DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application is being examined under the AIA the first inventor to file provisions.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued
examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the
finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's
submission filed on 07/16/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see remarks, filed 07/16/2026, with respect to the claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 9, “Applicant respectfully submits that this rejection has been overcome by the present amendments. The amended claim listing replaces the prior claim listing in its entirety. Each claim now has a clear claim number, and each dependent claim now depends from an existing claim. In particular, claims 2, 6-8, 13-14, 16, and 18-19 have been amended to depend from claim 1; claim 3 has been amended to depend from claim 2; claim 5 has been amended to depend from claim 3; claim 9 has been amended to depend from claim 8; claims 10-11 have been amended to depend from claim 9; claim 12 has been amended to depend from claim 8; claim 15 has been amended to depend from claim 14; and claim 17 has been amended to depend from claim 16.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the claim language the office sees the claims as indefinite as it is unclear how the claim dependencies are supposed to be structured. For example, there are multiple claim 1’s, the second claim 1 depends on itself, Claim 2 depends on itself, and claim 3 depends on itself, and there is no claim 5.
The applicant argues on page 9, “Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1-20 particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention, and withdrawal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is respectfully requested.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 10, “Park is directed to a different technical problem and a different computational mechanism. Park concerns a "method for sensing installation abnormality of a sensing device". In the portions relied upon by the Examiner, Park first determines a static object area and then determines whether the sensing device itself has an installation abnormality by comparing static point cloud information corresponding to that static object area at different time points. For example, Park's paragraph [0061] describes determining installation abnormality by comparing a ratio of an area of a first static point cloud to a static object area with a ratio of an area of a second static point cloud to a static object area. Park's paragraph [0062] similarly describes, in a voxel map, comparing a ratio of the number of voxels forming a first static point cloud to the number of all voxels forming the determined static object area with a corresponding ratio for a second static point cloud.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the breadth of the claim language the prior art by Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) explicitly teaches a device for detecting a dynamic object (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0036]- Park discloses when the sensing device 100 supports an object classification function by using an object classification model, the processor 120 may identify static objects such as the ground or buildings or dynamic objects such as animals, by applying the point cloud of a three-dimensional space to the object classification model or clustering the point cloud of a three-dimensional space.),
comprising: a processor (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0030]- Park discloses the sensing device 100 according to an embodiment may include a memory 110, a processor 120, a sensor unit 130, and a communication interface 140.),
configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0046]- The processor 120 may determine a static object area based on a period during which the point clouds in unit areas at corresponding positions between frames of a space information map is continuously detected to be the number of points greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value. Even when a point cloud is continuously detected for the same area, the point cloud may include noise, and thus, a case of classifying a point cloud with noise as a static point could may be filtered by including only a case in which the number of points of a point cloud that is continuously detected maintains the number of points greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value. Further in Fig. 5, paragraph [0054]- Park discloses it may be confirmed that point clouds exist in voxels from a time point T-10 to a time point T with respect to two voxels Voxel 1 and Voxel 2 forming a voxel map. In the first voxel Voxel 1, it may be seen that a point cloud is continuously detected in the voxels from the time point T-10 before a time point T-1 (wherein the first point density is the number of points in the voxel 1 at T-9 and the first image is the voxels taken at T-9).),
the image comprising image data corresponding to three dimensions (Fig. 1, paragraph [0024]- Park discloses the sensing device 100 may include a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor as a 3D sensor for sending a three-dimensional space and may obtain volumetric point cloud data.);
determine one or more second point densities (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0054]- Park discloses it may be confirmed that point clouds exist in voxels from a time point T-10 to a time point T with respect to two voxels Voxel 1 and Voxel 2 forming a voxel map. In the first voxel Voxel 1, it may be seen that a point cloud is continuously detected in the voxels from the time point T-10 before a time point T-1 (wherein the second point density is the number of points in the voxel 1 at time T-10 and the second image is the voxels taken at T-10).),
each second point density of the one or more second point densities being a point density of a second volume around a second point (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0054]- Park discloses as a point cloud formed of at least two points is continuously detected from the time point T-10 before the time point T-1, the first voxel Voxel 1 may be referred to as a static voxel, and in the second voxel Voxel 2, as a point cloud is temporarily detected at the time point T-9 and the time point T-1 only, the second voxel Voxel 2 may be referred to as a dynamic voxel (wherein the Voxel 1 V-9 is seen as corresponding to the Voxel 1 in V-10));
wherein the one or more second images of the environment are one or more images taken prior to the first image and include image data corresponding to the three dimensions (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0054]- Park discloses as a point cloud formed of at least two points is continuously detected from the time point T-10 before the time point T-1, the first voxel Voxel 1 may be referred to as a static voxel, and in the second voxel Voxel 2, as a point cloud is temporarily detected at the time point T-9 and the time point T-1 only, the second voxel Voxel 2 may be referred to as a dynamic voxel (wherein the time point T-10 happens before the time point T-9));
and classify the first point as dynamic or static based on a comparison of the first point density and the one or more second point densities (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0055]- Park discloses the processor 120 may distinguish voxels in which the point cloud exists into dynamic voxels and static voxels, based on a period during which a point cloud for the same voxel of a voxel map is continuously detected.).
Park fails to explicitly teach the first image being an image of an environment of a robot.
However, Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) explicitly teaches the first image being an image of an environment of a robot (Fig. 1, paragraph [0071]- Ishikawa discloses the recognition unit 73 performs recognition processing of an environment around the vehicle. Further in Paragraph [0251]- Ishikawa discloses the present technology can also be applied to a case where an occupancy grid map is created in a mobile device other than a vehicle, for example, a drone, a robot, or the like.).
The applicant argues on page 10, “Those disclosures do not teach or suggest the amended limitation. Park's comparison is not a comparison of a first point density of a first volume around a first point with one or more second point densities of second volumes around second points corresponding to the first point in prior images. Instead, Park compares area or voxel-occupancy ratios of static point clouds relative to a previously determined static object area, for the purpose of determining whether the sensing device has undergone an installation abnormality. A static-object-area ratio in Park is materially different from the claimed local density comparison around corresponding points in successive three-dimensional images of a robot environment.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 11, “The Office Action relies, among other things, on Park's paragraph [0036] as allegedly disclosing detection of dynamic objects. Applicant respectfully submits that paragraph [0036] does not cure the deficiency. Paragraph [0036] refers generally to identifying static objects such as ground or buildings or dynamic objects such as animals by applying a point cloud to an object classification model or clustering the point cloud. Such classification or clustering is not the claimed mechanism of determining local point densities of corresponding volumes around corresponding points in current and prior images and classifying a point based on a comparison of those densities.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 11, “Nor do Park's paragraphs [0045]-[0046] teach the amended claim. At most, those portions describe determining a static object area based on a period during which point clouds are continuously detected in unit areas at corresponding positions between frames of a space information map, where the number of points is greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value. That duration/continuity-based static-area determination is not the claimed comparison of a first point density around a first point with one or more second point densities around corresponding second points in respective prior images.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 11, “Even if Park refers to "corresponding positions" between frames, such corresponding positions are unit areas or voxels within a space information map used to define or evaluate a static object area. They are not second points corresponding to the claimed first point, and Park does not determine a point density of a second volume around such a corresponding second point for classifying the first point as dynamic or static.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 11, “Park's Figures 4-6 further confirm the distinction. Figure 4 illustrates a voxel map/voxel array/voxel. Figure 5 illustrates periods during which points are detected in particular voxels. Figure 6 illustrates first and second static point clouds in relation to a static object area for determining installation abnormality of sensing device 100. These figures are consistent with Park's static-object-area and voxel-duration approach, not with the claimed local point-density comparison around corresponding points in successive images of a robot's environment.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 12, “Ishikawa does not remedy this deficiency. The Examiner relies on Ishikawa for the first image being an image of an environment of a robot. Even if Ishikawa is considered to teach a robot or mobile device environment, Ishikawa does not teach or suggest determining the claimed first and second point densities of corresponding volumes around corresponding points, or classifying the first point as dynamic or static based on a comparison of those densities. Ishikawa is directed to creating and correcting an occupancy grid map using object recognition, tracking, and movement-vector estimation. Such teachings do not supply the local point-density comparison missing from Park.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive based on using the prior art teachings of Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) to teach the limitations not Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) based on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 12, “The proposed combination therefore would not yield amended claim 1. At most, the combination would provide Park's installation-abnormality sensing mechanism in a robot-related environment. It would not provide a processor configured to determine one or more second point densities, each being a point density of a second volume around a second point corresponding to the first point in a respective prior image, and to classify the first point as dynamic or static based on a comparison of the first point density and the one or more second point densities.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 12, “The Office Action's rationale for combination also does not address the claimed invention as a whole. The assertion that Park and Ishikawa both use point clouds to create maps of static and dynamic objects may explain, at most, why one might consider the references in the same general field. It does not provide an articulated reason with rational underpinning to modify Park's static- object-area/installation-abnormality mechanism into the claimed corresponding-point, corresponding-volume density-comparison mechanism. Such a modification would require using Applicant's disclosure as a roadmap.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
The applicant argues on page 12, “Accordingly, Park and Ishikawa, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest amended independent claim 1. Claims 8-11 and 19 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 and are patentable for at least the same reasons. Independent method claim 20 is patentable for substantially the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 8-11, and 19-20 is respectfully requested.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below.
Due to the previously filed and newly amended claims that introduce a 112b rejection, see below, the office will be maintaining the rejection dated 02/06/2026 as seen below. The office respectfully encourages the applicant to amend the application to correct the 112b as well as to overcome the prior arts of record to advance prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, Line 8-9 the term “to the first point in a respective one of the one or more second images” should be changed to “to the first point in a respective one of a one or more second images” for typographical/grammar issues to avoid clarity issues to prevent a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20, and associated dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claim amendments submitted on 07/16/2026 have rendered claims 1-20 indefinite as it is unclear how the claim dependencies are supposed to be structured. For example, there are multiple claim 1’s, the second claim 1 depends on itself, Claim 2 depends on itself, and claim 3 depends on itself, and there is no claim 5.
The office respectfully requests the Applicant to amend and carefully review all claim dependencies in order to clarify the claimed invention claims and to clearly disclose the metes and bounds in keeping with the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 1, Park explicitly teaches a device for detecting a dynamic object (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0036]- Park discloses when the sensing device 100 supports an object classification function by using an object classification model, the processor 120 may identify static objects such as the ground or buildings or dynamic objects such as animals, by applying the point cloud of a three-dimensional space to the object classification model or clustering the point cloud of a three-dimensional space.),
comprising: a processor (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0030]- Park discloses the sensing device 100 according to an embodiment may include a memory 110, a processor 120, a sensor unit 130, and a communication interface 140.),
configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0046]- The processor 120 may determine a static object area based on a period during which the point clouds in unit areas at corresponding positions between frames of a space information map is continuously detected to be the number of points greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value. Even when a point cloud is continuously detected for the same area, the point cloud may include noise, and thus, a case of classifying a point cloud with noise as a static point could may be filtered by including only a case in which the number of points of a point cloud that is continuously detected maintains the number of points greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value. Further in Fig. 5, paragraph [0054]- Park discloses it may be confirmed that point clouds exist in voxels from a time point T-10 to a time point T with respect to two voxels Voxel 1 and Voxel 2 forming a voxel map. In the first voxel Voxel 1, it may be seen that a point cloud is continuously detected in the voxels from the time point T-10 before a time point T-1 (wherein the first point density is the number of points in the voxel 1 at T-9 and the first image is the voxels taken at T-9).),
the image comprising image data corresponding to three dimensions (Fig. 1, paragraph [0024]- Park discloses the sensing device 100 may include a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor as a 3D sensor for sending a three-dimensional space and may obtain volumetric point cloud data.);
determine one or more second point densities (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0054]- Park discloses it may be confirmed that point clouds exist in voxels from a time point T-10 to a time point T with respect to two voxels Voxel 1 and Voxel 2 forming a voxel map. In the first voxel Voxel 1, it may be seen that a point cloud is continuously detected in the voxels from the time point T-10 before a time point T-1 (wherein the second point density is the number of points in the voxel 1 at time T-10 and the second image is the voxels taken at T-10).),
each second point density of the one or more second point densities being a point density of a second volume around a second point (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0054]- Park discloses as a point cloud formed of at least two points is continuously detected from the time point T-10 before the time point T-1, the first voxel Voxel 1 may be referred to as a static voxel, and in the second voxel Voxel 2, as a point cloud is temporarily detected at the time point T-9 and the time point T-1 only, the second voxel Voxel 2 may be referred to as a dynamic voxel (wherein the Voxel 1 V-9 is seen as corresponding to the Voxel 1 in V-10));
wherein the one or more second images of the environment are one or more images taken prior to the first image and include image data corresponding to the three dimensions (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0054]- Park discloses as a point cloud formed of at least two points is continuously detected from the time point T-10 before the time point T-1, the first voxel Voxel 1 may be referred to as a static voxel, and in the second voxel Voxel 2, as a point cloud is temporarily detected at the time point T-9 and the time point T-1 only, the second voxel Voxel 2 may be referred to as a dynamic voxel (wherein the time point T-10 happens before the time point T-9));
and classify the first point as dynamic or static based on a comparison of the first point density and the one or more second point densities (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0055]- Park discloses the processor 120 may distinguish voxels in which the point cloud exists into dynamic voxels and static voxels, based on a period during which a point cloud for the same voxel of a voxel map is continuously detected.).
Park fails to explicitly teach the first image being an image of an environment of a robot.
However, Ishikawa explicitly teaches the first image being an image of an environment of a robot (Fig. 1, paragraph [0071]- Ishikawa discloses the recognition unit 73 performs recognition processing of an environment around the vehicle. Further in Paragraph [0251]- Ishikawa discloses the present technology can also be applied to a case where an occupancy grid map is created in a mobile device other than a vehicle, for example, a drone, a robot, or the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Ishikawa the first image being an image of an environment of a robot.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the first image being an image of an environment of a robot.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to a better control and safer control system, since both Park and Ishikawa are both systems use point clouds to create a map of static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Ishikawa’s system provides a way to improve safety. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) Paragraph [0239].
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the first image of the environment and the one or more second images of the environment are configured as point cloud images (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0045]- Park discloses the processor 120 may determine a static object area based on a period during which a point could is continuously detected in a unit area at corresponding positions between frames of the space information map generated from the point clouds over time with respect to a three-dimensional space obtained by the sensor unit 130.).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 8, Park fails to explicitly teach further comprising one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images or depth images; wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images or depth images with a position of the one or more image sensors when the plurality of images or depth images are acquired.
However, Ishikawa explicitly teaches further comprising one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images or depth images (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0153]- Ishikawa discloses specifically, the camera 51 captures an image of surroundings of the vehicle 1, and supplies obtained image data to the information processing unit 301.);
wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images or depth images with a position of the one or more image sensors when the plurality of images or depth images are acquired (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0245]- Ishikawa discloses a point cloud may be created by a radar, a depth camera (for example, a stereo camera or a ToF camera), or the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Ishikawa further comprising one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images or depth images; wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images or depth images with a position of the one or more image sensors when the plurality of images or depth images are acquired.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein further comprising one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images or depth images; wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images or depth images with a position of the one or more image sensors when the plurality of images or depth images are acquired.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to a better control and safer control system, since both Park and Ishikawa are both systems use point clouds to create a map of static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Ishikawa’s system provides a way to improve safety. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) Paragraph [0239].
Regarding claim 10, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 9, Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more image sensors comprise a stereo camera or a depth camera.
However, Ishikawa explicitly teaches wherein the one or more image sensors comprise a stereo camera or a depth camera (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0245]- Ishikawa discloses a point cloud may be created by a radar, a depth camera (for example, a stereo camera or a ToF camera), or the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Ishikawa wherein the one or more image sensors comprise a stereo camera or a depth camera.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the one or more image sensors comprise a stereo camera or a depth camera.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to a better control and safer control system, since both Park and Ishikawa are both systems use point clouds to create a map of static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Ishikawa’s system provides a way to improve safety. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) Paragraph [0239].
Regarding claim 11, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 9, Park further teaches wherein the one or more image comprise a LiDAR, Light Detection and Ranging, device (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0034]- Park discloses the sensor unit 130 may be a LiDAR sensor, and may include at least one three-dimensional LiDAR sensor to obtain data of a space in a certain range).
Regarding claim 19, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claims 1, Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the dynamic object detection device is configured as an autonomous robot.
However, Ishikawa explicitly teaches wherein the dynamic object detection device is configured as an autonomous robot (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0251]- Ishikawa discloses the present technology can also be applied to a case where an occupancy grid map is created in a mobile device other than a vehicle, for example, a drone, a robot, or the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Ishikawa wherein the one or more image sensors comprise a stereo camera or a depth camera.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the dynamic object detection device is configured as an autonomous robot.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to a better control and safer control system, since both Park and Ishikawa are both systems use point clouds to create a map of static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Ishikawa’s system provides a way to improve safety. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) Paragraph [0239].
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches a method for detecting a dynamic object (Fig. 3-5, Paragraph [0039]- Park discloses a method of distinguishing a dynamic point cloud corresponding to a dynamic object from a static point cloud corresponding to a static object in space information map, and a method of determining a static object area in a space information map, are described below with reference to FIGS. 3 to 5.),
comprising: determining a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0061]- Park discloses the processor 120 may determine the installation abnormality of the sensing device 100, by comparing a ratio of an area of a first static point cloud to a static object area with a ratio of an area of a second static point cloud to a static object area. When the time point at which a static object area is determined is set to be a first time point, as illustrated in FIG. 6, while a first static point cloud at a first time point is regularly detected within a static object area, a second static point cloud at a second time point is detected only in a part of the static object area.),
the image including image data corresponding to three dimensions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0024]- Park discloses the sensing device 100 may include a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor as a 3D sensor for sending a three-dimensional space and may obtain volumetric point cloud data.);
determining one or more second point densities (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0062]- Park discloses the processor 120 may determine the installation abnormality of the sensing device 100 in a voxel map by comparing a ratio of the number of voxels forming a first static point cloud at a first time point to the number of all voxels forming the determined static object area with a ratio of the number of voxels forming a second static point cloud to the number of all voxels forming the determined static object area at a second time point.),
each second point density of the one or more second point densities being a point density of a second volume about a second point (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0062]- Park discloses the processor 120 may determine the installation abnormality of the sensing device 100 in a voxel map by comparing a ratio of the number of voxels forming a first static point cloud at a first time point to the number of all voxels forming the determined static object area with a ratio of the number of voxels forming a second static point cloud to the number of all voxels forming the determined static object area at a second time point.);
the second point corresponding to the first point in each of one or more second images, the one or more second images of the environment being one or more images taken prior to the first image and including image data corresponding to the three dimensions (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0059]- Park discloses the processor 120 may extract a first static point cloud at a first time point and a second static point cloud at a second time point having a certain time difference from first time point, from among the static point clouds over time corresponding to the determined static object area.);
and classifying the first point as dynamic or static based on a comparison of the first point density and the one or more second point densities (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0046]- Park discloses the processor 120 may determine a static object area based on a period during which the point clouds in unit areas at corresponding positions between frames of a space information map is continuously detected to be the number of points greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value.).
Park fails to explicitly teach the first image being an image of an environment of a robot.
However, Ishikawa explicitly teaches the first image being an image of an environment of a robot (Fig. 1, paragraph [0071]- Ishikawa discloses the recognition unit 73 performs recognition processing of an environment around the vehicle. Further in Paragraph [0251]- Ishikawa discloses the present technology can also be applied to a case where an occupancy grid map is created in a mobile device other than a vehicle, for example, a drone, a robot, or the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park of a method for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: determining a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Ishikawa the first image being an image of an environment of a robot.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the first image being an image of an environment of a robot.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to a better control and safer control system, since both Park and Ishikawa are both systems use point clouds to create a map of static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Ishikawa’s system provides a way to improve safety. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) Paragraph [0239].
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and Li et al. (US 20220366185 A1) hereafter referenced as Li.
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to change the second point density based on a comparison of the depth information of the first point and the depth information of the second point.
However, Li explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to change the second point density based on a comparison of the depth information of the first point and the depth information of the second point (Fig. 1a, Paragraph [0018]- Li discloses increasing the search radius increases the number of neighboring points and therefore helps to cluster points in lower density areas. Further in Paragraph [0028]- Li discloses as the distance of the point from the LiDAR sensor (range(p.sub.i)) increases, the search radius ε.sub.1st,i increases. Likewise, as the resolution of the LiDAR sensor (resol) increases, the search radius ε.sub.1st,i increases.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Li wherein the processor is further configured to change the second point density based on a comparison of the depth information of the first point and the depth information of the second point.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is further configured to change the second point density based on a comparison of the depth information of the first point and the depth information of the second point.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate system, since both Park and Li are both systems use point clouds. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Li’s system provides a way to further increase accuracy. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Li et al. (US 20220366185 A1) Paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Ishikawa and Li teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 3, Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to increase the second point density if the depth information corresponds to a greater distance to the first point than to a second point, or to decrease the second volume if the depth information corresponds to a smaller distance to the first point than to a second point.
However, Li explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to increase the second point density if the depth information corresponds to a greater distance to the first point than to a second point (Fig. 1a, Paragraph [0018]- Li discloses increasing the search radius increases the number of neighboring points and therefore helps to cluster points in lower density areas. Further in Paragraph [0028]- Li discloses as the distance of the point from the LiDAR sensor (range(p.sub.i)) increases, the search radius ε.sub.1st,i increases. Likewise, as the resolution of the LiDAR sensor (resol) increases, the search radius ε.sub.1st,i increases.),
or to decrease the second volume if the depth information corresponds to a smaller distance to the first point than to a second point (Fig. 1a, Paragraph [0018]- Li discloses the minimum point threshold minPt is increased for points located close to the LiDAR sensor and decreased for points related further away from the LiDAR sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Li wherein the processor is further configured to increase the second point density if the depth information corresponds to a greater distance to the first point than to a second point, or to decrease the second volume if the depth information corresponds to a smaller distance to the first point than to a second point.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is further configured to increase the second point density if the depth information corresponds to a greater distance to the first point than to a second point, or to decrease the second volume if the depth information corresponds to a smaller distance to the first point than to a second point.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate system, since both Park and Li are both systems use point clouds. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Li’s system provides a way to further increase accuracy. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Li et al. (US 20220366185 A1) Paragraph [0018].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and in view of Doria et al. (US 20200184234 A1) hereafter referenced as Doria.
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the first volume and the second volume are spherical.
However, Doria explicitly teaches wherein the first volume and the second volume are spherical (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0029]- Doria discloses the neighborhood may be defined by a spatial volume or area. In some examples, the spatial volume is spherical and set by a predetermined radius. Thus, the neighborhood includes the points within the predetermined radius to a starting point.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Doria wherein the first volume and the second volume are spherical.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the first volume and the second volume are spherical.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a faster and more efficient machine, since both Park and Doria are both systems use point clouds to create to do object detection. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Doria’s system provides a way to increase speed, efficiency, and accuracy. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Doria et al. (US 20200184234 A1) Paragraph [0020].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and in view of Lee et al. (US 20230243970 A1) hereafter referenced as Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to classify the first point as dynamic (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0042]- Park discloses the vehicles and pedestrians that move correspond to dynamic objects, and the positions of the dynamic point clouds corresponding to dynamic objects are changed in the space information map so that the dynamic point clouds are not continuously detected in the same area for more than a certain period.),
static based on the comparison of the first point density and the one or more second point densities (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0046]- Park discloses the processor 120 may determine a static object area based on a period during which the point clouds in unit areas at corresponding positions between frames of a space information map is continuously detected to be the number of points greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value.),
Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach or unknown.
However, Lee explicitly teaches or unknown (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0059]- Lee discloses the type of object determined based on the calculated score may be determined to be any one of a static object, a dynamic object, or an unknown object.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Lee or unknown.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein or unknown.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate and easier to use system, since both Park and Lee are both systems use point clouds to determine static and dynamic objects Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Lee’s system provides a way to increase accuracy and make the system simpler. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Lee et al. (US 20230243970 A1) Paragraph [0120-121].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and in view of Yu et al. (US 20230360406 A1) hereafter referenced as Yu.
Regarding claim 12, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 9, Park fails to explicitly teach further the comprising one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images.
However, Ishikawa explicitly teaches further the comprising one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0153]- Ishikawa discloses specifically, the camera 51 captures an image of surroundings of the vehicle 1, and supplies obtained image data to the information processing unit 301.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Ishikawa further comprising the one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein further the comprising one or more image sensors configured to generate a plurality of images.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to a better control and safer control system, since both Park and Ishikawa are both systems use point clouds to create a map of static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Ishikawa’s system provides a way to improve safety. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) Paragraph [0239].
Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images using one or more photogrammetry techniques.
However, Yu explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images using one or more photogrammetry techniques (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0042]- Yu discloses photogrammetry methods, which are known in the art, are used to produce the point cloud from the captured image data.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image with the teachings of Yu wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images using one or more photogrammetry techniques.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is further configured to generate the point cloud images by resolving the plurality of images using one or more photogrammetry techniques.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more accurate system, since both Park and Yu are both systems use point clouds. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Yu’s system provides a further way to improve accuracy. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Yu et al. (US 20230360406 A1) Paragraph [0049].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and in view of Zhang et al. (US 20150324658 A1) hereafter referenced as Zhang.
Regarding claim 13, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Although Park further teaches wherein classifying the first point as dynamic or static comprises classifying the first point as dynamic or static based on a comparison of the density of the first point and the density of the one or more second points within a data set (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0046]- Park discloses the processor 120 may determine a static object area based on a period during which the point clouds in unit areas at corresponding positions between frames of a space information map is continuously detected to be the number of points greater than or equal to a minimum detection threshold value.). Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate a modified data set by removing from the first image and the one or more second images data corresponding to a surface traversable by the dynamic object detection device; and wherein classifying the first point as dynamic or static comprises classifying the first point as dynamic or static based on a comparison of the density of the first point and the density of the one or more second points within the modified data set.
However, Zhang explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate a modified data set by removing from the first image and the one or more second images data corresponding to a surface traversable by the dynamic object detection device (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0104]- Zhang discloses at 1410, a ground plane in the 3D point cloud information is determined and removed. Modified 3D information may be generated by removing the ground plane from the acquired or obtained 3D information.);
the modified data set (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0096]- Zhang discloses the 3D candidate objects (e.g., blobs) may be identified using the modified 3D information. For example, the 3D module 1314 may cluster (e.g., in an unsupervised manner) proximal points from the modified 3D information into object groups to identify 3D candidate objects.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Zhang wherein the processor is further configured to generate a modified data set by removing from the first image and the one or more second images data corresponding to a surface traversable by the dynamic object detection device and the modified data set.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is further configured to generate a modified data set by removing from the first image and the one or more second images data corresponding to a surface traversable by the dynamic object detection device and the modified data set.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to increase system reliability and reduce false positives, since both Park and Zhang are both systems that use lidar for object detection. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Zhang’s system provides a way to improve reliability. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Zhang et al. (US 20150324658 A1) Paragraph [0108-109].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and in view of Yasuda et al. (US 20240241523 A1) hereafter referenced as Yasuda.
Regarding claim 14, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Although Park explicitly teaches based on comparison of the first point density and the one or more second point densities. Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate a two-dimensional grid of the environment and to label portions of the two-dimensional grid as dynamic or static based on classification of the first point as dynamic or static based on comparison of the first point density and the one or more second point densities.
However, Yasuda explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate a two-dimensional grid of the environment (Fig, 1, Paragraph [0041]- Yasuda discloses the determination unit 12 generates grid data that is obtained by dividing the map data into a plurality of sections (hereinafter also referred to as a plurality of cells), and determines or specifies whether or not there is an obstacle in each cell of the grid, or whether the presence/absence of an obstacle is unknown.)
and to label portions of the two-dimensional grid as dynamic or static based on classification of the first point as dynamic or static (Fig. 5, Paragraph [0132]- Yasuda discloses the label setting means sets a label indicating that there is a stationary obstacle, there is a moving obstacle, or there is no obstacle in each cell of the grid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Yasuda wherein the processor is further configured to generate a two-dimensional grid of the environment and to label portions of the two-dimensional grid as dynamic or static based on classification of the first point as dynamic or static.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is further configured to generate a two-dimensional grid of the environment and to label portions of the two-dimensional grid as dynamic or static based on classification of the first point as dynamic or static.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a more efficient and accurate system, since both Park and Yasuda are both systems determine static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Yasuda’s system provides a further way to improve accuracy and efficiency. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Yasuda et al. (US 20240241523 A1) Paragraph [0092].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa, in view of Yasuda et al. (US 20240241523 A1) hereafter referenced as Yasuda, in view of Kirstein et al. (US 20210295062 A1) hereafter referenced as Kirstein, in view of Sonoura et al. (US 20080201014 A1) hereafter referenced as Sonoura.
Regarding claim 15, Park in view of Ishikawa and Yasuda teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 14, Park in view of Ishikawa and Yasuda fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to associate height information with at least one cell of the grid.
However, Kirstein explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to associate height information with at least one cell of the grid (Fig, 1, Paragraph [0029]- Kirstein discloses in a step S4, height information is determined by means of the at least one first 2a and/or second environment detection sensor 2b. In step S5, said determined height information is added to each grid cell.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa and Yasuda of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Kirstein wherein the processor is further configured to associate height information with at least one cell of the grid.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is further configured to associate height information with at least one cell of the grid.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have an improved environment representation, since both Park and Kirstein are both systems that use lidar to detect in an area. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Kirstein’s system provides a way to improve the representation of the environment. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Kirstein et al. (US 20210295062 A1) Paragraph [0003].
Park in view of Ishikawa, Yasuda, and Kirstein fails to explicitly teach when the height information is within a range, to calculate a first minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell, and when the height information is outside the range, to calculate a second minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell, wherein the first minimum distance is greater than the second minimum distance.
However, Sonoura explicitly teaches when the height information is within a range, to calculate a first minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell (Fig. 8, Paragraph [0047]- Sonoura discloses if the height h is greater than the threshold Dh, then the robot 1 proceeds to step S714 shown in FIG. 8 and judges that the extracted person is not a person of caution level. In this case, the robot 1 further proceeds to step S8 shown in FIG. 2, sets the level of the approach permission distance limitation (degree of caution) of the robot 1 to the person to Lv.),
and when the height information is outside the range, to calculate a second minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0059]- Sonoura discloses this traveling velocity is based on a traveling restriction law having two-dimensional matrix condition stipulations in which the distance to the obstacle is increased or the maximum traveling velocity is decreased as the caution level becomes higher as shown in FIG. 12.),
wherein the first minimum distance is greater than the second minimum distance (Fig. 12, Paragraph [0059]- Sonoura discloses the robot 1 in the present embodiment compares a distance which can be ensured between the robot 1 and the obstacle with preset values (=0, L1, L2, L3 and L4) of the approach permission distance, and determines the traveling velocity of the robot 1 on the basis of a result of the comparison and preset levels of the approach permission distance limitation, i.e., levels of the degree of caution (=no limitations, Lv. 1, Lv. 2, Lv. 3 and Lv. 4). This traveling velocity is based on a traveling restriction law having two-dimensional matrix condition stipulations in which the distance to the obstacle is increased or the maximum traveling velocity is decreased as the caution level becomes higher as shown in FIG. 12.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa, Yasuda, and Kirstein of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Sonoura when the height information is within a range, to calculate a first minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell, and when the height information is outside the range, to calculate a second minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell, wherein the first minimum distance is greater than the second minimum distance.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein when the height information is within a range, to calculate a first minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell, and when the height information is outside the range, to calculate a second minimum distance to be maintained to an object in the cell, wherein the first minimum distance is greater than the second minimum distance.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to have a safer system to use around people, since both Park and Sonoura are both systems that detect static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Sonoura’s system provides a way to improve safety of the system. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Sonoura et al. (US 20080201014 A1) Paragraph [0011 and 0059-61].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and in view of Schafer et al. (US 20230222928 A1) hereafter referenced as Schafer.
Regarding claim 16, Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Park in view of Ishikawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to operate in a first mode of operation when a distance between the robot and an object corresponding to a static point is within a predetermined range, and to operate in a second mode of operation when the distance between the robot and the object corresponding to a dynamic point is within the predetermined range.
However, Schafer explicitly teaches wherein the processor is configured to operate in a first mode of operation when a distance between the robot and an object corresponding to a static point is within a predetermined range (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0089]- Schafer discloses the example process of FIG. 9 also handles static and dynamic objects differently in that dynamic objects are handled with higher priority and may be continuously tracked to estimate their motion trajectory… In case the received ID corresponds to a non-recorded DID or SID, it gets recorded and respective proximity checks are performed.),
and to operate in a second mode of operation when the distance between the robot and the object corresponding to a dynamic point is within the predetermined range (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0089]- Schafer discloses the example process of FIG. 9 also handles static and dynamic objects differently in that dynamic objects are handled with higher priority and may be continuously tracked to estimate their motion trajectory…In case the received ID corresponds to a non-recorded DID or SID, it gets recorded and respective proximity checks are performed.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Schafer wherein the processor is configured to operate in a first mode of operation when a distance between the robot and an object corresponding to a static point is within a predetermined range, and to operate in a second mode of operation when the distance between the robot and the object corresponding to a dynamic point is within the predetermined range.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is configured to operate in a first mode of operation when a distance between the robot and an object corresponding to a static point is within a predetermined range, and to operate in a second mode of operation when the distance between the robot and the object corresponding to a dynamic point is within the predetermined range.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to minimize risk of collisions while efficiently using the available space, since both Park and Schafer are both systems that detect static and dynamic objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Schafer’s system provides a way to improve collision avoidance. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Schafer et al. (US 20230222928 A1) Paragraph [0002-6].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa, in view of Schafer et al. (US 20230222928 A1) hereafter referenced as Schafer, and in view of Abramson et al. (US 20200201328 A1) hereafter referenced as Abramson.
Regarding claim 17, Park in view of Ishikawa and Schafer teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 16, Park in view of Ishikawa and Schafer fails to explicitly teach wherein the first mode of operation comprises the processor not sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot; and wherein the second mode of operation comprises the processor sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot.
However, Abramson explicitly teaches wherein the first mode of operation comprises the processor not sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0151]- Abramson discloses the machine 20 is configured to recognize the animate beings 110 and 112 as animate beings and to conduct a behavior in response to the recognition. (wherein this shows it only sends the command to decelerate/stop based on animate beings similar to dynamic objects));
and wherein the second mode of operation comprises the processor sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0153]- Abramson discloses a human detection or animate being detection of more than 50% within the section 264B within the immediate pathway of the machine 20 can trigger the control system 60 to control the machine 20 to stop and wait, stop the working mechanism 42, and alert the user via a wirelessly transmitted message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa and Schafer of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Abramson wherein the first mode of operation comprises the processor not sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot; and wherein the second mode of operation comprises the processor sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the first mode of operation comprises the processor not sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot; and wherein the second mode of operation comprises the processor sending a command to decelerate or stop or perform an avoidance maneuver of the robot.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve navigation obstacle avoidance and efficiency, since both Park and Abramson are both systems that use lidar to detect objects. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Schafer’s system provides improve navigation obstacle avoidance and efficiency. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Abramson et al. (US 20200201328 A1) Paragraph [0002].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) hereafter referenced as Park in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20220383749 A1) hereafter referenced as Ishikawa and in view of Wang et al. (US 20240095928 A1) hereafter referenced as Wang.
Regarding claim 18 Park in view of Ishikawa teaches the device for detecting a dynamic object of claim 1, Park in view of Ishikawa fail to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to compare the depth information for a point to an estimated depth information for the point and label the point as being occluded if a difference between the depth information and the estimated depth information is outside a range.
However, Wang explicitly teaches wherein the processor is configured to compare the depth information for a point to an estimated depth information for the point and label the point as being occluded if a difference between the depth information and the estimated depth information is outside a range (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0062]- Wang discloses By individually comparing the magnitude relationship between the difference in depth values of each pixel and multiple pixels directly adjacent to it in its surrounding neighborhood and the predetermined threshold, the occlusion relationship for each pair of adjacent pixels can be determined. If the difference in depth values of any pair of adjacent pixels is greater than the predetermined threshold, an occlusion relationship between that pair of adjacent pixels is determined; otherwise, there is no occlusion relationship.)
and to label the point as being visible if a difference between the depth information and the estimated depth information is within a range (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0073]- Wang discloses for any pixel 100 in the training image, its occlusion relationship with adjacent pixels, such as 101, can fall into three cases: pixel 100 occludes pixel 101 (represented as 1), pixel 100 is occluded by pixel 101 (represented as −1), and there is no occlusion between pixel 100 and pixel 101 (represented as 0).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Park in view of Ishikawa of a device for detecting a dynamic object, comprising: a processor, configured to: determine a first point density of a first volume around a first point in a first image, with the teachings of Wang wherein the processor is configured to compare the depth information for a point to an estimated depth information for the point and label the point as being occluded if a difference between the depth information and the estimated depth information is outside a range.
Wherein having Park’s system of abnormality sensing wherein the processor is configured to compare the depth information for a point to an estimated depth information for the point and label the point as being occluded if a difference between the depth information and the estimated depth information is outside a range.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to improve the accuracy and reliability of the system, since both Park and Wang are both systems that use lidar. Wherein Park’s system provides a way to increase accuracy, while Wang’s system provides enhanced accuracy reliability and robustness of the system. Please see Park et al. (US 20240192342 A1) Paragraph [0027] and Wang et al. (US 20240095928 A1) Paragraph [0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5 along with their dependent claims respectively, are therefrom objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claim, claims 1, respectively but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims and to overcome the 112b rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior arts fail to explicitly teach, determine a modified image set as an image set having one or more second images in which the first depth information corresponds to a greater depth than a depth of the second depth information of the corresponding second image, as claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, the prior arts fail to explicitly teach, wherein varying the point density surrounding the second point based on a depth information of the first point compared to a depth information of the second point comprises increasing the second point density when the first depth information corresponds to a depth less than a depth of the second depth information, and decreasing the second point density when the first depth information corresponds to a depth greater than a depth of the second depth information, as claimed in claim 5.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
SHINKUMA et al. (US 20240412384 A1)- A terminal device acquires image sensor data in real space from a sensor unit and transmits the data to a server device by a transmission unit. The server device aggregates the image sensor data in the real space transmitted from each terminal device by the aggregation unit, and then learns about the motion feature index of the image sensor data composed of point clouds in each spatial region in the real space by the learning unit to determine the spatial region pertaining to a dynamic object or static object in the real space, and stores it in a motion feature index information storage unit. The server device preferentially transmits the image sensor data in the spatial region determined to be a dynamic object by the learning unit to the moving object, with respect to the image sensor data acquired in real time.....................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Kim et al. (US 20230060270 A1)- A method for generating a dynamic map, which is performed by a dynamic map generation apparatus, is provided. The method includes arranging point data acquired from a lidar sensor in a plurality of cells included in a voxel, calculating a point occupation frequency change of each of the plurality of cells according to an attribute and a status of each of the plurality of cells, and generating the dynamic map by using, among the plurality of cells, background cells in each of which a value accumulating the point occupation frequency change is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Lu et al. (US 20190340746 A1)- A stationary object detecting method, a stationary object apparatus, and an electronic device are disclosed in embodiments of the present disclosure, the method includes: obtaining point cloud data of a scene and feature information of each of data points in the point cloud data; performing a triangulation network connection on each of the data points in the point cloud data to generate a triangular network model, and taking a picture of the triangular network model using a preset camera to obtain an image; obtaining a first data point corresponding to each pixel point in the image, and obtaining a feature map of the point cloud data according to feature information of each first data point; inputting the feature map into a classification model to obtain data points corresponding to the stationary object in the point cloud data.......................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
Douillard et al. (US 10444759 B2)- Systems, methods, and apparatuses described herein are directed to performing segmentation on voxels representing three-dimensional data to identify static and dynamic objects. LIDAR data may be captured by a perception system for an autonomous vehicle and represented in a voxel space. Operations may include determining a drivable surface by parsing individual voxels to determine an orientation of a surface normal of a planar approximation of the voxelized data relative to a reference direction. Clustering techniques can be used to grow a ground plane including a plurality of locally flat voxels. Ground plane data can be set aside from the voxel space, and the remaining voxels can be clustered to determine objects. Voxel data can be analyzed over time to determine dynamic objects. Segmentation information associated with ground voxels, static object, and dynamic objects can be provided to a tracker and/or planner in conjunction with operating the autonomous vehicle........................Please see Fig. 1. Abstract.
/LUCIUS CAMERON GREEN ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673