Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(q) because the following reference characters are improperly underlined.
· “13”, “13a”, “13b”, and “15” in Fig. 1
· “13”, “13a”, “13b”, and “13bc” in Fig. 2
· “15” in Fig. 3
· “13b” and “15” in Fig. 4
· “13a” in Fig. 5
· “13a” and “15” in Fig. 6
Since the reference characters are associated with lead lines, the underlining should be removed.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· A reference numeral such as “15b” in Para [0036] not shown in the drawings. This objection was made in the prior office action, but it has not been corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
· A comma should be removed after “a rolling wheel (5)” for grammatical clarity in claim 3, line 5.
· A comma should be inserted after “the central groove (13a)” for grammatical clarity in claim 4, line 7. The objection was made in the prior office action, but it has not been corrected.
· Claim 5 appears to have an incorrect status identifier, as the claim has been amended from “The rubber crawler according to claim 1” to “The rubber crawler according to any of claims 1 to 4” without markings indicating the change.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
· Claim 3 recites the limitation "the crawler thickness direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 2, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori (US5380076A) in view of Shimozono (WO2004062990A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hori discloses a rubber crawler (6 “rubber crawler belt”; Fig. 8(a)) in which a plurality of core bars (1 “core members”; Figs. 1-4) embedded at regular intervals in a circumferential direction (Fig. 8(a)) of the crawler (6) in an endless belt-shaped rubber body (6) that has a rubber lug (19 “lug”; Fig. 8(a)) formed on an outer circumferential side of the crawler (6, Fig. 8(a)), endless belt-shaped tension member layers (7 “core lines”; Fig. 7(b)), which extend in the crawler circumferential direction on the crawler outer circumferential side relative to the core bars (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b), Col. 12, line 44-49), are embedded in the endless belt-shaped rubber body (6) on both sides of a center in a width direction of the crawler (Fig. 7(b)), and a sprocket hole (9 “engaging holes”; Fig. 7(b); Col. 9, line 1-5), into which teeth of a sprocket (“drive wheel”; Col. 2, line 3-5), around which the rubber crawler (6) is wound, enter, is formed between the core bars (1), adjacent in the crawler circumferential direction, at the center in the crawler width direction of the endless belt-shaped rubber body (6; Figs. 6(a), 7(a)-(b), and 8(a); Claim 15), but fails to disclose a closed bottom portion of the sprocket hole is formed by the rubber lug.
Shimozono, however, teaches a closed bottom portion (Refer to the closed bottom portion in the below annotated Fig. 3; Para [0011]) of the sprocket hole 50 is formed by a rubber lug 4a/4b (Figs. 3-6).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Hori
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the rubber brawler belt of Hori by including a lug disposed beneath the sprocket hole, as taught by Shimozono, with the motivation to reduce vertical movement of the rolling wheel and thereby reduce vibration during operation while maintaining desired traction characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, Hori further discloses a bottom surface of the sprocket hole (9) is located at a position deeper than the tension member layers (7; Fig. 7(b)).
Regarding claim 3, Hori further discloses a groove (12 “grooves”; Fig. 7(b)) formed between adjacent ones of the rubber lugs (19; Fig. 7(b)) of the endless belt-shaped rubber body (6), partially overlaps, in the crawler thickness direction (Fig. 7(b)), with the core bars (1) and with a rolling wheel passage surface (4 “a rolling rail surface”; Fig. 7(b)) which is located on an inner circumferential side (Figs. 7(a)-(b)) of the rubber crawler (6) and on which a rolling wheel rolls (Namely, Figs. 7(a)-(b) show the rolling wheel disposed along an inner surface of the crawler and rolling relative thereto).
9. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori, as modified by Shimozono, as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Tateishi (US10435091B2).
Regarding claim 4, Hori, as modified by Shimozono, discloses the rubber crawler according to claim 3, wherein the groove (12; Figs. 8(a) and 8(b)) includes: an outer groove (12; Fig. 8(a)) that extends outward of the rolling wheel passage surface (4) in the crawler width direction (Fig. 8(a)); and a central groove (12; Fig. 8(a)) that is formed continuously with the outer groove (12) at the center in the crawler (6) width direction relative to the outer groove (Fig. 8(a)), but fails to disclose the width, in the crawler circumferential direction of a continuous groove portion of the outer groove continuous with the central groove, is smaller than a width in the crawler circumferential direction of the central groove.
Tateishi, however, teaches a width in the crawler circumferential direction of a continuous groove portion of the outer groove (As evident from Fig. 3 near reference numeral “5c”) continuous with the central groove is smaller than a width in the crawler circumferential direction of the central groove (As evident from Fig. 3 near reference numeral “5a”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the rubber crawler of Hori, as modified by Shimozono, by substituting its groove configuration for a groove configuration having a wider central portion, such as taught by Tateishi, with the motivation to improve material retention within the groove and obtain predictable traction performance.
Regarding claim 5, Hori, as modified by Tateishi, discloses at least an outer rubber lug portion of the rubber lug located on an outer side in the crawler width direction extends obliquely at an angle to the crawler width direction and laterally from a central side in the crawler width direction (Fig. 8(a)), but fails to disclose a part of the outer rubber lug portion has a side surface parallel to the crawler width direction.
Tateishi, however, teaches a part of the outer rubber lug portion has a side surface parallel to the crawler width direction (Refer to Fig. 1 and the arrows pointing to the claimed feature in the below examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Tateishi).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Tateishi
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the rubber crawler of Hori, as modified by Shimozono, by substituting its outer rubber lug portion for an outer rubber lug portion, such as taught by Tateishi, with the motivation to improve material retention and provide more stable engagement between the rubber lugs and material during operation.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references disclose a crawler belt including the sprocket hole closed by rubber lug.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615