DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 13-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gupta (12,069,794).
Regarding Claim 1: Gupta teaches a system for blocking access to high temperature components, the system comprising: a computer component (140); and a shape memory alloy (SMA) interlock (180) thermally coupled to the computer component (fig. 1), wherein the SMA interlock is configured to autonomously deform (col. 3 lines 24-31 and col. 1 line 52 col. 2 line 18) to prevent access to the computer component when a temperature of the computer component exceeds a threshold temperature (col. 3 lines 24-31 and col. 1 line 52 – col 2 line 18).
Regarding Claim 2: Gupta teaches a cover (160) positioned over the computer component (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3: Gupta teaches the SMA interlock is configured to, when the temperature of the computer component exceeds the threshold temperature, lock the cover in place (col. 3 lines 24-31).
Regarding Claim 4: Gupta teaches the SMA interlock is configured to, when the temperature of the computer component falls below the threshold temperature, disengage from the cover (col. 5 lines 36-52).
Regarding Claim 5: Gupta teaches the SMA interlock is configured to allow access to the computer component when the temperature of the computer component falls below the threshold temperature (col. 5 lines 36-52).
Regarding Claim 9: Gupta teaches further comprising a thermal interface material (TIM) (150) positioned between the computer component and the SMA interlock (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10: Gupta teaches the computer component comprises a heatsink (fins of 160).
Regarding Claim 11: Gupta teaches the computer component comprises a server (col. 12 lines 49-56).
Regarding Claim 13: Gupta teaches the threshold temperature is based on the computer component (col. 5 lines 36-52).
Regarding Claim 14: Gupta teaches an apparatus for blocking access to high temperature components, the apparatus comprising: a cover (160) configured to block access to a computer component (fig. 1); and an engaging component (170) comprising a shape memory alloy (SMA) material (180), wherein the engaging component is configured to autonomously deform (col. 3 lines 24-31 and col. 1 line 52 col. 2 line 18) to couple to the cover (fig. 1) based on a temperature of the engaging component exceeding a threshold temperature (col. 5 lines 36-52).
Regarding Claim 15: Gupta teaches wherein coupling, by the engaging component, to the cover includes locking the cover in place (fig. 1 through 170 and 180), thereby preventing access to the computer component (fig. 1 and col. 5 lines 36-52).
Regarding Claim 16: Gupta teaches wherein the engaging component is configured to uncouple from the cover based on the temperature of the engaging component falling below the threshold temperature (col. 5 lines 36-52).
Regarding Claim 20: Gupta teaches the threshold temperature is based on the computer component (fig. 1 and col. 5 lines 36-52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (12,069,794) in further view of Gupta (11,589,481).
Regarding Claim 6: Gupta (‘794) lacks a specific teaching wherein the SMA interlock comprises a copper aluminum nickel alloy.
Gupta (‘481) teaches wherein the SMA interlock comprises a copper aluminum nickel alloy (col. 10 lines 41-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gupta (‘794) by having teaches wherein the SMA interlock comprises a copper aluminum nickel alloy as disclosed by Gupta (‘481) in order to allow for a more reliable source of materials for the component to engage and work in the way required to help increase the heat dissipating qualities of the overall apparatus which in turn decreases the chance of the apparatus overheating which in turn could damage components to require repair or replacement to the internal components of the overall apparatus.
Regarding Claim 7: Gupta (‘794) lacks a specific teaching of wherein the SMA interlock comprises a nickel titanium alloy.
Gupta (‘481) teaches wherein the SMA interlock comprises a nickel titanium alloy (col. 10 lines 41-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gupta (‘794) by having the SMA interlock comprises a nickel titanium alloy as disclosed by Gupta (‘481) in order to allow for a more reliable source of materials for the component to engage and work in the way required to help increase the heat dissipating qualities of the overall apparatus which in turn decreases the chance of the apparatus overheating which in turn could damage components to require repair or replacement to the internal components of the overall apparatus.
Regarding Claim 8: Gupta (‘794) teaches the SMA interlock comprises a component (180) configured to expand (col. 5 lines 20-52) when the temperature of the computer component exceeds the threshold temperature (col. 5 lines 20-52), but lacks a specific teaching of the component being a pin.
Gupta (‘481) teaches the SMA interlock comprises a pin (172 in fig. 5 is considered to be in a pin type shape).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gupta (‘794) by having the SMA interlock comprising a pin as disclosed by Gupta (‘481) in order to allow for a better connection between the cover, heat sink, and computer component in order to decrease the chances of thermal disconnection between the components which would decrease the heat dissipation qualities of the overall apparatus which could cause the apparatus to overheat which in turn could damage components to require repair or replacement to the internal components of the overall apparatus.
Regarding Claim 17: Gupta teaches wherein the engaging component comprises a component (180) configured to expand (col. 5 lines 20-52) when the temperature of the engaging component exceeds the threshold temperature (col. 5 lines 20-52) but lacks a specific teaching of the component being a pin.
Gupta (‘481) teaches the engaging component comprises a pin (172 in fig. 5 is considered to be in a pin type shape).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gupta (‘794) by having the engaging component comprising a pin as disclosed by Gupta (‘481) in order to allow for a better connection between the cover, heat sink, and computer component in order to decrease the chances of thermal disconnection between the components which would decrease the heat dissipation qualities of the overall apparatus which could cause the apparatus to overheat which in turn could damage components to require repair or replacement to the internal components of the overall apparatus.
Regarding Claim 18: Gupta (‘794) lacks a specific teaching wherein the SMA interlock comprises a copper aluminum nickel alloy.
Gupta (‘481) teaches wherein the SMA interlock comprises a copper aluminum nickel alloy (col. 10 lines 41-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gupta (‘794) by having teaches wherein the SMA interlock comprises a copper aluminum nickel alloy as disclosed by Gupta (‘481) in order to allow for a more reliable source of materials for the component to engage and work in the way required to help increase the heat dissipating qualities of the overall apparatus which in turn decreases the chance of the apparatus overheating which in turn could damage components to require repair or replacement to the internal components of the overall apparatus.
Regarding Claim 19: Gupta (‘794) lacks a specific teaching of wherein the SMA interlock comprises a nickel titanium alloy.
Gupta (‘481) teaches wherein the SMA interlock comprises a nickel titanium alloy (col. 10 lines 41-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gupta (‘794) by having the SMA interlock comprises a nickel titanium alloy as disclosed by Gupta (‘481) in order to allow for a more reliable source of materials for the component to engage and work in the way required to help increase the heat dissipating qualities of the overall apparatus which in turn decreases the chance of the apparatus overheating which in turn could damage components to require repair or replacement to the internal components of the overall apparatus.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (12,069,794).
Regarding Claim 12: Gupta lacks a specific teaching of a second computer component and a second SMA interlock thermally coupled to the second computer component, wherein the second SMA interlock is configured to prevent access to the second computer component when a temperature of the second computer component exceeds a second threshold temperature different from the threshold temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Gupta by having a second computer component and a second SMA interlock thermally coupled to the second computer component, wherein the second SMA interlock is configured to prevent access to the second computer component when a temperature of the second computer component exceeds a second threshold temperature different from the threshold temperature in order to allow for an expansion of the heat dissipation qualities of the computer system which would prevent further damage to the overall system which in turn would decrease the need for repair or replacement of components to the system. This can be accomplished merely by duplication the already disclosed elements of the claim wherein it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co.. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to claims 1 and 14 the applicant merely argues that the SMA washers of Gupta are not coupled to the BGA device and does not autonomously deform when a temperature of the BGA device 130 exceed a threshold temperature while the examiner respectfully disagrees. In regards to the argument of the washers not being coupled to the BGA device, as per fig. 1 it can clearly be seen that the washers 180 are a part of the overall heat dissipation device which is coupled to the BGA device through the multiple components of the system. In regards to the washers not autonomously deforming when a temperature of the BGA device 130 exceed a threshold temperature it is clearly taught by Gupta and shown in the rejections above that when the temperature is too high the SMA washers will deform to a different shape. It is noted by the examiner the terminology used is autonomously wherein the accepted definition being used to interpret this language would be “denoting or performed by a device capable of operating without direct human control”. In regards to claims 1-5, 9-11, 13-16, and 20 the applicant merely states Gupta does not teach these limitation and the examiner respectfully disagrees. In regards to claims 6-8 and 17-19 the applicant argues the prior art of Gupta (‘481) does not teach the SMA element being thermally coupled to the computer component as well as the other limitations of claim 1 and 14. This argument is considered moot as the prior art of Gupta (‘481) was not used to reject any of these limitation and was used as support for specific types of materials that can be used for shape memory alloys. Therefore from the rejections above and the response to these arguments the claims are considered as finally rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited in the Notice of References Cited PTO-892 but not relied upon above are considered related as they include teachings of shape memory alloys in the use of electronic devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841