DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dark counter read defect map generator”, “a macro-block dynamic SPAD selection” and “a DSS look-up table generator” in claims 1, 8 and 15, which will be understood as hardware controller/digital processor see Applicant’s paragraphs 66 and 68.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-14, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 20190170866) in view of Deane (US 20150285625).
Re claims 1, 8 and 15: Iguchi teaches a circuit, a method and a device comprising the circuit (fig. 1, 5, 7-11), comprising: a dark counter read (DCR) defect map generator configured to generate, during startup, a DCR map identifying malfunctioning single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs) in a SPAD array (paragraphs 90-95, identifying defective SPADs in rows and columns, fig. 7 and 8); a macro-block dynamic SPAD selection (DSS) configured to generate, during startup, patterns to be used in accordance with a number of SPADs to be enabled per SPAD cluster (paragraphs 96-101, fig. 9); a DSS generator configured to generate a selection for each SPAD macro-block based on the number of SPADs to be enabled per SPAD cluster (paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11); a plurality of local controller circuits (81a/OCj/93), each local controller circuit configured to monitor the number of photons of light detected (paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11); and a central controller circuit (95) configured to determine the number of SPADs to be enabled for each SPAD controller based on the number of photons of light detected (paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11), but does not specifically teach the DSS generator is a DSS look-up table generator configured to generate a look-up table for each SPAD macro-block based on the number of SPADs to be enabled per SPAD cluster. Deane teaches a DSS look-up table generator configured to generate a look-up table for each SPAD macro-block based on the number of SPADs to be enabled per SPAD cluster (paragraph 123, activated SPADs). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to generate a look up table using the defective map information and the number of SPADs enabled in Iguchi similar to Deane generating a look up table in ROM decoder based on activated SPADs in column in order to reduce the amount of circuitry in the system and only using desired SPADs providing reduction in noise and higher quality light detection.
Re claims 4 and 11: Iguchi as modified by Deane teaches the circuit/method/device, wherein the look-up table for each SPAD macro-block indicates a SPAD pattern identifying SPADs to be turned ON (Deane, paragraph 123, activated SPADs, Iguchi, paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11).
Re claims 5 and 12: Iguchi as modified by Deane teaches the circuit/method/device, wherein the generating the look-up table is based on a number of defective SPAD's in a SPAD cluster (Deane, paragraph 123, activated SPADs, Iguchi, paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11).
Re claims 6, 13 and 19: Iguchi as modified by Deane the circuit/method/device, wherein the look-up table is stored in a storage memory, wherein the storage memory is one of a volatile or non-volatile memory type (Deane, paragraph 123, ROM).
Re claims 7, 14 and 20: Iguchi as modified by Deane the circuit/method/device, The circuit of claim 6, wherein the number of SPADs to be enabled is further based on DSS patterns stored in the storage memory (Deane, paragraph 123, activated SPADs, Iguchi, paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11).
Re claim 18: Iguchi as modified by Deane teaches the device, wherein the look-up table for each SPAD macro-block indicates a SPAD pattern identifying SPADs to be turned ON (Deane, paragraph 123, activated SPADs, Iguchi, paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11), and wherein the generating the look-up table is based on a number of defective SPAD's in a SPAD cluster (Deane, paragraph 123, activated SPADs, Iguchi, paragraphs 96-101, fig. 1, 5, 7-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 2, 9 and 16, the prior art of record individually or in combination fails to teach the circuit/method/device of claims 1, 8 and 15 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the central controller circuit is further configured to block an output of a SPAD macro-block using a gating circuit based on determining that the SPAD macro-block generates a disproportionate number of ambient events.
Re claims 3, 10 and 17 are objected to because of their dependency on corresponding claims 2, 9 and 16.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2878