DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al (US 2020/0168838, ‘838 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 8, ‘838 discloses a display apparatus comprising a cover window (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3B, Layer 310, [0028], [0068]); a light shielding pattern disposed on the cover window (Fig. 3B, layer 350, [0032], [0064]); a viewing angle control layer disposed on the light shielding pattern, which is in contact with upper portion of inner end of the light shielding pattern, and spaced apart by light shielding from the cover window (Fig. 3B, layer 330, [0052]-[0053], [0055]-[0057]); an adhesive layer disposed on the viewing angle control layer, which is in contact with lateral portion of the view angle control payer, but no in contact with inner end of the light shielding pattern ([0032]); a functional layer comprising polarizing film (Fig. 1, item 200, [0031]); and a display panel disposed on the adhesive layer (Fig 1 and 2, Item 100, [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2019/0058148, of record, ‘148 hereafter) in view of Hong et al (US 2020/0168838, ‘838 hereafter)
Regarding claims 1-6 and 8, ‘418 discloses a display apparatus comprising a window cover (Fig. 2, layer 110, [0048] ) and a bezel layer may include a shielding layer or colored pattern layer disposed on the window cover (Fig 2, layer 120, [0048]-[0050], [0081]-[0084]), which forms an air gap between cover window and other layers in the display device (Fig 2, space between layer 110 and layers 210, 222 and 500), an adhesive layer disposed on bezel layer which is in contact with upper portion of an inner end and an outer end of the bezel layer ([Fig. 2 and Fig 6A ad Fig. 7, layer 500 or ADL, [0065]), an optical functional layer including a polarizing film (Fig. 2 layer 400, [0064], [0066]), and a display panel (Fig. 2 , layers 210 to 222, [ 0051]-[0058]). ‘148 does not specifically name a bezel layer being a light shielding pattern and the display apparatus further includes a view angle control layer disposed on the light shielding pattern. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘838 discloses a display apparatus comprising a cover window (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3B, Layer 310, [0028], [0068]); a light shielding pattern disposed on the cover window (Fig. 3B, layer 350, [0032], [0064]); a viewing angle control layer disposed on the light shielding pattern, which is in contact with upper portion of inner end of the light shielding pattern, and spaced apart by light shielding from the cover window (Fig. 3B, layer 330, [0052]-[0053], [0055]-[0057]); and a display panel disposed on the adhesive layer (Fig 1 and 2, Item 100, [0030]). ‘838 also discloses that the display apparatus is capable of adjusting view range of image displayed and preventing occurrence of ghost mura ([0010]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use light shielding pattern and viewing angle control layer as taught by ‘838, to modify the display apparatus of ‘148, in order to render a display apparatus having adjustable viewing range with less ghost mura. ‘838 also discloses an adhesive layer is disposed on the viewing angle control layer, which should be in contact with lateral portion of the view angle control payer, but no in contact with inner end of the light shielding pattern ([0032]) .
Regarding claim 7 and 9, modified ‘148 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘148 also discloses that the display apparatus further comprises a back plate and a heat dissipation plate (Fig. 2, layer 210, [0051]) and a guide holder disposed on the display panel, which also function as a heat dissipation plate, wherein the guide holder is in direct contact with an upper portion of the adhesive layer (Fig. 2, and Fig. 8A, item 600, [0067]-[0068], [0115]).
Regarding claims 10-12, modified ‘148 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘148 also discloses that the display apparatus further comprises a second bezel layer reading upon light shielding pattern disposed between the cover window and the light shielding pattern, wherein the cover window and the viewing angle control layer are spaced from each other corresponding to the heights of the light shielding pattern and the second light shielding pattern, when the viewing angle control layer is in direct contact with an upper portion of an inner end of the light shielding pattern (Fig. 3 , and 12B, BZL2, [0071]-[0074]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782