DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on May 18, 2026.
No Claims have been amended.
No Claims have been cancelled.
No Claims have been added.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 3-4 of the applicant’s arguments/remarks that Kneckt fails to disclose “transmitting, by a first node a probe request frame including a field including at least one identifier, each identifier included in the field informs a corresponding access point to forgo transmission of any probe response frame in response to the probe request frame”.
The examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant characterization of Kneckt. Kneckt discloses a terminal or STA (10) that transmit a probe request to AP 2 and ESS Server considered as an AP claimed by the instant application. Kneckt also teaches the probe request includes an Ack field considered as an identifier disclosed by the present application. Kneckt further discloses when the ACK field is set to 1, the AP2 and the ESS server will cease transmit probe response to the probe request frame. Where the ceasing transmitting is considered as to forgo transmission of any probe response frame in response to the probe request frame as claimed by the instant application (See [0075]-[0076]).
Based on the above disclosures and others Kneckt discloses transmitting, by a first node a probe request frame including a field including at least one identifier, each identifier included in the field informs a corresponding access point to forgo transmission of any probe response frame in response to the probe request frame.
For at least the reasons provided above, the applicant arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive. The applicant argues that independent claims are patentable for similar reasons and are also not persuasive. The applicant further argues that since dependent claims depend on the argued independent claim; they are patentable at least by virtue of their dependencies. Since the applicant's arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive, the applicant's arguments regarding dependent claims are also not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kneckt et al. (US Application 2013/0182611, hereinafter Kneckt).
Regarding claim 1, Kneckt discloses a method (Figs. 1, 2) for communicating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a first node (10), a probe request frame including a field including at least one identifier, each identifier included in the field informs a corresponding access point to forgo transmission of any probe response frame in response to the probe request frame(As shown on fig. 2 and described on [0075]-[0076], terminal send a probe request 2A the probe request including at least the identifier of the AP receiving the request. Then AP2 will forward a Probe End indication upon receiving the Probe Response Sent frame (2G) with Probe End indication, will cease to transmit further Response Transmission Order frame(s). Alternatively, the STA 10 may transmit a Probe End frame to indicate that it is no longer available to receive the transmitted Probe Response frames. Where the ESS Server item #14 and AP2 received an ACK considered as field to forgo transmission response as claimed by the instant application).
Regarding claim 11, Kneckt discloses a communications system (Figs. 1, 2) comprising: a first node (10) comprising:
a layer of a communications protocol configured to generate a probe request frame including a field including at least one identifier, each identifier included in the field informs a corresponding access point to forgo transmission of any probe response frame in response to the probe request frame(As shown on fig. 2 and described on [0068],[0075]-[0076], terminal send a probe request 2A the probe request including at least the identifier of the AP receiving the request. Then AP2 will forward a Probe End indication upon receiving the Probe Response Sent frame (2G) with Probe End indication, will cease to transmit further Response Transmission Order frame(s). Alternatively, the STA 10 may transmit a Probe End frame to indicate that it is no longer available to receive the transmitted Probe Response frames. As described on [0006], one probe request received frame from at least one reporting access point; process information contained in the at least one received probe request received frame to determine at least one access point of a selected set of access points that should respond to a probe request frame transmitted by a station which imply each probe request is associated with at least one identifier of the AP that received the request .The reception of the probe end indication and ceasing to transmit any further response are considered as forgo any probe response as claimed by the instant application.); and
a physical layer of the communications protocol configured to transmit the probe request frame(Abstract, which recites method includes transmitting a probe request frame from a station).
Regarding claim 16, Kneckt discloses a method (Figs. 1, 2) for communicating in a wireless network, the method comprising:
receiving, by an access point(12), a probe request frame including a field including at least one identifier, each identifier included in the field informs a corresponding access point to forgo transmission of any probe response frame in response to the probe request frame(As shown on fig. 2 and described on [0075]-[0076], terminal send a probe request 2A the probe request including at least the identifier of the AP receiving the request. Then AP2 will forward a Probe End indication upon receiving the Probe Response Sent frame (2G) with Probe End indication, will cease to transmit further Response Transmission Order frame(s). Alternatively, the STA 10 may transmit a Probe End frame to indicate that it is no longer available to receive the transmitted Probe Response frames. As described on [0006], one probe request received frame from at least one reporting access point; process information contained in the at least one received probe request received frame to determine at least one access point of a selected set of access points that should respond to a probe request frame transmitted by a station which imply each probe request is associated with at least one identifier of the AP that received the request. The reception of the probe end indication and ceasing to transmit any further response are considered as forgo any probe response as claimed by the instant application); and
determining whether to transmit a probe response frame in response to the probe request frame based on the field and an identifier corresponding to the access point(As shown on fig. 2 and described on [0075]-[0076], The ESS Server 14 considers the received Probe End Received message and determines whether it sends Response Transmission Order messages to the APs 12).
Regarding claim 2, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim l further comprising: including in the field, by the first node, an identifier of the corresponding access point in response to knowledge of the corresponding access point operating in a communications channel currently selected for scanning( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim l further comprising: determining, by a recipient of the probe request frame, whether to transmit a corresponding probe response frame based on whether an identifier corresponding to the recipient of the probe request frame is included in the field( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 3 further comprising: forgoing transmission of the corresponding probe response frame, by the recipient of the probe request frame, in response to receiving the probe request frame and the identifier corresponding to the recipient of the probe request frame being included in the field( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 3 further comprising: transmitting, by the recipient of the probe request frame, the corresponding probe response frame in response to receiving the probe request frame and the identifier corresponding to the recipient of the probe request frame being absent from the field( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 6, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim l wherein the probe request frame further includes a second field, the second field indicating at least one supported communications channel( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 6 wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report element of a probe response frame transmitted by a recipient of the probe request frame includes only identifiers corresponding to access points that operate using the at least one supported communications channel ([0037],[0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 1 wherein the probe request frame further includes a second field, the second field indicating at least one preferred communications channel([0037],[0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 8 wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report element of a probe response frame transmitted by a recipient of the probe request frame includes only identifiers corresponding to access points that operate using the at least one preferred communications channel([0037],[0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 8 wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report element of a probe response frame transmitted by a recipient of the probe request frame includes only identifiers corresponding to access points that are not included in the field([0037],[0059]).
Regarding claim 12, Kneckt discloses the communications system as recited in claim 11 further comprising: an access point comprising: a second physical layer of the communications protocol configured to receive the probe request frame; and a second layer of the communications protocol configured to determine whether to transmit a probe response frame in response to the probe request frame based on the field and an identifier corresponding to the access point( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 13, Kneckt discloses the communications system as recited in claim 12 wherein the second layer of the communications protocol is further configured to forgo transmission of the probe response frame, by the access point, in response to receiving the probe request frame and the identifier corresponding to the access point being included in the field( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 14, Kneckt discloses the communications system as recited in claim 12 wherein the probe request frame further includes a second field, the second field indicating at least one supported communications channel, and wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report element of the probe response frame transmitted by the access point includes only identifiers corresponding to access points that operate using the at least one supported communications channel([0037],[0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Kneckt discloses the communications system as recited in claim 12 wherein the probe request frame further includes a second field, the second field indicating at least one preferred communications channel, and wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report element of the probe response frame transmitted by the access point includes only identifiers corresponding to access points that operate using the at least one preferred communications channel([0037],[0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 16 further comprising: forgoing transmission of the probe response frame, by the access point, in response to receiving the probe request frame and the identifier corresponding to the access point being included in the field( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 18, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 16 further comprising: transmitting, by the access point, the probe response frame in response to receiving the probe request frame and the identifier corresponding to the access point being absent from the field( fig. 2 [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 19, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 16 wherein the probe request frame further includes a second field, the second field indicating at least one supported communications channel, and wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report element of the probe response frame includes only identifiers corresponding to access points that operate using the at least one supported communications channel([0037],[0059]).
Regarding claim 20, Kneckt discloses the method as recited in claim 16 wherein the probe request frame further includes a second field, the second field indicating at least one preferred communications channel, and wherein a Reduced Neighbor Report element of the probe response frame includes only identifiers corresponding to access points that operate using the at least one preferred communications channel([0037],[0059]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461