DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communications filed on 01/15/2026.
Claims 1-25 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 14, 16-20, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ke et al (US 20250105995 A1) (hereinafter “Ke”).
Regarding claim1, Ke discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one transceiver one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor); and
one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) and cause the apparatus to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of one or more conditions associated with one or more uplink signals to be transmitted via one or more-time resources that overlap with another one or more-time resources associated with a downlink reference signal (see para. [0207] discloses case when uplink channel and/or an uplink reference signal overlaps in time domain with any symbol in a set of symbols reception of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver after receiving the indication, uplink signaling via the one or more-time resources that overlap with the other one or more-time resources of the downlink reference signal (see para. [0207];[0212] discloses case when uplink channel and/or an uplink reference signal overlaps in time domain with any symbol in a set of symbols reception of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); the network device adopts the defined first duplex mode, the terminal has the defined first capability, and the time domain and/or frequency domain resource of the uplink channel and/or uplink reference signal meet the defined first conditions, the sent uplink channel and/or uplink reference signal allows the terminal to perform uplink transmission on the symbol where the SSB is located).
Regarding claim 2, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) wherein the one or more conditions comprise the one or more time resources being available (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB).
Regarding claim 3, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) wherein the one or more conditions comprise at least one of a network scheduling condition (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB), a configuration condition (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB), or a priority condition (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 4, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) wherein the network scheduling condition is indicative of whether the uplink signaling is scheduled via a downlink control information (DCI) message (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB) or a radio resource control (RRC) message (This part is optional), and wherein the uplink signaling is transmitted if the uplink signaling is scheduled via the DCI message (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB).
Regarding claim 7, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) wherein the downlink reference signal comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB).
Regarding claim 8, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) wherein the apparatus is subband full duplex (SBFD) aware and is configured for half-duplex communication (see para. [0180] discloses the network devices indicates the mode and the UE can adopt the half-duplex mode (TDD/FDD) or the first duplex mode (first duplex mode includes SBFD)).
Regarding claim 9, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) wherein the uplink signaling is transmitted via an uplink subband in a subband full duplex (SBFD) communication scheme (see para. [0172] discloses the first duplex mode is any one of the full duplex, subband non-overlapping full duplex, and subband partially overlapping full duplex. Note that full overlapping full duplex is sometimes referred to as full overlapping duplex, subband non-overlapping full duplex is sometimes referred to as subband non-overlapping duplex, and subband partially overlapping full duplex is sometimes referred to as subband partially overlapping duplex).
Regarding claim 14, Ke discloses an apparatus wherein the uplink signaling comprises
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see para. [0166]; [0169] discloses the uplink channel includes at least one of PUSCH, PUCCH and PRACH),
a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (see para. [0166]; [0169] discloses the uplink channel includes at least one of PUSCH, PUCCH and PRACH),
or a PUCCH carrying semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 16, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor)wherein the downlink reference signal comprises at least one of a cell defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) (This part is optional),
a non-cell defining SSB (NCD-SSB) (This part is optional),
a measurement timing configuration SSB (MTC-SSB) (see para. [0187] discloses network device configures the timing for the terminal to measure SSB based Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC)),
a layer 1 (L1) SSB, a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) (This part is optional),
a radio link management RS (RLM-RS) (This part is optional),
or an SSB configured for radio resource management (RRM) (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 17, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor) wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a user equipment (UE) (see para. [0050]- [0069] discloses terminal including transceiver with multiple capabilities).
Regarding claim 18, Ke discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device), comprising:
at least one transceiver (see Fig. 12, para. [0329];[0331] discloses network device including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor);
one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions (see Fig. 12, para. [0329];[0331] discloses network device including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor); and
one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of one or more conditions for one or more uplink signals transmitted via one or more time resources that overlap with another one or more time resources of a downlink reference signal (see para. [0207] discloses case when uplink channel and/or an uplink reference signal overlaps in time domain with any symbol in a set of symbols reception of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); and
receive, via the at least one transceiver after transmitting the indication, an uplink signal via the one or more time resource that overlaps with the other one or more time resources associated with the downlink reference signal (see para. [0207];[0212] discloses case when uplink channel and/or an uplink reference signal overlaps in time domain with any symbol in a set of symbols reception of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); the network device adopts the defined first duplex mode, the terminal has the defined first capability, and the time domain and/or frequency domain resource of the uplink channel and/or uplink reference signal meet the defined first conditions, the sent uplink channel and/or uplink reference signal allows the terminal to perform uplink transmission on the symbol where the SSB is located).
Regarding claim 19, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device), wherein the one or more conditions for uplink signals comprise one or more of a network scheduling condition (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB)., a configuration condition (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB), or a priority condition (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 20, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device) wherein the network scheduling condition is indicative of whether the uplink signaling is scheduled by the apparatus via a downlink control information (DCI) message (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB) or a radio resource control (RRC) message (This part is optional), and
wherein the uplink signaling is received if the uplink signaling is scheduled via the DCI message (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB).
Regarding claim 23, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device), wherein the downlink reference signal comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see para. [0047];[0069];[0113];[0197] discloses DCI configured to schedule the uplink channel includes the first information that indicates time-frequency resource of the uplink channel does not conflict with SSB).
Regarding claim 24, Ken discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device), wherein the uplink signaling is received via an uplink subband in a subband full duplex (SBFD) communication scheme (see para. [0180] discloses the network devices indicates the mode and the UE can adopt the half-duplex mode (TDD/FDD) or the first duplex mode (first duplex mode includes SBFD)).
Regarding claim 25, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device), wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a network entity (see Fig. 12, para. [0116];[0153] discloses network device; structural view of network device).
Claims 5-6, 10-13, 15, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et al (US 20250105995 A1) (hereinafter “Ke”) in view of as applied to claim 1, 18 above, and further in view of Li et al (US 20250105993 A1) (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 5, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor).
Kee fails to disclose but Li teaches an apparatus wherein the configuration condition is indicative of whether the downlink reference signal is a first priority or a second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities),
wherein the uplink signaling is transmitted if the downlink reference signal is the first priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1)),
and wherein the first priority is lower than the second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1)).
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the priorities as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 6, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor).
Ke fails to disclose but Li teaches an apparatus wherein the priority condition is indicative of whether the uplink signaling is a first priority or a second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities),
wherein the uplink signaling is transmitted if the uplink signaling is the second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1)),
and wherein the first priority is lower than the second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1)).
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the priorities as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 10, Ke discloses an apparatus wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor),
Ke fails to disclose but Li teaches, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, uplink scheduling for transmitting the uplink signaling, wherein the uplink scheduling indicates that the uplink signaling is scheduled for repeated uplink transmissions (see Fig. 3, para. [0054]-[0056]; [0082] discloses PUSCH/PDSCH scheduling and PUSCH repetition; PUCCCH repetition with consideration of operation mode), wherein the uplink signaling output for transmission transmitted via the one or more time resources is one of the repeated uplink transmissions (see Fig. 3, para. [0054]-[0056]; [0082] discloses PUSCH/PDSCH scheduling and PUSCH repetition; PUCCCH repetition with consideration of operation mode. The UL transmission in different time units may be associated with same or different operation modes)..
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the uplink signaling as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 11, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor)
Kee fails to disclose but Li teaches wherein the uplink signaling is transmitted via a symbol pattern (see para. [0286] discloses the transmission parameter configuration for UL includes invalid symbol pattern of PUSCH), and
wherein the one or more conditions is indicative of the symbol pattern being valid (see para. [0286] discloses the transmission parameter configuration for UL includes invalid symbol pattern of PUSCH).
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the symbol pattern as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 12, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor)
Ke fails to disclose but Li teaches wherein the uplink signaling is transmitted independent of segmenting the uplink signaling (see para. [0040] discloses an operation for UL that may be determined based on time units, the time units can include can include symbols in one slot or multiple slots used by UL or DL transmission).
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the transmission as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 13, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor),
Ke fails to disclose but Li teaches wherein the uplink signaling is transmitted via a plurality of contiguous symbols (see para. [0040]-[0042] discloses an operation for UL may determined based on time units, the time units can include can include symbols in one slot or multiple slots used by UL or DL transmission; provides example of CSI-RS transmission the time unit may include consecutive symbols)..
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include transmission as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 15, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 10-11, para. [0138];[0325] discloses terminal including transceiver, processor, memory and program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor)
Ke fails to disclose but Li teaches wherein the uplink signaling comprises the PUCCH carrying the SPS HARQ ACK (see para. [0085]-[0086];[0191]-[0198];[203]-[205] discloses transmission in duplex operation with PUCCH repetition in consideration of operation mode SPS HARQ-ACK deferral; SPS HARQ-ACK deferral can be configured to reduce undesirable drop of SPS HARQ-ACK PUCCH), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the PUCCH carrying SPS HARQ ACK for transmission independent of a deferral of the SPS HARQ ACK (see para. [0085]-[0086];[0191]-[0198];[203]-[205] discloses transmission in duplex operation with PUCCH repetition in consideration of operation mode SPS HARQ-ACK deferral; SPS HARQ-ACK deferral can be configured to reduce undesirable drop of SPS HARQ-ACK PUCCH; NB can configure SPS HARQ-ACK deferral mechanism (based on NOSB-FD or not) for each operation mode. In one option, UE determines SPS HARQ-ACK deferral mechanism according to the operation mode associated with the resultant SPS HARQ-ACK PUCCH in initial slot).
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include deferral of the SPS HARQ ACK as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 21, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device),
Ke fails to disclose but Li teaches wherein the configuration condition is indicative of whether the downlink reference signal is a first priority or a second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities),
wherein the uplink signaling is received if the downlink reference signal is the first priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1)), and
wherein the first priority is lower than the second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1)).
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the priorities as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Regarding claim 22, Ke discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 12, para. [0153] discloses structural view of network device),
Ke fails to disclose but Li teaches wherein the priority condition is indicative of whether the uplink signaling is a first priority or a second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities), wherein the uplink signaling is received if the uplink signaling is the second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1), and
wherein the first priority is lower than the second priority (see para. [0123] discloses UE may be configured with multiple PUCCH configuration for different priorities, one PUCCH configuration for low priority (LP, index 0) and one PUCCH configuration for high priority (HP, index 1).
Ke and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and duplex operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the priorities as described by Li.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving transmission flexibility of uplink data.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed on 01/15/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), regarding the limitation “via one or more time resources that overlap with another one or more time resources” and “uplink signaling transmission via the one or more time resources that overlap” under the amended claims have been fully considered by examiner. However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Ke discloses a case when uplink channel and/or an uplink reference signal overlaps in time domain with any symbol in a set of symbols reception of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs); the network device adopts the defined first duplex mode, the terminal has the defined first capability, and the time domain and/or frequency domain resource of the uplink channel and/or uplink reference signal meet the defined first conditions, the sent uplink channel and/or uplink reference signal allows the terminal to perform uplink transmission on the symbol where the SSB is located.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS whose telephone number is (571)-272-5710. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 EST.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419