DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 11/30/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,844,696. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9 & 10, patent claim 1 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 3, patent claim 2 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 6, patent claim 3 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 8, patent claim 4 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 11, 12, 14, 15, 17 & 19, patent claim 5 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 13, patent claim 6 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 16, patent claim 7 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 18, patent claim 8 recites the same limitations.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,844,696. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 4-6 state “pressing the first exterior surface against the second exterior surface such that the first a first uneven texture of the first exterior surface interlocks with a second uneven texture of the second exterior surface.” The examiner assumes the limitation should read:
and pressing the first exterior surface against the second exterior surface such that . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 & 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (US 8,197,550).
Regarding Claim 1, Brown teaches a system (Fig 8) comprising: a first implant (10f) comprising a first exterior surface (72); and a second implant (52) comprising a second exterior surface (70); wherein the first exterior surface comprises a first uneven texture that is configured to interlock with a second uneven texture of the second exterior surface (Col 5: lines 18-39).
Regarding Claim 11, Brown teaches a method (Fig 8) comprising: implanting a first implant (10f) comprising a first exterior surface (72); and implanting a second implant (52) comprising a second exterior surface (70); pressing the first exterior surface against the second exterior surface (Fig 8) such that a first uneven texture of the first exterior surface interlocks with a second uneven texture of the second exterior surface (Col 5: lines 18-39).
Regarding Claims 2 & 12, Brown teaches wherein: the first implant comprises an acetabular cup; the second implant comprises an augment securable to the acetabular cup (Fig 8).
Regarding Claims 3 & 13, Brown teaches wherein the system further comprises an augment-securing mechanism (Col 5: lines 33-39) configured to secure the acetabular cup to the augment.
Regarding Claims 4 & 14, Brown teaches wherein each of first uneven texture and the second uneven texture comprises an uneven porous texture (Col 5: lines 18-20).
Regarding Claims 5 & 15, Brown teaches wherein the first uneven texture comprises a first web of rods (interpreted as the struts comprising the porous texture).
Regarding Claims 6 & 16, Brown teaches wherein the rods of the web of rods define a generally stochastic pattern (Fig 8).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-11, 15 & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vogt et al. (US 10,588,755).
Regarding Claims 1 & 11, Vogt teaches a system comprising: a first implant (1) comprising a first exterior surface (mushrooms 5); and a second implant (2) comprising a second exterior surface (voids housing mushrooms 5); wherein the first exterior surface comprises a first uneven texture that is configured to interlock with a second uneven texture of the second exterior surface (Fig 4).
Regarding Claims 5 & 15, Vogt teaches wherein the first uneven texture comprises a first web of rods (5).
Regarding Claims 7 & 17, Vogt teaches wherein the second exterior surface comprises second protrusions (5) that extend into interstitial spaces between the rods of the first web of rods (Fig 4).
Regarding Claims 8 & 18, Vogt teaches wherein the protrusions extend generally perpendicular to the second exterior surface (Fig 4).
Regarding Claims 9 & 19, Vogt teaches wherein the second uneven texture further comprises a second web of rods; and the first uneven texture further comprises first protrusions that extend into interstitial spaces between the rods of the second web of rods (Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Vogt teaches wherein the first uneven texture and the second uneven texture are configured such that the second protrusions enter the interstitial spaces in response to pressure urging the first exterior surface and the second exterior surface together (Col 13: lines 35-37).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schultz et al. (US 2005/0080487) and Kalpakci et al. (US 2019/0021862) teach a system comprising: a first implant comprising a first exterior surface; and a second implant comprising a second exterior surface; wherein the first exterior surface comprises a first uneven texture that is configured to interlock with a second uneven texture of the second exterior surface.
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774