DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen US 7438566.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a (e.g., the species 4a, see figure 15) splicing piece for connecting at least two lighting bars (i.e., capable of connecting at least two light bars 2, which are “light bars, ” which means a bar/track capable of supplying power to a light producing device mounted on the bar)
comprising:
a base (housing 41a), the base provided with a central area (labeled CA in annotated figures 15 below) and comprising at least two connecting parts (40, labeled CP1, CP2 and CP3 below), wherein
the at least two connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided around the central area, and
each of the connecting parts comprises at least one splicing area (labeled SA below) for connecting with a mounting part of the lighting bar (i.e., capable of connecting with mounting parts light bars, in particular with light bars having the shape of track 2);
an electrical connector (labeled EC below) for electrically connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the electrical connector provided on each splicing area;
a fixing connector 4021 (shown at one location 40 in figure 15, inherent for the other two locations 40 in figure 15) for connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the fixing connector provided beside the electrical connector on the splicing area;
and at least one wiring groove (labeled WG below), the wiring groove provided to avoid the fixing connector and used for connecting the electrical connectors (i.e., for allowing passage through the housing of the wires connecting the electrical connectors) on adjacent splicing areas.
Per claim 4, in species 4a, each of the connecting parts (labeled CP1 and CP2 above) of the base is coplanar with each other;
each splicing area is provided with one electrical connector and at least two fixing connectors; and
distances between each splicing area and the central area are identical.
Per claim 8, Chen discloses a cover plate (labeled CVPL above) and the cover plate is provided on a surface where the wiring groove of the base is positioned, and used to cover the wiring groove.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a lighting apparatus, comprising (see discussion regarding claim 1 for the identification of claimed elements)
at least two lighting bars 2 (i.e., a bar/track capable of supplying power to a light producing device mounted on the bar)
and one splicing piece, the splicing piece comprising:
a base, the base provided with a central area and comprising at least two connecting parts, wherein the at least two connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided
around the central area, and each of the connecting parts comprises at least one splicing area for connecting with a mounting part of the lighting bar;
an electrical connector for electrically connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the
electrical connector provided on each splicing area;
a fixing connector for connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the fixing connector provided beside the electrical connector on the splicing area;
at least one wiring groove, the wiring groove provided to avoid the fixing connector and used for connecting the electrical connectors on adjacent splicing areas; and wherein
each of the at least two lighting bars comprises at least one mounting part (211, 215) for connecting to the splicing area of the base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a splicing piece (e.g., the species 7’, see figure 14) for connecting at least two lighting bars (i.e., capable of connecting at least two light bars, in particular with light bars having the shape of track 2), comprising:
a base (the housing), the base provided with a central area (labeled CA in annotated figures 14 below) and comprising at least two connecting parts (at 70), wherein
the at least two connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided around the central area, and
each of the connecting parts comprises at least one splicing area (area at 70) for connecting with a mounting part of the lighting bar (i.e., capable of connecting with mounting parts light bars, in particular with light bars having the shape of track 2);
an electrical connector (742’) for electrically connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the electrical connector provided on each splicing area;
a fixing connector 4021 (implicit at locations 70) for connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the fixing connector provided beside the electrical connector on the splicing area;
To the extent that Chen does not explicitly show the fixing connectors in the species 7’, the fixing connectors are implicit as taught at (402, 404) in the species 4 of figure 4 and would have been obvious to include in species 7’ of figure 14 to have the device operate as intended.
Figure 14 discloses what appear to be wiring grooves (labeled WG below) to avoid the fixing connector and used for connecting the electrical connectors (i.e., for allowing passage through the housing of the wires connecting the electrical connectors) on adjacent splicing areas. To the extent that the wiring grooves are not clearly shown, wiring grooves are disclosed more clearly in the species 4a of figure 15 as discussed above. It would have been obvious to include wiring grooves in species 7’, in either or both the base 77 and/or cover 76, as disclosed in species 4a. The reason would have been to accommodate and locate the wires within the housing as was known in the art and as is implicit in the species 4a.
Regarding claim 2, in the Chen species 7’ (figure 14), at least two connecting parts of the base are non-coplanar; each two of the connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided around the central area; and an included angle between the two connecting parts that are non-coplanar is 60°-150°.
Per claim 3, the base comprises two connecting parts;
the connecting part is provided with merely one splicing area; each splicing area is provided with one electrical connector and at least two fixing connectors; and the fixing connector is arranged on a periphery taking the electrical connector as a center (note that the ground terminal is in the center of the connecting part), flanked by the fixing connectors.
Per claim 9, Chen discloses a cover plate (76) and the cover plate is provided on a surface where the wiring groove of the base is positioned, and used to cover the wiring groove.
Per claim 10, there is a cover plate 76; and the cover plate is provided on a surface where the wiring groove of the base is positioned, and used to cover the wiring groove.
Regarding claim 12, figure 14 does not show the positioning part 403, which is shown for example in figure 6. The positioning part 403 (labeled POP above) has a surface of each connecting part distal to the central area is set as an end surface (labeled ENS above); and the positioning part is provided on the end surface of the connecting part positioned in each splicing area.
It would have been obvious to obvious to provide the positioning part as shown in the species of figures 3-6 on the species of figure 14. The reason would have been to secure the connector correctly to the track 2.
Regarding claim 13, figure 14 does not show the positioning part 403, which is shown for example in figure 6, such that a surface of each connecting part distal to the central area is set as an end surface (labeled ENS below) and the positioning part is provided on the end surface of the connecting part positioned in each splicing area.
It would have been obvious to obvious to provide the positioning part as shown in the species of figures 3-6 on the species of figure 14. The reason would have been to secure the connector correctly to the track 2.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a lighting apparatus (e.g., the species 7’, see figure 14), comprising (see discussion regarding claim 1 above for the identification of claimed elements) at least two lighting bars 2 (i.e., a bar/track capable of supplying power to a light producing device mounted on the bar)
and one splicing piece, the splicing piece comprising:
a base, the base provided with a central area and comprising at least two connecting parts, wherein the at least two connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided around the central area, and each of the connecting parts comprises at least one splicing area for connecting with a mounting part of the lighting bar;
an electrical connector for electrically connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the electrical connector provided on each splicing area;
a fixing connector for connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the fixing connector provided beside the electrical connector on the splicing area;
each of the at least two lighting bars comprises at least one mounting part (211, 215) for connecting to the splicing area of the base.
To the extent that Chen does not explicitly show the fixing connectors in the species 7’, the fixing connectors are implicit as taught at (402, 404) in the species 4 of figure 4 and would have been obvious to include in species 7’ of figure 14 to have the device operate as intended.
Figure 14 discloses what appear to be wiring grooves (labeled WG below) to avoid the fixing connector and used for connecting the electrical connectors (i.e., for allowing passage through the housing of the wires connecting the electrical connectors) on adjacent splicing areas. To the extent that the wiring grooves are not clearly shown, wiring grooves are disclosed more clearly in the species 4a of figure 15 as discussed above. It would have been obvious to include wiring grooves in species 7’, in either or both the base 77 and/or cover 76, as disclosed in species 4a. The reason would have been to accommodate and locate the wires within the housing as was known in the art and as is implicit in the species 4a.
Regarding claim 15, in the Chen species 7’ (figure 14), at least two connecting parts of the base are non-coplanar; each two of the connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided around the central area; and an included angle between the two connecting parts that are non-coplanar is 60°-150°.
Per claim 16, the base comprises two connecting parts;
the connecting part is provided with merely one splicing area; each splicing area is provided with one electrical connector and at least two fixing connectors; and the fixing connector is arranged on a periphery taking the electrical connector as a center (note that the ground terminal is in the center of the connecting part), flanked by the fixing connectors.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 11, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen. Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses in species 4 (figures 3-6): A splicing piece 4 for connecting at least two lighting bars, comprising: a base (the housing portion), the base provided with a central area and comprising at least two connecting parts 40, wherein
the at least two connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided around the central area, and each of the connecting parts comprises at least one splicing area for connecting with a mounting part of the lighting bar;
an electrical connector 421 for electrically connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the electrical connector provided on each splicing area;
a fixing connector 402 for connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the fixing connector provided beside the electrical connector on the splicing area.
Chen does not clearly show the wiring groove in species 4.
Wiring grooves are disclosed clearly in the species 4a of figure 15 as discussed above. It would have been obvious to include wiring grooves in species 4, in either or both the base 411 and/or cover 412, as disclosed in species 4a. The reason would have been to accommodate and locate the wires within the housing as was known in the art and as is implicit in the species 4a.
Per claim 4, each of the connecting parts of the base is coplanar with each other;
each splicing area is provided with one electrical connector and at least two fixing connectors; and
distances between each splicing area and the central area are identical.
Per claim 5, the base comprises two connecting parts;
both connecting parts are provided with merely one splicing area;
the splicing area is provided with one electrical connector and at least two fixing connectors;
a connecting line between one of the electrical connectors and the central area is collinear to a connecting line between the other of the electrical connectors and the central area; and
both of the fixing connectors are positioned on a straight line between the electrical connector and the central area.
Per claim 11, Chen discloses a positioning part 403 (labeled POP above);
a surface of each connecting part distal to the central area is set as an end surface (labeled ENS above); and the positioning part is provided on the end surface of the connecting part positioned in each splicing area.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a lighting apparatus, comprising at least two lighting bars 2 (i.e., a bar/track capable of supplying power to a light producing device mounted on the bar) and
one splicing piece 4 (see discussion above regarding claim 1 for the identification of elements in species 4), the splicing piece comprising:
a base, the base provided with a central area and comprising at least two connecting parts, wherein
the at least two connecting parts are centrosymmetrically provided around the central area, and each of the connecting parts comprises at least one splicing area for connecting with a mounting part of the lighting bar;
an electrical connector for electrically connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the electrical connector provided on each splicing area;
a fixing connector for connecting with the at least two lighting bars, the fixing connector provided beside the electrical connector on the splicing area;
each of the at least two lighting bars comprises at least one mounting part for connecting to the splicing area of the base.
Chen does not clearly show the wiring groove in species 4.
Wiring grooves are disclosed clearly in the species 4a of figure 15 as discussed above. It would have been obvious to include wiring grooves in species 4, in either or both the base 411 and/or cover 412, as disclosed in species 4a. The reason would have been to accommodate and locate the wires within the housing as was known in the art and as is implicit in the species 4a.
Per claim 17, each of the connecting parts of the base is coplanar with each other;
each splicing area is provided with one electrical connector and at least two fixing connectors; and
distances between each splicing area and the central area are identical.
Per claim 18, the base comprises two connecting parts;
both connecting parts are provided with merely one splicing area;
the splicing area is provided with one electrical connector and at least two fixing connectors;
a connecting line between one of the electrical connectors and the central area is collinear to a connecting line between the other of the electrical connectors and the central area; and
both of the fixing connectors are positioned on a straight line between the electrical connector and the central area.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Chen does not disclose a lighting bar. Chen discloses a lighting bar 2, i.e., a bar/track capable of supplying power to a light producing device mounted on the bar. The mounting part of the lighting bar 2 is at its end 211.
Applicant argues that Chen does not disclose wiring grooves. At least Chen species 4a clearly shows wiring grooves, labeled WG below.
Such wiring grooves would have also been obvious in the various other species disclosed in Chen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSS N GUSHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834