DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of 63/414,193 filed 10/07/2022 and 18/377,098 filed 10/05/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dybro et al. (USPGPub 2014/0230392). As per claim 1, Dybro discloses a harvester row unit comprising: a first deck plate having a first stripping edge (see at least paragraph 0096; wherein right and left stripper plates, also known as deck plates, 1228, 1230); a second deck plate having a second stripping edge (see at least paragraph 0096; wherein right and left stripper plates, also known as deck plates, 1228, 1230), wherein the first and second stripping edges are facing and spaced apart for defining a stalk gap therebetween (see at least paragraph 0097; wherein stripper plates 1228, 1230 comprise plates having inner edges spaced apart); a first gathering chain extending over the first deck plate, the first gathering chain comprising a plurality of sweeping lugs adapted to traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of gathering units 1232, 1234 comprises driveshaft 1240, drive sprocket 1242, idler shaft 1244, idler sprocket 1246, gathering chain 1248, and chain tensioning assembly 1250. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242); a second gathering chain extending over the second deck plate, the second gathering chain comprising a plurality of sweeping lugs adapted to traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of gathering units 1232, 1234 comprises driveshaft 1240, drive sprocket 1242, idler shaft 1244, idler sprocket 1246, gathering chain 1248, and chain tensioning assembly 1250. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242); and, one or more kernel brushes secured to the sweeping lugs (see at least Figure 14; item 1248), the kernel brushes comprising: brush bodies (see at least Figure 14); sweeping portions secured to the brush bodies (see at least Figure 14) and, mounting blocks (see at least Figure 14); wherein the sweeping lugs each comprise a lug wall (see at least Figure 14); wherein the brush bodies and mounting blocks sandwich the lug walls therebetween (see at least Figure 14); and, wherein one or more fasteners extend through the lug walls and connect the brush bodies to the mounting blocks for thereby securing the kernel brushes to the sweeping lugs (see at least Figure 14). As per claim 4, Dybro discloses comprising one or more stalk gap rails mounted to the first and second deck plates adjacent to and extending along the first and second stripping edges, wherein as the sweeping lugs traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap, the sweeping lugs engage and traverse across the stalk gap rails (see at least Figure 14). As per claim 5, Dybro discloses wherein the stalk gap rails are elastically compressible (see at least paragraph 0104; wherein each of stripper plates 1328, 1330 is movably supported such that at least portions of each of stripper plates 1328, 1330 are transversely movable towards and away from one another to adjust the size or width of throat or channel 1324). As per claim 6, Dybro discloses wherein the sweeping lugs further comprise lug cavities extending therein and to the lug walls, and the mounting blocks are inserted into the lug cavities and abut the lug walls (see at least Figure 14). As per claim 7, Dybro discloses wherein the sweeping lugs further comprise one or more lug mounting bores, wherein the brush bodies comprise one or more brush fastener bores, wherein the mounting blocks comprise one or more block fastener bores, wherein lug mounting bores, the brush fastener bores, and the block fastener bores can be aligned with each other, and wherein brush bodies and mounting blocks are secured to the sweeping lugs by one or more fasteners which are inserted through the aligned lug mounting bores, brush fastener bores, and block fastener bores (see at least Figure 14). As per claim 8, Dybro discloses wherein the fasteners comprise nuts and bolts, wherein the mounting blocks further comprise one or more fastener slots intersecting the block fastener bores, and wherein the nuts are received into the fastener slots and are thereby aligned with the block fastener bores (see at least Figure 14). As per claim 22, Dybro discloses a harvester row unit comprising: a first deck plate having a first stripping edge (see at least paragraph 0096; wherein right and left stripper plates, also known as deck plates, 1228, 1230); a second deck plate having a second stripping edge (see at least paragraph 0096; wherein right and left stripper plates, also known as deck plates, 1228, 1230), wherein the first and second stripping edges are facing and spaced apart for defining a stalk gap therebetween (see at least paragraph 0097; wherein stripper plates 1228, 1230 comprise plates having inner edges spaced apart); a first gathering chain extending over the first deck plate, the first gathering chain comprising a plurality of sweeping lugs adapted to traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of gathering units 1232, 1234 comprises driveshaft 1240, drive sprocket 1242, idler shaft 1244, idler sprocket 1246, gathering chain 1248, and chain tensioning assembly 1250. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242); a second gathering chain extending over the second deck plate, the second gathering chain comprising a plurality of sweeping lugs adapted to traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of gathering units 1232, 1234 comprises driveshaft 1240, drive sprocket 1242, idler shaft 1244, idler sprocket 1246, gathering chain 1248, and chain tensioning assembly 1250. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242); one or more kernel brushes secured to the sweeping lugs with one or more fasteners (see at least Figure 14; item 1248), the kernel brushes comprising: brush bodies adapted to be secured to the sweeping lugs with the fasteners (see at least Figure 14); and, sweeping portions secured to the brush bodies (see at least Figure 14); one or more stalk gap rails mounted to the first and second deck plates adjacent to and extending along the first and second stripping edges, the stalk gap rails comprising upper rail surfaces (see at least Figure 14); wherein a first deck trough is defined above the first deck plate and between the first gathering chain and the one or more stalk gap rails extending along the first stripping edge, and a second deck trough is defined above the second deck plate and between the second gathering chain and the one or more stalk gap rails extending along the second stripping edge (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends through a corresponding opening 1254 in bight 1244 of frame 1226 (shown in FIG. 16). Drive sprockets 1242 cooperate with idler sprockets 1246 to support and drive gathering chain 1248); and, wherein as the sweeping lugs traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap, the sweeping lugs engage and traverse across the upper rail surfaces and the sweeping portions extend past the upper rail surfaces and into the first and second deck troughs (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends through a corresponding opening 1254 in bight 1244 of frame 1226 (shown in FIG. 16). Drive sprockets 1242 cooperate with idler sprockets 1246 to support and drive gathering chain 1248). As per claim 24, Dybro discloses wherein the kernel brushes further comprise mounting blocks, wherein the sweeping lugs each comprise a lug wall, and wherein the kernel brushes are secured to the sweeping lugs by sandwiching the lug walls between the brush bodies and mounting blocks and extending the fasteners through the brush bodies, through the lug walls, and through the mounting blocks (see at least Figure 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dybro et al. (USPGPub 2014/0230392) in view of Gengerke (USPGPub 2017/0164555). As per claim 2, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the sweeping portions comprise a plurality of bristles/fibers which are secured to the brush bodies by tufting. However Gengerke does disclose: wherein the sweeping portions comprise a plurality of bristles/fibers which are secured to the brush bodies by tufting (see at least paragraph 0011; wherein a plurality of sweeping brushes or scrapers are attached to the paddles and are adapted to move loose kernels from the stripper plates into the combine's thresher auger so as to become part of the yield). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gengerke with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce yield loss during harvesting, see Gengerke paragraph 0004. As per claim 3, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the sweeping portions comprise a plurality of bristles or fibers which are secured to the brush bodies by an adhesive. However Gengerke does disclose: wherein the sweeping portions comprise a plurality of bristles or fibers which are secured to the brush bodies by an adhesive (see at least paragraph 0011; wherein a plurality of sweeping brushes or scrapers are attached to the paddles and are adapted to move loose kernels from the stripper plates into the combine's thresher auger so as to become part of the yield). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gengerke with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce yield loss during harvesting, see Gengerke paragraph 0004.
Claims 9-12, 15-18, 20-21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dybro et al. (USPGPub 2014/0230392) in view of Gramm et al. (USPGPub 2021/0378174). As per claim 9, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the fastener slots are sized and shaped such that the nuts are prevented from rotating therein. However Gramm does disclose: wherein the fastener slots are sized and shaped such that the nuts are prevented from rotating therein (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gramm with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the shearing or cutting of the stalks so they are completely severed into the desired stalk segment lengths, see Gramm paragraph 0087. As per claim 10, Gramm discloses wherein the fastener slots comprise alignment seat portions which are adapted to engage and align the nuts with the block fastener bores (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). As per claim 11, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the brush fastener bores are counterbored such that the fasteners recess into the brush fastener bores. However Gramm does disclose: wherein the brush fastener bores are counterbored such that the fasteners recess into the brush fastener bores (see at least Figure 32). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gramm with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the shearing or cutting of the stalks so they are completely severed into the desired stalk segment lengths, see Gramm paragraph 0087. As per claim 12, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the brush bodies further comprise locating protrusions which align with, and are received into, corresponding lug mounting bores for supporting and preventing the brush bodies from rotating about the fasteners. However Gramm does disclose: wherein the brush bodies further comprise locating protrusions which align with, and are received into, corresponding lug mounting bores for supporting and preventing the brush bodies from rotating about the fasteners (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gramm with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the shearing or cutting of the stalks so they are completely severed into the desired stalk segment lengths, see Gramm paragraph 0087. As per claim 15, Dybro discloses a harvester row unit comprising: a first deck plate having a first stripping edge (see at least paragraph 0096; wherein right and left stripper plates, also known as deck plates, 1228, 1230); a second deck plate having a second stripping edge (see at least paragraph 0096; wherein right and left stripper plates, also known as deck plates, 1228, 1230), wherein the first and second stripping edges are facing and spaced apart for defining a stalk gap therebetween (see at least paragraph 0097; wherein stripper plates 1228, 1230 comprise plates having inner edges spaced apart); a first gathering chain extending over the first deck plate, the first gathering chain comprising a plurality of sweeping lugs adapted to traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of gathering units 1232, 1234 comprises driveshaft 1240, drive sprocket 1242, idler shaft 1244, idler sprocket 1246, gathering chain 1248, and chain tensioning assembly 1250. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242); a second gathering chain extending over the second deck plate, the second gathering chain comprising a plurality of sweeping lugs adapted to traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap (see at least paragraph 0099; wherein each of gathering units 1232, 1234 comprises driveshaft 1240, drive sprocket 1242, idler shaft 1244, idler sprocket 1246, gathering chain 1248, and chain tensioning assembly 1250. Each of drive shafts 1240 extends from and is driven by a gearbox 1252 to rotationally drive sprocket 1242); one or more kernel brushes secured to the sweeping lugs (see at least Figure 14; item 1248) by fasteners comprising nuts and bolts (see at least Figure 14), the kernel brushes comprising: brush bodies having brush fastener bores and fastener slots intersecting the brush fastener bores (see at least Figure 14); sweeping portions secured to the brush bodies (see at least Figure 14); wherein the sweeping lugs each comprise a lug wall having one or more lug mounting bores (see at least Figure 14). Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the brush bodies are mounted to the lug walls by receiving the nuts into the fastener slots, placing the brush bodies adjacent the lug walls, aligning the brush fastener bores with the lug mounting bores, and inserting the bolts through the lug mounting bores and into the brush fastener bores whereat the bolts threadingly engage the nuts. However Gramm does disclose: wherein the brush bodies are mounted to the lug walls by receiving the nuts into the fastener slots, placing the brush bodies adjacent the lug walls, aligning the brush fastener bores with the lug mounting bores, and inserting the bolts through the lug mounting bores and into the brush fastener bores whereat the bolts threadingly engage the nuts (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gramm with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the shearing or cutting of the stalks so they are completely severed into the desired stalk segment lengths, see Gramm paragraph 0087. As per claim 16, Gramm discloses wherein the fastener slots are sized and shaped to prevent the nuts from rotating therein (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). As per claim 17, Gramm discloses wherein the fastener slots include alignment seat portions adapted to engage and align the nuts with the brush fastener bores (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). As per claim 18, Dybro discloses wherein the sweeping lugs further comprise lug cavities extending therein and to the lug walls, and wherein the brush bodies are at least partially inserted into the lug cavities (see at least Figure 14). As per claim 20, Dybro discloses further comprising one or more stalk gap rails mounted to the first and second deck plates adjacent to and extending along the first and second stripping edges, wherein as the sweeping lugs traverse adjacent to and along the stalk gap, the sweeping lugs engage and traverse across the stalk gap rails (see at least Figure 14).
As per claim 21, Dybro discloses wherein the brush bodies are secured to the sweeping lugs such that the sweeping portions are positioned inboard of the stalk gap rails (see at least Figure 14). As per claim 23, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the fasteners comprise nuts and bolts, wherein the brush bodies comprise brush fastener bores adapted to receive the bolts and brush fastener slots intersecting with the brush fastener bores and adapted to receive and align the nuts with the brush fastener bores, and wherein the brush bodies are secured to the sweeping lugs by receiving the nuts into the brush fastener slots, extending the bolts through the sweeping lugs, and receiving the bolts into the brush fastener bores whereat the bolts threadingly engage the nuts. However Gramm does disclose: wherein the fasteners comprise nuts and bolts, wherein the brush bodies comprise brush fastener bores adapted to receive the bolts and brush fastener slots intersecting with the brush fastener bores and adapted to receive and align the nuts with the brush fastener bores, and wherein the brush bodies are secured to the sweeping lugs by receiving the nuts into the brush fastener slots, extending the bolts through the sweeping lugs, and receiving the bolts into the brush fastener bores whereat the bolts threadingly engage the nuts (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gramm with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the shearing or cutting of the stalks so they are completely severed into the desired stalk segment lengths, see Gramm paragraph 0087. As per claim 25, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the fasteners comprise nuts and bolts, wherein the mounting blocks further comprise block fastener bores adapted to receive the bolts and block fastener slots intersecting with the block fastener bores and adapted to receive and align the nuts with the block fastener bores, and wherein the kernel brushes are secured to the sweeping lugs by receiving the nuts in the block fastener slots, extending the bolts through the brush bodies and the sweeping lugs, and receiving the bolts into the block fastener bores whereat the bolts threadingly engage the nuts. However Gramm does disclose: wherein the fasteners comprise nuts and bolts, wherein the mounting blocks further comprise block fastener bores adapted to receive the bolts and block fastener slots intersecting with the block fastener bores and adapted to receive and align the nuts with the block fastener bores, and wherein the kernel brushes are secured to the sweeping lugs by receiving the nuts in the block fastener slots, extending the bolts through the brush bodies and the sweeping lugs, and receiving the bolts into the block fastener bores whereat the bolts threadingly engage the nuts (see at least paragraph 0107; wherein nuts and bolts (not shown) threadably secure the steel plates 370-1, 370-2 to the stalk roll shafts 313, 323 through the apertures 372 in the plates and apertures 315 in the stalk roll shafts 313, 323). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gramm with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the shearing or cutting of the stalks so they are completely severed into the desired stalk segment lengths, see Gramm paragraph 0087.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dybro et al. (USPGPub 2014/0230392) in view of Rottinghaus (USPGPub 2011/0113744). As per claim 13, Dybro does not explicitly mention wherein the kernel brushes further comprise wear plates secured to the brush bodies such that the brush bodies are sandwiched between the wear plates and the lug walls, and wherein the wear plates are constructed from a high wear-resistant material. However Rottinghaus does disclose: wherein the kernel brushes further comprise wear plates secured to the brush bodies such that the brush bodies are sandwiched between the wear plates and the lug walls, and wherein the wear plates are constructed from a high wear-resistant material (see at least paragraph 0071; wherein the upper end of each of the first and second mounting bolts 440, 442 is adapted for secure engagement with the combination of a washer 453 and a press fit coupler 452. While only one washer 453 and press fit coupler 452 is shown in FIG. 23 for simplicity, the upper end of each of the mounting bolts 440, 442 is adapted to receive a respective combination of a washer and press fit coupler as shown by arrows 454 and 454b in the figure. Each of the press fit couplers 452 is preferably comprised of metal or a high strength plastic and securely attaches the upper end of a respective mounting bolt to stripper bar 428). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Rottinghaus with the teachings as in Dybro. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the manner in which the corn stalks are separated from an ear of corn, are reduced to small pieces of vegetation, and are discharged form the combine, see Rottinghaus paragraph 0010.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dybro et al. (USPGPub 2014/0230392), in view of Rottinghaus (USPGPub 2011/0113744), and further in view of Calmer (USPGPub 2024/0114836). As per claim 13, Rottinghaus discloses wherein the wear plates are constructed from a material selected from the group consisting of steel, aluminum, ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene, high-density polyethylene, and nylon (see at least paragraph 0071; wherein the upper end of each of the first and second mounting bolts 440, 442 is adapted for secure engagement with the combination of a washer 453 and a press fit coupler 452. While only one washer 453 and press fit coupler 452 is shown in FIG. 23 for simplicity, the upper end of each of the mounting bolts 440, 442 is adapted to receive a respective combination of a washer and press fit coupler as shown by arrows 454 and 454b in the figure. Each of the press fit couplers 452 is preferably comprised of metal or a high strength plastic and securely attaches the upper end of a respective mounting bolt to stripper bar 428). Dybro and Rottinghaus do not explicitly mention wherein the brush bodies and mounting blocks are constructed from a material selected from the group consisting of a glass filled acetal copolymer, ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene, high-density polyethylene, and nylon. However Calmer does disclose: wherein the brush bodies and mounting blocks are constructed from a material selected from the group consisting of a glass filled acetal copolymer, ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene, high-density polyethylene, and nylon (see at least paragraph 0045; wherein the ear guide 20, chain guide 27, and extractor 28 may be constructed of any suitable material, including but not limited to metal, metal alloys, cellulosic or other natural materials, synthetic materials such as nylon or other polymers, and/or combinations thereof). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Calmer with the teachings as in Dybro and Rottinghaus. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve erosion control, higher population, higher yield, and better weed control, see Calmer paragraph 0007.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dybro et al. (USPGPub 2014/0230392), in view of Gramm et al. (USPGPub 2021/0378174), and Gengerke (USPGPub 2017/0164555). As per claim 19, Dybro and Gramm do not explicitly mention wherein the sweeping portions comprise a plurality of bristles or fibers secured to the brush bodies by tufting. However Gengerke does disclose: wherein the sweeping portions comprise a plurality of bristles or fibers secured to the brush bodies by tufting (see at least paragraph 0011; wherein a plurality of sweeping brushes or scrapers are attached to the paddles and are adapted to move loose kernels from the stripper plates into the combine's thresher auger so as to become part of the yield). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Gengerke with the teachings as in Dybro and Gramm. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce yield loss during harvesting, see Gengerke paragraph 0004.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2005/0120695 – Provide four (4) methods to reduce stalk shear in a corn head row unit that utilizes a non-variable or dependent drive system. USPGPub 2018/0139902 – Provide a header for a combine harvester is provided. The header includes a frame, a row unit and a pair of rollers. The row unit extends forwardly of the frame and includes a pair of stalk rolls and a pair of deck plates. The pair of rollers are spaced from and above the pair of stalk rolls. The present invention improves harvesting efficiency by reducing grain loss and reducing damage to ears of stalks during harvesting operations.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662