DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Erhart (US20200185681) in view of Chang (KR20160067415).
As to claim 1, Erhart discloses a battery system (figure 2) comprising: a plurality of battery modules (paragraph 0009); a plurality of cell supervision circuit boards (CSCBs) (paragraph 0009); a flexible printed circuit (FPC) configured to electrically connect at least one of the plurality of battery modules to at least one of the plurality of CSCBs (paragraph 0025); a temperature sensor mounted to the FPC and physically connected to the battery module (paragraph 0023).
Erhart fail to disclose a protector protecting the temperature sensor by covering the temperature sensor exposed on the FPC.
Chang teaches a protector protecting the temperature sensor by covering the temperature sensor exposed on the FPC for the purpose of preventing the thermistor being separated from a ring terminal (paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Erhart with a protector protecting the temperature sensor by covering the temperature sensor exposed on the FPC for the purpose of preventing the thermistor being separated from a ring terminal (paragraph 0046).
As to claim 2, Erhart fail to disclose wherein the protector comprises: a coating covering a portion of the temperature sensor exposed on one side of the FPC; and a stiffener opposite to the coating with the temperature sensor therebetween and covering another portion of the temperature sensor exposed on another side of the FPC.
Chang teaches wherein the protector comprises: a coating covering a portion of the temperature sensor exposed on one side of the FPC (figure 1,4 number 410); and a stiffener opposite to the coating with the temperature sensor therebetween and covering another portion of the temperature sensor exposed on another side of the FPC (140) for the purpose of preventing the thermistor being separated from a ring terminal (paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Erhart with a coating covering a portion of the temperature sensor exposed on one side of the FPC and a stiffener opposite to the coating with the temperature sensor therebetween and covering another portion of the temperature sensor exposed on another side of the FPC for the purpose of preventing the thermistor being separated from a ring terminal (paragraph 0046).
As to claim 3, Erhart fail to disclose further comprising a thermally conductive and electrically insulating tape between the temperature sensor and the stiffener.
Chang teaches further comprising a thermally conductive and electrically insulating tape between the temperature sensor and the stiffener for the purpose of fixing the thermistor to the ring terminal (paragraph 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Erhart with a thermally conductive and electrically insulating tape between the temperature sensor and the stiffener for the purpose of fixing the thermistor to the ring terminal (paragraph 0055).
As to claims 4-5, Erhart fail to disclose wherein the stiffener is a metal foil such as aluminum foil. Chang teaches that the stiffener is a reinforcing material such as thermosetting material (paragraph 0046). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide the stiffener as a metal foil such as aluminum foil for the purpose of providing optimal results in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 6, Erhart discloses wherein the temperature sensor is physically connected to an electrode terminal of a battery cell of the battery module (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 7, Erhart discloses wherein the temperature sensor is a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) temperature sensor (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 8, Erhart discloses wherein a first FPC is connected to a first battery module and a contact pad of a first CSCB and a second FPC is connected to a second battery module and a contact pad of a second CSCB (paragraph 0047).
As to claim 9, Erhart discloses wherein the FPC comprises at least one curved section (figure 6a number 35).
As to claim 10, Erhart discloses wherein the plurality of CSCBs comprise a first CSCB with a first communication pad and a second CSCB with a second communication pad, wherein the first and second communication pads are interconnected via an FPC connector (paragraph 0047).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724