DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a sheet connection mechanism” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldberg (US 2008/0001128).
Regarding claim 1, Goldberg teaches a fire barrier system (1, par. 2, fig. 1) comprises: a fire-resisting sheet (1, par. 30) comprising a fire-resisting layer (6) and a support layer (5), wherein the fire-resisting layer comprises mineral wool (par. 34), and a support structure (2) adapted to support the fire-resisting sheet above the ground (fig. 1), wherein the fire barrier system can be positioned in proximity to a fire to help prevent the spread of the fire across the fire barrier system (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Goldberg teaches the fire barrier system described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the support structure is adapted to support the fire-resisting sheet at least 18 inches above the ground (fig. 1 – the sheet is supported from the shaft, which may be mounted to support the sheet at any height above the ground).
Regarding claim 8, Goldberg teaches the fire barrier system described regarding claim 1 and further wherein the fire-resisting sheet comprises a third layer (7), the third layer comprising a fabric (par. 44).
Claims 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson (US 2021/0123260).
Regarding claim 12, Thompson teaches a fire barrier system (1000) comprises: a first fire-resisting sheet comprising a fire-resisting material (1000A), a second fire-resisting sheet comprising a fire-resisting material (1000B), and a sheet connection mechanism (1900/1920) adapted to connect the first fire-resisting sheet to the second fire-resisting sheet to extend the length or height of the fire barrier system (par. 25, 26; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Thompson teaches the fire-barrier system described regarding claim 12, and further wherein the sheet connection mechanism comprises an extending portion (1900/1920) of the first sheet that extends beyond the fire-resisting material of the first sheet (fig. 1), wherein the extending portion contains a first fastening member (par. 25 – “tab”), wherein the second fire-resisting sheet comprises a second fastening member (par. 25 – “recess”), and wherein the first fastening member can engage a second fastening member to connect the first fire-resisting sheet to the second fire- resisting sheet in a manner that maintains fire barrier properties of the system (par. 25, 26; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Thompson teaches the fire-barrier system described regarding claim 12, and further wherein the sheet connecting mechanism comprises a horizontal connecting mechanism and a vertical connecting mechanism (figs., 1, 2 – tabs and recesses secure the first sheet to the second sheet both vertically and horizontally).
Regarding claim 18, Thompson teaches a method of creating a fire barrier between a fire and an area to be protected from the fire (par. 26; fig. 2), the method comprising: supporting a fire-resisting sheet (1100/1200) above the ground at a location between the fire and the area to be protected from the fire (fig. 2), the fire resisting sheet comprising a fire-resisting material (par. 29).
Regarding claim 19, Thompson teaches the fire-barrier system described regarding claim 18, and further wherein the fire-resisting sheet is supported at a location in proximity to a fire break line (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Thompson teaches the fire-barrier system described regarding claim 18, and further comprising connecting the fire-resisting sheet to another fire-resisting sheet to extend the length or height of the fire barrier (fig. 2; par. 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-9, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Goldberg.
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a fire barrier system (1000) comprises: a fire-resisting sheet (1100, par. 30) comprising a fire-resisting layer (par. 29) and a support layer (1600), and a support structure (1300/1800) adapted to support the fire-resisting sheet above the ground (fig. 1), wherein the fire barrier system can be positioned in proximity to a fire to help prevent the spread of the fire across the fire barrier system (fig. 2). Thompson does not explicitly disclose wherein the fire-resisting layer comprises mineral wool..
Goldberg teaches the fire barrier system described regarding claim 1, specifically wherein the fire-resisting material comprises mineral wool.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-barrier system of Thompson such that the fire-resisting material comprises mineral wool, as taught by Goldberg, since this was known to be a good insulating material to prevent the heat from a fire from passing through.
Regarding claim 3, Thompson in view of Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the support structure comprises one or more vertical support members (1800) each comprising a connecting portion (fig. 1 – portion of stake 1800 in hinge 1300) and an anchoring portion (1810).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson in view of Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 3, and further wherein the anchoring portion comprises a stake adapted to be inserted into the ground (par. 26).
Regarding claim 8, Thompson in view of Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 1, and Goldberg further teaches wherein the fire-resisting sheet comprises a third layer (7), the third layer comprising a fabric (par. 44). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the fire-resisting sheet of Thompson to include a third layer cpomprising a fabric since this was known to provide additional heat insulating capability (Goldberg, par. 42).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson in view of Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 1, and further teaches wherein the fabric comprises polyethylene terephthalate (par. 21).
Regarding claim 11, Thompson in view of Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the fire resisting sheet comprises a sheet connecting mechanism (1900/1920) adapted to connect the fire-resisting sheet to a second fire-resisting sheet (par. 25), the sheet connecting mechanism comprising an extending portion of the fire-resisting sheet that extends beyond the fire-resisting layer (fig. 1), the extending portion comprising a fastening member (par. 25 – “tab”) adapted to connect to the second fire-resisting sheet (par. 25 – “recess”) in a manner that maintains fire barrier properties of the system (par. 25, 26; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Thompson discloses the fire-barrier system described regarding claim 12, but not further wherein the fire-resisting material comprises mineral wool.
Goldberg teaches the fire barrier system described regarding claim 1, specifically wherein the fire-resisting material comprises mineral wool.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-barrier system of Thompson such that the fire-resisting material comprises mineral wool, as taught by Goldberg, since this was known to be a good insulating material to prevent the heat from a fire from passing through.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Liu et al. (US 5,968,669).
Regarding claim 5, Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 1, but not further wherein the fire-resisting layer further comprises a wetting agent.
Liu teaches a fire-retardant coating comprising a wetting agent (col. 4, ln. 39-46).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-barrier system of Goldberg to further include a wetting agent, as taught by Liu, since this was known to provide additional fire protection.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Margolin (US 2015/0306435).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 1, but not further wherein the support layer comprises a para-aramid or a meta-aramid.
Margolin teaches a fire barrier system (100) comprising a support layer (235/240) that comprises both a para-aramid and a meta-aramid (par. 48 – Kevlar, Nomex).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-barrier system of Goldberg to further include both a para-aramid and a meta-aramid as the support layer, as taught by Margolin, since these materials were known to be fireproof and abrasion resistant (Margolin, par. 48).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Hanna (US 2011/0027500).
Regarding claim 10, Goldberg discloses the system described regarding claim 1, but not further wherein the fire-resisting sheet comprises a wire layer.
Hanna teaches a fire barrier system (2) comprising a fire-resisting sheet comprising a wire layer (10, see fig. 2)).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-barrier system of Goldberg to further include a wire layer in the fire-resisting sheet, as taught by Hanna, since this was known to help secure the inner layers (Hanna, par. 36).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Dorel (US 2017/0021208).
Regarding claim 15, Thompson discloses the system described regarding claim 12, but not further wherein the fire-resisting material passes the ASTM vertical flame test.
Dorel teaches a fire barrier system (par. 2; fig. 1) comprising a fire-resisting material that must pass the ASTM vertical flame test (par. 6).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-barrier system of Thompson such that the fire-resisting material passes the ASTM vertical flame test, as taught by Dorel, since this would provide assurance that the material meets a known standard for flammability resistance, which would be required by governing bodies and insurance companies.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Margolin (US 2015/0306435).
Regarding claim 17, Thompson discloses the system described regarding claim 12, but not further wherein the first fire resisting sheet further comprises a para-aramid or a meta-aramid.
Margolin teaches a fire barrier system (100) comprising a support layer (235/240) that comprises both a para-aramid and a meta-aramid (par. 48 – Kevlar, Nomex).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire-barrier system of Thompson to further include a para-aramid or a meta-aramid as the first fire resisting sheet, as taught by Margolin, since these materials were known to be fireproof and abrasion resistant (Margolin, par. 48).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rogers et al. (US 2004/0074152), Ortiz (US 2009/0194297), Paull et al. (US 2020/0147423), and Castelo (US 2020/0368564) all teach fire barrier systems having elements of the claimed invention.
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752