DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities (appropriate correction is required):
Claim 18 recites “the first physical layer to the first signal based on”. Examiner believes this is a typographical error, and Applicant meant to say ‘the first physical layer to generate the first signal based on’. Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bliss (US 20120063295 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bliss discloses
A first physical layer comprising ([Fig. 1] node 102 comprises PHY 110a (first physical layer)):
interface circuitry configured to transmit a first signal to a second physical layer ([0026] and [Fig. 4] PHY comprises PHY control 412 which is circuitry controlling the actions of the PHY; [0015] and [Fig. 1] node 102 comprises ethernet link 106 with node 104 comprising PHY 110b (second physical layer); [0030] and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (node A sends its capabilities, then node B sends its capabilities back; i.e. node A sends the first signal));
comparator circuitry configured to compare a second signal from the second physical layer to the first signal ([0026] and [Fig. 4] PHY comprises PHY control 412 which is circuitry controlling the actions of the PHY; [0030] and [Fig. 5] the two nodes compare the information shared about abilities (node A sends its capabilities, then node B sends its capabilities back, where those capabilities are compared to each other; i.e. first and second signals are compared)); and
configuration circuitry configured to facilitate operation as a leader or a follower based on the comparison ([0026] and [Fig. 4] PHY comprises PHY control 412 which is circuitry controlling the actions of the PHY; [0030] and [Fig. 5] after the two nodes compare capabilities and decide on the highest performance, the master/slave determination is made (configuration of operations as a leader or follower based on the comparison)).
Regarding claim 2, Bliss discloses
The first physical layer of claim 1, further including signal generator circuitry configured to generate the first signal based on at least one of a generated number or a characteristic of the first physical layer or a device that implements the first physical layer ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] node 102 including PHY 110a (device that implements first physical layer) exchanges capability information with the other node (generates first signal based on a characteristic of the device implementing the first physical layer)).
Regarding claim 3, Bliss discloses
The first physical layer of claim 1, wherein the first signal corresponds to a first characteristic and the second signal corresponds to a second characteristic different than the first characteristic, the comparator circuitry to compare the first characteristic to the second characteristic ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] node 102 including PHY 110a exchanges capability information with the other node 104 including PHY 110b (the two nodes send each other their corresponding capability information; i.e. node 102’s information is the first characteristic, and node 104’s information is the second characteristic and they are different), where the capabilities are compared to each other).
Regarding claim 4, Bliss discloses
The first physical layer of claim 1, wherein the interface circuitry is to ([Fig. 1] node 102 comprises PHY 110a (first physical layer)):
obtain the second signal via a shared wired bus ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (first and second signals are both sent), where the two nodes are connected by the PHY link via ethernet link 106 (shared wired bus)); and
transmit the first signal via the shared wired bus ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (first and second signals are both sent), where the two nodes are connected by the PHY link via ethernet link 106 (shared wired bus)).
Regarding claim 5, Bliss discloses
The first physical layer of claim 1, wherein, when operating as the leader ([Fig. 1] node 102 comprises PHY 110a (first physical layer)):
the interface circuitry is configured to output a third signal to the second physical layer ([0031], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the master node begins transmitting at reduced transmit power (third signal to the second physical layer)); and
the configuration circuitry is configured to, when a signal has not been obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, initiate training configured as the leader ([0031]-[0033], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the slave node is in SILENT mode (signal not obtained from the second physical layer), where the slave node will transition from SILENT mode after the timer minwait_timer has expired, and both the master node and slave node will then begin the PMA training (initiate training)).
Regarding claim 7, Bliss discloses
The first physical layer of claim 1, wherein, when operating as the follower, the configuration circuitry is configured to, when a signal has been obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, initiate training configured as the follower ([0031]-[0033], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the slave node (operating as the follower) is in SILENT mode and the master node (second physical layer) begins transmitting at reduced transmit power (signal obtained from the second physical layer), where the slave node will transition from SILENT mode after the timer minwait_timer has expired (within a threshold amount of time), and both the master node and slave node will then begin the PMA training (initiate training)).
Regarding claim 9, Bliss discloses
A method comprising ([Fig. 5] method):
generating, by executing an instruction with a first physical layer, a first signal [0030] and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (node A generates then sends its capabilities));
transmitting the first signal to a second physical layer ([0015] and [Fig. 1] node 102 comprises ethernet link 106 with node 104 comprising PHY 110b (second physical layer); [0030] and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (node A sends its capabilities, then node B sends its capabilities back; i.e. node A sends the first signal));
comparing, by executing an instruction with the first physical layer, a second signal from the second physical layer to the first signal ([0030] and [Fig. 5] the two nodes compare the information shared about abilities (node A sends its capabilities, then node B sends its capabilities back, where those capabilities are compared to each other; i.e. first and second signals are compared)); and
configuring, by executing an instruction with the first physical layer, the first physical layer to operate as a leader or a follower based on the comparison ([0030] and [Fig. 5] after the two nodes compare capabilities and decide on the highest performance, the master/slave determination is made (configuration of operations as a leader or follower based on the comparison)).
Regarding claim 10, Bliss discloses
The method of claim 9, further including generating the first signal based on at least one of a generated number or a characteristic of the first physical layer or a device that implements the first physical layer ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] node 102 including PHY 110a (device that implements first physical layer) exchanges capability information with the other node (generates first signal based on a characteristic of the device implementing the first physical layer)).
Regarding claim 11, Bliss discloses
The method of claim 9, wherein the first signal corresponds to a first characteristic and the second signal corresponds to a second characteristic different than the first characteristic, wherein compare of the first signal and the second signal includes comparing the first characteristic to the second characteristic ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] node 102 including PHY 110a exchanges capability information with the other node 104 including PHY 110b (the two nodes send each other their corresponding capability information; i.e. node 102’s information is the first characteristic, and node 104’s information is the second characteristic and they are different), where the capabilities are compared to each other).
Regarding claim 12, Bliss discloses
The method of claim 9, further including ([Fig. 5] method):
obtaining the second signal via a shared wired bus ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (first and second signals are both sent), where the two nodes are connected by the PHY link via ethernet link 106 (shared wired bus)); and
transmitting the first signal via the shared wired bus ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (first and second signals are both sent), where the two nodes are connected by the PHY link via ethernet link 106 (shared wired bus)).
Regarding claim 13, Bliss discloses
The method of claim 9, further including, when operating as the leader ([Fig. 5] method):
outputting a third signal to the second physical layer ([0031], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the master node begins transmitting at reduced transmit power (third signal to the second physical layer)); and
when a signal has not been obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, initiating training configured as the leader ([0031]-[0033], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the slave node is in SILENT mode (signal not obtained from the second physical layer), where the slave node will transition from SILENT mode after the timer minwait_timer has expired, and both the master node and slave node will then begin the PMA training (initiate training)).
Regarding claim 15, Bliss discloses
The method of claim 9, further including, when operating as the follower and a signal has been obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, initiating training configured as the follower ([0031]-[0033], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the slave node (operating as the follower) is in SILENT mode and the master node (second physical layer) begins transmitting at reduced transmit power (signal obtained from the second physical layer), where the slave node will transition from SILENT mode after the timer minwait_timer has expired (within a threshold amount of time), and both the master node and slave node will then begin the PMA training (initiate training)).
Regarding claim 17, Bliss discloses
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions which cause a first physical layer to at least ([0052], [Fig. 1] node comprises PHY, and embodiments include hardware/firmware (instructions) for storing parameters (computer readable storage medium)):
cause transmission of a first signal to a second physical layer ([0015] and [Fig. 1] node 102 comprises ethernet link 106 with node 104 comprising PHY 110b (second physical layer); [0030] and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (node A sends its capabilities, then node B sends its capabilities back; i.e. node A sends the first signal));
compare a second signal from the second physical layer to the first signal ([0030] and [Fig. 5] the two nodes compare the information shared about abilities (node A sends its capabilities, then node B sends its capabilities back, where those capabilities are compared to each other; i.e. first and second signals are compared)); and
configure the first physical layer as a leader or a follower based on the comparison ([0030] and [Fig. 5] after the two nodes compare capabilities and decide on the highest performance, the master/slave determination is made (configuration of operations as a leader or follower based on the comparison)).
Regarding claim 18, Bliss discloses
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions cause the first physical layer to the first signal based on at least one of a generated number or a characteristic of the first physical layer or a device that implements the first physical layer ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] node 102 including PHY 110a (device that implements first physical layer) exchanges capability information with the other node (generates first signal based on a characteristic of the device implementing the first physical layer)).
Regarding claim 19, Bliss discloses
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the first signal corresponds to a first characteristic and the second signal corresponds to a second characteristic different than the first characteristic, the instructions to cause the first physical layer to compare the first characteristic to the second characteristic ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] node 102 including PHY 110a exchanges capability information with the other node 104 including PHY 110b (the two nodes send each other their corresponding capability information; i.e. node 102’s information is the first characteristic, and node 104’s information is the second characteristic and they are different), where the capabilities are compared to each other).
Regarding claim 20, Bliss discloses
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions cause the first physical layer to ([0052], [Fig. 1] node comprises PHY, and embodiments include hardware/firmware (instructions) for storing parameters (computer readable storage medium)):
obtain the second signal via a shared wired bus ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (first and second signals are both sent), where the two nodes are connected by the PHY link via ethernet link 106 (shared wired bus)); and
cause transmission the first signal via the shared wired bus ([0030], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] two nodes connected by the PHY link exchange capability information (first and second signals are both sent), where the two nodes are connected by the PHY link via ethernet link 106 (shared wired bus)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bliss (US 20120063295 A1), and further in view of Chuang et al (US 20160065495 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Bliss teaches The first physical layer of claim 1, as is described above.
Bliss further teaches wherein, when operating as the leader:
the interface circuitry is configured to output a third signal to the second physical layer ([0031], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the master node begins transmitting at reduced transmit power (third signal to the second physical layer)); and
determine operation as the leader or the follower ([0031] and [Fig. 5] the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination (leader or follower operation))
Bliss does not explicitly teach the configuration circuitry is configured to, when a signal has been obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, redetermine operation as it does not explicitly teach the auto-negotiation process being repeated.
However, Chuang does teach repeating a training step to determine operation as the leader or follower if a signal has not been received within a threshold amount of time ([0018] and [Fig. 2, ref. S222] counting numbers is performed to wait a predetermined amount of time (within a threshold amount of time), and if a reception signal is not detected the process will return to the first step of S210 which is carried out before entering training state).
Bliss and Chuang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PHYs for training states. It should be noted that both Bliss and Chuang (as cited below) both teach a training period. As can be seen below, Chuang teaches returning to the step before the training period. In Bliss, this step prior to the training period is the auto-negotiation period. Chuang is used to teach that the process can be restarted to the step prior to the training period (where in this combination with Bliss is the step of auto-negotiation to determine master/slave) upon detecting a reception signal that does not satisfy a threshold. So given that Bliss and Chuang both have training periods, Chuang’s step of restarting to the step before the training period when a threshold is not satisfied can be applied to Bliss with the predictable result that the process would return to the auto-negotiation step to determine the master/slave. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bliss to include the teachings of Chuang where the process restarts to a step before entering training state. The rationale behind this would be to prevent a link procedure from being strangled in a training state ([0006] Chuang).
Regarding claim 8, Bliss teaches The first physical layer of claim 1, as is described above.
Bliss further teaches wherein, when operating as the follower ([0031], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the slave node transitions to SILENT mode (operating as the follower)),
determine operation as the leader or the follower ([0031] and [Fig. 5] the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination (leader or follower operation))
Bliss does not explicitly teach the configuration circuitry is configured to, when a signal has not obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, redetermine operation as it does not explicitly teach the auto-negotiation process being repeated.
However, Chuang does teach repeating a training step to determine operation as the leader or follower if a signal has not been received within a threshold amount of time ([0018] and [Fig. 2, ref. S222] counting numbers is performed to wait a predetermined amount of time (within a threshold amount of time), and if a reception signal is not detected the process will return to the first step of S210 which is carried out before entering training state).
Bliss and Chuang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PHYs for training states. It should be noted that both Bliss and Chuang (as cited below) both teach a training period. As can be seen below, Chuang teaches returning to the step before the training period. In Bliss, this step prior to the training period is the auto-negotiation period. Chuang is used to teach that the process can be restarted to the step prior to the training period (where in this combination with Bliss is the step of auto-negotiation to determine master/slave) upon detecting a reception signal that does not satisfy a threshold. So given that Bliss and Chuang both have training periods, Chuang’s step of restarting to the step before the training period when a threshold is not satisfied can be applied to Bliss with the predictable result that the process would return to the auto-negotiation step to determine the master/slave. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bliss to include the teachings of Chuang where the process restarts to a step before entering training state. The rationale behind this would be to prevent a link procedure from being strangled in a training state ([0006] Chuang).
Regarding claim 14, Bliss teaches The method of claim 9, as is described above.
Bliss further teaches further including, when operating as the leader:
outputting a third signal to the second physical layer ([0031], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the master node begins transmitting at reduced transmit power (third signal to the second physical layer)); and
determining operation as the leader or the follower ([0031] and [Fig. 5] the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination (leader or follower operation)).
Bliss does not explicitly teach when a signal has been obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, redetermining operation as it does not explicitly teach the auto-negotiation process being repeated.
However, Chuang does teach repeating a training step to determine operation as the leader or follower if a signal has not been received within a threshold amount of time ([0018] and [Fig. 2, ref. S222] counting numbers is performed to wait a predetermined amount of time (within a threshold amount of time), and if a reception signal is not detected the process will return to the first step of S210 which is carried out before entering training state).
Bliss and Chuang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PHYs for training states. It should be noted that both Bliss and Chuang (as cited below) both teach a training period. As can be seen below, Chuang teaches returning to the step before the training period. In Bliss, this step prior to the training period is the auto-negotiation period. Chuang is used to teach that the process can be restarted to the step prior to the training period (where in this combination with Bliss is the step of auto-negotiation to determine master/slave) upon detecting a reception signal that does not satisfy a threshold. So given that Bliss and Chuang both have training periods, Chuang’s step of restarting to the step before the training period when a threshold is not satisfied can be applied to Bliss with the predictable result that the process would return to the auto-negotiation step to determine the master/slave. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bliss to include the teachings of Chuang where the process restarts to a step before entering training state. The rationale behind this would be to prevent a link procedure from being strangled in a training state ([0006] Chuang).
Regarding claim 16, Bliss teaches The method of claim 9, as is described above.
Bliss further teaches further including, when operating as the follower ([0031], [Fig. 1], and [Fig. 5] after the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination, the slave node transitions to SILENT mode (operating as the follower))
determining operation as the leader or the follower ([0031] and [Fig. 5] the auto-negotiation sets the master/slave determination (leader or follower operation)).
Bliss does not explicitly teach and a signal has not obtained from the second physical layer within a threshold amount of time, redetermining operation as it does not explicitly teach the auto-negotiation process being repeated.
However, Chuang does teach repeating a training step to determine operation as the leader or follower if a signal has not been received within a threshold amount of time ([0018] and [Fig. 2, ref. S222] counting numbers is performed to wait a predetermined amount of time (within a threshold amount of time), and if a reception signal is not detected the process will return to the first step of S210 which is carried out before entering training state).
Bliss and Chuang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring PHYs for training states. It should be noted that both Bliss and Chuang (as cited below) both teach a training period. As can be seen below, Chuang teaches returning to the step before the training period. In Bliss, this step prior to the training period is the auto-negotiation period. Chuang is used to teach that the process can be restarted to the step prior to the training period (where in this combination with Bliss is the step of auto-negotiation to determine master/slave) upon detecting a reception signal that does not satisfy a threshold. So given that Bliss and Chuang both have training periods, Chuang’s step of restarting to the step before the training period when a threshold is not satisfied can be applied to Bliss with the predictable result that the process would return to the auto-negotiation step to determine the master/slave. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bliss to include the teachings of Chuang where the process restarts to a step before entering training state. The rationale behind this would be to prevent a link procedure from being strangled in a training state ([0006] Chuang).
Conclusion
The following is prior art that is made of record and not relied upon but is considered to be pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20210105160 A1 to Lo discloses a method where a first physical layer and second physical layer device can act as a leader or follower ([Abstract] and [0076] Lo).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478