig. 4C) by defining at least one channel region (¶ [0019]), wherein
the patterning is done by applying a lithographic process followed by an etching process using a resist layer, thus obtaining a patterned graphene layer (¶ [0019]), wherein
the graphene layer has been protected against contamination from the resist layer by the sacrificial layer,
patterning on the graphene layer (Fig. 5A) a geometry of at least one metallic contact to be deposited, and
depositing the at least one metallic contact (¶ [0019], 24, 26, 28) on the graphene layer.
Regarding claim 2, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the substrate is made of a material comprising silicon carbide (¶ [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the substrate is formed by two layers, wherein one of the layers is made of one of silicon and the other is made of glass (¶ [0015]; silicon carbide often has a glass form).
Regarding claim 4, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein prior to disposing the at least one graphene layer on the substrate, the substrate is cleaned to remove impurities and increase hydrophilicity ¶ [0015].
Regarding claim 5, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the at least one graphene layer is deposited, transferred or grown on the substrate (¶ [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the sacrificial layer is deposited using atomic layer deposition (ALD) (¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the non-polymeric dielectric material of which the sacrificial layer is made is an inorganic oxide (¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the inorganic oxide is A12O3 (¶[0017]).
Regarding claim 10, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the patterning of the at least one graphene channel is done as follows: applying a wet etching technique to dissolve the area of the sacrificial layer not covered by resist layer, exposing the graphene layer(s) underneath, and applying a dry etching technique to remove the area of graphene layer(s) not covered by the stack formed by sacrificial layer and resist layer (¶ [0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the patterning on the graphene layer of the geometry of the at least one metallic contact to be deposited is done as follows: depositing a mask layer on the graphene layer, creating an inverse pattern in the mask layer by removing the mask layer in the selected areas where the metal is to be deposited, and leaving the mask layer in the regions to be protected (¶ [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the at least one metallic contact is deposited as follows: applying a metallic layer, and lifting off the remaining mask layer, thus removing the metal deposited on the remaining mask layer, so that the at least one metallic contact remains only in the regions where metal has a direct contact with the graphene layer (¶ [0019]).
Regarding claim 14, Tateno et al. teach a method, wherein the geometry of the at least one metallic contact (28) to be deposited is patterned within the graphene channel and separate from the lateral sides of the graphene channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateno et al.
Regarding claim 7, Tateno et al. do not teach a method, wherein the thickness of the sacrificial layer is selected to be between 1k and 100µm. Tateno et al. do not teach or suggest the optimal thickness of the sacrificial layer. It would have been obvious and necessary for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to find the optimal thickness of the sacrificial layer through routine experimentation since it is desirable for the sacrificial layer to provide the expected protection of the graphene layer.
Regarding claim 11, Tateno et al. teach a method wherein the graphene layer not covered by resist is dry etched (¶ [0018]). Tateno et al. do not teach wherein the sacrificial layer is also dry etched. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to also use dry etching to pattern the sacrificial layer, since it is desirable to manufacture devices economically and removing the wet etching step would have reduced the cost of manufacture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 8,673,703 to Lin et al. teach forming a graphene layer on a substrate and patterning the layer using a photoresist. Lin et al. do not teach forming a sacrificial layer on the graphene before patterning.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897