DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 13, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2024/0137876) in view of Zhipeng et al. (CN118042581 A).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (terminal apparatus comprising: a communicator configured to transmit, to a base station apparatus, capability information including radio frequency parameters; and a processor configured to: include an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports restricted ranges of a frequency band in a specific area and an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports a modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band in the radio frequency parameters [0004], [0020]), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 2 120); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and, the one or more processors (fig. 2, 130), configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to a network node, UE specific additional maximum power reduction (A- MPR) information and an indication of an association with for one or more waveforms/(signals) (i.e., In case of supporting the modified MPR or A-MPR, the UE 100 reports, to the base station 200, the maximum-power-reduction information indicating the modified MPR or A-MPR ([0085], [0137])); and communicate with the network node based on the UE specific A-MPR information associated with the UE (i.e., In case of supporting the modified MPR or A-MPR, the UE 100 reports, to the base station 200, the maximum-power-reduction information indicating the modified MPR or A-MPR. The base station 200 performs resource allocation to the uplink of the UE 100 and power control for the uplink of the UE 100 on the basis of the maximum-power-reduction information ([0085, [0137])).
Takahashi does not specifically teach wherein the UE specific A-MPR information indicates an actual A-MPR region supported by the UE for the one or more waveforms separate from a defined A-MPR region for the one or more waveforms.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhipeng teaches a UE determines a sending resource for UE assistance information according to a reporting trigger mode of the UE assistance information; and the UE sends the UE assistance information on the determined sending resource, wherein the UE assistance information comprises at least one of the following: UE power headroom related information corresponding to a target waveform; maximum transmission power actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power not actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power corresponding to the target waveform; maximum power reduction (MPR); MPR corresponding to the target waveform; additional MPR; additional MPR corresponding to the target waveform; power management MPR; power management MPR corresponding to the target waveform; maximum power exposure (MPE); and MPE corresponding to the target waveform ([abstr., [0010]-[0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Zhipeng within the system of Takahashi in order to allow the network to optimize the scheduling of uplink resources and control UE power more effectively, thereby improving overall system performance.
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Takahashi further teaches one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors ([0053], [0085]).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Zhipeng further teaches the UE specific A-MPR information associated with the UE indicates at least one of an A-MPR region of frequency resources for the one or more waveforms and a non-A-MPR region of the frequency resources for the one or more waveforms (i.e., the UE sends the UE assistance information on the determined sending resource, wherein the UE assistance information comprises at least one of the following: UE power headroom related information corresponding to a target waveform; maximum transmission power actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power not actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power corresponding to the target waveform; maximum power reduction (MPR); MPR corresponding to the target waveform; additional MPR; additional MPR corresponding to the target waveform; power management MPR; power management MPR corresponding to the target waveform [abstr.], [0010]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Zhipeng further teaches the non-A-MPR region comprises a subset of the frequency resources for the one or more waveforms that the UE supports without a power backoff (i.e., the radio frequency unit 1101 is used for sending the UE auxiliary information on the determined sending resource; wherein, The UE auxiliary information comprises at least one of the following items: UE power margin related information corresponding to a target waveform; maximum transmission power not actually used by the UE [0240]; Takahashi [0017]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Takahashi further teaches receive a resource allocation in the non-A-MPR region of the frequency resources for the UE ([0020]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and, the one or more processors (i.e., a communicator configured to receive, from a terminal apparatus, capability information including radio frequency parameters; and a processor configured to: [0005], [0021], [0067]), configured to cause the network node to: obtain additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) information an indication of an association with for one or more waveforms/signals (i.e., obtain an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports restricted ranges of a frequency band in a specific area and an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports a modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band from the radio frequency parameters, in a case where the terminal apparatus supports first restricted ranges of the frequency band in the specific area and the modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band ([0005], [0021], [0067]), supporting the modified MPR or A-MPR, the UE 100 reports, to the base station 200, the maximum-power-reduction information indicating the modified MPR or A-MPR [0085], [0108], [0153]).
Takahashi does not specifically teach wherein the UE specific A-MPR information indicates an actual A-MPR region supported by the UE for the one or more waveforms separate from a defined A-MPR region for the one or more waveforms, and schedule communication from the UE based on the A-MPR information associated with the UE.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhipeng teaches a UE determines a sending resource for UE assistance information according to a reporting trigger mode of the UE assistance information; and the UE sends the UE assistance information on the determined sending resource, wherein the UE assistance information comprises at least one of the following: UE power headroom related information corresponding to a target waveform; maximum transmission power actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power not actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power corresponding to the target waveform; maximum power reduction (MPR); MPR corresponding to the target waveform; additional MPR; additional MPR corresponding to the target waveform; power management MPR; power management MPR corresponding to the target waveform; maximum power exposure (MPE); and MPE corresponding to the target waveform ([abstr., [0010]-[0021]). The network side can reasonably schedule the UE uplink transmission resource or reasonably control the UE uplink power under the condition of dynamic beam switching for the UE through dynamic signaling, so as to maximize the resource and power utilization ([0160], [0232]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Zhipeng within the system of Takahashi in order to allow the network to optimize the scheduling of uplink resources and control UE power more effectively, thereby improving overall system performance.
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Zhipeng further teaches the UE specific A-MPR information associated with the UE indicates at least one of an A-MPR region of frequency resources for the one or more waveforms and a non-A-MPR region of the frequency resources for the one or more waveforms (i.e., the UE sends the UE assistance information on the determined sending resource, wherein the UE assistance information comprises at least one of the following: UE power headroom related information corresponding to a target waveform; maximum transmission power actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power not actually used by the UE; maximum transmission power corresponding to the target waveform; maximum power reduction (MPR); MPR corresponding to the target waveform; additional MPR; additional MPR corresponding to the target waveform; power management MPR; power management MPR corresponding to the target waveform [abstr.], [0010]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Zhipeng further teaches the non-A-MPR region comprises a subset of the frequency resources for the one or more waveforms that the UE supports without a power backoff (i.e., the radio frequency unit 1101 is used for sending the UE auxiliary information on the determined sending resource; wherein, The UE auxiliary information comprises at least one of the following items: UE power margin related information corresponding to a target waveform; maximum transmission power not actually used by the UE [0240]; Takahashi [0017]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Takahashi further teaches receive a resource allocation in the non-A-MPR region of the frequency resources for the UE ([0020]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 22, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Takahashi further teaches one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors ([0072]).
Claims 3, 8-9, 14, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2024/0137876) in view of Zhipeng et al. (CN118042581 A1) further in view of Klomsdorf et al. (US 2024/0314698).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above except the network node is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches base node 202 may provide geographic coverage area 210 for which base node 202 may support services (e.g., voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, etc.) for one or more UEs 204 within geographic coverage area 210. In some implementations, base node 202 may be moveable. For example, base node 202 may be a satellite associated with a non-terrestrial network ([0035]). The A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system Takahashi in view of Zhipeng in order to receive satellite broadcast signals from GPS satellites in a wireless communications system that supports wireless communication with optimized MPR/A-MPR by communication devices.
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above. Takahashi further teaches it possible to additionally adapt to additional modifications of frequency ranges caused by the laws and regulations. It is thus possible to increase extensibility for modifications of frequency ranges available to the UE 100 in an allocated frequency band ([0124]-[0125]). Takahashi in view of Zhipengfails to specifically teach indicate support for an increased power class for a subset of waveforms.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system Takahashi and Zhipeng in order to receive satellite broadcast signals from GPS satellites in a wireless communications system that supports wireless communication with optimized MPR/A-MPR by communication devices.
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng further in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. “receive a resource allocation in an A-MPR region of frequency resources for the one or more waveforms for which the UE supports the increased power class” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Klomsdorf’s reference which discloses the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 3 from a combination of Takahashi and Zhipeng in view of Klomsdorf.
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng teaches all the limitations above except the network node is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches base node 202 may provide geographic coverage area 210 for which base node 202 may support services (e.g., voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, etc.) for one or more UEs 204 within geographic coverage area 210... In some implementations, base node 202 may be moveable. For example, base node 202 may be a satellite associated with a non-terrestrial network ([0035]). The A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system Takahashi and Zhipeng in order to receive satellite broadcast signals from GPS satellites in a wireless communications system that supports wireless communication with optimized MPR/A-MPR by communication devices.
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng further in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations. “a indicate support for an increased power class for a subset of waveforms” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Klomsdorf’s reference which discloses the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 20 from a combination of Takahashi in view of Zhipeng and Klomsdorf.
Regarding claim 21, Takahashi in view of Zhipeng further in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. “schedule the communication from the UE in an A-MPR region of frequency resources for the one or more waveforms for which the UE supports the increased power class” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Klomsdorf’s reference which discloses the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 21 from a combination of Takahashi in view of Zhipeng further in view of Klomsdorf.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, and 23-30 are allowed.
Claims 7, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643