DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
Applicant’s response filed August 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, and 11-13 are pending in the application.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, and 11-13 are examined below.
Examiner Request
Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112, 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. Examiner thanks applicant in advance. See also relevant portions of MPEP 2163.II.A:
With respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See, e.g., Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, n.4 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing MPEP § 2163.04 which provides that a "simple statement such as ‘applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation ‘___’ in the application as filed’ may be sufficient where the claim is a new or amended claim, the support for the limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitation is supported."); see also MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 ("Applicant should ... specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04 ("If applicant amends the claims and points out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s), and the examiner finds that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of the filing of the application, the examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.").
Priority
Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the prior-filed application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, application no. 63/537,096 (including any material incorporated by reference), fails to provide adequate support in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. § 112 for one or more claims of this application. The above-listed application fails to provide support for the independent claims. In particular, the limitation of “retrieving payment transaction data from a banking transaction database” (or similar) does not appear to be disclosed. Additionally, dependent claim limitations of “receiving banking access credentials and logging into the banking transaction database” does not appear to be disclosed.
For the above reasons, the claims affected and their dependents are being compared to the prior art based on a filing date of November 30, 2023 (the filing date of this non-provisional application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, and 11-13, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative claim 1 recites accessing a banking transaction database; retrieving payment transactions including monetary values, times, and locations; categorizing the payment transactions into a tax classification category related to schedule C, and 1120-S form, a 1065 form, or an 1120 form; assigning a confidence level to the categorizations based on a NAICS classification code and a date, vendor type, or location; validating the categorization(s); and updating the model used to categorize the transactions, which constitutes a certain method of organizing human activity (specifically, a commercial or legal interaction) or mental process. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements beyond the abstract idea simply link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (computers and neural networks) or amount to extra-solution activity. Because the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application, claim 1 is “directed to” an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements identified above represent only well-understood, routine, and conventional technology (or placeholders for such) when compared with the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d). Viewing the additional elements as a combination does not add anything further than the individual elements. Therefore, the additional elements in the claim are not sufficient to amount to an inventive concept. Because claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea and fails to recite an inventive concept, it is patent ineligible.
Independent claim 8 contains limitations similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale.
The dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The additional limitations added by these claims fail to either integrate the claims into a practical application or add an inventive concept, because they serve to further narrow the abstract idea without integrating it into a practical application (claims 2, 4-6, 9, and 11-13), add additional elements that simply further link to a particular technological environment (claim 6), and/or amount to additional extrasolution activity (claims 2, 5, 9, and 12). Viewing the additional elements of the dependent claims as a combination does not add anything further than the individual elements. Therefore, the dependent claims neither practically integrate the abstract idea nor constitute an inventive concept, and these claims are also rejected as patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd Paragraph
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant’s recitation "utilizing a validation user interface for a user to validate the single tax classification category of the plurality of tax classification categories" would have been unclear to a person having ordinary skill in the art. It is unclear whether there is a single category being validated for a single payment transaction, for each of the plurality of payment transactions, or some subset thereof (like those flagged for review). The first or second interpretations seem more likely when the limitation is read literally. However, in light of the specification, the third interpretation appears more likely. For purposes of comparison with the prior art and determination of statutory eligibility, the examiner is adopting the third potential interpretation, that the single tax classification of each of the transactions flagged for review is validated.
Claims 8 contains language similar to the recitations in claim 1 discussed in the three immediately preceding paragraphs, and claim 8 is rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, and 11-13, as understood by the examiner, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kottoor (US 12,223,552 B1) in view of Kulkarni (US 2025/0045303 A1) and further in view of Weese (US 2022/0019860 A1).
Kottoor discloses as follows:
Claim
Limitation
Kottoor
1,8
connecting a trained neural network model executed by the one or more processors to a banking transaction database by logging into a user's account
"a user may provide credentials for an external account and records process 344 can use the credentials to access a web interface for that account. Records process 344 can then scrape account information from the web interface, e.g., having been programmed to traverse a document object model (DOM) for the web interface to retrieve relevant account transactions and details"
1,8
retrieving payment transaction data from the banking transaction database, wherein the payment transaction data comprises data from a plurality of payment transactions
1,8
wherein the data from the plurality of payment transactions comprises a monetary value of each payment transaction of the plurality of payment transactions and information relating to each payment transaction, and wherein the information relating to each payment transaction comprises at least one of a vendor information each payment transaction, a time of each payment transaction, or a location of each payment transaction, wherein the monetary value and the information relating to each payment transaction are data points
"structured data about the transactions in these records (e.g., date and time, entity, sum, etc.)"
1,8
utilizing the trained neural network to analyze the data points of each payment transaction and apply an algorithm to categorize each payment transaction of the plurality of payment transactions into a single tax classification category of a plurality of tax classification categories, wherein the plurality of tax classification categories are based on tax classifications related to tax documentation, and wherein the tax classifications are related to a classification found on a schedule C, an 1120-S form, a 1065 form, or an 1120 form
"a machine learning model can be trained to predict categories for transactions and/or entities (e.g., parent entities) for transactions (as discussed in relation to FIG. 4)"
1,8
utilizing the trained neural network to assign a confidence level to each payment transaction, wherein the confidence level is at or between zero percent and one hundred percent
"produce a confidence value with the prediction," and it would have been obvious to express this from 0-100%, as this is one of the most popular ways amongst a limited number of ways to express such a value.
1,8
wherein the confidence level is the level of confidence that the payment transaction has been placed in a correct category of the plurality of tax classification categories
This is meaning assigned to a number. It does not limit how the number (confidence level) is created. It represents an intended use or result of the number, which fails to further limit the claim.
1,8
outputting each payment transaction with its assigned tax classification to an output database, wherein each payment transaction with a confidence level below a threshold is flagged for review
"Databases 215 and 225 can warehouse (e.g. store) information such as test results, monitored state data, historic monitored state data, rules, thresholds, and the like."
2,9
requesting a validation from a user to validate the category of at least one transaction
"a user can be prompted to provide feedback about transactions with a predicted entity or category and a low confidence interval for the prediction"
4,11
requesting a validation from a user to validate the category of each transaction with a confidence level below a predetermined threshold
"a user can be prompted to provide feedback about transactions with a predicted entity or category and a low confidence interval for the prediction"
5,12
outputting payment transactions segregated into categories in an output document based on the validation from the user
See Fig. 5B
6,13
receiving banking access credentials and logging into the banking transaction database
"a user may provide credentials for an external account and records process 344 can use the credentials to access a web interface for that account. Records process 344 can then scrape account information from the web interface, e.g., having been programmed to traverse a document object model (DOM) for the web interface to retrieve relevant account transactions and details"
Kottoor fails to explicitly disclose but Kulkarni teaches:
Claim
Limitation
Kulkarni
1,8
utilizing the trained neural network to analyze the data points of each payment transaction and apply an algorithm to categorize each payment transaction of the plurality of payment transactions into a single tax classification category of a plurality of tax classification categories, wherein the plurality of tax classification categories are based on tax classifications related to tax documentation, and wherein the tax classifications are related to a classification found on a schedule C, an 1120-S form, a 1065 form, or an 1120 form
"the AI model(s) 108 may be trained to identify a tax classification for a transaction" [0023]"the technical solution includes automatic analysis and categorization of transactions using one or more of manual labeling, rules-based processing, and artificial intelligence (AI), such as machine learning (ML) or a neural network formed generative AI" [0016]
1,8
utilizing the trained neural network to assign a confidence level to each payment transaction, wherein the confidence level is at or between zero percent and one hundred percent
"When the user selects an AI model to perform the analysis, the analysis results presented to the user via application 114 indicate how the transaction data has been pre-classified based on the AI model chosen and includes a level of confidence in the result" [0047]
1,8
wherein the confidence level is determined by a NAICS classification code and at least partially by one of a date range, a business or vendor type, or a location of business operations;
See [0023]. Kulkarni fails to explicitly disclose use of a NAICS classification. However, Kulkarni does disclose "the category of goods and services involved in the transaction" and "HTS codes," and it would be obvious to substitute or add NAICS codes as this is one of a limited number of mechanisms for categorizing merchants and/or transactions.
1,8
outputting the plurality of payment transactions with each payment transaction segregated into the tax classification categories in an income statement based on the validation from the user
"the process may be streamlined for multiple verifications in order to improve the accuracy of recording the expenditure for reporting, taxation, and other legal purposes. "
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kottoor to include the neural network, data inputs, and reporting of Kulkarni in order to achieve the predictable result of improved prediction of tax classification and increased usability.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Kottoor/Kulkarni fails to explicitly disclose but Weese teaches: utilizing a validation user interface for a user to validate the single tax classification category of the plurality of tax classification categories, wherein the validation of the single tax classification category updates the neural network such that the neural network includes back propagation via reinforced learning with human feedback, and wherein the algorithm is updated by the validation of the single tax classification category to increase or decrease the confidence level of future transactions (or similar). See [0032] and [0033].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kottoor/Kulkarni to include the user interface and back propagation of Weese in order to achieve the predictable result of further improvements to the classification/categorization prediction.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
All references listed on form PTO-892 are cited in their entirety. The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gopalakrishnan Nair (US 2022/0012707 A1) discloses a system for categorizing transactions to improve servicing of peer-to-peer transactions. See the WOISA in PCT/US2024/044924 for a mapping to claims similar to applicant's.
Cella (US 2023/0201722 A1) discloses a gaming system that includes categorizing transactions ([2275]), including using AI ([2374]).
Jayaraman (US 2024/0265437 A1) discloses a system for establishing display preferences for user data including segregating transactions by category (see Figs. 6, 8, 9).
Rathi (US 2023/0019194 A1) discloses a deep learning system in a virtual reality environment, including capturing user feedback to update a neural network ([0137]).
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Regarding the 101 rejection, applicant argues that the claim amendment addresses the 101 rejection. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The 101 rejection has been modified in response to applicant’s amendment but is otherwise maintained. Regarding the additional elements, applicant further argues that “the back-propagation/validation limitation … is the mechanism by which the claimed method achieves a technical benefit with a self-improving classification system.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. The elements of validating the output of a neural network and utilizing back propagation to further train the neural network are no more than well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry. The only specificity recited is the material being acted upon rather than the technological aspects of the back propagation and validation. That is, these elements are recited at a high level of generality, And these elements are disclosed at the same level of detail. The only mention of the type of neural network employed is “a general neural network with back propagation via reinforced learning with human feedback” [0054]. That is, the disclosure is bereft of technological detail. The only detail appears to be in the types of data being fed into a model that applicant did not invent. Additionally, the technical benefit is exactly what would be expected when applying an off-the-shelf neural network classifier with validation and back propagation to any sort of data to be classified. Applicant further argues that the number of references used in the prior art rejection suggests that the claim is statutory. The examiner is unaware of any such threshold. The references are combined in a straightforward fashion and their number is a reflection of the amount of detail in the claim rather than any inventive step.
The 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn, modified, or maintained in response to applicant’s amendment. Note, also, the new rejections above.
The previous prior art rejection has been modified in response to applicant’s amendment but is otherwise maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMIE KUCAB whose telephone number is (571)270-3025. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET. The examiner’s email address is Jamie.Kucab@USPTO.gov. See MPEP 502.03 regarding email communications. Following is the sample authorization for electronic communication provided in MPEP 502.03.II: “Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.” Without such an authorization in place, an examiner is unable to respond via email.
/JAMIE R KUCAB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699