DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 8, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 8 as being indefinite is withdrawn in view of the amendments made by Applicant.
Applicant's arguments filed February 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 and 15, Applicant asserts on pages 6-9 of the Remarks that Viger does not disclose "receiv[ing],from a second wireless device, one or more enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters associated with a restricted target wakeup time (rTWT) service period (SP) of the second wireless device," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Applicant asserts that Viger makes no mention of the neighboring AP of Viger receiving the EDCA parameters that are adapted to the TWT schedule of the first AP. Rather, Applicant asserts that Viger merely describes the neighboring AP receiving the TWT schedule of the first AP and subsequently constructing the EDCA parameters based on the TWT schedule. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that the cited portion of Viger describes a neighboring AP receiving a TWT schedule of a first AP and building new EDCA parameters that are adapted to the TWT schedule of the first AP. Claim 1 requires that the EDCA parameters are “associated with a restricted target wakeup time (rTWT) service period (SP)” of the second wireless device. As shown in Figure 7 and described in page 28, line 35 to page 29, line 22, the OBSS TWT element 600 includes a Restricted TWT Traffic Info field 680 providing a TWT schedule of the first schedule used to construct the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793. Examiner takes the position that under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language the newly-built EDCA parameters are constructed based on the received EDCA parameters, and are thus associated with the rTWT SP of the first AP.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant asserts that this claim recites similar features as amended independent claim 1 and is therefore allowable for at least similar reasons as amended independent claim 1. For similar reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1, Examiner maintains that Viger discloses the limitation of claim 11 as further discussed below.
In view of the foregoing, the 35 U.S.C. 102 of claims 1-4, 7, 9-13, and 15-18 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Viger et al. (WO 2024/213545 A1)(hereinafter “Viger”).
Regarding claim 1, Viger discloses a first wireless device (Figure 8a, pg. 35, lines 35-36: a communication device 800 configured to implement at least one embodiment of the present invention, for instance any of the (AP and non-AP) stations shown in Figure 1.), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry (Figure 8a, pg. 36, line 4: a CPU 801) and memory circuitry (Figure 8a, pg. 36, line 5: a memory 803 for storing an executable code) that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to:
receive, from a second wireless device, one or more enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters associated with a restricted target wakeup time (rTWT) service period (SP) of the second wireless device (Figure 4a, pg.21, line 31 to pg. 22, line 11: it is assumed that a first AP of the MAP coordination, e.g., AP1 of BSS1 in Figure 1, has planned a TWT or R-TWT schedule in its own “first” BSS, which requires TWT coordination with the other BSSs of the MAP coordination set. At step 400, a neighbouring AP of the MAP coordination set receives a MAP coordination frame specifying a TWT schedule from the target AP of the same MAP coordination set. The neighbouring AP that receives TWT scheduling information thus handles a BSS interfering with the target BSS of the target AP. The neighbouring AP may be for example AP2 of BSS2 in Figure 1. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793, different from a legacy EDCA Parameter Set, to be applied by the stations of the neighbouring BSS to contend for access to the medium during the OBSS TWT SPs. The neighbouring AP can then drive the waiting time of its stations by adjusting the EDCA parameters of the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set. As shown in Figure 7 and described in page 28, line 35 to page 29, line 22, the OBSS TWT element 600 includes a Restricted TWT Traffic Info field 680 providing a TWT schedule of the first schedule used to construct the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793. Examiner takes the position that under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language the newly-built EDCA parameters are constructed based on the received EDCA parameters, and are thus associated with the rTWT SP of the first AP.); and
communicate with one or more third wireless devices during the rTWT SP of the second wireless device according to the one or more EDCA parameters (pg. 21, lines 10-15: a second AP managing the second (neighbouring) BSS first receives, from a first AP managing the first target BSS, a MAP coordination frame specifying a TWT schedule provided in the first BSS. Next, the second AP, responsive to the receiving, sends, to stations of the second BSS, a frame including an overlapping BSS (OBSS) TWT element defining second TWT Service Periods, SPs, that are preferably aligned in time, or at least partially overlap, with first TWT SP of the TWT schedule in the first target BSS.).
Regarding claim 2, Viger discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein, to receive the one or more EDCA parameters, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, from the second wireless device, a beacon that includes the one or more EDCA parameters, wherein communicating during the rTWT SP of the second wireless device is in accordance with the received beacon (pg. 6, lines 29-30: in some embodiments, the frame including the OBSS TWT element is a beacon frame broadcast by the second AP in the second BSS. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793.).
Regarding claim 3, Viger discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein, to receive the one or more EDCA parameters, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, from the second wireless device, an advertisement of the rTWT SP of the second wireless device, wherein the advertisement associates the one or more EDCA parameters with the first wireless device with respect to the rTWT SP of the second wireless device (pg. 16, lines 25-28: the R-TWT Service Periods SPs of the R-TWT schedule are advertised in broadcast management frames (e.g., beacons), using R-TWT information about the negotiated R-TWT SPs, typically a Broadcast TWT identifier (bTWT ID). Pg. 17, lines 3-5: the AP advertises the scheduled broadcast TWT (or R-TWT) using broadcast TWT elements in its management frames, typically in the beacon frame. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793.).
Regarding claim 4, Viger discloses all features of claim 3 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein the advertisement of the rTWT SP of the second wireless device further associates one or more additional EDCA parameters with a fourth wireless device with respect to the rTWT SP of the second wireless device (pg. 7, lines 22-25: in yet other embodiments, the MAP coordination frame is exchanged between a third AP co-affiliated with the first AP to the same first AP multi-link device, MLD, and a fourth AP coaffiliated with the second AP to the same second AP MLD, wherein the third and fourth APs operate on a link separate from the link on which the first and second APs operate. pg. 7, line 37 to pg. 8, line 5: a station device of a Basic Service Set, BSS, managed by an access point (AP) is also provided in a multi-AP (MAP) coordination set of APs, in a wireless network having a medium, the station comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from the AP, a frame including an overlapping BSS (OBSS) TWT element defining TWT Service Periods, SPs, a communication module configured to switch from a legacy EDCA Parameter Set to an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set to contend for access to the medium during one of the TWT SPs.).
Regarding claim 7, Viger discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein, to receive the one or more EDCA parameters, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive one or more first rTWT negotiation messages from the second wireless device, the one or more first RTWT negotiation messages including the one or more EDCA parameters associated with the rTWT SP of the second wireless device (pg. 23, lines 3-6: in second embodiments, the MAP coordination frame is included in a negotiation process between the first and second APs to establish a MAP TWT agreement. That means the TWT Element is provided through a TWT agreement in between the two APs that may be used to initiate a (MAP) TWT session in between the two APs. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793.).
Regarding claim 9, Viger discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein the first wireless device is a first wireless access point (AP), and the second wireless device is a second wireless AP (Figure 4a, pg.21, line 31 to pg. 22, line 11: It is assumed that a first AP of the MAP coordination, e.g., AP1 of BSS1 in Figure 1, has planned a TWT or R-TWT schedule in its own “first” BSS, which requires TWT coordination with the other BSSs of the MAP coordination set. At step 400, a neighbouring AP of the MAP coordination set receives a MAP coordination frame specifying a TWT schedule from the target AP of the same MAP coordination set.).
Regarding claim 10, Viger discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein the first wireless device is a wireless station (STA), and the second wireless device is a wireless access point (AP) (Figure 4b, pg. 33, lines 9-12: at step 450, a station of BSS2 receives, from its AP (AP2), an OBSS TWT element 600 (either conforming to Figure 6 or 7) in a beacon frame or a Probe Response frame. The OBSS TWT element defines an OBSS TWT schedule with OBSS TWT SPs that are aligned or overlapping with TWT SPs (to be protected) scheduled in the target BSS (BSS1).).
Regarding claim 11, Viger discloses a first wireless device (Figure 8a, pg. 35, lines 35-36: a communication device 800 configured to implement at least one embodiment of the present invention, for instance any of the (AP and non-AP) stations shown in Figure 1.), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry (Figure 8a, pg. 36, line 4: a CPU 801) and memory circuitry (Figure 8a, pg. 36, line 5: a memory 803 for storing an executable code) that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit, to a second wireless device, one or more first enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters associated with a restricted target wakeup time (rTWT) service period (SP) of the first wireless device (Figure 4a, pg.21, line 31 to pg. 22, line 11: it is assumed that a first AP of the MAP coordination, e.g., AP1 of BSS1 in Figure 1, has planned a TWT or R-TWT schedule in its own “first” BSS, which requires TWT coordination with the other BSSs of the MAP coordination set. At step 400, a neighbouring AP of the MAP coordination set receives a MAP coordination frame specifying a TWT schedule from the target AP of the same MAP coordination set. The neighbouring AP that receives TWT scheduling information thus handles a BSS interfering with the target BSS of the target AP. The neighbouring AP may be for example AP2 of BSS2 in Figure 1. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793, different from a legacy EDCA Parameter Set, to be applied by the stations of the neighbouring BSS to contend for access to the medium during the OBSS TWT SPs. The neighbouring AP can then drive the waiting time of its stations by adjusting the EDCA parameters of the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set. As shown in Figure 7 and described in page 28, line 35 to page 29, line 22, the OBSS TWT element 600 includes a Restricted TWT Traffic Info field 680 providing a TWT schedule of the first schedule used to construct the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793. Examiner takes the position that under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language the newly-built EDCA parameters are constructed based on the received EDCA parameters, and are thus associated with the rTWT SP of the first AP.); and
communicate with one or more third wireless devices during the rTWT SP of the first wireless device according to one or more second EDCA parameters associated with the first wireless device (pg. 21, lines 10-15: a second AP managing the second (neighbouring) BSS first receives, from a first AP managing the first target BSS, a MAP coordination frame specifying a TWT schedule provided in the first BSS. Next, the second AP, responsive to the receiving, sends, to stations of the second BSS, a frame including an overlapping BSS (OBSS) TWT element defining second TWT Service Periods, SPs, that are preferably aligned in time, or at least partially overlap, with first TWT SP of the TWT schedule in the first target BSS.), the one or more second EDCA parameters being different from the one or more first EDCA parameters (pg. 31, lines 23-29: although the embodiments above provide the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set (793) within OBSS TWT element 600, variants may contemplate providing such Parameter Set in the beacon frames periodically broadcast by the neighbouring AP. Should different OBSS EDCA Parameter Sets be used for different OBSS TWT schedules of the neighbouring BSS, the OBSS EDCA Parameter Sets may be provided in the beacon frames in association with the bTWT ID of the respective OBSS TWT schedule. In these variants, it turns out that the AP broadcasts various EDCA Parameter sets.).
Regarding claim 12, Viger discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein, to transmit the one or more first EDCA parameters, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to: broadcast a beacon including the one or more first EDCA parameters (pg. 6, lines 29-30: in some embodiments, the frame including the OBSS TWT element is a beacon frame broadcast by the second AP in the second BSS. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793.).
Regarding claim 13, Viger discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein, to transmit the one or more first EDCA parameters, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to: transmit an advertisement of the rTWT SP of the first wireless device, wherein the advertisement associates the one or more first EDCA parameters with the second wireless device with respect to the rTWT SP of the first wireless device (pg. 16, lines 25-28: the R-TWT Service Periods SPs of the R-TWT schedule are advertised in broadcast management frames (e.g., beacons), using R-TWT information about the negotiated R-TWT SPs, typically a Broadcast TWT identifier (bTWT ID). Pg. 17, lines 3-5: the AP advertises the scheduled broadcast TWT (or R-TWT) using broadcast TWT elements in its management frames, typically in the beacon frame. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793.).
Regarding claim 15, Viger discloses a method for wireless communication by a first wireless device, comprising:
receiving, from a second wireless device, one or more enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters associated with a restricted target wakeup time (rTWT) service period (SP) of the second wireless device (Figure 4a, pg.21, line 31 to pg. 22, line 11: it is assumed that a first AP of the MAP coordination, e.g., AP1 of BSS1 in Figure 1, has planned a TWT or R-TWT schedule in its own “first” BSS, which requires TWT coordination with the other BSSs of the MAP coordination set. At step 400, a neighbouring AP of the MAP coordination set receives a MAP coordination frame specifying a TWT schedule from the target AP of the same MAP coordination set. The neighbouring AP that receives TWT scheduling information thus handles a BSS interfering with the target BSS of the target AP. The neighbouring AP may be for example AP2 of BSS2 in Figure 1. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793, different from a legacy EDCA Parameter Set, to be applied by the stations of the neighbouring BSS to contend for access to the medium during the OBSS TWT SPs. The neighbouring AP can then drive the waiting time of its stations by adjusting the EDCA parameters of the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set. As shown in Figure 7 and described in page 28, line 35 to page 29, line 22, the OBSS TWT element 600 includes a Restricted TWT Traffic Info field 680 providing a TWT schedule of the first schedule used to construct the OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793. Examiner takes the position that under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language the newly-built EDCA parameters are constructed based on the received EDCA parameters, and are thus associated with the rTWT SP of the first AP.)); and
communicating with one or more third wireless devices during the rTWT SP of the second wireless device according to the one or more EDCA parameters (pg. 21, lines 10-15: a second AP managing the second (neighbouring) BSS first receives, from a first AP managing the first target BSS, a MAP coordination frame specifying a TWT schedule provided in the first BSS. Next, the second AP, responsive to the receiving, sends, to stations of the second BSS, a frame including an overlapping BSS (OBSS) TWT element defining second TWT Service Periods, SPs, that are preferably aligned in time, or at least partially overlap, with first TWT SP of the TWT schedule in the first target BSS.).
Regarding claim 16, Viger discloses all features of claim 15 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses receiving, from the second wireless device, a beacon that includes the one or more EDCA parameters, wherein communicating during the rTWT SP of the second wireless device is in accordance with the received beacon (pg. 6, lines 29-30: in some embodiments, the frame including the OBSS TWT element is a beacon frame broadcast by the second AP in the second BSS. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793.).
Regarding claim 17, Viger discloses all features of claim 15 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses receiving, from the second wireless device, an advertisement of the rTWT SP of the second wireless device, wherein the advertisement associates the one or more EDCA parameters with the first wireless device with respect to the rTWT SP of the second wireless device (pg. 16, lines 25-28: the R-TWT Service Periods SPs of the R-TWT schedule are advertised in broadcast management frames (e.g., beacons), using R-TWT information about the negotiated R-TWT SPs, typically a Broadcast TWT identifier (bTWT ID). Pg. 17, lines 3-5: the AP advertises the scheduled broadcast TWT (or R-TWT) using broadcast TWT elements in its management frames, typically in the beacon frame. Figure 7, pg. 29, lines 8-12: OBSS TWT Info 790 of OBSS TWT element 600 includes an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set 793.).
Regarding claim 18, Viger discloses all features of claim 17 as outlined above.
Viger also discloses wherein the advertisement of the rTWT SP of the second wireless device further associates one or more additional EDCA parameters with a fourth wireless device with respect to the rTWT SP of the second wireless device (pg. 7, lines 22-25: in yet other embodiments, the MAP coordination frame is exchanged between a third AP co-affiliated with the first AP to the same first AP multi-link device, MLD, and a fourth AP coaffiliated with the second AP to the same second AP MLD, wherein the third and fourth APs operate on a link separate from the link on which the first and second APs operate. pg. 7, line 37 to pg. 8, line 5: a station device of a Basic Service Set, BSS, managed by an access point (AP) is also provided in a multi-AP (MAP) coordination set of APs, in a wireless network having a medium, the station comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from the AP, a frame including an overlapping BSS (OBSS) TWT element defining TWT Service Periods, SPs, a communication module configured to switch from a legacy EDCA Parameter Set to an OBSS EDCA Parameter Set to contend for access to the medium during one of the TWT SPs.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8, 14, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2017/0202017 A1) – Methods and Apparatus For Selecting Enhanced Distributed Channel Access Parameters For Different Stations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463