DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the switching element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant will be interpreting “the switching element” as --a switching element--. Dependent Claims 7 and 8 are rejected as they inherit the deficiencies of their base claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the switching element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Kirby et al. (US 9,184,632).
In regard to claim 1: (Previously Presented)
Inoue discloses transmitter control circuitry (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 206 & 610) for controlling a duty cycle of an inverter (Fig. 1, & 7 Item 204 and Par. [0005]) of a transmitter (Figs. 1, & 7 Item 200) of a wireless power transfer system (Figs. 1, & 7 Item 100) to generate a detection field to detect a receiver of the wireless power transfer system, and for increasing the duty cycle, upon detection of the receiver, based on detection of a load signal from the receiver at the transmitter (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 200, S3 & Par. [0006]).
However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose a wireless power transfer system (Figs. 1, & 7 Item 100) to generate a detection field to detect a receiver of the wireless power transfer system, and for increasing the duty cycle, upon detection of the receiver.
Kirby teaches the generation of a detection field (Fig. 35 Item 2104 & claim 1) to detect a receiver (Fig. 35 Item 2108) of the wireless power transfer system (Fig. 35 Item 2102), and for increasing the duty cycle (Fig. 35 Item 2110 & Col. 20 Lines 17-35), upon detection of the receiver (Fig. 35 Item 2108 & Col. 20 Lines 17-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the known wireless power transfer system for furnishings and buildings elements through the use of a detection field as taught by Kirby with the known wireless power transmission apparatus and control method as disclosed by Inoue as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of identifying and efficiently supplying power to multiple neighboring receivers (Kirby: Col. 9 Lines 10-15).
In regard to claim 2: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further teaches the transmitter control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the transmitter control circuitry (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 206 & 610) is configured to control the duty cycle of the inverter (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 204, S3 & Par. [0006]) based on detection of the load signal at a particular frequency (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 204, 220, S3 & Par. [0006] i.e. a frequency).
In regard to claim 3: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further teaches the transmitter control circuitry of claim 1, (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 206 & 610) further comprising: a detector for detecting the load signal (Figs. 1, 2, & 7 Items 208, S3, 230 & Par. [0006] i.e. a frequency).
In regard to claim 9: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further teaches the transmitter control circuitry of claim 1, wherein the load signal comprises a modulated load signal modulated at a particular frequency (Figs. 1, & 7 Item S3 & Par. [0006]).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Pan (US 2018/0159352).
In regard to claim 10: (Previously Presented)
Inoue discloses receiver control circuitry (Fig. 1 Items 314, 310) for controlling operation of a receiver (Fig. 1 Item 314) of a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100), the receiver control circuitry modulating a load of a receiver of a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 314, 310 and S3).
However, Inoue is vague in its disclosure of the components contained within the modulator (Fig. 1 Item 310) specifically that the circuitry comprising: a modulator for generating a load modulation signal according to a pre-set frequency; and a switching element electrically connected to the modulator and for controlling a load or current drawn to an electrical component electrically connected to the switching element according to the load modulation signal to vary the load of the receiver.
Pan teaches receiver circuitry comprising a load modulation element (Fig. 3 Item 306 & Par. [0034]) containing a resistor (Fig. 3 Item 308) and a switch element (Fig. 3 Item 310) electrically connected to the modulator (Fig. 3 Item 306 & Par. [0034] and [0036]) and for controlling a load or current drawn to an electrical component (Fig. 3 Items 306, 312, 314 & Par. [0034] and [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known transmission system of Pan with the known wireless power transmission apparatus of Inoue as doing so would have cleared up the vagueness of Inoue by clarifying that modulation elements may also contain switches in order to create and control the modulated output signals.
In regard to claim 11: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further teaches the receiver control circuitry of claim 10, the receiver control circuitry (Fig. 1 Items 314, 310) configured to draw current from an input of a rectifier of the receiver to modulate the load signal (Fig. 1 Items 300, 304, S3, 314, and 310 i.e. all electrically connected).
In regard to claim 12: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further teaches the receiver control circuitry of claim 10, wherein the receiver control circuitry (Fig. 1 Items 314, 310) comprises:
In regard to claim 13: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue teaches the receiver control circuitry of claim 12, including the electrical component (Fig. 1 Item 310 i.e. modulation element) and capacitor (Fig. 1 Item Capacitor).
However a vagueness exists within modified Inoue wherein the electrical component comprises: a capacitor electrically connected to an input of the rectifier,
Pan teaches a load modulation element containing a resistor and a switch for selectively loading the capacitor according to a pre-set frequency to modulate a load signal at the receiver (Fig. 3 Items 306, 308 and 310).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known transmission system of Pan with the known wireless power transmission apparatus of Inoue as doing so would have cleared up the vagueness of Inoue by clarifying that modulation elements may also contain switches.
In regard to claim 14: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further discloses the receiver control circuitry of claim .
Claim(s) 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Pan (US 2018/0159352).
In regard to claim 15: (Currently Amended)
Inoue discloses a method of controlling operation (Fig. 1 Items 314, 310) of a receiver (Fig. 1 Item 300) of a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100), the method comprising: modulating a load at a receiver of a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Items 314, 310 and S3) according to a pre-set frequency, wherein modulating the load comprises (Fig. 1 Items 314, 310 and S3 and Paragraphs [0007-0008]), drawing current from the input or output of the rectifier (Fig. 1 Items 314 and Paragraphs [0007-0008]).
However, Inoue is vague in its disclosure of the components contained within the modulator (Fig. 1 Item 310) specifically that the circuitry comprises: a switching element electrically connected to the modulator to vary the load, wherein drawing current comprises, controlling operation of a switching element electrically connected to an electrical component at an input or an output of the rectifier.
Pan teaches receiver circuitry comprising a load modulation element (Fig. 3 Item 306 & Par. [0034]) capable of modulating a load at a receiver according to a pre-set frequency (Abstract and Par. [0036]) containing a resistor (Fig. 3 Item 308) and a switch element (Fig. 3 Item 310) electrically connected to the modulator (Fig. 3 Item 306 & Par. [0034]) and for controlling a load or current drawn to an electrical component (Fig. 3 Items 306, 312, 314 & Par. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known transmission system of Pan with the known wireless power transmission apparatus of Inoue as doing so would have cleared up the vagueness of Inoue by clarifying that modulation elements may also contain switches in order to create and control the modulated output signals.
In regard to claim 16: (Canceled)
In regard to claim 17: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue discloses the method of claim
However a vagueness exists within modified Inoue of
Pan teaches a load modulation element containing a resistor and a switch for selectively loading the capacitor according to a pre-set frequency to modulate a load signal at the receiver (Fig. 3 Items 306, 308 and 310).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known transmission system of Pan with the known wireless power transmission apparatus of Inoue as doing so would have cleared up the vagueness of Inoue by clarifying that modulation elements may also contain switches.
In regard to claim 19: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further discloses the method of claim 15, wherein modulating comprises controlling operation of the switching element according to a pre-set frequency to vary a load at the receiver (Pan: Abstract and Par. [0036]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Kirby et al. (US 9,184,632).
In regard to claim 18: (Previously Presented)
A wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100) comprising: a transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 200) for transferring power to a receiver (Fig. 1 Item 300) of the wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100), the transmitter (Fig. 1 Item 200) comprising: an inverter (Fig. 1 Item 204); a transmit element (Fig. 1 Items 201, & 202) for generating a field for wirelessly transferring electrical power (Fig. 1 Item S2) to a receiver (Fig. 1 Item 300) of a wireless transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100); and transmitter control circuitry (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 206 & 610) for controlling a duty cycle of the inverter (Fig. 1, & 7 Item 204 and Par. [0005]) to generate a detection field to detect the receiver, and for increasing the duty cycle, upon detection of the receiver based on detection of a load from the receiver at the transmitter (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 200, S3 & Par. [0006]); and a receiver (Fig. 1 Item 300) of a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100) for receiving electrical power from the transmitter (Fig. 1 Items S2,& 200), the receiver (Fig. 1 Item 300) comprising: a rectifier (Fig. 1 Item 304) for rectifying a power signal extracted from a transmitter (Fig. 1 Items S2, S4 & 304) of a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100); a receive element (Fig. 1 Items 301 & 302) for extracting electrical power from the generated field (Fig. 1 Items S4), the receive element (Fig. 1 Item 301) electrically connected to an input of the rectifier (Fig. 1 Item 304); and receiver control circuitry (Fig. 1 Items 314, 310) electrically connected to the rectifier (Fig. 1 Item 304) for controlling operation of a receiver (Fig. 1 Item 300) of a wireless power transfer system (Fig. 1 Item 100), the receiver control circuitry modifying operation of the rectifier to vary the load (Fig. 1 Item 314, 310 and S3 i.e. varies power sent to the load).
However, Inoue does not explicitly disclose a wireless power transfer system (Figs. 1, & 7 Item 100) to generate a detection field to detect a receiver of the wireless power transfer system, and for increasing the duty cycle, upon detection of the receiver.
Kirby teaches the generation of a detection field (Fig. 35 Item 2104 & claim 1) to detect a receiver (Fig. 35 Item 2108) of the wireless power transfer system (Fig. 35 Item 2102), and for increasing the duty cycle (Fig. 35 Item 2110 & Col. 20 Lines 17-35), upon detection of the receiver (Fig. 35 Item 2108 & Col. 20 Lines 17-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the known wireless power transfer system for furnishings and buildings elements through the use of a detection field as taught by Kirby with the known wireless power transmission apparatus and control method as disclosed by Inoue as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of identifying and efficiently supplying power to multiple neighboring receivers (Kirby: Col. 9 Lines 10-15).
Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Kirby et al. (US 9,184,632) and further in view of Kawamae et al. (US 2019/0027970).
In regard to claim 4: (Previously Presented)
Inoue as modified by Kirby discloses the transmitter control circuitry of claim 3, including the detector.
However modified Inoue does not explicitly disclose that the detector comprises a plurality of filters, each filter of the plurality of filters having a different frequency response.
Kawamae teaches a wireless power transmission device (Fig. 5 Item 100) with a detector circuit (Fig. 5 Items 201, 204 and 206) that comprises a plurality of filters (Fig. 5 Items 204 and 206) each filter of the plurality of filters having a different frequency response (Fig. 5 Items 201, 204 and 206 & Par. [0156-0157]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known communication transmission system of Kawamae with the known wireless power transmission apparatus of modified Inoue as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of increasing communication capabilities over a wider range (Par. [0158]).
In regard to claim 5: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue discloses the transmitter control circuitry of claim 4, including the plurality of filters.
However a vagueness exists within Modified Inoue of wherein one of the plurality of filter has a frequency response greater than a modulation frequency of the load signal, and another of the plurality of filters has a frequency response less than a modulation frequency of the load signal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the optimum frequency ranges of both filters with one having a frequency response greater than a modulation frequency of the load signal, and another of the plurality of filters having a frequency response less than a modulation frequency of the load signal, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Kirby et al. (US 9,184,632) and further in view of Lovas et al. (US 2019/0068001).
In regard to claim 6: (Previously Presented)
Inoue as modified by Kirby discloses the transmitter control circuitry of claim 3, comprising: a controller.
However a vagueness exists within modified Inoue of the controller also containing a timer for outputting a control signal for controlling operation of the switching element based on detection of the load signal, the timer electrically connected to the detector.
Lovas teaches a wireless transmission system (Fig. 1 Item 100) with the tx control circuit (Fig. 1 Item 110) containing a timer for outputting a control signal for controlling operation of the switching element (Fig. 1 Item 114 and Par. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known transmission system of Lovas with the known wireless power transmission apparatus of modified Inoue as doing so would have cleared up the vagueness of Inoue by clarifying that controllers may also contain timers.
In regard to claim 7: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further discloses the transmitter control circuitry of claim 6, comprising: a gate driver (Fig. 7 Item 630) for outputting a gate signal to enable operation of the switching element based on the control signal, the gate driver electrically connected to the timer (Lovas: Fig. 1 Items 114, and 104).
In regard to claim 8: (Previously Presented)
Modified Inoue further discloses the transmitter control circuitry of claim 7, comprising: an overvoltage detector for detecting a voltage level at the transmitter control circuitry (Fig. 7 Items 600 & 650 & Par. [0095]), wherein the overvoltage detector is electrically connected to the gate driver (Fig. 7 Items 600, 630 & 650 & Par. [0095] i.e. all electrically connected), the overvoltage detector configured to control operation of the gate driver based the voltage level exceeding a threshold (Fig. 7 Items 600, 630 & 650 & Par. [0095] i.e. how overvoltage protection works).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Kirby et al. (US 9,184,632).
In regard to claim 20: (New)
Modified Inoue discloses the transmitter control circuitry of claim 2, wherein the transmitter control circuitry (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 206 & 610) is configured to control the duty cycle of the inverter (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 204, S3 & Par. [0006]) based on detection of the load signal at a particular frequency (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 204, 220, S3 & Par. [0006] i.e. a frequency).
However, Modified Inoue does not directly teach wherein the transmitter control circuitry (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 206 & 610) is configured to not change the duty cycle of the inverter based on detection of the load signal at a frequency not corresponding to the particular frequency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the transmit control circuitry to not change the duty cycle of the inverter based on detection of the load signal at a non-corresponding frequency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 2018/0131235) in view of Kirby et al. (US 9,184,632) and further in view of Kawamae et al. (US 2019/0027970) and further in view of Lovas et al. (US 2019/0068001).
In regard to claim 21: (New)
Modified Inoue discloses the transmitter control circuitry of claim 4 (Figs. 1, & 7 Items 206 & 610), further comprising: a detector (Figs. 1, 2, & 7 Items 208, S3, 230 & Par. [0006] i.e. a frequency); a comparator (Figs 2 and 4 Item 248) electrically connected to the plurality of filters (Figs. 1, 2, & 7 Items 208, S3, 230 & Par. [0006] and (Kawamae: Fig. 5 Items 204 and 206)), the comparator (Figs 2 and 4 Item 248) for comparing filtered signal output by the plurality of filters (Figs. 1, 2, & 7 Items 208, S3, 230 & Par. [0006] and (Kawamae: Fig. 5 Items 204 and 206)), the comparator (Figs 2 and 4 Item 248) and outputting a signal (Figs 2 and 4 Item 248).
However Inoue as modified by Kirby and further modified by Kawame is vague in its disclosure of a timer for outputting a control signal for controlling operation of a switching element based on detection of the load signal, the timer electrically connected to the detector.
Lovas teaches a wireless transmission system (Fig. 1 Item 100) with the tx control circuit (Fig. 1 Item 110) containing a timer for outputting a control signal for controlling operation of the switching element (Fig. 1 Item 114 and Par. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known transmission system of Lovas with the known wireless power transmission apparatus of modified Inoue as doing so would have cleared up the vagueness of Inoue by clarifying that controllers may also contain timers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s Arguments that claims 1-9, 18, 20 and 21 are allowable because there is no teaching suggestion or motivation found in either Inoue (US 2018/0131235) or Kirby (US 9,184,632) that would teach the limitations of independent claim 1 and 18. Examiner would like to remind the Applicant that the references are to be taken in their entirety.
Further In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the Rejection above shows how one of ordinary skill would combine the teachings of Kirby with the known disclosure of Inoue to arrive at the known and predictable result as illustrated above.
Further Applicant has argued that claims 10-15, and 17-19 should be allowable because independent claims 10 and 15 contain limitations not taught by the combination of Inoue (US 2018/0131235) and Pan (US 2018/0159352). Examiner does not agree with this argument reminding Applicant that the references are to be taken in their entirety.
Further In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For these reasons Examiner will be Rejecting claims 1-15, and 17-21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
MW
7/2/2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836