DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Notice of AIA Status
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mansour et al., US 2025/0005528 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Mansour discloses a method implemented using one or more processors, comprising:
Processing a first large language model (LLM) prompt using an LLM to generate a first LLM response. Mansour ¶¶ 258-259.
Providing the first LLM response to a client application, wherein the first LLM response is operable by the client application to provide first rendered LLM output. Mansour ¶¶ 259, 261, fig. 6B.
Receiving, from the client application: an indication of a subportion of the first rendered LLM output that has been selected using one or more input devices, and a request for a modified version of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output. Mansour ¶ 285, fig. 10A.
Extracting a subportion of the first LLM response that corresponds to the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output. Mansour ¶ 286.
Assembling, as a second LLM prompt, the selected subportion of the first LLM response with data indicative of the request to modify the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output. Mansour ¶ 286.
Processing the second LLM prompt using the same LLM or a different LLM to generate a second LLM response. Mansour ¶ 286.
Providing the second LLM response to the client application, wherein the second LLM response is operable by the client application to provide second rendered LLM output that includes at least a part of the first rendered LLM output outside of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output and the modified version of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output. Mansour ¶ 287, fig. 10B.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Mansour discloses wherein the first LLM response comprises a string of raw text that includes metadata instructions for formatting the first rendered LLM output at the client application. Mansour ¶ 268.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 2, Mansour discloses wherein the selecting comprises receiving, from the client application, a starting character position and an ending character position that identify a segment of the string of raw text outside of the metadata instructions. Mansour ¶ 285, fig. 10A (selected portion 1004).
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Mansour discloses wherein the request for a modified version of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output comprises a request to add one or more details to the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output. Mansour teaches that displayed command controls may correspond to different content modification or content generation actions. Mansour ¶ 285. Mansour teaches the content modification action of expanding on a subtopic (i.e., adding details). Id. ¶ 262. Additionally, Mansour teaches the content modification action of adjusting the length of content (i.e., adding/removing details). Id. ¶ 255.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Mansour discloses wherein the request for a modified version of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output comprises a request to modify or replace one or more details of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output. Mansour teaches that displayed command controls may correspond to different content modification or content generation actions, such as changing a tone of content. Mansour ¶ 285. Changing a tone of content implies the modification or replacement of details.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Mansour discloses wherein the request for a modified version of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output comprises a request to add content to the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output that supports one or more details of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output. Mansour teaches that displayed command controls may correspond to different content modification or content generation actions. Mansour ¶ 285. Mansour teaches the content modification action of expanding on a subtopic (i.e., adding content). Id. ¶ 262. Additionally, Mansour teaches the content modification action of adjusting the length of content (i.e., adding/removing content). Id. ¶ 255.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Mansour discloses wherein the request for a modified version of the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output comprises a natural language request. Mansour teaches receiving selection of predefined natural language command control (e.g., “SUMMARIZE”) from a command selection interface window. Mansour ¶ 285, fig. 10A.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Mansour discloses wherein the first LLM response comprises metadata instructions for rendering one or more images, and the selected subportion of the first rendered LLM output comprises one or more rendered images. Mansour teaches that an LLM may generate images. Mansour ¶ 82.
Claims 13-18 are drawn to a system that implements the methods recited in claims 1-6, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims.
Claim 20 is drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the method recited in claim 1. Accordingly, this claim is rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejection of the corresponding claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10-12, and 19 contain allowable subject matter.
Claims 7, 10-12, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Although particular portions of the prior art may have been cited in support of the rejections, the specified citations are merely representative of the teachings. Other passages and figures in the cited prior art may apply. Accordingly, Applicant should consider the entirety of the cited prior art for potentially teaching all or part of the claims.
Asher D. Kells
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2171
/Asher D Kells/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171