DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0175701 Reis et al., hereinafter “Reis”, in view of FR 3118406 Laurent et al., hereinafter “Laurent”.
Regarding claim 1, Reis discloses a robotic drive system (Abstract and system in Figure 10A), comprising: a drive table (Figure 10A, element 16); a shuttle (Figure 10A, element 180); and one or more hub adapters coupled to the shuttle (Figure 10A, elements 102) , the one or more hub adapters being configured to move axially along the shuttle (This is shown in Figure 9B, elements 102 that are coupled to 182 as shown in Figure 10A are configured to move axially as indicated by arrows 170), each of the one or more hub adapters configured to couple to a corresponding hub (Figure 10A, the hub is element 182 that carries adapter 102 on shuttle 180) so that axial movement of the each of the one or more hub adapters drives axial movement of the corresponding hub (As can be seen in Figure 9B by arrow 170).
Reis does not disclose a shuttle configured to move axially within the drive table.
However, Laurent discloses a robotic drive system (Para 2 and Figure 1, element 1) and teaches a shuttle configured to move axially within the drive table (Figure 1, shuttles 10 and 11 are configured to move axially as indicated by the arrows on drive table 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a shuttle that moves axially within a drive table as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to allow for longitudinal translation of the guide catheter (Laurent; Para 26).
Regarding claim 2, Reis discloses the one or more hub adapters (Figure 10A, element 102).
Reis does not disclose a first hub adapter configured to couple to a guide catheter hub; a second hub adapter configured to couple to a procedure catheter hub; and a third hub adapter configured to couple to an access catheter hub.
However, Laurent teaches a first hub adapter configured to couple to a guide catheter hub (Figure 1, elements 51 couple to guide catheter 2); a second hub adapter configured to couple to a procedure catheter hub (Figure 1, elements 61 couple to procedure catheter 3); and a third hub adapter configured to couple to an access catheter hub (Figure 1, elements 71 couple to access catheter 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed multiple hub adapters as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to control the movement of multiple catheter types (Laurent; Para 62).
Regarding claim 3, Reis discloses the one or more hub adapters further comprise a fourth hub adapter (Para 52; multiple medical tools; i.e. adapters, can be used) configured to couple to a guidewire hub (Para 72).
Regarding claim 5, Reis discloses a second linear actuator assembly configured to control axial movement of the one or more hub adapters relative to the shuttle (Para 80 and Figures 9B and 10A).
Reis does not disclose a first linear actuator assembly configured to control axial movement of the shuttle.
However, Laurent teaches a first linear actuator assembly configured to control axial movement of the shuttle (Para 24 and 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed actuation as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to control the movement of the shuttle (Laurent; Para 24 and 62).
Regarding claim 8, Reis discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Reis does not disclose movement of a proximal most hub adapter of one or more hub adapters is configured to be temporarily linked to a distal most hub adapter of the plurality of hub adapters so that the proximal most hub adapter and the distal most hub adapter move at a same speed in a same direction.
However, Laurent teaches movement of a proximal most hub adapter of one or more hub adapters is configured to be temporarily linked to a distal most hub adapter of the plurality of hub adapters so that the proximal most hub adapter and the distal most hub adapter move at a same speed in a same direction (Para 47; “two buttons being able to perform a synchronous longitudinal translation to translate said elongated flexible medical instrument”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed linked movement as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to translate the catheter guide (Laurent; Para 47).
Regarding claim 9, Reis discloses a control system configured to control movement of the shuttle and the one or more hub adapters in response to a user input (Para 47 and 80).
Regarding claim 10, Reis discloses the control system is configured to cause the shuttle to translate axially by a first distance in a first direction in response to a user input to move a first hub adapter in the first direction (Para 47 and 80).
Regarding claim 11, Reis discloses the control system is configured to cause a second hub adapter to move axially in a second direction by a second distance in response to the user input to move the first hub adapter in the first direction (Para 80).
Reis does not disclose a second hub adapter to move axially in a second direction opposite of the first direction; wherein the second distance is the same as the first distance.
However, Laurent teaches a second hub adapter to move axially in a second direction opposite of the first direction; wherein the second distance is the same as the first distance (Para 25; “two translational movements opposite to each other and which exactly compensate each other, the translational movement of the second translational module in a first direction, and the translational movement of the second elongated flexible medical instrument relative to the second translational module in a second direction, parallel and in the opposite direction to the first direction, the two translational movements being of equal force.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed linked movement as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to translate the catheter guide (Laurent; Para 47).
Regarding claim 12, Reis discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
Reis does not disclose the one or more hub adapters comprises a first hub adapter and a second hub adapter, wherein the control system is configured to temporarily link movement of the first hub adapter and the second hub adapter so that the first hub adapter and the second hub adapter move at a same speed in a same direction in response to a user input to move one or both of the first hub adapter and the second hub adapter such that an axial distance between the first hub adapter and the second hub adapters would be greater than an axial length of the shuttle.
However, Laurent teaches the one or more hub adapters comprises a first hub adapter and a second hub adapter (Para 25 and 47), wherein the control system is configured to temporarily link movement of the first hub adapter and the second hub adapter so that the first hub adapter and the second hub adapter move at a same speed in a same direction in response to a user input to move one or both of the first hub adapter and the second hub adapter such that an axial distance between the first hub adapter and the second hub adapters would be greater than an axial length of the shuttle (Para 47, see also Para 25 “maintain a certain distance from the first module in translation at all times”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed linked movement as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to translate the catheter guide (Laurent; Para 47).
Regarding claim 13, Reis discloses the drive table comprises: a main body (Annotated Figure 10A); and an extendable member configured to be at least partially received within the main body (Annotated Figure 10A) and being extendable from a proximal end or a distal end of the main body (Annotated Figure 10A).
Annotated Figure 10A
Regarding claim 14, Reis discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Reis does not disclose the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position within the main body to a second axial position in which at least a portion of the shuttle is positioned within the extendable member beyond the proximal end or distal end of the main body.
However, Laurent teaches the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position within the main body to a second axial position in which at least a portion of the shuttle is positioned within the extendable member beyond the proximal end or distal end of the main body (Figure 1, shuttles 10 and 11 are configured to move axially as indicated by the arrows on drive table 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a shuttle that moves axially within a drive table as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to allow for longitudinal translation of the guide catheter (Laurent; Para 26).
Regarding claim 15, Reis discloses the extendable member is a first extendable member (See annotated Figure 10A), the first extendable member being extendable from the distal end of the main body (See annotated Figure 10A), wherein the drive table further comprises a second extendable member extendable from the proximal end of the main body (Figure 2, element 16 includes extendable member 26).
Regarding claim 16, Reis discloses each of the first extendable member and the second extendable member has a length of about half of a length of the main body (As can be seen in annotated Figure 10A; the extended portion is about half. The word “about” is very generic and non-specific).
Regarding claim 17, Reis discloses the shuttle is positioned within the first extendable member beyond the distal end of the main body (See annotated Figure 10A).
Reis does not disclose the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position within the main body to a second axial position.
However, Laurent teaches the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position within the main body to a second axial position (Figure 1, shuttles 10 and 11 are configured to move axially as indicated by the arrows on drive table 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a shuttle that moves axially within a drive table as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to allow for longitudinal translation of the guide catheter (Laurent; Para 26).
Regarding claim 18, Reis discloses the shuttle is positioned within the first extendable member beyond the proximal end of the main body (See annotated Figure 10A).
Reis does not disclose the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position within the main body to a second axial position.
However, Laurent teaches the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position within the main body to a second axial position (Figure 1, shuttles 10 and 11 are configured to move axially as indicated by the arrows on drive table 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a shuttle that moves axially within a drive table as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to allow for longitudinal translation of the guide catheter (Laurent; Para 26).
Regarding claim 19, Reis discloses at least a portion of the shuttle is positioned in the first extendable member distal to the main body to at least a portion of the shuttle is positioned in the second extendable member proximal to the main body (See annotated Figure 10A).
Reis does not disclose the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position to a second axial position.
However, Laurent teaches the shuttle is configured to translate from a first axial position to a second axial position (Figure 1, shuttles 10 and 11 are configured to move axially as indicated by the arrows on drive table 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a shuttle that moves axially within a drive table as taught by Laurent, in the invention of Reis, in order to allow for longitudinal translation of the guide catheter (Laurent; Para 26).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0175701 Reis et al., hereinafter “Reis”, in view of FR 3118406 Laurent et al., hereinafter “Laurent”, further in view of US 2021/0393361 Keim et al., hereinafter “Keim”.
Regarding claim 4, Reis discloses each of the one or more hub adapters are configured to couple to the corresponding hub (Para 51).
Reis does not disclose each of the one or more hub adapters are configured to magnetically couple to the corresponding hub through a sterile barrier.
However, Keim discloses a robotic drive system (Abstract) and teaches each of the one or more hub adapters (Figure 2, element 100a) are configured to magnetically couple to the corresponding hub (Figure 2, element 44a and Para 60) through a sterile barrier (Figure 2, element 42 and Para 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a sterile barrier that works with magnetic coupling as taught by Keim, in the invention of Reis, in order to allow the sterile instrument to connect (reversibly) to the device and remain sterile (Keim; Para 60).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0175701 Reis et al., hereinafter “Reis”, in view of FR 3118406 Laurent et al., hereinafter “Laurent”, further in view of US 2020/0405405 Shelton, IV et al., hereinafter “Shelton”.
Regarding claim 6, Reis discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Reis does not disclose a cable management system configured to position one or more cables within an interior section of the shuttle.
However, Shelton discloses a robotic system (Abstract) and teaches a cable management system configured to position one or more cables within an interior section of the shuttle (Para 571).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a cable management system as taught by Shelton, in the invention of Reis, in order to avoid wires getting tangled (Shelton; Para 571).
Regarding claim 7, Reis discloses one or more motors configured to drive the one or more hub adapters axially along the shuttle (Figure 10A, element 110 and Para 54).
Reis does not disclose the cable management system is configured to prevent engagement of the one or more cables with the one or more motors.
However, Shelton teaches the cable management system is configured to prevent engagement of the one or more cables with the one or more motors (Para 571).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a cable management system as taught by Shelton, in the invention of Reis, in order to avoid wires getting tangled (Shelton; Para 571).
Conclusion
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796