DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (KR 102053776 B1), hereinafter Ryu, in view of Menominee (US 20170122570 A1), hereinafter Menominee, and further in view of Erickson (US 2686373 A), hereinafter Erickson.
Regarding claim 21, Ryu discloses a control box for a cooking appliance, comprising a housing (“drain box 210” all citations from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference) in which at least one steam inlet (“The drain box is connected to the drain port 130 through the inlet”), a steam outlet (“External exhaust pipe (250)”), and at least one cleaning agent inlet are present (“Water (direct water) supplied for washing from 401”), the cleaning agent inlet being arranged between the steam inlet and the steam outlet with respect to a flow path of the steam (Figure 1), wherein an outlet opening of the cleaning agent inlet in the control box is directed towards a side wall of the control box.
Ryu does not disclose:
at least one water nozzle;
a deflecting member which is configured to deflect a cleaning agent flow exiting the outlet opening towards the ceiling being present at the outlet opening, wherein the deflection member is formed by a baffle plate arranged in the region of the outlet opening, wherein the baffle plate is arranged such that a jet of cleaning agent hits the baffle plate after exiting the outlet opening.
However, Menominee teaches at least one water nozzle (“The liquid cleaner inlet port 80 provides for flow of concentrated liquid cleaner 92 into the reservoir chamber 22 through a conduit passing from a pump 94. Freshwater inlet port 83 provides for a flow of freshwater 96 from a freshwater source through a conduit and into the reservoir chamber 22” paragraph [0061]).
In view of Menominee’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include cleaning agent and water inlets as is taught in Menominee, in the control box disclosed by Ryu because a cleaning agent and water will be more effective at cleaning than water as a cleaning agent.
Ryu, as modified by Menominee, does not disclose a deflecting member which is configured to deflect a cleaning agent flow exiting the outlet opening towards the ceiling being present at the outlet opening, wherein the deflection member is formed by a baffle plate arranged in the region of the outlet opening, wherein the baffle plate is arranged such that a jet of cleaning agent hits the baffle plate after exiting the outlet opening.
However, Erickson teaches a deflecting member which is configured to deflect a cleaning agent flow exiting the outlet opening towards the ceiling being present at the outlet opening, wherein the deflection member is formed by a baffle plate arranged in the region of the outlet opening, wherein the baffle plate is arranged such that a jet of cleaning agent hits the baffle plate after exiting the outlet opening (“the jet nozzle 36 is productive of a stream of cool water that is projected through the air gap between the end of the nozzle 36 and the outer end of the opening 44 formed in the bushing 43 and thence through the hole 44 and the baffle 45 onto the target 48. The upstanding rodlike target 48 breaks up this stream of cool water into a spray within the condensing chamber 22, which spray is arranged in two diverging upstanding sheets 51, as indicated in Fig. 5. The two upstanding sheets 51 of the spray of cool water, as well as the side spray thereof, are directed generally from the rear of the condensing chamber 22 toward the front thereof so that the condensing chamber 22 is substantially completely filled with the spray of cool water from the rear end thereof to the front end thereof and between the baffle 18 and the bottom wall of the lower casing section 17 in order positively to insure cooling and thorough scrubbing of the current of air passing through the condensing chamber 22” column 5, line 43).
In view of Erickson’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a baffle as is taught in Erickson, in the control box as modified because Erickson states that “the condensing chamber 22 is substantially completely filled with the spray.” Therefore, including the fanning arrangement taught by Erickson will better distribute flow in the control box as modified.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are allowed.
Claim 1 has been amended to recited the limitations of claim 10 which were previously indicated as allowable.
Claim 1 now recites the limitation “wherein a grid structure which serves to shield high-frequency radiation is present in the control box, wherein the grid structure is formed by a cast part in which a plurality of cleaning channels connected to a cleaning agent connection and opening at different points within the grid structure is formed, or wherein the grid structure is formed by a pipe packet.” The closest prior art of record to claim 10 is Smith (US 4250628 A) which discloses “A radiation trap 21 in the line 22 prevents the escape of radiation. The spray condenser 24 is comprised of a chamber which contains at the top a water spray nozzle 26 and lower down a vapor distribution plate 28” (column 6, line 41). There are differences between the limitations of claim 10 and the teachings of Smith. No other art was found such that further modification of Ryu and Menominee. Therefore, these limitations, when combined with every other limitation of the claim, distinguish the claim from the prior art. Claims 2-9 and 11-20 are allowable at least because they depend from claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Quiggle (US 1756992 A)
McMillan (US 3132005 A)
Deuringer (US 20030145847 A1) “at least one quenching nozzle is attached in the washing liquid reservoir, the condensation of entering steam being significantly accelerated with the assistance thereof” paragraph [0046]
Kulakowski (US 20130133638 A1)
Breinl (WO 2007098732 A2) “By selectively supplying further water via at least one of the fluid supply lines 45 or 49, the remaining first cleaning fluid collected in the condenser 11 can then be diluted to reach the maximum level within the condenser 11”
Lee (KR 20160126668 A) “a cleaning nozzle 600 for spraying high-pressure washing water may be provided inside the housing 100 so that the inside of the housing 100 in which the inside is emptied can be cleaned. The cleaning nozzle 600 may be configured to spray only the wash water, or may be configured to spray the wash water mixed with the detergent”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762