DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on the application filed November 30, 2023.
Claims 25-43 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-24 have been cancelled by preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 10/09/2024 has been considered. An initialed copy of Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Double Patenting
Claims 25-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 13, 14, 17, 19, 20, and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 10,671,457. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claims. The examined application claims are anticipated by the reference claims in, because all the features recited in claims 25-43 of this application can also be found in the claims of the reference patent as per the following mappings. Claims 1, 2, and 4 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claim 25. Claim 4 of the reference patent anticipates the examined application’s claims 27-29. Claim 2 of the reference patent anticipates the examined application’s claims 30 and 31. Claims 19, 20, and 23 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claim 32. Claim 23 of the reference patent anticipates the examined application’s claims 34-36. Claim 20 of the reference patent anticipates the examined application’s claims 37 and 28. Claims 13, 14, and 17 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claim 39. Claim 17 of the reference patent anticipates the examined application’s claims 41-43.
Claims 25-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 10-13, 15, 20, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,989,599. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is anticipated by the reference claims. The examined application claims are anticipated by the reference claims in, because all the features recited in claims 25-43 of this application can also be found in the claims of the reference patent as per the following mappings. Claims 1 and 10 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claims 25 and 39. Claim 1 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claims 26 and 40. Claim 11 of the reference patent anticipates the examined application’s claims 27-29. Claims 2 and 4 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claims 30 and 31, respectively. Claims 12 and 20 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claim 32. Claims 12, 13, and 15 of the reference patent anticipate the examined application’s claims 33, 37, and 38, respectively. Claim 21 of the reference patent anticipates the examined application’s claims 34-36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-29, 32-36, and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dinan (Enabling MPI Interoperability Through Flexible Communication Endpoints).
Regarding claim 25, Dinan discloses:
interface circuitry; machine-readable instructions; and at least one processor circuit to be programmed by the machine-readable instructions to (see at least Abstract; section 1, paragraph 3, MPI interface, interoperability of threads with MPI):
detect a first outbound communication and a second outbound communication from first core circuitry to second core circuitry (see at least section 5.1, paragraph 2, number of cores drives the number of threads; section 3, paragraph 1, MPI endpoint, one or more threads attached to an endpoint, communication endpoints);
label the first outbound communication with a first context, the first outbound communication associated with a first operation to be executed on the second core circuitry; label the second outbound communication with a second context, the second outbound communication associated with a second operation to be executed on the second core circuitry (see at least section 3.2, paragraph 1, MPI communicators provide unique communication context to perform matching between operations and distinguish communication operations; page 15, left column, paragraphs 2-4, creating communicators, communicator handle);
cause a blocking operation on the second core when the first context is the same as the second context; and bypass the blocking operation on the second core when the first context is different than the second context (see at least page 15, right column, paragraph 3, thread calling a blocking operation must make progress on its endpoints, enables MPI library to allow multiple threads to drive communication on different endpoints concurrently, MPI hint provided that enables the MPI implementation to avoid locking when accessing that endpoint’s state; also see page 15, left column, paragraph 7, discusses aggregating endpoint free requests to avoid deadlock)
Regarding claim 26, the rejection of claim 25 is incorporated, and Dinan further discloses:
wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to cause the first context to have a same label as the second context based on a similarity between the first operation and the second operation (see at least page 14, left column, paragraph 3, matched operations when multiple threads share MPI rank; section 3.2, paragraph 1, MPI communicators provide a unique communication context that is used to perform matching between operations and to distinguish communication operations that arise from different components)
Regarding claim 27, the rejection of claim 25 is incorporated, and Dinan further discloses:
wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to prevent the second operation from executing on the second core in response to the blocking operation (see at least page 15, right column, paragraph 3, thread calling a blocking operation must make progress on its endpoints, enables MPI library to allow multiple threads to drive communication on different endpoints concurrently, MPI hint provided that enables the MPI implementation to avoid locking when accessing that endpoint’s state; also see page 15, left column, paragraph 7, discusses aggregating endpoint free requests to avoid deadlock)
Regarding claim 28, the rejection of claim 27 is incorporated, and Dinan further discloses:
wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to permit the second operation to execute on the second core when the first operation is complete (see at least page 15, right column, paragraph 3, thread calling a blocking operation must make progress on its endpoints, enables MPI library to allow multiple threads to drive communication on different endpoints concurrently, MPI hint provided that enables the MPI implementation to avoid locking when accessing that endpoint’s state; also see page 15, left column, paragraph 7, discusses aggregating endpoint free requests to avoid deadlock)
Regarding claim 29, the rejection of claim 25 is incorporated, and Dinan further discloses:
wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to permit the second operation to execute on the second core at the same time the first operation executes on the second core when the blocking operation is bypassed (see at least page 15, right column, paragraph 3, thread calling a blocking operation must make progress on its endpoints, enables MPI library to allow multiple threads to drive communication on different endpoints concurrently, MPI hint provided that enables the MPI implementation to avoid locking when accessing that endpoint’s state; also see page 15, left column, paragraph 7, discusses aggregating endpoint free requests to avoid deadlock)
Regarding claims 32-36 and 39-43, the scope of the instant claims does not differ substantially from that of claims 25-29. Accordingly, claims 32-36 and 39-43 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 25-29, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 31, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan (Enabling MPI Interoperability Through Flexible Communication Endpoints) in view of Huang (US 2008/0127203).
Regarding claim 30, the rejection of claim 25 is incorporated. However, Dinan does not explicitly disclose, but Huang discloses:
wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to increment a sent messages counter based on detecting the first outbound communication or the second outbound communication from the first core circuitry to the second core circuitry (see at least paragraph 29, synchronization functions required by the MPI standard are implemented by comparing local and remote counts of completed operations and waiting until the counts are equal; figure 2, origin started increment the counter, call with the send)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dinan by adapting the teachings of Huang to include MPI standard synchronization functionality including message counters. The combination allows for synchronization between processes to prevent conflicts in the communication system.
Regarding claim 31, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated. However, Dinan does not explicitly disclose, but Huang discloses:
wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to compare a value of the sent messages counter to a value of a received acknowledgements counter to determine access count values (see at least paragraph 29, synchronization functions required by the MPI standard are implemented by comparing local and remote counts of completed operations and waiting until the counts are equal; figure 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dinan by adapting the teachings of Huang to include MPI standard synchronization functionality including message counters. The combination allows for synchronization between processes to prevent conflicts in the communication system.
Regarding claims 37 and 38, the scope of the instant claims does not differ substantially from that of claims 30 and 31 and they are rejected for the same reasons, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Archer discloses nodes communicating using MPI and discusses contexts ¶77-87.
/KIMBERLY L JORDAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2194