Status of Claims
In the response dated 07/24/2026, the status of the claims are as follows:
Claims 1, 4, 13, 17 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejections to claims 1-8 and 17-19 over Olsen have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. The 35 USC § 102 rejections to claims 1-8 and 17-19 over Olsen have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection to claims 1-5 is made in view of Patil.
Applicant's arguments, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejections to claims 9-12 over Olsen have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While Olsen discloses the blades B4 as additional blade louvers, [col. 4 lines 34-36] of Olsen states “In FIG. 4, the blade B4 immediately adjacent each jamb 14 is installed with its flange portions in engagement with the jamb 14”. Therefore, the blades B4 in engagement with the jamb 14 can thus be included as a member of the claimed frame assembly, as the blades B4 and jamb 14 are assembled in engagement with one another.
Applicant's arguments, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejections to claims 9-12 over Patil have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The protrusions 302 of Patil read on a ”slanted wall” as claimed, as they comprise a slanted wall structure that define two smaller channels within first channel 296, wherein the two smaller channels define a trapezoidal cross section between the protrusions 302 and the opposite perpendicular walls of first channel 296, thus reading on the first plurality of channels. For the same reasons, wherein Patil teaches protrusions 302 located in channels 298 and 302 as well in [0047], Patil teaches the claimed second plurality of channels.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejections to claims 17-20 over Patil have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to the claims. The 35 USC § 102 rejections to claims 17-20 over Patil have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection to claims 17-20 is made in view under a different interpretation of Patil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patil (US20210172646A1).
Regarding claim 1, Patil teaches
a jamb frame member for a louver assembly (louver assembly 50, fig. 2), the jamb frame member configured to be coupled to a plurality of louver blades each extending laterally across an opening of the louver assembly (jamb frames 54 and louver blades 58, fig. 2), the jamb frame member comprising:
a frame body (jamb frames 54) comprising a series of main panels that extend in a direction of an airflow through the louver assembly (panels of jamb frames 54 extending along first axis 292 of fig. 8, including base segments 290), wherein the series of main panels are coupled together by one or more connector panels that extend transversely to the direction of the airflow (head frame 55, sill frame member 56, fig. 3); and
a plurality of slanted walls extending at an angle from one of the main panels in an upstream direction relative to the direction of the airflow through the louver assembly (protrusions 302, fig. 8; “the jamb frame 54 may include protrusions 302 extending into any of the other channels 298 , 300 to improve guidance of the solid and/or liquid particles into and through the other channels 298 , 300” [0047]; plurality of protrusions 302 extending at an angle in an upstream direction, as shown on annotated fig. 8 below, annotated fig. 8 includes protrusions 302 extending into channels 298, 300), wherein each of the plurality of slanted walls and the one of the main panels at least partially define a channel configured to receive fluid collected by the plurality of louver blades and direct the fluid out of the jamb frame member (“The protrusions 302 may be oriented to guide the solid and/or liquid particles into the first channel 296 while blocking the solid and/or liquid particles from traveling out of the first channel 296 in the installed configuration” [0047]; “jamb frames 54 may be configured to guide the solid and/or liquid particles to flow out of the louver assembly 50” [0030])
First annotated fig. 8 of Patil
Regarding claim 2, Patil teaches the jamb frame member of claim 1,
wherein the series of main panels are coupled together by the connector panels such that at least one of the main panels is offset from at least another of the main panels in a direction transverse to the direction of the airflow (as shown on fig. 2-3)
Regarding claim 3, Patil teaches the jamb frame member of claim 1, comprising:
a plurality of additional walls extending from an additional one of the main panels (protrusions 302 of channel 298 located on jamb frame 54 opposite that of fig. 8, as shown on second annotated fig. 8 below), wherein each of the plurality additional walls at least partially defines an intermediate channel configured to receive and direct the fluid out of the jamb frame member (intermediate channel shown on second annotated fig. 8 below)
Second annotated fig. 8 of Patil
Regarding claim 4, Patil teaches the jamb frame member of claim 3, comprising:
a first pocket positioned upstream of the plurality slanted walls and upstream of the plurality additional walls relative to the direction of the airflow through the louver assembly (as shown on second annotated fig. 8 above); and
a second pocket positioned downstream of the plurality slanted walls and downstream of the plurality of additional walls relative to the direction of the airflow through the louver assembly (as shown on second annotated fig. 8 above)
Regarding claim 5, Patil teaches the jamb frame member of claim 4,
wherein the second pocket comprises an additional slanted wall extending therein, wherein the additional slanted wall extends at an additional angle in the upstream direction relative to the direction of the airflow through the louver assembly (upstream slanted wall of protrusion 302 of second pocket shown on second annotated fig. 8 above)
Regarding claim 9, Patil teaches
a louver assembly for a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (louver assembly 50, fig. 2), the louver assembly comprising:
a plurality of louver blades (louver blades 58) configured to collect liquid and/or solid particles (“the louver blades 58 may be configured to block solid and/or liquid particles (e.g., solid and/or liquid particles carried by the air flow) from passing through the louver assembly 50 via the opening 60”) [0030], wherein each louver blade of the plurality of louver blades includes one or more cavities (first recesses 118, second recesses 134) and one or more slanted portions (second extension 132); and
a frame assembly (jamb frames 54) comprising: a first jamb frame member and a second jamb frame member each configured to direct the liquid and/or solid particles collected by the plurality of louver blades out of the louver assembly (two jamb frames, fig. 2; “jamb frames 54 may be configured to guide the solid and/or liquid particles to flow out of the louver assembly 50” [0030]), wherein each of the first jamb frame member and the second jamb frame member comprises:
a first plurality of channels defined at least partially by one or more slanted walls (trapezoidal channels formed between protrusions 302 and wall sections of first channel 296, fig. 8); and
a second plurality of channels defined at least partially by one or more intermediate walls (“Additional or alternative embodiments of the jamb frame 54 may include protrusions 302 extending into any of the other channels 298 , 300 to improve guidance of the solid and/or liquid particles into and through the other channels 298 , 300” [0047]; thus, teaches additional trapezoidal channels formed between protrusions 302 and wall sections of second channel 298, fig. 8))
Regarding claim 10, Patil teaches the louver assembly of claim 9,
wherein the first plurality of channels is aligned with a cavity of the one or more cavities of each of the plurality of louver blades along a lateral axis of the louver assembly (“the first channel 296 may be aligned with the respective first recesses 118 of the louver blades 58 relative to the first axis 292” [0046]; thus, first channel 296 comprising protrusions 302 aligned with first recesses 118), and wherein the second plurality of channels is aligned with a slanted portion of the one or more slanted portions of each of the plurality of louver blades along the lateral axis of the louver assembly (“the second channel 298 may be aligned with the respective second recesses 134 of the louver blades 58 relative to the first axis 292 or a direction of air flow through the louver assembly 50” [0046]; thus, second channel 298 comprising protrusions 302 aligned with second extension 132 of second recesses 134)
Regarding claim 11, Patil teaches the louver assembly of claim 9,
wherein each of the one or more slanted walls extends in an upstream direction relative to a direction of an airflow directed through the louver assembly (second extensions 132 as shown on annotated fig. 5)
Regarding claim 12, Patil teaches the louver assembly of claim 9,
wherein the first jamb frame member and the second jamb frame member each comprises a body having one or more main panels (panels of jamb frames 54 extending along first axis 292 of fig. 8, including base segments 290) and one or more connecting panels (panels of jamb frames 54 extending along second axis 294 of fig. 8), and wherein the one or more slanted walls extend from the one of the one or more main panels at an angle relative to a lateral axis extending through the louver assembly (fig. 8)
Regarding claim 17, Patil teaches
a jamb frame member for a louver assembly (louver assembly 50, fig. 2), the jamb frame member configured to be coupled to a plurality of louver blades each extending laterally across an opening of the louver assembly (jamb frames 54 and louver blades 58, fig. 2), the jamb frame member comprising:
a frame body (jamb frames 54, head frame 55, sill frame 56) comprising a series of main panels that extend in a direction of an airflow through the louver assembly (jamb frames 54, fig. 2) and one or more connecting panels that extend crosswise to the direction of the airflow (head frame 55, sill frame 56, fig. 2);
a plurality of pocket sections at least partially defined by the frame body (first channel 296 on each jamb frame 54, as shown on third annotated fig. 8 below), wherein each of the plurality of pocket sections comprises a first plurality of channels (trapezoidal channels created by protrusions 302 on first channel 296, shown on third annotated fig. 8 below);
a plurality of intermediate channel sections at least partially defined by the frame body (second channel 298 on each jamb frame 54, as shown on third annotated fig. 8 below), wherein each of the plurality of intermediate channel sections comprises a second plurality of channels (“the jamb frame 54 may include protrusions 302 extending into any of the other channels 298 , 300 to improve guidance of the solid and/or liquid particles into and through the other channels 298 , 300” [0047]; trapezoidal channels created by protrusions 302 on second channel 298, shown on third annotated fig. 8 below); and
a plurality of slanted channel sections at least partially defined by the frame body (third channel 300 on each jamb frame 54, as shown on third annotated fig. 8 below), wherein each of the plurality of slanted channel sections comprises a third plurality of channels (“the jamb frame 54 may include protrusions 302 extending into any of the other channels 298 , 300 to improve guidance of the solid and/or liquid particles into and through the other channels 298 , 300” [0047]; trapezoidal channels created by protrusions 302 on third channel 300, shown on third annotated fig. 8 below),
wherein the first plurality of channels, the second plurality of channels, and the third plurality of channels are configured to receive and direct liquid and/or solid particles out of the louver assembly (“The protrusions 302 may be oriented to guide the solid and/or liquid particles into the first channel 296 while blocking the solid and/or liquid particles from traveling out of the first channel 296 in the installed configuration” [0047]; “jamb frames 54 may be configured to guide the solid and/or liquid particles to flow out of the louver assembly 50” [0030])
Third annotated fig. 8 of Patil
Regarding claim 18, Patil teaches the jamb frame member of claim 17,
wherein a first intermediate channel section of the plurality of intermediate channel sections is configured to align with a first slanted portion of a louver blade extending through the louver assembly, and a second intermediate channel section of the plurality of intermediate channel sections is configured to align with a second slanted portion of the louver blade extending through the louver assembly (wherein second channel 298 of the left jamb frame 54 reads on a first intermediate channel section and second channel 298 of the right jamb frame 54 reads on a second intermediate channel section; as shown on annotated fig. 5 of Patil below, both the first and second slanted portions align with both intermediate channel sections of the jamb frames 54, thus reading on the claim)
Annotated fig. 5 of Patil
Regarding claim 19, Patil teaches the jamb frame member of claim 17,
wherein a first slanted channel section of the plurality of slanted channel sections is configured to align with a first cavity of a louver blade extending through the louver assembly and a second slanted channel section of the plurality of slanted channel sections is configured to align with a second cavity of the louver blade extending through the louver assembly (wherein third channel 300 of the left jamb frame 54 reads on a first slanted channel section and third channel 300 of the right jamb frame 54 reads on a second slanted channel section; as shown on annotated fig. 5 of Patil above, both the first and second cavities align with both slanted channel sections of the jamb frames 54, thus reading on the claim)
Regarding claim 20, Patil teaches the jamb frame member of claim 17,
wherein each channel of the second plurality of channels defines a first volume, each channel of the third plurality of channels defines a second volume, and wherein the second volume greater than the first volume (as shown on third annotated fig. 8 above, volume of third channel 300 is deeper than that of second channel 298, thus first trapezoidal volume created by protrusions 302 of second channel 298 is smaller than second trapezoidal volume created by protrusions 302 of third channel 300)
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Olsen (US5542224A).
Regarding claim 9, Olsen teaches
a louver assembly for a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (fig. 1), the louver assembly comprising:
a plurality of louver blades (blades B1, B2, B5, B6, fig. 4) configured to collect liquid and/or solid particles (“The tip portions 163t of each rear flange 163 of each blade form a channel, which catches all water collecting on a web portion 161 and a rear flange leg portion 163l that is blown along the blade by the air flow. The water caught in the channels drains to the sill”) [col. 5 lines 28-32], wherein each louver blade of the plurality of louver blades includes one or more cavities and one or more slanted portions (slanted front flanges 162 and rear flanges 163, cavities formed between the flanges); and
a frame assembly (two jambs 14, header 10, and sill 12, fig. 1) comprising: a first jamb frame member and a second jamb frame member each configured to direct the liquid and/or solid particles collected by the plurality of louver blades out of the louver assembly (blades B4, fig. 4; “In FIG. 4, the blade B4 immediately adjacent each jamb 14 is installed with its flange portions in engagement with the jamb 14” [col. 4 lines 34-36]; blade B4 comprises a plurality of slanted walls extending at an angle from one of the main panels in an upstream direction, as shown on first annotated fig. 4 below), wherein each of the first jamb frame member and the second jamb frame member comprises:
a first plurality of channels defined at least partially by one or more slanted walls (formed by left side portions 162t); and
a second plurality of channels defined at least partially by one or more intermediate walls (formed by right side portions 162t)
First annotated fig. 4 of Olsen
Regarding claim 10, Olsen teaches the louver assembly of claim 9,
wherein the first plurality of channels is aligned with a cavity of the one or more cavities of each of the plurality of louver blades along a lateral axis of the louver assembly (left side portions 162t of blade B4 aligned with a cavity formed by left side slanted front flanges 162 and rear flanges 163), and wherein the second plurality of channels is aligned with a slanted portion of the one or more slanted portions of each of the plurality of louver blades along the lateral axis of the louver assembly (right side portions 162t of blade B4 aligned with a cavity formed by left side slanted front flanges 162 and rear flanges 163 of blades B1, B2, B5, B6, fig. 4)
Regarding claim 11, Olsen teaches the louver assembly of claim 9,
wherein each of the one or more slanted walls extends in an upstream direction relative to a direction of an airflow directed through the louver assembly (as shown on first annotated fig. 4 above)
Regarding claim 12, Olsen teaches the louver assembly of claim 9,
wherein the first jamb frame member and the second jamb frame member each comprises a body having one or more main panels (two jambs 14 comprising a panel extending in a direction of an airflow through the louver assembly, fig. 4) and one or more connecting panels (panels of header 10 and sill 12, fig. 1; one of each of header 10 and sill 12 associated with one of each jamb frame member), and wherein the one or more slanted walls extend from the one of the one or more main panels at an angle relative to a lateral axis extending through the louver assembly (fig. 4)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the subject matter not found includes “wherein each of the plurality of slanted walls comprises a shoe structure having a first branching portion and a second branching portion”, in combination with the other elements of claim 1 from which claim 6 depends. The closest art of record is Patil as applied in the office action. While Patil teaches the plurality of slanted walls within the jamb frame system, Patil does not explicitly teach the slanted walls of protrusions 302 comprising multiple branching portions. A modification to include this claim language would have been non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. No other prior art was found to teach the claim in its entirety.
Claims 7-8 are indicated as allowable based on their dependence to claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, the subject matter not found includes “wherein the first jamb frame member and the second jamb frame member each comprises: a first pocket configured to direct the liquid and/or solid particles collected by the plurality of louver blades out of the louver assembly, wherein the first pocket is positioned upstream of the first plurality of channels and upstream of the second plurality of channels relative to a direction of an airflow through the louver assembly; and. a second pocket configured to direct the liquid and/or solid particles collected by the plurality of louver blades out of the louver assembly, wherein the second pocket is positioned downstream of the first plurality of channels and downstream of the second plurality of channels relative to the direction of the airflow through the louver assembly”, in combination with the other elements of claim 9 from which claim 13 depends. The closest art of record is Olsen and Patil as applied in the office action. While both Olsen and Patil teaches additional pockets within the jamb frame system, these references do not explicitly teach both a first pocket positioned upstream of the features reading on the claimed first plurality of channels as well as a second pocket positioned downstream of the features reading on the claimed second plurality of channels. A modification to include this claim language would have been non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. No other prior art was found to teach the claim in its entirety.
Claims 14-16 are indicated as allowable based on their dependence to claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Barletta (AU2014268222A1), which teaches a frame assembly comprising a plurality of fin walls protruding from each frame body
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762