DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/23/2024, 5/8/2024, 11/8/2024, 2/28/2025, and 10/28/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marelli (US20090277579A1) in view of Fahrer (US10760719B2).
Fig. 2A and 2B of Marelli
Fig. 2C of Marelli
Regarding claim 1, Marelli teaches a system for coupling pipes comprising:
a first pipe (24) having a tapered, spigot end (Fig. 2A, end facing pipe 28), wherein a portion of an external surface of the tapered, spigot end of the first pipe (24) is bonded to a first thermoplastic material (26); and
a second pipe (28) having a tapered, socket end (Fig. 2A-C, end facing pipe 24) adapted to internally receive the tapered, spigot end of the first pipe (4), wherein a portion of an internal surface of the tapered, socket end of the second pipe (28) is bonded to a second thermoplastic material (30, Fig. 2A);
wherein, when the first pipe (24) is internally received by the second pipe (28), the portion of the external surface of the tapered, spigot end of the first pipe (24) is positioned to align with the portion of the internal surface of the tapered, socket end of the second pipe (28, Fig. 2C), thereby forming a sealing area (Fig. 2C, the area pipe 24, 28 overlap),
wherein, upon application of a thermal joining process to the first thermoplastic material and the second thermoplastic material, an amount of heat of the thermal joining process is sufficient to melt the first thermoplastic material and the second thermoplastic material such that, when the heat is removed, a hardened thermoplastic material seals the first pipe to the second pipe ([0038] where both the first and second components are composite structures having the same thermoplastic mating surface securely attached, the invention provides a means to weld the first and second components together, by melting and later fusing together at least a portion of the contacting thermoplastic mating surfaces. Preferably, the thermoplastic surface material is selected such that heating the thermoplastic surface to cause flow can be achieved below the distortion temperature of any of the assembled components; understood to harden after cooling).
Marelli is silent on wherein the first pipe and the second pipe are made from a reinforced thermosetting resin (RTR) material.
Fahrer teaches wherein the first pipe and the second pipe are made from a reinforced thermosetting resin (RTR) material (Col. 2 lines 5-15 a first RTR pipe having a spigot portion, the spigot portion including a first joining surface; a second RTR pipe having a socket portion shaped to receive the spigot portion, the socket portion having a second joining surface).
Marelli and Fahrer are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of coupling pipes. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli to incorporate the teachings of Fahrer to have the first and second pipes be made of reinforced thermosetting resin (RTR) as RTR is known to be extremely corrosion resistant and has many advantages , such as its high durability , a high strength to weight ratio, and a smooth inner surface (Fahrer Col. 1 lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 2, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 1, and Marelli teaches wherein the first thermoplastic material (26) and the second thermoplastic material (30) each comprise a thermoplastic polymer (26, 30 [0031, 0072] thermoplastic polymer layers at the site of the joint) and a susceptor ([0036] ferromagnetic particles or electrically conductive material may be located in or near the joint region to provide heat for joining of the components, being understood to be the equivalent of a susceptor).
Regarding claim 3, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 2, and Marelli teaches wherein
wherein the thermoplastic polymer ([0031] thermoplastic polymer) is selected from the group consisting of polyolefins, high-density polyethylene (HDPE), polyethylene of raised temperature (PE-RT), PVDF, PTFE, PPS, PEEK, PAEK, polyetherketoneketone (PEKK), polyketone (POK), PEI, and combinations thereof ([0002] a thermoplastic polymer such as polypropylene (PP), polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or polyether ether ketone (PEEK)).
Regarding claim 4, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 2, and Marelli teaches wherein the first thermoplastic material (26) and the second thermoplastic material (30) comprise a same thermoplastic polymer ([0027] polymer composite component; the thermoplastic mating surface on the second component is preferably identical to, or at least compatible with, the thermoplastic mating surface on the first component).
Regarding claim 9, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 1, but Marelli is silent on wherein the sealing area is adjacent to a mechanical coupling area of the first pipe and the second pipe.
Fahrer teaches wherein the sealing area (150, 160) is adjacent to a mechanical coupling area (150A, 150B) of the first pipe (110) and the second pipe (120).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli to incorporate the teachings of Fahrer to have a sealing area adjacent to a mechanical coupling area as having both a sealing area and mechanical coupling increases the speed at which pipe installation may be achieved (Fahrer Col. 12 line 60- Col. 13 line 10).
Regarding claim 10, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 9, but Marelli is silent on wherein the mechanical coupling area comprises a mechanical joint selected from the group consisting of key-lock joints, threaded joints, injected mechanical joints, and combinations thereof.
Fahrer teaches wherein the mechanical coupling area (150A, 150B) comprises a mechanical joint selected from the group consisting of key-lock joints, threaded joints, injected mechanical joints, and combinations thereof (Col. 11 lines 55-67 a joining compound is injected into both a first cavity 150B formed between the first spigot 110B and the coupler 122 and a second cavity 150A formed between the second spigot 110A and the coupler 122).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli to incorporate the teachings of Fahrer to have the mechanical coupling area be an injected mechanical joint as this increases the speed at which pipe installation may be achieved (Fahrer Col. 12 line 60- Col. 13 line 10).
Regarding claim 11, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 1, and Marelli teaches wherein the first thermoplastic material and the second thermoplastic material ([0017] the composite comprises a reinforced thermoplastic polymer, the thermoplastic surface may be the same polymer as the composite matrix) each comprise a thermoplastic matrix and susceptor particles dispersed within the thermoplastic matrix ([0030,0036] surfacing thermoplastic polymer; ferromagnetic particles or electrically conductive material may be located in or near the joint region).
Regarding claim 13, Marelli teaches a method of coupling a first pipe (24) having a tapered, spigot end (Fig. 2A)
and a second pipe (28) having a tapered, socket end adapted to internally receive the tapered, spigot end of the first pipe (24, Fig. 2A),
wherein a portion of an external surface of the tapered,
spigot end of the first pipe (24) is bonded to a first thermoplastic material (12) and a portion of an internal surface of the tapered,
socket end of the second pipe (28) is bonded to a second thermoplastic material (30),
the method comprising:
inserting the first pipe (24) into the second pipe (28, [0004] inserting one tube into the other to give a tight interference fit);
coupling the first pipe (24) to the second pipe (28) via a mechanical joint (32) such that the portion of the external surface of the first pipe (28) aligns with the portion of the internal surface of the second pipe (24) to form a sealing area (Fig. 2C); and
employing a thermal joining process to bond the first thermoplastic material to the second thermoplastic material by heating the first and second thermoplastic materials to melt the first and second thermoplastic materials such that, when the heat is removed, a hardened thermoplastic material seals the first pipe to the second pipe at the sealing area ([0038] where both the first and second components are composite structures having the same thermoplastic mating surface securely attached, the invention provides a means to weld the first and second components together, by melting and later fusing together at least a portion of the contacting thermoplastic mating surfaces. Preferably, the thermoplastic surface material is selected such that heating the thermoplastic surface to cause flow can be achieved below the distortion temperature of any of the assembled components).
Marelli is silent on wherein the first pipe and the second pipe are made from a reinforced thermosetting resin (RTR) material.
Fahrer teaches wherein the first pipe and the second pipe are made from a reinforced thermosetting resin (RTR) material (Col. 2 lines 5-15 a first RTR pipe having a spigot portion, the spigot portion including a first joining surface; a second RTR pipe having a socket portion shaped to receive the spigot portion, the socket portion having a second joining surface).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli to incorporate the teachings of Fahrer to have the first and second pipes be made of reinforced thermosetting resin (RTR) as RTR is known to be extremely corrosion resistant and has many advantages , such as its high durability , a high strength to weight ratio, and a smooth inner surface (Fahrer Col. 1 lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 15, Marelli and Fahrer teach the method of claim 13, and Marelli teaches wherein the first thermoplastic material (26) and the second thermoplastic material (30) each comprise a thermoplastic polymer (26, 30 [0031, 0072] thermoplastic polymer layers at the site of the joint) and a susceptor ([0036] ferromagnetic particles or electrically conductive material may be located in or near the joint region to provide heat for joining of the components, being understood to be the equivalent of a susceptor).
Regarding claim 16, Marelli and Fahrer teach the method of claim 13, but Marelli is silent on wherein the mechanical joint is selected from the group consisting of threaded joints, key-lock joints, and injection mechanical joints.
Fahrer teaches wherein the mechanical joint (150A, 150B) is selected from the group consisting of threaded joints, key-lock joints, and injection mechanical joints (Col. 11 lines 55-67 a joining compound is injected into both a first cavity 150B formed between the first spigot 110B and the coupler 122 and a second cavity 150A formed between the second spigot 110A and the coupler 122).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli to incorporate the teachings of Fahrer to have the mechanical coupling area be an injected mechanical joint as this increases the speed at which pipe installation may be achieved (Fahrer Col. 12 line 60- Col. 13 line 10).
Regarding claim 17, Marelli and Fahrer teach the method of claim 13, but Marelli is silent on wherein the sealing area is adjacent to the mechanical joint.
Fahrer teaches wherein the sealing area (150, 160) is adjacent to the mechanical joint (150A, 150B, where the sealing area is formed with the mechanical joint of the joining compound 150 in grooves 150A, B).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli to incorporate the teachings of Fahrer to have a sealing area adjacent to a mechanical coupling area as having both a sealing area and mechanical coupling increases the speed at which pipe installation may be achieved (Fahrer Col. 12 line 60- Col. 13 line 10).
Fig. 4A of Fahrer
Regarding claim 18, Marelli and Fahrer teach the method of claim 17, but Marelli is silent on wherein the sealing area is located internal to the mechanical joint.
Fahrer teaches wherein the sealing area (150, 160) is located internal to the mechanical joint (150A, 150B, Fig. 4A where the sealing area is formed with the mechanical joint of the joining compound 150 in grooves 150A, B).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli to incorporate the teachings of Fahrer to have a sealing area internal to a mechanical coupling area as having both a sealing area and mechanical coupling increases the speed at which pipe installation may be achieved (Fahrer Col. 12 line 60- Col. 13 line 10).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marelli (US20090277579A1) in view of Fahrer (US10760719B2) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Anraku (US20040195825A1).
Regarding claim 5, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 2, but are silent on wherein the susceptor is deposited by thermal spraying on a to-be-joined RTR surface.
Anraku teaches wherein the susceptor is deposited by thermal spraying on a to-be-joined RTR surface ([0047] flame spraying, which was performed with Cu, was carried out using a plasma flame spraying apparatus, where Cu is known to be used as a susceptor).
Marelli, Fahrer, and Anraku are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of coupling pipes. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli and Fahrer to incorporate the teachings of Anraku to thermal spray the susceptor onto the surface in order to build up a coating of flattened particles on the pipe while achieving a desired porosity of the sprayed coated metal (Anraku [0031-0034]).
Claims 6, 8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marelli (US20090277579A1) in view of Fahrer (US10760719B2) as applied to claims 2 and 13 above, and further in view of Tomischek (EP3093546B1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Fig. 3 of Tomischek
Regarding claim 6, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 2, but are silent on wherein the thermoplastic polymer is on top of the susceptor.
Tomischek teaches wherein the thermoplastic polymer (13) is on top of the susceptor (12, Fig. 3 [0021] where one of layer 13 is on top of foil 12).
Marelli, Fahrer, and Tomischek are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of coupling pipes. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli and Fahrer to incorporate the teachings of Tomischek to have a thermoplastic layer on top of the susceptor so that the insert on the pipe may be thin while being able to be heated by induction (Tomischek [0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 2, but are silent on wherein the susceptor is on top of the thermoplastic polymer.
Tomischek teaches wherein the susceptor (13) is on top of the thermoplastic polymer (12, Fig. 3 [0021] where one of layer 13 is below foil 12).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli and Fahrer to incorporate the teachings of Tomischek to have a susceptor on top of the thermoplastic layer so that the insert on the pipe may be thin while being able to be heated by induction (Tomischek [0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 1, but are silent on wherein the thermal joining process is an induction welding process.
Tomischek teaches wherein the thermal joining process is an induction welding process ([0008] inductively heated).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli and Fahrer to incorporate the teachings of Tomischek to join by induction welding in order to achieve a material-bonded connection that is stable after the material has cooled and can no longer be easily separated, thus achieving tensile strength (Tomischek [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Marelli and Fahrer teach the method of claim 13, but are silent on wherein the thermal joining process is an induction welding process.
Tomischek teaches wherein the thermal joining process is an induction welding process ([0008] inductively heated).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli and Fahrer to incorporate the teachings of Tomischek to join by induction welding in order to achieve a material-bonded connection that is stable after the material has cooled and can no longer be easily separated, thus achieving tensile strength (Tomischek [0007]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marelli (US20090277579A1) in view of Fahrer (US10760719B2) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Stumpf (US9764417B2).
Regarding claim 7, Marelli and Fahrer teach the system of claim 2, but are silent on wherein the thermoplastic polymer is deposited by thermal spraying or friction welding.
Stumpf teaches wherein the thermoplastic polymer (1, Col. 7 lines 1-15the friction welding shell 30 consists of a rigid and durable plastic such as thermoplastics) is deposited by thermal spraying or friction welding (Col. 7 lines 55-67 friction welding element 1 has been fastened completely in the cylindrical channel 52 by means of friction welding).
Marelli, Fahrer, and Stumpf are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of coupling pipes. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Marelli and Fahrer to incorporate the teachings of Stumpf to friction weld the polymer in order to firmly bond the thermoplastic polymer to the pipe (Stumpf Col. 2 lines 40-55).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 7/21/2026