1. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-3, 11, 14, 17 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 2, 11 and 17 recites:
analyze the sensor data … based statistical analysis … sensor data ((performed in the human mind observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) considered to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites no additional element to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, there is no the additional element to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3 recites:
I. determining, …pretrain leakage time estimating using statistical analysis (performed in the human mind observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) considered to recite an abstract idea;
II. Schedule a down time …based estimated leakage time (performed in the human mind observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) considered to recite an abstract idea;
III. select a service technician … to visit the hydrogen amenity (Certain methods of organizing human activity) considered to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites no additional element to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, there is no the additional element to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 4, these claims are at least rejected for their dependencies, directly, on the rejected claim 2. They are therefore rejected as set forth above.
Claims 14 and 20 recites:
selecting …a service technician based on the service rate (Certain methods of organizing human activity) considered to recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites no additional element to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, there is no the additional element to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3.1 Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ewan et al. (US 20220307652 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 202303032976) further in view of Jacobson et al. (US 20180094775 A1).
Regarding claims 1, Ewan discloses a system (abstract, A system uses pipelines) comprising:
a hydrogen leakage detection unit ([0088], Fig. 3d, monitoring system 320) communicably coupled with one or more sensor units (Fig. hydrogen sensors 322a and 322b communicated through wireless (or direct) connection 318(c) to said monitoring system 320),
each of the one or more sensor units being installed proximate to a corresponding section of a hydrogen amenity (Fig. 3d, [0025], [0088], the system includes at least one hydrogen sensor located at an exit of the existing pipeline; and hydrogen sensors such as sensor 322(b) may be strategically located along said sweeper line 315),
the hydrogen amenity (Fig. 1a, Green Hydrogen Production) being one of a hydrogen storage facility ([0052], Fig. 1a, storage container 111 or storage tanks 321) and a hydrogen transportation line ([0052], Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, hydrogen transport is with a hydrogen transport trailer 114),
the hydrogen leakage detection unit ([0088], Fig. 3d, monitoring system 320) comprising:
a communication module to receive, from each of the one or more sensor units, sensor data for the corresponding section of the hydrogen (Fig. 3d, [0088], Hydrogen sensor 322(a) is used to establish the baseline levels of hydrogen contained in such purge gas; and this data is preferably conveyed by wireless transmitter 318(b) to receiver 319, and in turn uploaded into active monitoring system 320),
a processing engine ([0028], processor) to process, for each of the one or more sensor units, the corresponding sensor data to ascertain occurrence of a hydrogen leakage event at the corresponding section of the hydrogen amenity ([0025], [0027], [0028], a processor configured to identify a location of a hydrogen leak based on the hydrogen levels detected by the hydrogen sensors),
a damage prevention engine to initiate one or more preventive actions upon ascertaining occurrence of the hydrogen leakage event at a section of the hydrogen amenity ([0021], [0025], [0082], a leak be detected that exceeds a predetermined threshold level deemed acceptable, the flow of hydrogen into the hydrogen delivery line may be shut-off manually or programmed to be shut-off automatically, until the leak has been corrected).
Ewan fails to disclose wherein the sensor data corresponding to a section of the hydrogen amenity includes at least one of a concentration level of hydrogen within the section, a concentration level of metal particles in the hydrogen, a temperature value of the hydrogen, a pressure value of the hydrogen, a humidity value around the section, a deviation level of an electrochemical liquid within a respective sensor unit of the one or more sensor units, and an image of the section of the hydrogen amenity.
Chen discloses wherein the sensor data corresponding to a section of the hydrogen amenity includes at least one of a concentration level of hydrogen within the section, a concentration level of metal particles in the hydrogen, a temperature value of the hydrogen ([0046], a temperature sensor), a pressure value of the hydrogen (0011], identifying a pipeline pressure surge), a humidity value around the section, a deviation level of an electrochemical liquid within a respective sensor unit of the one or more sensor units, and an image of the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0057],[0090], take image inputs from at least one of raw or filtered pipeline measurements to monitor the operation status, [0046], one pipeline sensor may include at least one of a pressure sensor, a sonic (acoustic) sensor, an accelerometer transducer, a temperature sensor, a fluid density sensor, and a flow velocity sensor).
Chen and Ewan are analogous art. They relate to hydrogen leakage detection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify detect pipeline leaks, taught by Chen, incorporated with monitored to detect leaks in the hydrogen delivery line, taught by Ewan, in order to minimize false alarms and improve NPW applications in pipeline leak detection and accurately identify the location or size of the leak once detected.
The combination of Chen and Ewan fail to disclose the hydrogen leakage event including at least one of an existing hydrogen leakage.
Jacobson discloses the hydrogen leakage event including at least one of an existing hydrogen leakage (Fig. 3, Fig. 15 active leak, detect ongoing leak) and a probable hydrogen leakage ([Fig. 3, [0071], the pipeline is detected, such as a possible leak in the pipeline).
Jacobson, Chen and Ewan are analogous art. They relate to hydrogen leakage detection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Leak detection user interfaces, taught by Jacobson, incorporated with the teaching of Chen and Ewan, as state above order to quickly and easily be notified of the possible problem and be able to take action to address the possible problem even if the technician/user is away or far away from the pipeline.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses analyze the sensor data with a pre-trained leakage detection model to ascertain the occurrence of the hydrogen leakage event, wherein the pre-trained leakage detection model is developed based on statistical analysis of historical variations in the sensor data associated to the hydrogen leakage (Abstract, identify a pipeline pressure surge by applying a trained convolutional neural network (CNN) model for classifying pipeline pressure measurement images on each sensor site of a plurality of sensor sites, transfer pressure surge information obtained from at least a portion of the plurality of sensor sites to a cloud site, and determine whether the identified pressure surge is a pipeline leak at the cloud site using the pressure surge information. The plurality of sensor sites collects pipeline pressure measurement data. The pressure surge information corresponds to the identified pipeline pressure surge. The recorded historic pressure surge data inputs can be calculated from an adjacent sensor pair of the plurality of sensor sites).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ewan and Jacobson disclose:
Ewan discloses for the hydrogen leakage event being the existing hydrogen leakage ([0021], a hydrogen leak exceeding a predetermined threshold level), the damage prevention engine ([0021], a leak be detected that exceeds a predetermined threshold level deemed acceptable, the flow of hydrogen into the hydrogen delivery line may be shut-off manually or programmed to be shut-off automatically, until the leak has been corrected is), to:
generate a discontinuation signal to initiate discontinuation of supply of hydrogen to the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0025], [0023], [0025], [0028], shutoff valve configured to selectively isolate and close off sections of the hydrogen delivery line upon being triggered by the alert of the programmable alerting system);
determine a hydrogen leakage amount based on the sensor data ([0021], multiple hydrogen sensors are located at various intervals throughout the system, thus enabling the location of a hydrogen leak exceeding a predetermined threshold level to be more precisely identified);
generate a site visit recommendation ([0027], an alerting means (e.g., processor with a display, or other audio or visual output device) configured to generate an alert when the detected hydrogen level indicates that hydrogen is leaking from the hydrogen delivery line) based on a comparison of the hydrogen leakage amount and a safe hydrogen level threshold ([0021]-[0027], a leak be detected that exceeds a predetermined threshold level deemed acceptable, the flow of hydrogen into the hydrogen delivery line may be shut-off manually or programmed to be shut-off automatically, until the leak has been corrected. The multiple hydrogen sensors are located at various intervals throughout the system, thus enabling the location of a hydrogen leak exceeding a predetermined threshold level to be more precisely identified);
generate an alert notification ([0025], [0027], an alerting means (e.g., processor with a display, or other audio or visual output device) configured to generate an alert when the detected hydrogen level indicates that hydrogen is leaking from the hydrogen delivery line) including:
identification data for at least one of the hydrogen amenities and the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0028], a processor configured to identify a location of a hydrogen leak based on the hydrogen levels detected by the hydrogen sensor); and
at least one of an indication of the existing hydrogen leakage, the hydrogen leakage amount ([0021]-[0027], a leak be detected that exceeds a predetermined threshold level deemed acceptable; and multiple hydrogen sensors are located at various intervals throughout the system, thus enabling the location of a hydrogen leak exceeding a predetermined threshold level to be more precisely identified ), and the site visit recommendation ([0027], an alerting means (e.g., processor with a display, or other audio or visual output device) configured to generate an alert when the detected hydrogen level indicates that hydrogen is leaking from the hydrogen delivery line).
Jacobson discloses select a service technician, from a plurality of service technicians, to visit the hydrogen amenity as per the site visit recommendation, to repair the section of the hydrogen amenity determined to have the existing hydrogen leakage, wherein the service technician is selected based on at least one of a service rating of the corresponding technician and a distance of the corresponding technician from the corresponding section of the hydrogen amenity (Abstract, [0007], [0009], [0010], [0012], [0072], leak detection user interfaces are provided, a user interface for a pipeline management system can be configured to provide information regarding one or more pipelines to a use. The user interface can include results of analysis of the gathered data, such as notifications that the gathered data from the sensor indicates an anomaly with a pipeline or leak detection. The notifications of anomalies can be provided on the user interface in real time with the data analysis. Accordingly, the user can trigger one or more corrective actions such as notifying maintenance personnel local to a location of the identified anomaly and remotely located from the user. The notification can indicate a recommended action for the user to perform, such as a call field technician notification indicating to the user that a field technician (and/or other maintenance personnel) should be contacted to address the anomalous event).
Regarding claim 6, Jacobson discloses transmit the alert notification to a user device of the selected service technician (Abstract, the user can trigger one or more corrective actions such as notifying maintenance personnel local to a location of the identified anomaly); and
transmit the discontinuation signal to a control unit configured to control supply of hydrogen to the hydrogen amenity ([0010], [0012], [0071]-[0073], the user can trigger one or more corrective actions, remotely controlling the pipeline with the anomaly to close valve(s) and/or other equipment to prevent fluid flow in the pipeline in the area of the detected anomaly, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the sensor data includes at least one of a concentration level of hydrogen within the section of the hydrogen amenity, a concentration level of metal particles in the hydrogen, a temperature value of the hydrogen ([0046], a temperature sensor), a pressure value of the hydrogen (0011], identifying a pipeline pressure surge), a humidity value around the section, a deviation level of an electrochemical liquid within the sensor unit, and an image of the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0057],[0090], take image inputs from at least one of raw or filtered pipeline measurements to monitor the operation status) ([0046], one pipeline sensor may include at least one of a pressure sensor, a sonic (acoustic) sensor, an accelerometer transducer, a temperature sensor, a fluid density sensor, and a flow velocity sensor).
Regarding claims 9, Ewan discloses the processing engine is to determine the corresponding section of the hydrogen amenity for installing each sensor unit of the one or more sensor units based on at least one of an aperture of the sensor unit ([0019],[0021], [0036], [0048], hydrogen delivery line is made of a material such as (but not necessarily limited to) ASME codified FRP pipe to carry pressurized hydrogen, which is in turn contained inside a larger diameter pipe that provides a means of collecting any hydrogen that leaks from the hydrogen delivery line).
Regarding claim 10, Ewan discloses receiving, by a hydrogen leakage detection unit ([0088], Fig. 3d, monitoring system 320), sensor data associated with a section of a hydrogen amenity ([0025], [0027], [0088], Hydrogen sensor 322(a) is used to establish the baseline levels of hydrogen contained in such purge gas; and this data is preferably conveyed by wireless transmitter 318(b) to receiver 319, and in turn uploaded into active monitoring system 320), from a sensor unit (hydrogen sensors such as sensor 322) installed proximate to the section of the hydrogen amenity (Fig. 3d, [0025], [0088], the system includes at least one hydrogen sensor located at an exit of the existing pipeline; and hydrogen sensors such as sensor 322(b) may be strategically located along said sweeper line 315),
the hydrogen amenity (Fig. 1a, Green Hydrogen Production) being one of a hydrogen storage facility ([0052], Fig. 1a, storage container 111 or storage tanks 321) and a hydrogen transportation line ([0052], Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, hydrogen transport is with a hydrogen transport trailer 114),
processing, by the hydrogen leakage detection unit, the sensor data to determine a probable occurrence of hydrogen leakage at the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0025], [0027], [0028], a processor configured to identify a location of a hydrogen leak based on the hydrogen levels detected by the hydrogen sensors);
determining, by the hydrogen leakage detection unit, an estimated leakage time for the probable occurrence of hydrogen leakage, based on the sensor data ([0088], sweeper line is continuously tested for hydrogen levels, and the collected data therefrom monitored to detect leaks in the hydrogen delivery line); and
a control unit to take a preventive action for preventing the hydrogen leakage within the hydrogen amenity ([0021], [0025], [0028], a leak be detected that exceeds a predetermined threshold level deemed acceptable, the flow of hydrogen into the hydrogen delivery line may be shut-off manually or programmed to be shut-off automatically, until the leak has been corrected).
Ewan fails to disclose wherein the sensor data includes at least one of a concentration level of hydrogen within the section of the hydrogen amenity, a concentration level of metal particles in the hydrogen, a temperature value of the hydrogen, a pressure value of the hydrogen, a humidity value around the section, a deviation level of an electrochemical liquid within the sensor unit, and an image of the section of the hydrogen amenity; and transmitting, by the hydrogen leakage detection unit, an alert notification to at least one of a user device; the alert notification including: identification data for at least one of the hydrogen amenities and the section of the hydrogen amenity, and at least one of an indication of the probable occurrence of hydrogen leakage and the estimated leakage time.
Chen discloses wherein the sensor data includes at least one of a concentration level of hydrogen within the section of the hydrogen amenity, a concentration level of metal particles in the hydrogen, a temperature value of the hydrogen ([0046], a temperature sensor), a pressure value of the hydrogen (0011], identifying a pipeline pressure surge), a humidity value around the section, a deviation level of an electrochemical liquid within the sensor unit, and an image of the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0057],[0090], take image inputs from at least one of raw or filtered pipeline measurements to monitor the operation status) ([0046], one pipeline sensor may include at least one of a pressure sensor, a sonic (acoustic) sensor, an accelerometer transducer, a temperature sensor, a fluid density sensor, and a flow velocity sensor).
Chen and Ewan are analogous art. They relate to hydrogen leakage detection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify detect pipeline leaks, taught by Chen, incorporated with monitored to detect leaks in the hydrogen delivery line, taught by Ewan, in order to minimize false alarms and improve NPW applications in pipeline leak detection and accurately identify the location or size of the leak once detected.
The combination of Chen and Ewan fail to disclose transmitting, by the hydrogen leakage detection unit, an alert notification to at least one of a user device; the alert notification including: identification data for at least one of the hydrogen amenities and the section of the hydrogen amenity; and at least one of an indication of the probable occurrence of hydrogen leakage and the estimated leakage time.
Jacobson discloses transmitting, by the hydrogen leakage detection unit, an alert notification to at least one of a user device ([0069], [0072], [0074], [0076], monitoring and reporting leaks in a pipeline, and in particular to leak detection user interfaces. a user interface for a pipeline management system can be configured to provide information regarding one or more pipelines to a user. The notification can indicate a recommended action for the user to perform);
the alert notification ([0074], an alarm signal associated with an anomalous event to the user) including:
identification data for at least one of the hydrogen amenities and the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0075], [0083], Fig. 12, the information bar can display information of pipelines under observation (e.g., owner company of the pipeline, identification number, etc. information including pipeline identification, station series, beginning and end of stationing associated with the event, etc.), and
at least one of an indication of the probable occurrence of hydrogen leakage and the estimated leakage time (Fig. 15, Fig. 19, Fig. 25, [0072], [0076], The anomalous event at a pipeline can be determined to have occurred in any of a variety of ways, such as analysis of data sensed by sensors positioned along the pipeline, status: active, start time and end time or duration, distance, location, certainty, etc.).
Jacobson, Chen and Ewan are analogous art. They relate to hydrogen leakage detection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify leak detection user interfaces, taught by Jacobson, incorporated with the teaching of Chen and Ewan, as state above order to quickly and easily be notified of the possible problem and be able to take action to address the possible problem even if the technician/user is away or far away from the pipeline.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses analyzing, by the hydrogen leakage detection unit, the sensor data with a pre- trained leakage detection model to determine the probable occurrence of hydrogen leakage, wherein the pre-trained leakage detection model is developed based on statistical analysis of historical variations in the sensor data associated to the probable occurrence of hydrogen leakage (Abstract, , [0010],[0014], [0020], identify a pipeline pressure surge by applying a trained convolutional neural network (CNN) model for classifying pipeline pressure measurement images on each sensor site of a plurality of sensor sites, transfer pressure surge information obtained from at least a portion of the plurality of sensor sites to a cloud site, and determine whether the identified pressure surge is a pipeline leak at the cloud site using the pressure surge information. The plurality of sensor sites collects pipeline pressure measurement data. The pressure surge information corresponds to the identified pipeline pressure surge. the recorded historic pressure surge data inputs can be calculated from an adjacent sensor pair of the plurality of sensor sites).
Regarding claim 14, Jacobson discloses selecting, by the hydrogen leakage detection unit, a service technician, from a plurality of service technicians, based on at least one of a service rating of the corresponding service technician and a distance of the corresponding service technician from the section of the hydrogen amenity, wherein the alert notification is transmitted to the user device associated to the selected service technician ([0009], [0010], [0012], [0072], leak detection user interfaces are provided, a user interface for a pipeline management system can be configured to provide information regarding one or more pipelines to a use. The user interface can include results of analysis of the gathered data, such as notifications that the gathered data from the sensor indicates an anomaly with a pipeline or leak detection. The notifications of anomalies can be provided on the user interface in real time with the data analysis. Accordingly, the user can trigger one or more corrective actions such as notifying maintenance personnel local to a location of the identified anomaly and remotely located from the user. The notification can indicate a recommended action for the user to perform, such as a call field technician notification indicating to the user that a field technician (and/or other maintenance personnel) should be contacted to address the anomalous event).
Regarding claim 15, Ewan discloses determining the section of the hydrogen amenity for installing the sensor unit based on at least one of an aperture of the sensor unit, a material of the hydrogen amenity, and a material of the sensor unit ([0019],[0021], [0036], [0048], hydrogen delivery line is made of a material such as (but not necessarily limited to) ASME codified FRP pipe to carry pressurized hydrogen, which is in turn contained inside a larger diameter pipe that provides a means of collecting any hydrogen that leaks from the hydrogen delivery line).
3.2 Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al. (US 20180094775 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 202303032976) further in view of Ewan et al. (US 20220307652 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Jacobson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for detecting hydrogen leakage in a hydrogen amenity, the instructions being executable by a processing ([0008], [0012], The processor can further be configured to execute the instructions in the memory) resource to:
receive sensor data associated with a section of a hydrogen amenity ([0072], a user interface for a pipeline management system can be configured to provide information regarding one or more pipelines to a user. The information can include data gathered using one or more sensors sensing various parameters, e.g., sensors placed along the pipeline and conveying sensed information to personnel monitoring the pipelines. The information on the user interface can include results of analysis of the gathered data, such as notifications that the gathered data indicates an anomaly with a pipeline), from a sensor unit installed proximate to the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0072], [0076], sensors placed along the pipeline. The anomalous event at a pipeline can be determined to have occurred in any of a variety of ways, such as analysis of data sensed by sensor(s) positioned along the pipeline, e.g., fiber optic sensing technology operatively coupled to the pipeline along the length of the pipeline),
process the sensor data to determine an occurrence of hydrogen leakage at the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0008]-[0010], the processor process the information that include one or more of a leak in the pipeline, identity of equipment along the pipeline adjacent to a location of the anomaly, and sensed parameter data for a period of time prior to a time of the anomaly's occurrence. The sensed parameter data can include at least one of acoustic data, temperature data, frequency data, strain data, and fluid flow rate data);
determine a hydrogen leakage amount based on the sensor data (Fig. 25, [0011], [0088], one or more sensors, analyzing the data with the processor to determine whether an anomaly, one or more of a leak in the pipeline, is present at the pipeline, and display “Alarm Certainty” information (e.g., threshold (amount of leak);
transmit an alert notification to at least one of a user device ([0069], [0072], [0074], [0076], monitoring and reporting leaks in a pipeline, and in particular to leak detection user interfaces. The notification can indicate a recommended action for the user to perform);
a control unit to take one or more preventive measures for preventing the hydrogen leakage within the hydrogen amenity (Abstract, [0076], [0092], controlling the pipeline with the anomaly to close valve(s) and/or other equipment to prevent fluid flow in the pipeline in the area of the detected anomaly. A recommended action for the user to perform, such as a call field technician notification indicating to the user that a field technician (and/or other maintenance personnel) should be contacted to address the anomalous even); and
the alert notification ([0074], an alarm signal associated with an anomalous event to the user) including:
identification data for at least one of the hydrogen amenities and the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0075],[0083], the information bar can display information of pipelines under observation (e.g., owner company of the pipeline, identification number, etc. information including pipeline identification, station series, beginning and end of stationing associated with the event);
at least one of an indication of the occurrence of hydrogen leakage, the hydrogen leakage amount (Fig.2-4, Fig. 25, [0007], [0011], [0088], monitoring and reporting leaks in a pipeline, and in particular to leak detection user interfaces one or more sensors, analyzing the data with the processor to determine whether an anomaly, one or more of a leak in the pipeline, is present at the pipeline, and display “Alarm Certainty” information (e.g., threshold (amount of leak), and
a site visit recommendation, generated based on the hydrogen leakage amount, for a user of the user device (Abstract, [0007], [0072]-[0076], Fig. 25, Leak detection user interfaces are provided. In general, a user interface for a pipeline management system can be configured to provide information regarding one or more pipelines to a user. A recommended action for the user to perform, such as a call field technician notification indicating to the user that a field technician (and/or other maintenance personnel) should be contacted to address the anomalous even).
Jacobson fails to discloses the hydrogen amenity being one of a hydrogen storage and a hydrogen transportation line, and wherein the sensor data includes at least one of a concentration level of hydrogen within the section of the hydrogen amenity, a concentration level of metal particles in the hydrogen, a temperature value of the hydrogen, a pressure value of the hydrogen, a humidity value around the section, a deviation level of an electrochemical liquid within the sensor unit, and an image of the section of the hydrogen amenity.
Chen discloses wherein the sensor data includes at least one of a concentration level of hydrogen within the section of the hydrogen amenity, a concentration level of metal particles in the hydrogen, a temperature value of the hydrogen ([0046], a temperature sensor), a pressure value of the hydrogen ([0011], identifying a pipeline pressure surge), a humidity value around the section, a deviation level of an electrochemical liquid within the sensor unit, and an image of the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0057],[0090], take image inputs from at least one of raw or filtered pipeline measurements to monitor the operation status; [0046], one pipeline sensor may include at least one of a pressure sensor, a sonic (acoustic) sensor, an accelerometer transducer, a temperature sensor, a fluid density sensor, and a flow velocity sensor).
Chen and Jacobson are analogous art. They relate to hydrogen leakage detection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify detect pipeline leaks, taught by Chen, incorporated with, leak detection user interfaces, taught by Chen, in order easily and quickly present the information to personnel in a format that allows for quick evaluation and action and prevent the environmental damage.
The combination of Chen and Jacobson fail to disclose the hydrogen amenity being one of a hydrogen storage and a hydrogen transportation line.
Ewan discloses the hydrogen amenity (Fig. 1a, Green Hydrogen Production) being one of a hydrogen storage facility ([0052], Fig. 1a, storage container 111 or storage tanks 321) and a hydrogen transportation line ([0052], Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, hydrogen transport is with a hydrogen transport trailer 114),
Jacobson, Chen and Ewan are analogous art. They relate to hydrogen leakage detection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify monitored to detect leaks in the hydrogen delivery line, taught by Ewan, incorporated with the teaching of Chen and Jacobson, as state above, in order to allow hydrogen to be withdrawn from the hydrogen delivery line and a hydrogen distribution system for transporting hydrogen from a hydrogen supply source to at least one end-user location.
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the instructions are executable by the processing resource to: analyze the sensor data with a pre-trained leakage detection model to determine the occurrence of hydrogen leakage, wherein the pre-trained leakage detection model is developed based on statistical analysis of historical variations in the sensor data associated to the occurrence of hydrogen leakage (Abstract, [0010],[0014], [0020], identify a pipeline pressure surge by applying a trained convolutional neural network (CNN) model for classifying pipeline pressure measurement images on each sensor site of a plurality of sensor sites, transfer pressure surge information obtained from at least a portion of the plurality of sensor sites to a cloud site, and determine whether the identified pressure surge is a pipeline leak at the cloud site using the pressure surge information. The plurality of sensor sites collects pipeline pressure measurement data. The pressure surge information corresponds to the identified pipeline pressure surge. The recorded historic pressure surge data inputs can be calculated from an adjacent sensor pair of the plurality of sensor sites).
Regarding claim 18, Ewan discloses generate a discontinuation signal to initiate discontinuation of supply of hydrogen to the section of the hydrogen amenity ([0025], [0028], shutoff valve configured to selectively isolate and close off sections of the hydrogen delivery line upon being triggered by the alert of the programmable alerting system); and
transmit the discontinuation signal to the control unit configured to control supply of hydrogen to the hydrogen amenity ([0021], [0023], [0025], [0028], multiple hydrogen sensors are located at various intervals throughout the system, thus enabling the location of a hydrogen leak exceeding a predetermined threshold level to be more precisely identified. A leak be detected that exceeds a predetermined threshold level deemed acceptable, the flow of hydrogen into the hydrogen delivery line may be shut-off manually or programmed to be shut-off automatically, until the leak has been corrected).
Regarding claim 19, Ewan discloses generate the site visit recommendation ([0027], an alerting means (e.g., processor with a display, or other audio or visual output device) based on a comparison of the hydrogen leakage amount and a safe hydrogen level threshold ([0021]-[0027], a leak be detected that exceeds a predetermined threshold level deemed acceptable, the flow of hydrogen into the hydrogen delivery line may be shut-off manually or programmed to be shut-off automatically, until the leak has been corrected. The multiple hydrogen sensors are located at various intervals throughout the system, thus enabling the location of a hydrogen leak exceeding a predetermined threshold level to be more precisely identified).
Regarding claim 20, Jacobson discloses select a service technician, from a plurality of service technicians, based on at least one of a service rating of the corresponding service technician and a distance of the corresponding service technician from the section of the hydrogen amenity, wherein the alert notification is transmitted to the user device associated to the selected service technician ([0009], [0010], [0012], [0072], leak detection user interfaces are provided, a user interface for a pipeline management system can be configured to provide information regarding one or more pipelines to a use. The user interface can include results of analysis of the gathered data, such as notifications that the gathered data from the sensor indicates an anomaly with a pipeline or leak detection. The notifications of anomalies can be provided on the user interface in real time with the data analysis. Accordingly, the user can trigger one or more corrective actions such as notifying maintenance personnel local to a location of the identified anomaly and remotely located from the user. The notification can indicate a recommended action for the user to perform, such as a call field technician notification indicating to the user that a field technician (and/or other maintenance personnel) should be contacted to address the anomalous event).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3-4, 7 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4.1 Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As claim 4 is directly or indirectly dependent on claim 3, thus claim 4 is also allowable at least by virtue of their dependency.
4.2 Claims 7 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation Pertinent prior art
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morinaga et al. (US 20210344025 A1) discloses a hydrogen leakage detection system for detecting a hydrogen leakage in a fuel cell system includes: an outer shell configured to accommodate a hydrogen flow section and a hydrogen sensor.
Turner et al. (US 20210047971 A1) discloses detection of leakage of hydrogen in a vehicle which is at least partly hydrogen fueled.
Patel et al. (US 20120318048 A1) discloses the leak detection device using hydrogen as a tracer gas is intended to be connected to an object to be tested.
Shi (US 20230313953 A1) discloses methods, devices, and systems for monitoring hydrogen leakage using a composite pipeline for transporting hydrogen are provided.
SINDING (US 20220373134 A1) discloses control the hydrogen refueling station and arranged to detect a leakage using the beforementioned method.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1 009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KIDEST WORKU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119