DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/30/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Edge et el. (hereinafter “Edge”, US2007/0060097) in view of Lauster (hereinafter “Lauster”, EP3503599).
Regarding claim 1, 7, and 16, Edge discloses A method to be processed by instructions stored in one or more non-transitory computer-readable media in a system (i.e., The firmware and/or software codes may be stored in a memory (e.g., memory 1212, 1222, 1232, and/or 1242 in FIG. 12) and executed by a processor (e.g., processor 1210, 1220, 1230, and/or 1240). As described in paragraph [0252]) comprising:
receiving, by a server of a telecommunications network, a message from a user equipment (UiE) requesting a communication session with a public service answering point (PSAP); (i.e., UE communicates with a visited network to send a request to establish an emergency VoIP call. The UE interacts with a location server instructed by the visited network to obtain a first position estimate for the UE. As described in paragraph [0011]).
determining, based at least in part on the message, that the UE is associated with an unauthorized status for sending the message over the telecommunications network; (i.e., FIGS. 10 and 11 show a network architecture and a message flow, respectively, for emergency VoIP call for a UE without service subscription. As described in paragraph [0020]. Note that the UE without service subscription is interpreted as “unauthorized”).
Edge discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose:
determining by the server and based at least in part on the unauthorized status, a network slice for establishing the communication session over the telecommunications network; and
causing, by the server, the UE to access the network slice to provide the communication session with the PSAP.
However, in a similar endeavor, Lauster discloses determining by the server and based at least in part on the unauthorized status, a network slice for establishing the communication session over the telecommunications network; (i.e., detecting by the access network entity of the network slice of the communication network, based on the E_ID, as described in paragraph [0019]), and
causing, by the server, the UE to access the network slice to provide the communication session with the PSAP. (i.e. and establishing, by the emergency network slice, a communication link between the UE and a public safety answering point (PSAP) for processing the emergency message. As described in paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 3, 10, and 18 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further expressly disclose feature of these claims:
Lauster discloses the method wherein: the telecommunications network comprises a fifth generation (5G) telecommunications network, (i.e., Fig. 1 shows a schematic diagram illustrating a system architecture of a 5G communication network 100, As shown described in paragraph [0055]), and
In addition, Edge discloses determining that the UE is associated with the unauthorized status comprises determining that the UE is not associated with a Mobile Network Operator. (i.e., FIGS. 10 and 11 show a network architecture and a message flow, respectively, for emergency VoIP call for a UE without service subscription, as shown described in paragraph [0020].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 4, 11, and 19 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further expressly disclose feature of these claims:
Lauster discloses the method further comprising: determining, by the server, that the message is associated with an emergency event, and wherein determining the network slice is further based at least in part on determining that the message is associated with the emergency event. (i.e., the emergency message comprises an emergency identifier (E_ID); detecting by the access network entity of the network slice of the communication network, based on the E_ID, that the emergency message is related to emergency;], As shown described in paragraph [0019].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 5, and 12 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further expressly disclose feature of these claims:
Edge discloses the method wherein determining that the UE is associated with the unauthorized status is based at least in part on a P-Access-Network-Information (PANI) or an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) included in the message. (i.e., The UE identity may be an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), a Mobile Subscriber ISDN number (MSISDN), an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID), or some other identity. As shown described in paragraph [0139].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 14 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and further expressly disclose feature of these claims:
Edge discloses the method discloses the system, the operations further comprising causing data to exchange between the UE and the telecommunications network over the network slice. (i.e. In step 10, E-SLP 272, E-SPC 414 or V-SPC 424 may exchange additional SUPL POS messages with UE. As described in paragraph [0100]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Edge et el. (hereinafter “Edge”, US2007/0060097) in view of Lauster (hereinafter “Lauster”, EP3503599), and further in view of Mueck (hereinafter “Mueck”, WO2022261244).
Regarding claim 2, 8, and 17 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses the method further comprising:
monitoring activity by the user equipment over the network slice for a time period; and detecting presence of potential malicious activity associated with the network slice during the time period. (i.e. The MEF 1050 detects issues related to untrusted components, through suitable observation of inputs and outputs and the detection of anomalies, as described in paragraph [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge and Lauster in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 20 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses the method further comprising: wherein the network slice comprises security information, (i.e. In some implementations, the 5GS architecture also includes a Security Edge Protection Proxy. As described in paragraph [0131]),
bandwidth information, (i.e. The 5G-NR air interface may utilize bandwidth parts (BWPs) for various purposes. As described in paragraph [0098]),
and latency information (i.e., Increase network latency randomly across the various requests in order to reduce the number of simultaneously arriving requests. As described in paragraph [0057]) for establishing the communication session between the UE and the PSAP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge and Lauster in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 9 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses the system, the operations further comprising performing an action to mitigate the potential malicious activity associated with the network slice. (i.e. disconnecting identified untrusted components from network access when an issue is detected. As described in paragraph [0296]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge and Lauster in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 15 Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses the system, the operations further comprising:
determining that the UE is associated with malicious activity over the network slice; (i.e. The MEF 1050 detects issues related to untrusted components, through suitable observation of inputs and outputs and the detection of anomalies. As described in paragraph [0053]),
and removing the UE from the network slice based at least in part on determining that the UE is associated with the malicious activity, (i.e. disconnecting identified untrusted components from network access when an issue is detected. As described in paragraph [0296]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge and Lauster in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644