DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 7, 10 and 17, canceled claims 2, 3, and 18, and added new claims 21-23. Accordingly, claim 1, 4-17, 19-23 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Edge et el. (hereinafter “Edge”, US2007/0060097) in view of Lauster (hereinafter “Lauster”, EP3503599) and further in view of Peden et al. (Hereinafter “Peden”, US 9998908).
Regarding claim 1, 7, and 16: Edge discloses A method to be processed by instructions stored in one or more non-transitory computer-readable media in a system (i.e., The firmware and/or software codes may be stored in a memory (e.g., memory 1212, 1222, 1232, and/or 1242 in FIG. 12) and executed by a processor (e.g., processor 1210, 1220, 1230, and/or 1240). As described in paragraph [0252]) comprising:
receiving, by a server of a telecommunications network, a message from a user equipment (UE) requesting a communication session with a public service answering point (PSAP); (i.e., UE communicates with a visited network to send a request to establish an emergency VoIP call. The UE interacts with a location server instructed by the visited network to obtain a first position estimate for the UE. As described in paragraph [0011]).
determining, based at least in part on the message, that the UE is associated with an unauthorized status for sending the message over the telecommunications network; (i.e., FIGS. 10 and 11 show a network architecture and a message flow, respectively, for emergency VoIP call for a UE without service subscription. As described in paragraph [0020]. Note that the UE without service subscription is interpreted as “unauthorized”).
Edge discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose:
determining by the server and based at least in part on the unauthorized status, a network slice for establishing the communication session over the telecommunications network;
causing, by the server, the UE to access the network slice to provide the communication session with the PSAP; and
monitoring activity by the user equipment over the network slice for a time period, the time period associated with a period of time during which the UE exchanges data over the network slice.
In a similar endeavor, Lauster discloses: determining by the server and based at least in part on the unauthorized status, a network slice for establishing the communication session over the telecommunications network; (i.e., detecting by the access network entity of the network slice of the communication network, based on the E_ID, as described in paragraph [0019]),
causing, by the server, the UE to access the network slice to provide the communication session with the PSAP. (i.e. and establishing, by the emergency network slice, a communication link between the UE and a public safety answering point (PSAP) for processing the emergency message. As described in paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Edge and Lauster disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not disclose:
monitoring activity by the user equipment over the network slice for a time period, the time period associated with a period of time during which the UE exchanges data over the network slice.
In a similar endeavor, Peden discloses:
monitoring activity by the user equipment over the network slice for a time period, the time period associated with a period of time during which the UE exchanges data over the network slice. (i.e., a method comprising: monitoring operational state data of the UE during times when the UE is operating in a wireless communication network of a home service provider and during other times when the UE is roaming in a wireless communication network of a different service provider. As shown described in paragraph (14)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Peden into the invention of Edge and Lauster in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 10: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Lauster further discloses: the method wherein: the telecommunications network comprises a fifth generation (5G) telecommunications network, (i.e., Fig. 1 shows a schematic diagram illustrating a system architecture of a 5G communication network 100, As shown described in paragraph [0055]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Edge further discloses determining that the UE is associated with the unauthorized status comprises determining that the UE is not associated with a Mobile Network Operator. (i.e., FIGS. 10 and 11 show a network architecture and a message flow, respectively, for emergency VoIP call for a UE without service subscription, as shown described in paragraph [0020].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Edge into the invention of Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 4, 11, and 19: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Lauster further discloses the method further comprising: determining, by the server, that the message is associated with an emergency event, and wherein determining the network slice is further based at least in part on determining that the message is associated with the emergency event. (i.e., the emergency message comprises an emergency identifier (E_ID); detecting by the access network entity of the network slice of the communication network, based on the E_ID, that the emergency message is related to emergency;], As shown described in paragraph [0019].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Lauster into the invention of Edge, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 5, and 12: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Edge further discloses: the method wherein determining that the UE is associated with the unauthorized status is based at least in part on a P-Access-Network-Information (PANI) or an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) included in the message. (i.e., The UE identity may be an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), a Mobile Subscriber ISDN number (MSISDN), an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), an Electronic Serial Number (ESN), a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID), or some other identity. As shown described in paragraph [0139].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Edge into the invention of Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 14: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Edge further discloses the method discloses the system, the operations further comprising causing data to exchange between the UE and the telecommunications network over the network slice. (i.e. In step 10, E-SLP 272, E-SPC 414 or V-SPC 424 may exchange additional SUPL POS messages with UE. As described in paragraph [0100]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Edge into the invention of Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 6, 9, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Edge et el. (hereinafter “Edge”, US2007/0060097) in view of Lauster (hereinafter “Lauster”, EP3503599), and further in view of Peden et al. (Hereinafter “Peden”, US 9998908), and Mueck (hereinafter “Mueck”, WO2022261244).
Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
detecting presence of potential malicious activity associated with the network slice during the time period.
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses the method further comprising:
detecting presence of potential malicious activity associated with the network slice during the time period. (i.e. The MEF 1050 detects issues related to untrusted components, through suitable observation of inputs and outputs and the detection of anomalies, as described in paragraph [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge, Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 20: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
wherein the network slice comprises security information, bandwidth information, and latency information for establishing the communication session between the UE and the PSAP.
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses the method further comprising:
wherein the network slice comprises security information, (i.e. In some implementations, the 5GS architecture also includes a Security Edge Protection Proxy. As described in paragraph [0131]),
bandwidth information, (i.e. The 5G-NR air interface may utilize bandwidth parts (BWPs) for various purposes. As described in paragraph [0098]),
and latency information (i.e., Increase network latency randomly across the various requests in order to reduce the number of simultaneously arriving requests. As described in paragraph [0057]) for establishing the communication session between the UE and the PSAP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge, Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 9: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
the operations further comprising performing an action to mitigate the potential malicious activity associated with the network slice.
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses: the system, the operations further comprising performing an action to mitigate the potential malicious activity associated with the network slice. (i.e. disconnecting identified untrusted components from network access when an issue is detected. As described in paragraph [0296]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge, Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 15: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
the operations further comprising: determining that the UE is associated with malicious activity over the network slice; and
removing the UE from the network slice based at least in part on determining that the UE is associated with the malicious activity.
In a similar endeavor Mueck discloses: the system, the operations further comprising:
determining that the UE is associated with malicious activity over the network slice; (i.e. The MEF 1050 detects issues related to untrusted components, through suitable observation of inputs and outputs and the detection of anomalies. As described in paragraph [0053]),
and removing the UE from the network slice based at least in part on determining that the UE is associated with the malicious activity, (i.e. disconnecting identified untrusted components from network access when an issue is detected. As described in paragraph [0296]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mueck into the invention of Edge, Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 8, 17, 20, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Edge et el. (hereinafter “Edge”, US2007/0060097) in view of Lauster (hereinafter “Lauster”, EP3503599), and further in view of Peden et al. (Hereinafter “Peden”, US 9998908), and Soryal et al. (Hereinafter “Soryal”, US 20230291763).
Regarding claim 8: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
Peden further discloses:
monitoring activity by the user equipment over the network slice for a time period; (i.e., a method comprising: monitoring operational state data of the UE during times when the UE is operating in a wireless communication network of a home service provider and during other times when the UE is roaming in a wireless communication network of a different service provider. As shown described in paragraph (14)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Peden into the invention of Edge and Lauster in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
detecting presence of potential malicious activity associated with the network slice during the time period.
In a similar endeavor Soryal discloses:
detecting presence of potential malicious activity associated with the network slice during the time period. (i.e. Example operations 712 and 714 can be performed before, after, or during operations 702-710, in order to disinfect UEs 102 to prevent further coordinated attacks, as described in paragraph [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Soryal into the invention of Edge, Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 17, 20, 21 and 22: Edge, Lauster, and Peden disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims:
detecting presence of potential malicious activity associated with the network slice during the time period.
wherein the time period includes a period of time after the UE exchanges the data over the network slice.
wherein the time period includes a period of time prior to the UE exchanging the data over the network slice.
In a similar endeavor Soryal discloses the method further comprising:
detecting presence of potential malicious activity associated with the network slice during the time period.
wherein the time period includes a period of time after the UE exchanges the data over the network slice.
wherein the time period includes a period of time prior to the UE exchanging the data over the network slice.
(i.e. Example operations 712 and 714 can be performed before, after, or during operations 702-710, in order to disinfect UEs 102 to prevent further coordinated attacks, as described in paragraph [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Soryal into the invention of Edge, Lauster, and Peden in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric M. Vo/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644