,DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The instant application claims priority to the Foreign application Filed: KR-10-2023-0157157 11/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 11/30/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section
122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another
inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
6. Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Shiri et al. (US-20080056278-A1) hereinafter “Shiri”.
Regarding Claim 1,
discloses, ‘A multicast service filter rule transformation method comprising: receiving a unicast filter table’ (Disclosure includes, packet flow control and the flow of packet stream [0272-0273]. Fast filtering processor (FFP) and accelerate packet forwarding and enhance packet flow [0068].
Ingress[Wingdings font/0xE0]Ethernet port interface controller (EPIC) [Wingdings font/0xE0]Egress [0068]. And, Fig. 2 includes EPIC, address resolution logic, switching table, and rule tables [0066]. Fig. 24 includes multicast table. Determination of a unicast packet [0371, 0412]. And, Fig. 14 includes input flow in FIFO (stack configuration in switch), VLAN table, ARL L2/L3 table, FFP, and rule table. Bridges built a table of forwarding rules based on MAC exits on which port and pass packet to destination uses spanning tree algorithm prevent data-loops and maintain table [0060]. Replace/updates the parameters on the switch based on packet flow [0349]. );
And discloses, ‘transforming the received unicast filter table into a plurality of multicast service filter tables ‘by dividing rule entries of the unicast filter table (Fig.14. illustrates the process, transform a packet to a destination uses fast filtering processor (FFP) and rule table. Determination of the unicast packet [0412], plurality of table: VLAN and multicast table, disclosure claim 9. And, Fig. 21 includes filter mask [0224] and match entries in the rule tables [0233]. Fig. 22 illustrates filtering configuration. And, packet ingress to address resolution, parsing packet and rule tables [0245]. In Fig. 23 includes filter value [0247]. Entries divided into two to perform address lookup and search [0204] and Fig. 38 to 39.);
And discloses, ‘and generating a multicast egress port that matches each filter rule in the multicast service filter tables.’ (Fig. 8 include ethernet controller and a egress management [0068], routed to appropriate egress ports uses rule tables [0071]. The unicast type message directed to the destination egress port [0142, 0197]. And, Fig. 14 illustrates filtering and look-up details of a packet coming into ingress of an EPIC. Addresses application filtering, flow monitoring, address resolution and the rules segment [0157]. Identifies the unicast packet and the egress port match [0103]. Disclosure, switch-on-chip includes a multicast table [0174]. Creation of table rule entry and insertion [0263].)
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The multicast service filter rule transformation method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Shiri discloses, ‘further comprising selectively applying an ingress port to the filter rule in the multicast service filter table matching the ingress port based on the multicast service filter table.’ (Incoming packet to a ingress port [0154] and Fig. 12. And, filter applied and the rule table [0243, 0245, 0263], Fig. 22 and Fig. 47.)
Regarding Claim 9,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A multicast service filter rule transformation apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to load a computer program executed by the processor, wherein the processor receives a unicast filter table, transforms the received unicast filter table into a plurality of multicast service filter tables by dividing rules entries of the unicast filter table, and generates a multicast egress port that matches each filter rule in the multicast service filter tables.’
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
9. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiri et a. in view of Zhonghua et al. (US-20150295811-A1), hereinafter “Zhonghua”.
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The multicast service filter rule transformation method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Shiri discloses, ‘wherein the transforming into the multicast service filter tables comprises: setting a service filter table ID by dividing the rule entries constituting the unicast filter table into the plurality of multicast service filter tables’ (Fig. 28 illustrates multicast table and module header identifies specific ID [0414].
Fig. 28 includes incoming packet 261, identifies module ID and the destination port, uses ARL and then directed to appropriate egress [0414]. And, interconnect module connect to switches in Fig. 27 and L2 (ARL), L3 and filtering [0383-0385]. To locate the desired address, address table divided to perform lookup and a binary search. And, table information sorted appropriately to perform search [0205-0206] and Fig. 41.);
And didn’t disclose, ‘setting an ingress label for each ingress port in the multicast service filter tables according to a bridge domain connected to the multicast service filter table and an egress port’;
Zhonghua discloses, set the ingress label for each ingress port assigned by a routing bridge (RBs) in Table-5 [0054]. Fig. 2 includes receiving the unicast packet [0072] and forward the unicast packet perform the MPLS obtained through encapsulation. First RB assign a multicast forwarding tunnel entry and include label [0078-0080], Fig. 1h and Fig. 1i. Forwarded through point-to-many connected RBs [0086-0089].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Shiri and to include
with that of Zhonghua to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Shiri includes: when a data packet is received, the EPIC module, and the ingress sub-module determines the destination packet by identifying source address and provide the ingress port. Perform table management: ingress of EPIC determine a port, a egress, table updated [0138-0139]. And, the address includes: L2/L3 table and accelerated look up configuration includes entries, plurality of ports and packet queues [0204]. Through ICM connect to switches [0385] and Fig. 27. And, includes uses MAC-address for the source and the destination, Fig. 20 and 21. And, update VLAN and multicast table to the specific switch based on the flow includes tag identifier [0160].
Shiri provide adequate motivation regarding the address resolution and perform search operation that can do optimization doubling the throughput and maximum efficiency [0204-0205]. The relevant art includes the subject matter/tech field, flow transformation and transmission, packet flow stream for the unicast/multicast i.e. P2P and P2M. Packet forwarding without delay, perform fast filtering, search/lookup and maintain/update table [0060]. Someone would be motivated to use the ingress label associated to the ingress port and to the multicast table directed to the egress port as part of the multicast forwarding procedure receive MPLS packet. And, uses unicast tunnel forwarding and/or multicast tunnel forwarding an improve the throughput.
And Zhonghua discloses, ‘and generating an egress label that matches the ingress label.’ (Table-5, generates an egress label that matches the ingress label. Motive would be identical to disclosed above as to increase throughput and reduces delay).
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The multicast service filter rule transformation method of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
And Zhonghua discloses, ‘wherein the setting of the ingress label comprises calculating a value of the multicast service filter table using a value N of the service filter table ID’ (Ingress label in Table-5. And, Fig. 5 includes forwarding table and perform an operation [0031, [0107], Table-17 to Table-19);
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Shiri and to include
with that of Zhonghua to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Shiri includes motive of packet forwarding without delay and configuration of switches for the fast ports and capable of operating speed for the packet processing based on the configurations [0060-0061]. And, Zhonghua applies the MPLS LSP to forward the unicast and the multicast P2P/P2M packets fast processing includes label forwarding LFIB [0029, 0031] and perform operation in the label significantly reduce the cost and efficient network deployment [0112].
And Zhonghua discloses, ‘and calculating a value of the ingress label using values of multicast service filter tables connected to the ingress port.’ (Table-5 and Fig. 1h and Fig. 2 to Fig. 3. And, motive would be identical to first part of the claim disclosed above).
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The multicast service filter rule transformation method of claim 3’ (disclosed above),
Shiri discloses, ‘wherein in the calculating of the value of the multicast service filter table, the value N of the service filter table ID is processed as 2N to calculate the value of the multicast service filter table.’ (Module ID and VLAN identifier, calculated the value [0097, 0173-0176, 0180-0183])
10. Claims 5 -7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiri et a. in view of Zhonghua et al. and further in view (US-12149437-B1), hereinafter “Methews”.
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The multicast service filter rule transformation method of claim 3’ (disclosed above),
Disclosed above in Claim 3, ‘wherein in the calculating of the value of the ingress label, the value of the ingress label is calculated on the values of the multicast service filter tables connected to the ingress port.’,
And didn’t disclose, ‘by performing a bitwise OR operation’
Mathews in the relevant art discloses, filter address through bitwise “OR” operation Col. 28 [0020]. Auto load-balancing path condition configuration table includes egress port Col. 27 [0060-0062].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Shiri and Zhonghua to include with that of Methews to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Shiri includes stacking configuration for the switches appropriately perform the flow procedures in a stack [0117]. Fig. 14 includes FIFO connected to ARL L2/L3 engine and bit-map. Also include filter and rule table filter value+egress port+egress module id+ingress port+filter [0243-0245] and Fig. 22. Includes an important motivation of fast forwarding of packet flow processing to increase throughput and loop-free operations.
Disclosure Zhonghua includes stack operation while assign ingress label (Table-5). And includes motivation of load balancing of the MPLS LSP forwarding [0112].
Yet, didn’t include bitwise-“OR” to filter address. And, Methews complement the motivation of both Shiri and Zhonghua of fast forwarding packet flow processing and Zhonghua includes the most relevant and important subject matter MPLS LSP for the flow transformation and flow transmission specifically uses load balancing in the MPLS LSP. Methews includes MPLS label complexity/cost for the forwarding to optimize the route and the best path Col. 10 [0010-0012, 0023-0025]. Includes the load balancing on the packet flow to increase the performance complement the motivation of Shiri, includes the bridges SPT fast flow processing involve huge fabrics/switches in a network. This would optimize the packet flow route from the source to the destination and increase throughput.
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The multicast service filter rule transformation method of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Zhonghua discloses, ‘wherein in the generating of the egress label’ (disclosed above Table-5),
And didn’t disclose, ‘the number of multicast egress port group IDs (multicast group IDs, hereinafter referred to as “MGIDs”) is calculated by performing an intersection operation algorithm on service filters, the number of SF tables aligns with the total number N of egress ports, and the number of MGIDs, which is determined by the number of cases of multicast based on N egress ports, is a maximum of 2N.’
Shiri in the relevant art discloses, group ID/TGID uses in a switch and also port bundle; number of ports between the switches; TG bit-map table; Includes: rule tag match from the ARL entries and identify the specific port based upon port index in the TG table; And, last three bits of the source MAC address are XORED with the last three bits of the destination MAC address [0104, 0319].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Shiri and to include
with that of Zhonghua to come up with the claim invention,
Both the disclosure uses VLAN, and bundling the group of ports would provide more efficiency to make best use of bandwidth [0319]. Use of ingress label would optimize the efficiency to perform address lookup, search and to route MPLS packet.
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The multicast service filter rule transformation method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Zhonghua discloses, ‘wherein in the generating of the multicast egress port, an operation is performed on each value of the egress label to generate the multicast egress port that matches the bitwise OR-ed egress label.’ ([0319])
And didn’t disclose, ‘a bitwise OR operation is performed’ (disclosed above in Claim 5 and motive would be identical disclosed in Claim 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Jia, Wen-Kang, and Li-Chun Wang. "A unified unicast and multicast routing and forwarding algorithm for software-defined datacenter networks." IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications 31.12 (2013) (Year: 2013). Includes most relevant part of the subject matter in Fig. 1: SDN
Z. Jin and W. -K. Jia, "P3FA: Unified Unicast/Multicast Forwarding Algorithm for High-Performance Router/Switch," in IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics, vol. 68, no. 4, pp. 327-335, Nov. 2022 (Year: 2022).
Z. Jin and W. -K. Jia, "DH-SVRF: A Reconfigurable Unicast/Multicast Forwarding for High-Performance Packet Forwarding Engines," in IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, vol. 33, no. 5, pp. 1262-1275, 1 May 2022, (Year: 2022); Multicast-enabled packet forwarding engine (PFE) uses algorithm: bloom filter, scalar-pairs vectors routing and forwarding (SVRF), Fractional-NSVRF and Per-Port Prime Filter Array (P3FA) and propose Divaricate Heterogenous SVRF (DH-SVRF), page-1262.
In Fig. 1 illustrates an exemplary block-diagram shows implementation of the DV-SVRF. Fig. 2 illustrates a flow diagram flow entries and identify the flow both the unicast and the multicast. Also, adjust dynamically to optimal value. Includes ingress scalar pair (MISP) and egress-scalar matrix (MESM) values. Fig. 2 illustration of Fig. 1 includes dynamic reconfiguration of flow entries, page-1271. And, ingress scalar pair module to process the multicast flows with higher egress-diversity in the forwarding table, section 3, page-1266.
DH-SVRF will map all members in the forwarding table to a unique unit according to the egress-diversity of the multicast forwarding table, and then perform the forwarding entry procedure. Fig. 1 illustrates DH-SVRF sub-block, it mainly includes 1) an Ingress Prime Hashers 2) an Egress Prime Hashers 3) a 4-to-1 Selectors and each with 4 zero indicators (comparers) 4) a 2-to-1 MUXs 5) þ+2 dividers; 6) ρ inverters, etc., section-3, page-1266. The PFE is an important module of a high-performance routers/switches; forwards data packets from the input queue to the output queue with the lowest possible delay and the matching entry forwarding table. Further, design an auto-adaptive balance mechanism. Once the optimal threshold is recalculated, specific forwarding entries can be dynamically swapped between MISP and MESM to the suitable location depending on their egress-diversities.
Fukushima et al. (US 20040098448 A-1), “Data Distribution System”; multicast device converts the received unicast data packet into a multicast data packet and forwards it into a multicast network so that each receiver terminal receives the desired specified stream data in multicast [0016].
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466