DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but it is moot in light of a new ground of rejection. See discussion below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reis et al. (US 20100175701 A1, 2010-07-15) (hereinafter “Reis”) in view of Cohen et al. (US 20140081113 A1, 2014-03-20) (hereinafter “Cohen”).
Regarding claims 1-20, Reis teaches a robotic drive system, comprising: a drive table (comprising, e.g., 180) comprising a support surface oriented at an angle relative to a horizontal plane (e.g., [0011] (disclosing use with robotic system which allows for variable orientation of the drive table)); and one or more hub adapters (comprising, e.g., 114) coupled with the drive table, each of the one or more hub adapters being coupleable with a corresponding hub (comprising, e.g., 182) of one or more hubs, each hub being couplable with an interventional device of one or more interventional devices; wherein the support surface (e.g.,180) is positioned between and separates the one or more hub adapters from the corresponding hubs (e.g., Figs. 9A, 9B, 10A and associated text, esp. [0072]-[0078]) (as recited in claim 1); wherein the support surface is oriented between 20 and 70 degrees from the horizontal plane (as recited in claim 2); wherein the support surface is oriented between 50 and 60 degrees from the horizontal plane (as recited in claim 3);wherein the support surface is oriented 55 degrees from the horizontal plane (as recited in claim 4); wherein the support surface is oriented between 20 and 70 degrees from a vertical plane (as recited in claim 5); wherein the support surface is oriented between 40 and 50 degrees from the vertical plane (as recited in claim 6); wherein the support surface is oriented 45 degrees from the vertical plane (as recited in claim 7); wherein each of the one or more hub adapters is magnetically couplable (e.g., construed as magnets in linear drive; [0076]) with the corresponding hub (as recited in claim 8); wherein the drive table comprises a main body (comprising, e.g., 137) and one or more extendable members (e.g., 139) (as recited in claim 9); wherein the one or more extendable members are configured to transition between a collapsed state and a deployed state (as recited in claim 10); wherein the one or more hubs are configured to move axially along the one or more extendable members (as recited in claim 11); wherein the one or more extendable members comprises a distal extendable member (construed as distal portion of 139) configured to extend distally from the main body (as recited in claim 12); wherein the one or more extendable members comprises a proximal extendable member (construed as proximal portion of 139) configured to extend proximally from the main body (as recited in claim 13); wherein at least a portion of at least one of the one or more hubs is configured to extend laterally and inferiorly relative to an inferior edge of the support surface when the hub is positioned on the support surface (e.g., Figs. 10A-10E) (as recited in claim 14); wherein each of the one or more hub adapters is configured to move axially along the drive table to drive axial movement of the corresponding hub (as recited in claim 15); wherein at least one of the one or more interventional devices is configured to be positioned laterally and inferiorly relative to an inferior edge of the support surface when the hub to which the interventional device is coupled is positioned on the support surface (as recited in claim 16); further comprising a shuttle (e.g., 186) configure to translate axially within the drive table, wherein the one or more hub adapters are coupled to the shuttle (as recited in claim 17); wherein the one or more hub adapters are configured to move axially (170, Fig. 9B) along the shuttle (as recited in claim 18); wherein the one or more hub adapters are positioned within an interior of the drive table (comprising, e.g., 127) (as recited in claim 19);
Reis does not teach wherein the support surface forms a sterile field barrier positioned between and separating the one or more hub adapters from the corresponding hubs so that the one or more hub adapters are positioned outside of a sterile field and the one or more hubs are positioned within the sterile field. Note that Reis teaches wherein the support surface is a sterile field barrier (192, Fig. 11B; [0079]).
Cohen teaches a support surface that forms a sterile barrier (e.g., comprising 142, 224) that separates a plurality of sliding rails (e.g., comprising 136) from a slide (e.g., comprising 138) so that the sliding rails are outside of a sterile field and the motorized slide (e.g., comprising 144) is within the sterile field. See, e.g., [0264], [0277]; Figs. 2, 3, 11 and associated text.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and with the invention taught by Reis such that the invention comprises one or more hub adapters coupled with the drive table, each of the one or more hub adapters being coupleable with a corresponding hub of one or more hubs and configured to drive the corresponding hub along the support surface, each hub being couplable with an interventional device of one or more interventional devices wherein the support surface forms a sterile field barrier positioned between and separating the one or more hub adapters from the corresponding hubs so that the one or more hub adapters are positioned outside of a sterile field and the one or more hubs are positioned within the sterile field (as recited in claim 1) in order to improve the sterility of the invention.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered to be pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bajo et al. (US 20220096120 A1, 2022-03-31 teaches a drive table actuated by a robotic arm. See, e.g., Fig. 2 and associated text.
Simi et al. (US 20210106393 A1, 2021-04-15) teaches one or more hub adapters (comprising, e.g., proximal motorized slide 54, Fig. 10) coupled with the drive table (38, Fig. 9D), each of the one or more hub adapters configured to couple to a corresponding hub (comprising, e.g., distal motorized slide 53, Fig. 10) so that axial movement of the each of the one or more hub adapters drives axial movement of the corresponding hub. See also Figs. 9A, 9B, 9D and associated text.
Conclusion
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792