This office action is in response to the amendment filed 02/03/2026.
Claims 1-13, 34-36 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EUROPEAN PATENT OFFICE (EPO) 21177512.7, filed on 06/02/2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EUROPEAN PATENT OFFICE (EPO) 21181577.4, filed on 06/24/2021.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-33 are objected to because of the following informalities: “ (Withdrawn)” should be replaced by --- (Cancelled ) ---- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 34, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI et al. ( US 20220103247, Provisional Application No. 63085998 ) in view of ABEDINI et al. ( US 20220337309, hereinafter, ABEDINI’s 309 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, ( US 20220103247, Provisional Application No. 63085998 ) teaches an apparatus, e.g., a User Equipment, UE, configured for communicating in a wireless communication network , wherein the apparatus is a first apparatus (UE ) and is configured for:
determining, to acquire a determination result (acquiring a beamforming configuration for the repeater device from the control node , acquiring time domain resource allocation from the control node may include an UL/DL pattern that indicates when the repeater device is configured to use ) [see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] , information indicating that a communication to a second apparatus (control node ) within the wireless communication network is based on a third apparatus (repeater ) repeating a signal transmitted to the first apparatus (UE ) or from the first apparatus (UE )
( determining, to acquire a determination result, information indicating that a communication to a control node within the wireless communication network is based on a repeater repeating a signal transmitted to the UE or from the UE ) [see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] [see Figure 4 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Figure 8 , Figure 9 and Figure 10 of the Provisional Application No. 63085998 ] ;
transmitting a signal comprising information indicating the determination result
( transmitting a signal comprising information indicating the determination result ) [ see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] [see Figure 4 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Figure 8 , Figure 9 and Figure 10 of the Provisional Application No. 63085998 ]; and/or adapting the communication based on the determination result.
However, ( US 20220103247, Provisional Application No. 63085998 ) does not explicitly teach adapting the communication based on the determined result.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teach acquiring a determination result (beam management, on/off patterns ,timing adjustment, time division duplexing (TDD) pattern that identify uplink slots and downlink slots, bandwidth configurations) , information indicating that a communication to a second apparatus (control node) within the wireless communication network is based on a third apparatus (repeater ) repeating a signal transmitted to the first apparatus ( UE) or from the first apparatus ( UE ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ];
Adapting the communication (amplifying the received signal) based on the determination result [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a direction, e.g., of a signal path, of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined direction.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a direction, e.g., of a signal path, of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined
direction ( wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a direction, e.g., of a signal path, of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined direction ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a delay, e.g., along a signal path, of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined delay.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a delay, e.g., along a signal path, of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined delay ( wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a delay, e.g., along a signal path, of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined delay ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a specific signal component property of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined specific signal component property, wherein the specific signal component property is at least one of: a rank of the channel a spatial signal path component(s) aka direction a delay of signal path component (s) a power of signal path component (s) a time frequency resource.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a specific signal component property of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined specific signal component property, wherein the specific signal component property is at least one of: a rank of the channel a spatial signal path component(s) aka direction a delay of signal path component (s) a power of signal path component (s) a time frequency resource ( wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a specific signal component property of the communication to determine at least a part of the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the determined specific signal component property, wherein the specific signal component property is at least one of: a rank of the channel a spatial signal path component(s) aka direction a delay of signal path component (s) a power of signal path component (s) a time frequency resource ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring location-related information from another network entity to determine the information indicating that the communication to the second apparatus is based on the third apparatus, the location-related information indicating at least one of the an angular direction of a reference signal, a position of the second or the third apparatus, a position of the apparatus itself.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring location-related information from another network entity to determine the information indicating that the communication to the second apparatus is based on the third apparatus, the location-related information indicating at least one of the an angular direction of a reference signal, a position of the second or the third apparatus, a position of the apparatus itself ( wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring location-related information from another network entity to determine the information indicating that the communication to the second apparatus is based on the third apparatus, the location-related information indicating at least one of the an angular direction of a reference signal, a position of the second or the third apparatus, a position of the apparatus itself ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring context information from another network entity to determine at least a part of the determination result, the context information indicating at least one of an operational mode of the third apparatus and options of the third apparatus relating to at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring context information from another network entity to determine at least a part of the determination result, the context information indicating at least one of an operational mode of the third apparatus and options of the third apparatus relating to at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus (wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring context information from another network entity to determine at least a part of the determination result, the context information indicating at least one of an operational mode of the third apparatus and options of the third apparatus relating to at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring capability information from another network entity to determine at least a part of the determination result, the capability information indicating at least one operational mode of the third apparatus, that is controllable by at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring capability information from another network entity to determine at least a part of the determination result, the capability information indicating at least one operational mode of the third apparatus, that is controllable by at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus (wherein the apparatus is configured for acquiring capability information from another network entity to determine at least a part of the determination result, the capability information indicating at least one operational mode of the third apparatus, that is controllable by at least one of the first apparatus and the second apparatus) [ see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured for transmitting a first signal directly to the second apparatus together with transmitting the first or a second signal directly to the third apparatus, to cause the third apparatus for forwarding to the second apparatus; and/or receiving a third signal directly from the second apparatus together with receiving a fourth signal directly from the third apparatus, the fourth signal being forwarded to the first apparatus by the third apparatus.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is configured for transmitting a first signal directly to the second apparatus together with transmitting the first or a second signal directly to the third apparatus, to cause the third apparatus for forwarding to the second apparatus; and/or receiving a third signal directly from the second apparatus together with receiving a fourth signal directly from the third apparatus, the fourth signal being forwarded to the first apparatus by the third apparatus ( wherein the apparatus is configured for transmitting a first signal directly to the second apparatus together with transmitting the first or a second signal directly to the third apparatus, to cause the third apparatus for forwarding to the second apparatus; and/or receiving a third signal directly from the second apparatus together with receiving a fourth signal directly from the third apparatus, the fourth signal being forwarded to the first apparatus by the third apparatus ) [ see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 10, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured for identifying a path component of a multipath environment the wireless communication based on a received transmitter-specific information received at a predetermined resource, e.g., a time and/or frequency resource of, e.g., a CORESET of a frame of the wireless communication network with a signal received from the transmitter.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is configured for identifying a path component of a multipath environment the wireless communication based on a received transmitter-specific information received at a predetermined resource, e.g., a time and/or frequency resource of, e.g., a CORESET of a frame of the wireless communication network with a signal received from the transmitter ( wherein the apparatus is configured for identifying a path component of a multipath environment the wireless communication based on a received transmitter-specific information received at a predetermined resource, e.g., a time and/or frequency resource of, e.g., a CORESET of a frame of the wireless communication network with a signal received from the transmitter ) [ see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 10.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured for reporting at least a subset of identified path components, a parameter or value derived thereof and/or an action determined from an identified path component to the wireless communication.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is configured for reporting at least a subset of identified path components, a parameter or value derived thereof and/or an action determined from an identified path component to the wireless communication ( wherein the apparatus is configured for reporting at least a subset of identified path components, a parameter or value derived thereof and/or an action determined from an identified path component to the wireless communication ) [ see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 34, US 20220103247 teaches a wireless communication network comprising:
At least one apparatus according to claim 1 as a first apparatus ( UE ) [see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] ;
At least one base station as a second apparatus (BS) [ see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] ; and
at least one apparatus, e.g., a repeater, configured for communicating in a wireless communication network, wherein the apparatus is configured for receiving a wireless signal (repeater ) [ see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] [see Figure 4 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Figure 8 , Figure 9 and Figure 10 of the Provisional Application No. 63085998 ] ;
operating according to the acquired control information for repeating the wireless signal, as a third apparatus ( repeater ) ( operating according to the acquired control information for repeating the wireless signal, as a third apparatus ) [ see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] [see Figure 4 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Figure 8 , Figure 9 and Figure 10 of the Provisional Application No. 63085998 ] ;
wherein the third apparatus ( repeater ) is configured for amplifying and forwarding a first signal received from the first apparatus ( UE ) to the second apparatus ( Base Station ) to repeat the first signal and/or for amplifying and forwarding a second signal received from the second apparatus ( Base Station ) to the first apparatus ( UE ) to repeat the second signal ( wherein the repeater is configured for amplifying and forwarding a first signal received from the UE to the base station to repeat the first signal and/or for amplifying and forwarding a second signal received from the base station to the UE to repeat the second signal ) [ see Figure 4 and Figure 9 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0072-0077 & 0099 – 0109 ] [see Figure 4 and Figure 5 and Figure 7 and Figure 8 , Figure 9 and Figure 10 of the Provisional Application No. 63085998 ].
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach acquiring, from the wireless communication network, control information indicating at least one of an information about an ON/OFF mode.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquiring, from the wireless communication network, control information indicating at least one of an information about an ON/OFF mode ( ON/OFF pattern ) [see Paragraph 0084 ];
information about a communication mode ( information about a communication mode ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ] ;
operating according to the acquired control information for repeating the wireless signal, as a third apparatus ( operating according to the acquired control information for repeating the wireless signal, as a third apparatus ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ] ;
wherein the third apparatus is configured for amplifying and forwarding a first signal received from the first apparatus to the second apparatus to repeat the first signal and/or for amplifying and forwarding a second signal received from the second apparatus to the first apparatus to repeat the second signal ( wherein the third apparatus is configured for amplifying and forwarding a first signal received from the first apparatus to the second apparatus to repeat the first signal and/or for amplifying and forwarding a second signal received from the second apparatus to the first apparatus to repeat the second signal ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 35, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 34 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the third apparatus is configured for determining spatial degrees of freedom, e.g., by its backhaul or access side capabilities/antenna numbers.
US 20220337309, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the third apparatus is configured for determining spatial degrees of freedom, e.g., by its backhaul or access side capabilities/antenna numbers ( wherein the third apparatus is configured for determining spatial degrees of freedom, e.g., by its backhaul or access side capabilities/antenna numbers ) [see Paragraphs 0084 & 0082 & 0081 & 0078 & 0076 & 0075 & 0074 & 0072 & 0069 & 0042 & 0037 & 0030 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20220103247 in view of US 20220337309 because US 20220337309 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABEDINI et al. ( US 20220103247, Provisional Application No. 63085998 ) in view of ABEDINI et al. ( US 20220337309, hereinafter, ABEDINI’s 309 ), and further in view of Shattil ( US 20170126458, hereinafter, Shattil’s 458 ) .
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20220103247 and US 20220337309 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20220103247 does not explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a channel rank of the communication to determine the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the channel rank.
US 20170126458, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a channel rank of the communication to determine the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the channel rank (wherein the apparatus is adapted for acquiring information that repeating the signal relates to a channel rank of the communication to determine the determination result; and for adapting the communication based on the channel rank) [see Paragraph 0323].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20220103247 and US 20220337309), and further in view of US 20170126458 because US 20170126458 suggests that there is a compelling need in the broadband wireless industry for systems and methods of wireless communications in which network performance is not hard-limited by the laws of Physics, but rather increases according to advances in computer processing technologies, such as indicated by Moore's law. Only systems and methods such as disclosed herein can meet the growing demands for broadband wireless data services.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the apparatus is configured for identifying the path component by determining of a metric, e.g. a power ration between a direct path (gNB to UE) and an indirect path (gNB to SR/SR to UE).
Claim 36 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the third apparatus is configured for providing a same or reduced channel rank compared to a direct channel between the first apparatus and the second apparatus, but at a higher signal power level, e.g., in one case, the system/link SNR is very high while the rank is still low e.g. ONE which is not to be expected in a direct link between BTS and UE.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412