DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because it does not begin on a new line but rather is presented at the end of claim 14. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hallisey et al. (US 2017/0036007 hereinafter “Hallisey”).
In regards to claim 1, Hallisey discloses a coupler (see figs. 3A-3D) comprising:
a first connector (314) having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a valve (313, see paragraph [0071]) extending from an area proximate the second end to an area proximate the first end;
a second connector (320) having a mating portion (325) and a connecting portion (324) opposite the mating portion; and
a collar (312, 340) having a connecting end detachably coupled to the mating portion of the second connector and an engaging end disposed opposite the connecting end (shown in fig. 3D), the collar including a thread (340) detachably coupled to the engaging end, the thread configured to couple to at least a portion of the first connector to detachably couple the first connector to the collar and the second connector such that the first connector, the collar, and the second connector form a fluid pathway (central bore),
wherein, when the first connector and the thread are coupled together, the first connector and the thread are configured to decouple from the collar while the collar remains coupled to the second connector (see paragraph [0081]).
In regards to claims 2-4, Hallisey further discloses the first connector and the thread are configured to decouple from the collar in response to a pullout force exceeding a predetermined threshold force, the collar is configured to decouple from the second connector in response to a compressive force, the compressive force being different than the pullout force, and the pullout force is a force applied to the first connector along a central axis of the first connector (figs. 3A-3D and paragraph [0081] show this capability).
In regards to claim 5, Hallisey further discloses the central axis extends at least along a length of the first connector (shown in fig. 3D).
In regards to claim 6, Hallisey further discloses the central axis extends through the first connector, the thread, the collar, and the second connector when the first connector is coupled to the collar via the thread and the collar is coupled to the second connector (shown in fig. 3D).
In regards to claim 7, Hallisey further discloses the first connector is coupled to the thread and is configured to remain coupled to the collar when the pullout force does not exceed the predetermined threshold force (figs. 3A-3D show this capability).
In regards to claim 8, Hallisey further discloses the collar includes a luer (see fig. 3C) extending from at least the engaging end to at least the connecting end and the valve is configured to receive the luer when the first connector is coupled to the collar.
In regards to claim 9, Hallisey further discloses the luer is at least partially disposed within the second connector when the collar is coupled to the second connector (shown in fig. 3D).
In regards to claim 12, Hallisey further discloses the collar includes an engaging arm (316) detachably coupling the collar to the thread, the engaging arms configured to release the thread when the thread is coupled to the first connector and a pullout force is applied to the first connector that exceeds a predetermined threshold force (figs. 3A-3D shows this capability).
In regards to claim 13, Hallisey further discloses a connecting arm (316) detachably coupling the collar to the mating portion of the second connector, the connecting arms configured to decouple from the mating portion.
In regards to claim 14, Hallisey further discloses the coupler has a first configuration and in the first configuration the first connector is decoupled from the collar, the thread is detachably coupled to the collar, and the collar is coupled to the second connector (shown in figs. 3A-3D).
In regards to claim 15, Hallisey further discloses the coupler has a second configuration and in the second configuration the first connector is coupled to the thread, the thread is coupled to the collar, and the collar is coupled to the second connector (shown in figs. 3A-3D).
In regards to claim 16, Hallisey further discloses the coupler has a third configuration and in the third configuration the first connector is coupled to the thread, the first connector and the thread are disconnected from the collar, and the collar is coupled to the second connector (shown in figs. 3A-3D).
In regards to claim 17, Hallisey further discloses the coupler has a fourth configuration and in the fourth configuration the first connector is coupled to the thread, the first connector and the thread are disconnected from the collar, and the collar is decoupled from the second connector (shown in figs. 3A-3D).
In regards to claim 18, Hallisey further discloses the first connector is coupled to a first portion of tubing at the first end and the second connector is coupled to a second portion of tubing at the connecting portion (shown in fig. 3D).
In regards to claim 19, Hallisey discloses a coupler (see figs. 3A-3D) comprising: a first connector (314) having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a valve (313, see paragraph [0071]) disposed within the first connector, the first end including threads (319);
a second connector (320) having a mating portion (325), a connecting portion (324) opposite the mating portion, and a body at least partially disposed between the mating portion and the connecting portion; and
a collar (312, 340) having at least one connecting arm (316) at a connecting end, and at least one engaging arm (other 316) at an engaging end, the connecting portion being disposed opposite the engaging end, the collar having a thread disposed at the engaging end,
wherein the collar is configured to couple the first connector to the second connector to form a fluid pathway (shown in fig. 3D),
wherein, when the first connector is coupled to the thread, the first connector and the thread configured to decouple from the collar and the second connector in response to a pullout force exceeding a predetermined threshold force (see paragraph [0081] and figs. 3A-3D).
In regards to claim 20, Hallisey discloses a coupler (see figs. 3A-3D) comprising:
a first connector (314) having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a valve (313, see paragraph [0071]) disposed within the first connector, the first end including threads (319);
a second connector (320) having a mating portion (325) , a connecting portion (324) opposite the mating portion, and a body at least partially disposed between the mating portion and the connecting portion the body having a valve (313, see paragraph [0071]) configured to fluidly seal the second connector and configured to axially move relative to the mating portion and the connecting portion; and
a collar (312, 340) having a luer (see fig. 3C) disposed within, at least one connecting arm (316) at a connecting end, and at least one engaging arm (other 316) at an engaging end, the connecting portion being disposed opposite the engaging end, the collar having a thread (340) disposed at the engaging end, the thread configured to releasably couple to the at least one engaging arm, wherein the thread is configured to mate with the threads of the first end,
wherein the collar is configured to couple the first connector to the second connector to form a fluid pathway such that a first portion of the luer is disposed within the first connector and a second portion of the luer opposite the first portion is disposed within the second connector (see paragraph [0081] and figs. 3A-3D),
wherein, when the first connector is coupled to the thread, the first connector and the thread configured to decouple from the collar and the second connector in response to a pullout force exceeding a predetermined threshold force (see paragraph [0081] and figs. 3A-3D),
wherein a central axis extends through the first connector, the thread, the collar, and the second connector when the collar is coupled to the first connector and the second connector (shown in fig. 3D),
wherein, when the first connector is coupled to the thread and the first connector and the thread are decoupled from the collar, the collar is configured to decouple form the second connector in response to a compressive force, the compressive force being different than the pullout force (see paragraph [0081] and figs. 3A-3D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallisey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (US 2020/0323734 hereinafter “Ueda”).
In regards to claims 10 and 11, Hallisey discloses the coupler of claim 1 and further discloses the second connector includes a body disposed within the second connector, wherein the body includes an extending arm (316) extending from the body away from the tube, the extending arms configured to extend at least partially into the collar when the collar is coupled to the second connector.
Hallisey does not disclose the body having a tube at least partially extending into the connecting portion and a pin at least partially extending into the mating portion.
However, Ueda teaches a similar coupler, with disclose a body (4”) having a tube at least partially extending into the connecting portion and a pin (20”) at least partially extending into a mating portion. (6”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the collar of Hallisey with a pin in order to reduce a possibility of exposing fluid even when a different medical device is unintentionally detached in a fluid connection state with the different medical device, as taught by Ueda at paragraph [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar coupler.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
12/09/2025