DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of EP22212845.6 filed 12/12/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/1/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Regarding independent claim 1, the applicant argues that Zhou does not disclose aligning a beam axis. the applicant argues that Zhou does not disclose "switching the UWB radar device into a radar mode, wherein a beam axis of a beam of the UWB radar device in the radar mode is adjusted to align to the at least one UWB target device based on the localization information," as recited in amended independent claim 1.”
Zhu et al. (‘507) describes that the first initial location of the first device may be predefined, input by the user, or sent by the second device to the first device after the second device localizes the first device (paragraph 7); the user actively triggers redeployment of a radar device…the first device may further detect a radar device in the target area in real time, to automatically trigger redeployment of a radar device (paragraph 24); if an ultra-wideband device is added in the target area, an ultra-wideband device is removed from the target area, the location of the first device is changed, or the location of the second device is changed, radar coverage of an ultra-wideband device in the target area is determined based on a location and a field of view of the ultra-wideband device in the target area…the first device detects, based on the radar coverage of the ultra-wideband device in the target area, whether there is a need to adjust the location of the ultra-wideband device in the target area (paragraph 26); after sending the listening indication to the second device, the first device may continue to sense the object, and send a wake-up indication to the second device when the object moves to the second radar coverage…the wake-up indication indicates the second device to enter the working state from the listening state, to continue to sense the object (paragraph 32). Therefore, Zhu et al. (‘507) discloses “based on the determined localization information: switching the UWB radar device into a radar mode.”
Bruemmer et al. (‘694) describes the Adaptive Positioning Engine 125 is further associated with a Georeferenced Map 140 and thereafter a Map Based Feature Extraction Module 150. Beyond UWB Radars 101, LiDAR systems 112 and optical sensors 114, the object also likely includes Global Position Satellite (“GPS”) 132 capability, Inertial Navigation Systems (“INS”) 134, Dead Reckoning 136, UWB Radio localization 133 and the like. GPS, INS, Dead Reckoning and other passive positional techniques are each capable of establishing the geospatial position of an object within a certain degree of certainly as is UWB radio localization (paragraph 48); Based Feature Extraction Module 150 can extract features within a predetermined distance of the objects estimated location…an operable GPS, INS or UWB Radio localization system may be able to pinpoint the objects location within a few meters…for autonomous operations the objects’ location must be determined very precisely…this degree of accuracy is achieved by correlating features extracted from the georeferenced map with real time features identified through the UWB Radar (paragraph 52); a Feature Correlation Module 160 is interposed and communicatively coupled to the Map Based Feature Extraction Module 150 and the Real Time Feature Extraction Module 120…at an instance in time, the UWB Radar Processing Engine 110, the LiDAR Engine 115 and the Optics Engine 118 capture characteristic real-time features that present a fingerprint of the environment surrounding the object's location. ..the Feature Correlation Module 160 matches the fingerprint of real time features with map based features extracted from the Georeferenced Map 140…when the overlays match, the precise location of the object as well as its pose can be determined using a vector-matching algorithm…a vector-matching algorithm, point-cloud-library-(PCL)-matching, or other curve-matching algorithm(s) correlates the edge feature data extracted from the map image area with the edge tracking data from UWB Radar images…the results of such a vector-matching algorithm can identify any necessary orientation correction to transform the current GPS/INS-derived position (x, y, theta) to the actual relative position of the vehicle relative to the radar-detected features (i.e. the curb)…the inverse of this correction transform can be used to correlate the true position of the car to its position on an ortho-rectified map or other map, using the newly-menstruated coordinates (paragraph 53). Therefore, Bruemmer et al. (‘694) teaches “a beam axis of a beam of the UWB radar device in the radar mode is adjusted to align to the at least one UWB target device based on the localization information.”
Therefore, Zhu et al. (‘507 A1)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) in combination discloses “switching the UWB radar device into a radar mode, wherein a beam axis of a beam of the UWB radar device in the radar mode is adjusted to align to the at least one UWB target device based on the localization information”, per amended claim 1.
Response 1: The examiner disagrees. Claim amendment has changed the scope of invention. Claim 1 is now rejected with Zhu et al. (US 2025/0216507 A1), in view of Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1).
Argument 2: Regarding independent claim 11, the applicant argues that Zhou does not disclose "an initialization element, functionally connected to the localization element, for switching the UWB radar device into a radar mode and, based on the determined localization information, aligning an axis of a beam of the UWB radar device to the at least one UWB target device," as recited in amended independent claim 11.
Response 2: The examiner disagrees. Claim amendment has changed the scope of invention. Claim 11 is now rejected with Zhu et al. (US 2025/0216507 A1), in view of Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1). Similar response to applies for amended claim 11, as shown above for claim 1.
Amendment to claims 1-14 and 16-21 has been acknowledged.
Amendment to claims 1 and 11 overcomes corresponding claim objections.
Amendment to claims 2-10, 12-14 and 16-20 overcomes corresponding 112 (b) rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1-5, 11-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2025/0216507 A1), in view of Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu et al. (‘507) discloses “ a method of operating an ultra-wideband (UWB) radar device (paragraph 6: both the first device and a second device are ultra-wideband devices, and both the first device and the second device are located in a target area; paragraph 73: radar devices include a millimeter wave radar, an ultra-wideband (UWB) radar, and the like…the UWB radar may include but is not limited to an impulse radio ultra-wideband (IR-UWB) radar, an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) radar, and a stepped frequency radar…a type of the UWB radar is not limited in embodiments of this application), the method comprising:
determining localization information of at least one UWB target device relative to the UWB radar device (paragraph 13: the first device may obtain the first initial location of the to-be-deployed first device and the location information of the to-be-deployed second device through localization; paragraph 17: the first device localizes the second device, and obtained location information of the second device is location information relative to the first device, for example, a distance and an angle of the second device relative to the first device…after the first initial location is determined, the first device may determine a second initial location of the second device based on the location information of the second device obtained by the first device through localization) and,
based on the determined localization information switching the UWB radar device into a radar mode (paragraph 7: the first initial location of the first device may be predefined, input by the user, or sent by the second device to the first device after the second device localizes the first device; paragraph 24: the user actively triggers redeployment of a radar device…the first device may further detect a radar device in the target area in real time, to automatically trigger redeployment of a radar device; paragraph 26: If an ultra-wideband device is added in the target area, an ultra-wideband device is removed from the target area, the location of the first device is changed, or the location of the second device is changed, radar coverage of an ultra-wideband device in the target area is determined based on a location and a field of view of the ultra-wideband device in the target area…the first device detects, based on the radar coverage of the ultra-wideband device in the target area, whether there is a need to adjust the location of the ultra-wideband device in the target area; paragraph 32: after sending the listening indication to the second device, the first device may continue to sense the object, and send a wake-up indication to the second device when the object moves to the second radar coverage…the wake-up indication indicates the second device to enter the working state from the listening state, to continue to sense the object).”
Zhu et al. (‘507) does not explicitly disclose “a beam axis of a beam of the UWB radar device in the radar mode is adjusted to align to the at least one UWB target device based on the localization information.”
Bruemmer et al. (‘694) relates to localization or positioning of objects. Bruemmer et al. (‘694) teaches “a beam axis of a beam of the UWB radar device in the radar mode is adjusted to align to the at least one UWB target device based on the localization information (paragraph 48: the Adaptive Positioning Engine 125 is further associated with a Georeferenced Map 140 and thereafter a Map Based Feature Extraction Module 150. Beyond UWB Radars 101, LiDAR systems 112 and optical sensors 114, the object also likely includes Global Position Satellite (“GPS”) 132 capability, Inertial Navigation Systems (“INS”) 134, Dead Reckoning 136, UWB Radio localization 133 and the like. GPS, INS, Dead Reckoning and other passive positional techniques are each capable of establishing the geospatial position of an object within a certain degree of certainly as is UWB radio localization; paragraph 52: Based Feature Extraction Module 150 can extract features within a predetermined distance of the objects estimated location…an operable GPS, INS or UWB Radio localization system may be able to pinpoint the objects location within a few meters. However, for autonomous operations the objects’ location must be determined very precisely…this degree of accuracy is achieved by correlating features extracted from the georeferenced map with real time features identified through the UWB Radar; paragraph 53: a Feature Correlation Module 160 is interposed and communicatively coupled to the Map Based Feature Extraction Module 150 and the Real Time Feature Extraction Module 120…at an instance in time, the UWB Radar Processing Engine 110, the LiDAR Engine 115 and the Optics Engine 118 capture characteristic real-time features that present a fingerprint of the environment surrounding the object's location. ..the Feature Correlation Module 160 matches the fingerprint of real time features with map based features extracted from the Georeferenced Map 140…when the overlays match, the precise location of the object as well as its pose can be determined using a vector-matching algorithm…a vector-matching algorithm, point-cloud-library-(PCL)-matching, or other curve-matching algorithm(s) correlates the edge feature data extracted from the map image area with the edge tracking data from UWB Radar images…the results of such a vector-matching algorithm can identify any necessary orientation correction to transform the current GPS/INS-derived position (x, y, theta) to the actual relative position of the vehicle relative to the radar-detected features (i.e. the curb)…the inverse of this correction transform can be used to correlate the true position of the car to its position on an ortho-rectified map or other map, using the newly-menstruated coordinates).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507) with the teaching of Bruemmer et al. (‘694) for improved radar detection (Bruemmer et al. (‘694) – paragraph 8). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507) and Bruemmer et al. (‘694)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using ultra-wide band radar system.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 1. Zhu et al. (‘507) further anticipates “an angle and a distance between the UWB radar device and the at least one UWB target device is obtained in a ranging mode of the UWB radar device (paragraph 113: when localizing the second device, the first device may obtain the location information of the second device…based on a UWB localization principle, when localizing the second device, the first device may obtain a distance between the first device and the second device and an angle of the second device relative to the first device; paragraph 17: the first device localizes the second device, and obtained location information of the second device is location information relative to the first device, for example, a distance and an angle of the second device relative to the first device…after the first initial location is determined, the first device may determine a second initial location of the second device based on the location information of the second device obtained by the first device through localization).”
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 2, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 1. Zhu et al. (‘507) further discloses “several UWB radar devices are performing ranging with the at least one UWB target device. (paragraph 113: When localizing the second device, the first device may obtain the location information of the second device…based on a UWB localization principle, when localizing the second device, the first device may obtain a distance between the first device and the second device and an angle of the second device relative to the first device).”
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on claim 2, Zhu et al. (‘507) anticipates the method of claim 2. Zhu et al. (‘507) further disclsoes “the UWB radar device directs its radar beam to a defined UWB target device in the radar mode after having determined its localization information (paragraph 7: the first initial location of the first device may be predefined, input by the user, or sent by the second device to the first device after the second device localizes the first device; paragraph 24: the user actively triggers redeployment of a radar device. In an example, the first device may further detect a radar device in the target area in real time, to automatically trigger redeployment of a radar device; paragraph 26: If an ultra-wideband device is added in the target area, an ultra-wideband device is removed from the target area, the location of the first device is changed, or the location of the second device is changed, radar coverage of an ultra-wideband device in the target area is determined based on a location and a field of view of the ultra-wideband device in the target area…the first device detects, based on the radar coverage of the ultra-wideband device in the target area, whether there is a need to adjust the location of the ultra-wideband device in the target area; paragraph 32: After sending the listening indication to the second device, the first device may continue to sense the object, and send a wake-up indication to the second device when the object moves to the second radar coverage. The wake-up indication indicates the second device to enter the working state from the listening state, to continue to sense the object).”
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 3, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 3. Zhu et al. (‘507) does not explicitly disclose “the several UWB radar devices carry out the ranging mode and the radar mode sequentially.”
Bruemmer et al. (‘694) relates to localization or positioning of objects. Bruemmer et al. (‘694) teaches “the several UWB radar devices carry out the ranging mode and the radar mode sequentially (paragraph 81: a serial array, for purposes of the present invention, is a sequential/timed configuration of UWB Radars. Whereas monostatic UWB Radars are connected individually to the Radar Processing Engine and firing independently (some fast, some slow depending on the environment and tasking) a serial array is a physical assemblage in which the send and receive functionality of each UWB Radar is highly coupled…in a serial array the distance and orientation are known and the UWB Radars are fired in sequence with known timing…since the firing timing is known the return data can be manipulated to gain additional detail regarding the reflected targets; paragraph 64: an object can be configured with a plurality of UWB Radars and each of these UWB Radars can be dynamically configured and optimized based on the environment…configurations such as a parallel array, sparse array or serial array are contemplated by the present invention as are individually optimizing each UWB Radar based on environmental conditions. From these returns edges are identified that form a signature fingerprint of the location of the object at any instant in time).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507) with the teaching of Bruemmer et al. (‘694) for improved radar detection (Bruemmer et al. (‘694) – paragraph 8). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507) and Bruemmer et al. (‘694)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using ultra-wide band radar system.
Regarding independent claim 11, which is a corresponding device claim of independent method claim 1, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses all the claimed invention. Zhu et al. (‘507) further discloses “an antenna array, a localization element being functionally connected to the antenna array, an initialization element, functionally connected to the localization element (paragraph 59: multi-antenna system; paragraph 80: Figure 1: a network architecture…the network architecture to which the sensing method provided is applied may include a sending device and a receiving device…a signal may be transmitted between the sending device and the receiving device through Wi-Fi…a signal sent by the sending device may be transmitted to the receiving device through an environment and/or a human body…he sending device or the receiving device may perform sensing by reflecting a signal in an environment and/or a human body, to determine distance information, motion information, and the like; Figure 11: processor).”
Regarding claim 12, which is dependent on independent claim 11, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claims 3 and 4 combined, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claims 3 and 4 combined.
Regarding claim 13, which is dependent on independent claim 11, and which is a corresponding device claim of method claim 2, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses all the claimed invention as shown above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, which is dependent on claim 11, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the device of claim 11. Zhu et al. (‘507) further discloses “the determination of localization information is carried out on-chip or off-chip (paragraph 267: when one of the foregoing modules is implemented in a form of a processing element scheduling program code, the processing element may be a general-purpose processor, for example, a central processing unit (central processing unit, CPU) or another processor, such as a controller, that may invoke the program code…the modules may be integrated together and implemented in a form of system-on-a-chip (system-on-a-chip, SOC).”
Regarding claim 19, which is dependent on claim 12, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the device of claim 12. Zhu et al. (‘507) further discloses “a determining of distance and angle is carried out (paragraph 113: when localizing the second device, the first device may obtain the location information of the second device…based on a UWB localization principle, when localizing the second device, the first device may obtain a distance between the first device and the second device and an angle of the second device relative to the first device; paragraph 17: the first device localizes the second device, and obtained location information of the second device is location information relative to the first device, for example, a distance and an angle of the second device relative to the first device…after the first initial location is determined, the first device may determine a second initial location of the second device based on the location information of the second device obtained by the first device through localization).”
Regarding claim 20, which is dependent on claim 12, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the device of claim 12. Zhu et al. (‘507) further discloses “the determination of localization information is carried out on-chip or off-chip (paragraph 267: when one of the foregoing modules is implemented in a form of a processing element scheduling program code, the processing element may be a general-purpose processor, for example, a central processing unit (central processing unit, CPU) or another processor, such as a controller, that may invoke the program code…the modules may be integrated together and implemented in a form of system-on-a-chip (system-on-a-chip, SOC).”
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2025/0216507 A1)/Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1), and further in view of Dewberry et al. (US 2018/0059231 A1).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 3, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 1. Zhu et al. (‘507) does not explicitly disclose “the several UWB radar devices carry out the ranging mode and the radar mode sequentially.”
Dewberry et al. (‘231) relates to determination of an objects position and surrounding obstacle. Dewberry et al. (‘231) teaches “the several UWB radar devices carry out the ranging mode and the radar mode in parallel (paragraph 17: these movably positioned objects can include an object UWB transceiver that can operate simultaneously as a data communication device, a UWB ranging transceiver, a monostatic UWB radar, and a bi-static UWB radar, having an effective object UWB transceiver range…this transceiver performs, among other things, two-way ranging conversations with one or more UPNs…the two-way ranging conversation allows a local UWB to collect surrounding multipath information, and, according to another embodiment of the present invention, the spatial occupancy grid is updated based on the multipath information enabled by the two-way ranging conversation).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Dewberry et al. (‘231) for improved radar detection (Dewberry et al. (‘231) – paragraph 17). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Dewberry et al. (‘231)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using ultra-wide band radar system.
Claims 7, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2025/0216507 A1)/Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1), and further in view of Duan et al. (WO 2022/186933 A1).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 1. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “the localization information is determined by measuring angle-of-arrivals.”
Duan et al. (‘933) relates to communication system. Duan et al. (‘933) teaches “the localization information is determined by measuring angle-of-arrivals (paragraph 158: additional information may be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that defines a straight-line direction (which may be in a horizontal plane or in three dimensions) or possibly a range of directions (c.g., for the UE from the locations of base stations)…the intersection of two directions can provide another estimate of the location for the UE).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Duan et al. (‘933) for improved target positioning (Duan et al. (‘933) – paragraph 150). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Duan et al. (‘933)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target positioning using wide band system.
Regarding claim 16, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 1. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “the localization information is determined by measuring angle-of-arrivals.”
Duan et al. (‘933) relates to communication system. Duan et al. (‘933) teaches “the localization information is determined by measuring angle-of-arrivals (paragraph 158: additional information may be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that defines a straight-line direction (which may be in a horizontal plane or in three dimensions) or possibly a range of directions (c.g., for the UE from the locations of base stations)…the intersection of two directions can provide another estimate of the location for the UE).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Duan et al. (‘933) for improved target positioning (Duan et al. (‘933) – paragraph 150). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Duan et al. (‘933)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target positioning using wide band system.
Regarding claim 21, which is dependent on claim 3, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 3. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “the localization information is determined by measuring angle-of-arrivals.”
Duan et al. (‘933) relates to communication system. Duan et al. (‘933) teaches “the localization information is determined by measuring angle-of-arrivals (paragraph 158: additional information may be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that defines a straight-line direction (which may be in a horizontal plane or in three dimensions) or possibly a range of directions (c.g., for the UE from the locations of base stations)…the intersection of two directions can provide another estimate of the location for the UE).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Duan et al. (‘933) for improved target positioning (Duan et al. (‘933) – paragraph 150). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Duan et al. (‘933)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target positioning using wide band system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2025/0216507 A1)/Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1), and further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2022/0137204 A1).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on claim 2, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 2. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “a double sided two way ranging mode, DSTWR, is performed.”
Nguyen et al. (‘204) relates to ranging devices. Nguyen et al. (‘204) teaches “a double sided two way ranging mode, DSTWR, is performed (paragraph 93: Figures 4A-4B: two way ranging (TWR) according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In particular, Figure 4A illustrates an embodiment 400 of single sided two-way ranging (SS-TWR) …Figure 4B illustrates an embodiment 450 of double-sided two-way ranging (DS-TWR) according to embodiments of the present disclosure…the TWR of FIGS. 4A and 4B describe how an electronic device (such as a first electronic device, similar to the television 116 of Figure 1) calculates a distance between itself and another electronic device. Any one of the client devices 106-116 of Figure 1 can include internal components that can perform single sided two-way ranging, double-sided two-way ranging, or both single sided and double-sided two-way ranging).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Nguyen et al. (‘204) improved object localization (Nguyen et al. (‘204) – paragraph 7). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Nguyen et al. (‘204)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using ultra-wide band radar system.
Claims 9-10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2025/0216507 A1)/Bruemmer et al. (US 2018/0038694 A1), and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 2025/0133552 A1).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 1. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “an out-of-band communication mode is carried out in order to determine if a UWB target device intends to build up a connection to the UWB radar device, wherein configuration data are exchanged in the out-of-band communication mode between the UWB radar device and the at least one UWB target device.”
Zhao et al. (‘552) relates to sensing method and apparatus. Zhao et al. (‘552) teaches “an out-of-band communication mode is carried out in order to determine if a UWB target device intends to build up a connection to the UWB radar device, wherein configuration data are exchanged in the out-of-band communication mode between the UWB radar device and the at least one UWB target device (paragraph 108: Figure 6: distance information of two targets in the sub-7 GHz frequency band and the mm Wave frequency band…arrange resolution in the sub-7 GHz frequency band is relatively rough…each scale is 47 cm…a range resolution in the mm Wave frequency band is relatively fine, for example, each scale is 1.74 cm. In FIG. 6, a horizontal axis represents distance information, and a vertical axis represents power…it is assumed that a target 1 in the sub-7 GHz frequency band is distance information shown by a curve 60, and the target 1 in the mm Wave frequency band is distance information shown by a curve 61… distance information of the target 1 in the two frequency bands is different, and the distance information in the mm Wave frequency band is finer…the distance information shown by the curve 60 matches the distance information shown by the curve 61, and the matched distance information indicates the same target 1…a target 2 is similar to the target 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Zhao et al. (‘552) for improved object sensing (Zhao et al. (‘552) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Zhao et al. (‘552)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using radar system.
Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on claim 9, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694)/Zhao et al. (‘552) discloses the method of claim 9. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “a time stamp is generated in the out-of-band communication mode, on which the ranging mode of the UWB radar device is based.”
Zhao et al. (‘552) relates to sensing method and apparatus. Zhao et al. (‘552) teaches “a time stamp is generated in the out-of-band communication mode, on which the ranging mode of the UWB radar device is based (paragraph 140: communication data frames in the sub-7 GHz frequency band and the mm Wave frequency band may be matched based on sending timestamps, and strong ambiguity resistance performance of the sub-7 GHz frequency band can be converted into the mmWave frequency band. Phase change information between communication data frames in the mmWave frequency band is used to calculate motion information of a target, and an advantage of a strong phase ambiguity resistance capability of the sub-7 GHz frequency band can be combined with advantages of high range resolution and high-precision tiny motion detection of the mm Wave frequency band. This can improve performance of sensing the Wi-Fi signal).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Zhao et al. (‘552) for improved object sensing (Zhao et al. (‘552) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Zhao et al. (‘552)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using radar system.
Regarding claim 17, which is dependent on claim 2, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 2. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “an out-of-band communication mode is carried out in order to determine if a UWB target device intends to build up a connection to the UWB radar device, wherein configuration data are exchanged in the out-of-band communication mode between the UWB radar device and the at least one UWB target device.”
Zhao et al. (‘552) relates to sensing method and apparatus. Zhao et al. (‘552) teaches “an out-of-band communication mode is carried out in order to determine if a UWB target device intends to build up a connection to the UWB radar device, wherein configuration data are exchanged in the out-of-band communication mode between the UWB radar device and the at least one UWB target device (paragraph 108: Figure 6: distance information of two targets in the sub-7 GHz frequency band and the mm Wave frequency band…arrange resolution in the sub-7 GHz frequency band is relatively rough…each scale is 47 cm…a range resolution in the mm Wave frequency band is relatively fine, for example, each scale is 1.74 cm. In FIG. 6, a horizontal axis represents distance information, and a vertical axis represents power…it is assumed that a target 1 in the sub-7 GHz frequency band is distance information shown by a curve 60, and the target 1 in the mm Wave frequency band is distance information shown by a curve 61… distance information of the target 1 in the two frequency bands is different, and the distance information in the mm Wave frequency band is finer…the distance information shown by the curve 60 matches the distance information shown by the curve 61, and the matched distance information indicates the same target 1…a target 2 is similar to the target 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Zhao et al. (‘552) for improved object sensing (Zhao et al. (‘552) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Zhao et al. (‘552)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using radar system.
Regarding claim 18, which is dependent on claim 3, Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) discloses the method of claim 3. Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) does not explicitly disclose “an out-of-band communication mode is carried out in order to determine if a UWB target device intends to build up a connection to the UWB radar device, wherein configuration data are exchanged in the out-of-band communication mode between the UWB radar device and the at least one UWB target device.”
Zhao et al. (‘552) relates to sensing method and apparatus. Zhao et al. (‘552) teaches “an out-of-band communication mode is carried out in order to determine if a UWB target device intends to build up a connection to the UWB radar device, wherein configuration data are exchanged in the out-of-band communication mode between the UWB radar device and the at least one UWB target device (paragraph 108: Figure 6: distance information of two targets in the sub-7 GHz frequency band and the mm Wave frequency band…arrange resolution in the sub-7 GHz frequency band is relatively rough…each scale is 47 cm…a range resolution in the mm Wave frequency band is relatively fine, for example, each scale is 1.74 cm. In FIG. 6, a horizontal axis represents distance information, and a vertical axis represents power…it is assumed that a target 1 in the sub-7 GHz frequency band is distance information shown by a curve 60, and the target 1 in the mm Wave frequency band is distance information shown by a curve 61… distance information of the target 1 in the two frequency bands is different, and the distance information in the mm Wave frequency band is finer…the distance information shown by the curve 60 matches the distance information shown by the curve 61, and the matched distance information indicates the same target 1…a target 2 is similar to the target 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhu et al. (‘507)/Bruemmer et al. (‘694) with the teaching of Zhao et al. (‘552) for improved object sensing (Zhao et al. (‘552) – paragraph 8). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Zhu et al. (‘507), Bruemmer et al. (‘694) and Zhao et al. (‘552)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, target localization using radar system.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bao et al. (US 2022/256356 A1) describes measuring downlink positioning reference signals according to the disclosure includes transmitting one or more uplink positioning reference signals, receiving downlink positioning reference signal configuration information associated at least in part with the one or more uplink positioning reference signals, and measuring one or more downlink positioning reference signals based at least in part on the downlink positioning reference signal configuration information (paragraph 4); one or more of the processors 230-234 may comprise multiple devices (e.g., multiple processors)…the sensor processor 234 may comprise, e.g., processors for radar, ultrasound, and/or lidar, etc. (paragraph 56).
Rajakarunanayake et al. (US 2014/357294 A1) relates generally to locating a mobile communication device within a communication network (paragraph 3).
Rofougaran et al. (US 8,289,212 B2) relates generally to wireless systems and more particularly to determining position within a wireless system and/or tracking motion within the wireless system (column 1 lines 23-25).
Contact Information
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648