DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Invention I (claims 1-15) and Species B (Fig.4) in the response of 9 December, 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant avers claims 2-3, 8-12 and 16-20 should be withdrawn as drawn to nonelected inventions and species.
One traversal is on the grounds that Figs 5a-c, listed as different species C-E in the requirement, are different views of the same configuration. In this case, as the applicant has not elected any of species C-E nor expressed the desire to elect a combination of species C-E, this argument is moot.
Another traversal is on the grounds that shorthand nomenclature was used to refer to groups of figures, for example in the restriction, “Fig.6” was used to refer to all of Figs.6a-e. However, it is clear that when Figs.6a-e are present, for example, “Fig.6” is referring to all of Figs.6a-e. Therefore, this argument is found to be unpersuasive.
This restriction requirement is hereby made final. Claims 2-3, 8-12 and 16-20 are withdrawn, and claims 1, 4-7 and 13-15 are examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: fluid control mechanism in claims 1, 6-7 and 13-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Bendele et al. (US 2012/0095391).
In regards to Claim 1, Bendele discloses a connector arranged and configured to couple a tube set to an endoscope, the connector comprising:
a housing [Fig.8b], the housing comprising:
a first fluid inlet [inlet of 442, Fig.8b, para.98: this is for a water flow path];
a second fluid inlet [inlet of 440, Fig.8b, para.98: this is for an air flow path];
a first fluid outlet [432, Fig.8b, para.98] in selective fluid communication with the first fluid inlet;
a second fluid outlet [430, Fig.8b, para.98] in fluid communication with the second fluid inlet; and
a flow control mechanism [444, 446, 448, Fig.8b, para.98-99: This is equivalent to applicant’s “flow control mechanism” 434, Fig.4, para.75, which is also a duckbill valve: This is 112 (f) interpretation of the term “flow control mechanism”] configured to selectively fluidly couple the first fluid outlet with the first fluid inlet [para.98-99].
In regards to claim 4, Bendele discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the flow control mechanism comprises a valve [Fig.8b, para.99].
In regards to claim 5, Bendele discloses the connector of claim 4, wherein the valve is a duckbill valve [Fig.8b, para.99].
In regards to claim 6, Bendele discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the flow control mechanism is over molded with the housing [Fig.8b:The device could be constructed in this fashion. Further, it is inside the housing.].
In regards to claim 7, Bendele discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein the flow control mechanism is configured to open at a predetermined minimum pressure [para.98].
In regards to Claim 13, Bendele discloses a connector arranged and configured to couple a tube set to an endoscope, the connector comprising:
a housing [Fig.8b], the housing comprising:
a first fluid inlet [inlet of 442, Fig.8b, para.98: this is for a water flow path];
a second fluid inlet [inlet of 440, Fig.8b, para.98: this is for an air flow path];
a first fluid outlet [432, Fig.8b, para.98] in selective fluid communication with the first fluid inlet;
a second fluid outlet [430, Fig.8b, para.98] in fluid communication with the second fluid inlet; and
a flow control mechanism [444, 446, 448, Fig.8b, para.98-99: This is equivalent to applicant’s “flow control mechanism” 434, Fig.4, para.75, which is also a duckbill valve: This is 112 (f) interpretation of the term “flow control mechanism”] configured to selectively fluidly couple the first fluid outlet with the first fluid inlet [para.98-99].
wherein the first and second fluid outlets are configured to be coupled to an endoscope [para.98-99: First outlet 432 is explicitly designated for coupling to an endoscope, second outlet 430 implicitly designated so, as it is part of the air flow path that is configured to be coupled to an endoscope.] and when the first and second fluid outlets are uncoupled from the endoscope the flow control mechanism is configured to fluidly isolate the first fluid outlet from the first fluid inlet [para.98, if used in an appropriate fashion].
In regards to claim 14, Bendele discloses the connector of claim 13, wherein the flow control mechanism is configured to selectively open at a predetermined minimum pressure [para.98].
In regards to claim 15, Bendele discloses the connector of claim 13, wherein the flow control mechanism is configured to selectively open upon coupling of the connector with the endoscope [para.98: if coupled to an appropriate endoscope].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakajima (US 4,748,970)
Suzuki et al. (US 5,879,288)
/AARON B FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795