DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on May 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that one would inevitably find Invention II when searching for Invention I and vice versa. This is not found persuasive because the claims have different requirements. Searching for Invention II does not require any evacuated chamber or connecting to any separate device. This lack of overlap is deemed to amount to a serious burden.
For these reasons the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-16 are examined herein and claims 17-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,883,170 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims would anticipate the pending claims. The step of providing the application device is disclosed by the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0275955 A1 to Haghgooie et al. (“Haghgooie”) in view of US 2014/0309551 A1 to Burkholz et al. (“Burkholz”).
As to claim 1, Haghgooie discloses a method of collecting a biological fluid sample (see [0008], [0031]) comprising:
providing a biological fluid collection device having a housing having an inlet, an outlet, and a passageway extending between the inlet and the outlet ([0005], [0027]-[0028], [0031] – showing housing with an inlet and a passageway);
a collection chamber inside the housing and in fluid communication with the passageway (see [0005]-[0006], [0031] and Fig 1, element 33);
an evacuated chamber inside the housing and containing a vacuum (see Fig 1, element 35);
an activation member and a seal configured to cooperate with the activation member to transition the seal from a closed position in which the vacuum is enclosed within the evacuated chamber to an open position in which the vacuum is applied to the inlet to draw the sample within the collection chamber (see [0044], [0047]);
applying pressure to the activation member to transition the seal from the closed position to the open position to draw a fluid sample into the passageway (see [0030] and [0047] – “The seal can be activated using any suitable technique, e.g., automatically, remotely, manually, etc. In some cases, the seal may be self-activating, e.g., upon application to the skin of a subject. The seal may be activated once, or multiple times in some cases. The seal may be activated, for example, by pushing a button, flipping a switch, moving a slider, turning a dial, or the like.”).
Haghgooie does not disclose the step of connecting the biological fluid collection device to a separate collection device, said separate collection device configured to collect the fluid sample from a fluid source. In a related device, Burkholz discloses connecting a fluid collection device to a separate collection device, said separate collection device configured to collect the fluid sample from a fluid source (see Fig 9, element 110 (collection device) and [0045]-[0047], [0059]-[0061] and Fig 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the blood collection device of Haghgooie with the connecting to a separate device as shown by Burkholz in order to achieve the predictable result shown by Burkholz of allowing the collected blood to be transferred to a device that can dispense blood in order to test it on, for example, a test strip.
As to claims 4-5, Haghgooie further discloses providing a cap and covering the outlet of the housing, the cap including a venting portion, wherein the venting portion allows air to pass therethrough and prevents the sample from passing therethrough (see [0035] – membrane cap allowing air to pass but not liquid).
As to claim 12, Burkholz further discloses wherein the separate fluid collection device is configured to withdraw a blood sample (see [0033]-[0044] – vascular access device 12 collects blood).
As to claim 15, Burkholz further discloses wherein the inlet includes a connector housing interface and, wherein the separate fluid collection device comprises a fluid line having an interface and wherein the method comprises connecting the connector housing interface with the fluid line interface (see [0033], [0038] and Fig 1 showing luer access adapters and male luer).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 6-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under obviousness-type double patenting set forth in this Office action, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791