DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 2024/0137876).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (terminal apparatus comprising: a communicator configured to transmit, to a base station apparatus, capability information including radio frequency parameters; and a processor configured to: include an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports restricted ranges of a frequency band in a specific area and an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports a modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band in the radio frequency parameters [0004], [0020]), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 2 120); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and, the one or more processors (fig. 2, 130), configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to a network node, additional maximum power reduction (A- MPR) information associated with the UE for one or more waveforms/(signals) (i.e., In case of supporting the modified MPR or A-MPR, the UE 100 reports, to the base station 200, the maximum-power-reduction information indicating the modified MPR or A-MPR ([0085], [0137])); and communicate with the network node based on the A-MPR information associated with the UE (i.e., In case of supporting the modified MPR or A-MPR, the UE 100 reports, to the base station 200, the maximum-power-reduction information indicating the modified MPR or A-MPR. The base station 200 performs resource allocation to the uplink of the UE 100 and power control for the uplink of the UE 100 on the basis of the maximum-power-reduction information ([0085, [0137])).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi teaches one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors, and the A-MPR information indicates UE specific A-MPR information ([0053], [0085]).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8-9, 13-15, and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2024/0137876) in view of Klomsdorf et al. (US 2024/0314698).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi teaches all the limitations above except the network node is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches base node 202 may provide geographic coverage area 210 for which base node 202 may support services (e.g., voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, etc.) for one or more UEs 204 within geographic coverage area 210. For example, base node 202 and UE 204 may support wireless communication of signals related to services (e.g., voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, etc.) according to one or multiple radio access technologies. In some implementations, base node 202 may be moveable. For example, base node 202 may be a satellite associated with a non-terrestrial network ([0035]). The A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system Takahashi in order to receive satellite broadcast signals from GPS satellites in a wireless communications system that supports wireless communication with optimized MPR/A-MPR by communication devices.
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi further teaches it possible to additionally adapt to additional modifications of frequency ranges caused by the laws and regulations. It is thus possible to increase extensibility for modifications of frequency ranges available to the UE 100 in an allocated frequency band ([0124]-[0125]). Takahashi fails to specifically teach indicate support for an increased power class for a subset of waveforms.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system Takahashi in order to receive satellite broadcast signals from GPS satellites in a wireless communications system that supports wireless communication with optimized MPR/A-MPR by communication devices.
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. “receive a resource allocation in an A-MPR region of frequency resources for the one or more waveforms for which the UE supports the increased power class” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Klomsdorf’s reference which discloses the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 3 from a combination of Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf.
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and, the one or more processors (i.e., a communicator configured to receive, from a terminal apparatus, capability information including radio frequency parameters; and a processor configured to: [0005], [0021], [0067]), configured to cause the network node to: obtain additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) information associated with a user equipment (UE) for one or more waveforms (i.e., obtain an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports restricted ranges of a frequency band in a specific area and an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports a modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band from the radio frequency parameters, in a case where the terminal apparatus supports first restricted ranges of the frequency band in the specific area and the modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band ([0005], [0021], [0067]), supporting the modified MPR or A-MPR, the UE 100 reports, to the base station 200, the maximum-power-reduction information indicating the modified MPR or A-MPR [0085], [0108], [0153]).
Takahashi does not specifically teach schedule communication from the UE based on the A-MPR information associated with the UE.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches that communication devices are allowed by a scheduling base node to reduce the maximum output power due to higher order modulations and transmit bandwidth configurations, which is referred to as maximum power reduction (MPR). Additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) provides for additional emission requirements that can be signaled by the network. The total reduction to user equipment (UE) maximum output power is the maximum of MPR and A-MPR. When encountering a need to reduce maximum output power, the UE sets MPR or A-MPR equally for both transmit chains. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system of Takahashi in order to optimize additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) during a cooperative uplink concurrent uplink transmission mode
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi teaches all the limitations above except the network node is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches base node 202 may provide geographic coverage area 210 for which base node 202 may support services (e.g., voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, etc.) for one or more UEs 204 within geographic coverage area 210. For example, base node 202 and UE 204 may support wireless communication of signals related to services (e.g., voice, video, packet data, messaging, broadcast, etc.) according to one or multiple radio access technologies. In some implementations, base node 202 may be moveable. For example, base node 202 may be a satellite associated with a non-terrestrial network ([0035]). The A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system Takahashi in order to receive satellite broadcast signals from GPS satellites in a wireless communications system that supports wireless communication with optimized MPR/A-MPR by communication devices.
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations. Takahashi further teaches the A-MPR information indicates UE specific A-MPR information ([0053], [0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations. “a indicate support for an increased power class for a subset of waveforms” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Klomsdorf’s reference which discloses the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 20 from a combination of Takahashi and Klomsdorf.
Regarding claim 21, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. “schedule the communication from the UE in an A-MPR region of frequency resources for the one or more waveforms for which the UE supports the increased power class” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Klomsdorf’s reference which discloses the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 21 from a combination of Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf.
Regarding claim 22, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors ([0072]).
Regarding claim 23, Takahashi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and, the one or more processors (i.e., a communicator configured to receive, from a terminal apparatus, capability information including radio frequency parameters; and a processor configured to: [0005], [0021], [0067]), configured to cause the network node to: obtain additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) information associated with a user equipment (UE) for one or more waveforms (i.e., obtain an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports restricted ranges of a frequency band in a specific area and an information bit indicating that the terminal apparatus supports a modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band from the radio frequency parameters, in a case where the terminal apparatus supports first restricted ranges of the frequency band in the specific area and the modified maximum power reduction indicated per frequency band ([0005], [0021], [0067]), supporting the modified MPR or A-MPR, the UE 100 reports, to the base station 200, the maximum-power-reduction information indicating the modified MPR or A-MPR [0085], [0108], [0153]).
Takahashi does not specifically teach the scheduling information indicates frequency resources in an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) region of the waveform based on the support for the increased power class.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches To meet the additional requirements, additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) by the UE is allowed for the maximum output power. Generally, the total reduction to UE maximum output power is max(MPR, A-MPR) where MPR is as specified. The A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types:
[00001]PCMAX_L,f,c≤PCMAX,f,c≤PCMAX_H,f,cwithPCMAX_L,f,c=MIN[PEMAX,c-ΔTC,c(PPowerClass-ΔPPowerClass)-
MAX(MAX(MPRc+ΔMPRc,A-MPRc)+ΔTIB,c+ΔTC,c+
ΔTRxSRS,P-MPRc)}PCMAX_H,f,c=MIN{PEMAX,c,PPowerClass-ΔPPowerClass} ([0040]-[0041]). n response to determining that the first and the second transmit chains do not have an equal system efficiency level in decision block 512, method 500 proceeds to block 518 (FIG. 5B). With reference to FIG. 5B, method 500 includes determining whether the first transmit chain has a higher system efficiency level than the second transmit chain (decision block 516). In response to determining that the first transmit chain has a higher system efficiency level than the second transmit chain, method 500 includes allocating a larger portion of transmit power to the first transmit chain (block 518)… The increase in overall system efficiency is thus provided by applying a majority to all of maximum power reduction (MPR) to the second transmit chain. Then, method 500 returns to block 516 (FIG. 5A) ([0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system of Baldemair in order to optimize additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) during a cooperative uplink concurrent uplink transmission mode.
Regarding claim 24, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. “schedule one or more UEs that support a non-increased power class in a non-A- MPR region of the frequency resources for the waveform” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Klomsdorf’s reference which discloses the A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types: For single transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR is applied to the maximum output power for the single active transmitter. For dual transmit scenarios, MPR/A-MPR could be applied equally, as currently implemented, or unequally to both transmitters, according to aspects of the present disclosure [0040]-[0041]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 21 from a combination of Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf.
Regarding claim 25, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. Klomsdorf further teaches the indication indicates that the UE supports the increased power class is for the subset of waveforms of a larger set of possible waveforms ([0011], [0057], [0061]).
Regarding claim 26, Takahashi in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. Klomsdorf further teaches the apparatus further includes one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors ([0020]).
Claims 10-12, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair et al. (US 2024/0109594) in view of Klomsdorf et al. (US 2024/0314698).
Regarding claim 10, Baldemair teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories (typical feature of a UE); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (typical feature of a UE), the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to a network node, an indication of support for an increased power class for a subset of waveforms (i.e., the user equipment is adapted to transmit signaling on frequency resources, the signaling having a signaling waveform based on the relative position of the frequency resources in an operating frequency range. The user equipment may comprise, and/or be adapted for utilising, processing circuitry and/or radio circuitry, in particular a transmitter and/or transceiver and/or receiver, for transmitting the signaling, and/or receiving a scheduling grant and/or configuration scheduling the transmission and/or allocating resources, in particular the frequency resources, for the transmission [0006], [0010]-[0011]); and receive, from the network node, scheduling information for a waveform in the subset of waveforms, wherein the scheduling information indicates frequency resources based on the support for the increased power class (i.e., the user equipment may comprise, and/or be adapted for utilising, processing circuitry and/or radio circuitry, in particular a transceiver for transmitting the signaling, and receiving a scheduling grant and/or configuration scheduling the transmission and/or allocating resources, in particular the frequency resources, for the transmission [0006], the signaling waveform is one of two waveforms, the signaling waveform allowing a higher transmission power (or transmission power maximum) for transmission on the frequency resources than the other waveform. In general, the transmission power may be a maximum transmission power and/or be indicated by a maximum power reduction (MPR) indication, which may indicate how much the maximum transmission power is to be reduced [0011], [0029], [0034]).
Baldemair does not specifically teach the scheduling information indicates frequency resources in an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) region of the waveform based on the support for the increased power class.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches To meet the additional requirements, additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) by the UE is allowed for the maximum output power. Generally, the total reduction to UE maximum output power is max(MPR, A-MPR) where MPR is as specified. The A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types:
[00001]PCMAX_L,f,c≤PCMAX,f,c≤PCMAX_H,f,cwithPCMAX_L,f,c=MIN[PEMAX,c-ΔTC,c(PPowerClass-ΔPPowerClass)-
MAX(MAX(MPRc+ΔMPRc,A-MPRc)+ΔTIB,c+ΔTC,c+
ΔTRxSRS,P-MPRc)}PCMAX_H,f,c=MIN{PEMAX,c,PPowerClass-ΔPPowerClass} ([0040]-[0041]). n response to determining that the first and the second transmit chains do not have an equal system efficiency level in decision block 512, method 500 proceeds to block 518 (FIG. 5B). With reference to FIG. 5B, method 500 includes determining whether the first transmit chain has a higher system efficiency level than the second transmit chain (decision block 516). In response to determining that the first transmit chain has a higher system efficiency level than the second transmit chain, method 500 includes allocating a larger portion of transmit power to the first transmit chain (block 518)… The increase in overall system efficiency is thus provided by applying a majority to all of maximum power reduction (MPR) to the second transmit chain. Then, method 500 returns to block 516 (FIG. 5A) ([0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system of Baldemair in order to optimize additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) during a cooperative uplink concurrent uplink transmission mode.
Regarding claim 11, Baldemair in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. In combination with A-MPR teaching of Baldemair, Klomsdorf further teaches transmit, with an increased transmission power, communication using the waveform and the frequency resources in the A-MPR region for the waveform ([0061]).
Regarding claim 12, Baldemair in view of Klomsdorf teaches all the limitations above. In combination with A-MPR teaching of Baldemair, Klomsdorf further teaches the apparatus further includes one or more antennas coupled to the one or more processors, and the indication indicates that the UE supports the increased power class is for the subset of waveforms of a larger set of possible waveforms ([0011], [0057], [0061]).
Regarding claim 23, Baldemair teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories (typical feature of a UE); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (typical feature of a UE), the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to: obtain an indication of support of a user equipment (UE) for an increased power class for a subset of waveforms (i.e., the user equipment is adapted to transmit signaling on frequency resources, the signaling having a signaling waveform based on the relative position of the frequency resources in an operating frequency range. The user equipment may comprise, and/or be adapted for utilising, processing circuitry and/or radio circuitry, in particular a transmitter and/or transceiver and/or receiver, for transmitting the signaling, and/or receiving a scheduling grant and/or configuration scheduling the transmission and/or allocating resources, in particular the frequency resources, for the transmission [0006], [0010]-[0011]).
Baldemair does not specifically teach and schedule, based on the support for the increased power class, communication from the UE in frequency resources in an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) region of the frequency resources for a waveform.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Klomsdorf teaches To meet the additional requirements, additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) by the UE is allowed for the maximum output power. Generally, the total reduction to UE maximum output power is max(MPR, A-MPR) where MPR is as specified. The A-MPR applies to all modulation and waveform types unless indications are received specific to modulation and waveform types:
[00001]PCMAX_L,f,c≤PCMAX,f,c≤PCMAX_H,f,cwithPCMAX_L,f,c=MIN[PEMAX,c-ΔTC,c(PPowerClass-ΔPPowerClass)-
MAX(MAX(MPRc+ΔMPRc,A-MPRc)+ΔTIB,c+ΔTC,c+
ΔTRxSRS,P-MPRc)}PCMAX_H,f,c=MIN{PEMAX,c,PPowerClass-ΔPPowerClass} ([0040]-[0041]). n response to determining that the first and the second transmit chains do not have an equal system efficiency level in decision block 512, method 500 proceeds to block 518 (FIG. 5B). With reference to FIG. 5B, method 500 includes determining whether the first transmit chain has a higher system efficiency level than the second transmit chain (decision block 516). In response to determining that the first transmit chain has a higher system efficiency level than the second transmit chain, method 500 includes allocating a larger portion of transmit power to the first transmit chain (block 518)… The increase in overall system efficiency is thus provided by applying a majority to all of maximum power reduction (MPR) to the second transmit chain. Then, method 500 returns to block 516 (FIG. 5A) ([0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Klomsdorf within the system of Baldemair in order to optimize additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) during a cooperative uplink concurrent uplink transmission mode.
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Park et al. (US 2022/0346036) over in view of Umeda et al. (US 2024/0298272).
Regarding claim 27, Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node ([0106]), comprising: one or more memories (typical feature gNB); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (typical feature gNB), the one or more processors configured to cause the network node (figs. 32-33) to: schedule communication from a user equipment (UE) based on an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR) region of frequency resources for a waveform {(i.e., A time taken for one subframe to be transmitted is referred to as a transmission time interval (TTI). The TTI may be referred to as a scheduling unit for data transmission ([0074], [0109]), DFT-s-OFDM is used for NR waveform A-MPR measurement ([0463]), the base station may transmit a network signal for A-MPR to the UE. The network signal for A-MPR may refer to a network signal related to A-MPR. The base station may request to apply the A-MPR when the UE determines an uplink transmission power by transmitting the network signal for A-MPR to the UE ([0692]-[0693])}; and obtain the communication with the repetition (i.e., the UE may transmit an uplink signal to the base station based on the transmission power determined in step S3102 [0720]).
Park does not specifically teach schedule communication with repetition based on an additional maximum power reduction (A-MPR).
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Umeda teaches the network has to optimize its scheduler based on the specified A-MPR and its conditions, the network has to schedule RBs to UEs in a very pessimistic way such that the number of allocated RBs is limited more than necessary and/or a lower order modulation is selected. For example, the network may allocate a very limited number of RBs at a certain frequency position to a UE, if a larger number of RB allocation at the position requires a larger A-MPR based on the current specification ([0062], [0069], [0091], [0095]); A technical advantage provided by some exemplary embodiments is that they enable a UE to decrease the A-MPR by applying a more suitable (adjusted) A-MPR using an A-MPR defined for a narrower CBW that is identified based on the distance between the DC location and the edges of the uplink BWP that is used. Based on the DC location indicated by the UE, the network is able to identify the adjusted maximum amount of A-MPR that can be applied by the UE, and thus resource usage may become more efficient ([0097]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Umela within the system of Park in order to prevent unnecessary uplink power reduction, and enable the network to schedule radio resources for UEs more efficiently.
Regarding claim 28, Park in view of Umela teaches all the limitations above. Park teaches schedule additional uplink communication without the repetition in a non-A- MPR region of the frequency resources for the waveform.
Regarding claim 29, Park in view of Umela teaches all the limitations above. Umela teaches schedule additional uplink communication with fewer repetitions than the communication scheduled with the repetition based on the communication being scheduled for first frequency resources associated with a higher A-MPR than second frequency resources scheduled for the additional uplink communication ([0295], [0298], [0322], [0324], [0336], [0345], [0391]).
Regarding claim 30, Park in view of Umela teaches all the limitations above. Umela teaches wherein the A-MPR region and a non-A-MPR region are defined ([0336], [0345], [0391]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643