DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed on December 19, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: For claim 11, the recitations of “the plurality of venting channels” and “the plurality of venting holes” (see last two lines of claim 11) should be changed to “the at least one venting channel” and “the at least one venting hole”, respectively, for comprehension of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krais et al. (US Patent No.: 11152827) in view of Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 56020349 U, hereinafter "JP 349U".
For claim 1, Krais et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: at least one venting groove (reference numeral 80, see figures 7, 8), at least one venting opening (reference numeral 79, see figures 7, 8), and a front surface (i.e. surface of plate 41 facing towards rotor 2, see figure 7) and a rear surface (i.e. surface of plate 41 facing away from rotor 2, see figure 7) each having an outer circumference corresponding to an outer circumference of a rotor body (reference numeral 2) of the rotor assembly (see figures 7, 8), the venting groove (reference numeral 80) extending from an interior to the outer circumference of the front surface (i.e. groove 80 extending from an inner radial position to the outer circumference of plate 41, see figure 7), and the venting groove (reference numeral 80) and the venting opening (reference numeral 79) being in fluid communication with ambient air (see figures 7, 8). Krais et al. however do not specifically disclose the venting opening extending from the front surface to the rear surface.
JP 349U disclose a venting opening (reference numeral 8) extending from the front surface to the rear surface (see figures 1, 4, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the venting opening extend from the front surface to the rear surface as disclosed by JP 349U for the venting opening of Krais et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 2, Krais et al. disclose an inner end of the venting groove (reference numeral 80, figures 7, 8), being arranged at the interior of the second ring-shaped end member (i.e. a radially inner end portion of groove 80, see figures 7, 8), comprising a venting aperture (i.e. hole 79 can be considered a venting aperture, see figures 7, 8). Krais et al. in view of JP 349U however do not specifically disclose the venting aperture extending from the front surface to the rear surface. JP 349U further discloses the venting aperture (i.e. hole 8 can be considered the venting aperture) extending from the front surface to the rear surface (i.e. aperture 8 extending axially through the end member 2, see figure 4), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the venting aperture extend from the front surface to the rear surface as disclosed by JP 349U for the venting aperture of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 3, Krais et al. disclose a plurality of venting grooves (reference numeral 80, see figures 7-9), a plurality of venting apertures and a plurality of venting openings (i.e. hole 79 considered the venting apertures and venting openings, see figures 7, 8), the venting grooves (reference numeral 80), venting apertures and venting openings (i.e. hole 79 considered the venting apertures and venting openings, see figures 7, 8) being arranged in a circumferential direction of the ring-shaped end member (see figure 9).
For claim 4, Krais et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a rotor body (reference numeral 2, see figures 7, 8), a ring-shaped first ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 25, see figure 7), and a ring-shaped second ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 41, see figure 7), the rotor body being formed in a cylinder shape having an outer circumference and comprising a through-hole (i.e. hole through which shaft 4 is disposed, see figures 7, 8) extending in an axial direction of the rotor body (see figures 7, 8), a solid material portion and at least one venting channel (i.e. rotor body 2 comprised of a solid material, with venting channel 23a, 23b extending through rotor body 2, see figures 7, 8), the first ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 25) being arranged at a first end portion of the rotor body (reference numeral 2, see figure 7) and having an outer circumference corresponding to the outer circumference of the rotor body (see figures 7, 8), the second ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 41) being arranged at a second end portion of the rotor body (reference numeral 2, figure 7) and having an outer circumference corresponding to the outer circumference of the rotor body (see figures 7, 8), the venting channel (reference numerals 23a, 23b) extending from the first end portion to the second end portion through the solid material portion of the rotor body (see figures 7, 8), the second ring-shaped end member comprising at least one venting groove (reference numeral 80, figure 7) at a front surface of the second ring-shaped end member (see figure 7), the front surface facing the rotor body (see figure 7), the venting groove (reference numeral 80) extending from an interior of the second ring-shaped end member to the outer circumference of the second ring-shaped end member (i.e. groove 80 extending from an inner radial position to the outer circumference of end member 41, see figure 7), and the venting channel (i.e. channel 23a, 23b extending through rotor body 2, figures 7, 8) and the venting groove (reference numeral 80, figure 7) being connected to each other to form a venting duct for guiding an airflow throughout the rotor body (see figures 7, 8). Krais et al. however do not specifically disclose the first ring-shaped end member comprising at least one venting hole arranged substantially parallel to the axial direction of the rotor body, with the venting hole being connected to the venting channel and venting groove to form the venting duct.
JP 349U discloses the ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 2) comprising at least one venting hole (i.e. hole 8 in end member 2, see figures 3, 4) arranged substantially parallel to the axial direction of the rotor body (see figures 1, 5), which when applied to the first ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. would disclose the venting hole being connected to the venting channel and venting groove to form the venting duct.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the venting hole arranged parallel to the axial direction as disclosed by JP 349U for the first ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 5, Krais et al. disclose an inner end of the venting groove (reference numeral 80, figure 7), being arranged at the interior of the second ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 41, see figure 7), comprising a venting aperture (reference numeral 79, figure 7), the venting aperture extending substantially parallel to the axial direction of the rotor body to abut on the venting channel (i.e. aperture 79 extending axially adjacent the venting channel 23a, see figure 7).
For claim 8, Krais et al. disclose the venting hole of the first ring-shaped end member and/or the venting groove (reference numeral 80) of the second ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 41) being in fluid communication with ambient air (see figure 7).
For claim 9, Krais et al. in view of JP 349U disclose the claimed invention except for the venting hole of the first ring-shaped end member being arranged as an air inlet or air outlet. JP 349U further discloses the venting hole (reference numeral 8) of the first ring-shaped end member being arranged as an air inlet or air outlet (i.e. arrows in figure 5 indicating air flow through the hole 8 which represents an air inlet or air outlet). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the venting hole arranged as an air inlet or air outlet as disclosed by JP 349U for the first ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 10, Krais et al. in view of JP 349U disclose the claimed invention except for the second ring-shaped end member further comprising at least one venting opening extending from the front surface to the rear surface of the second ring-shaped end member, the venting opening being arranged as an air inlet and the venting groove being arranged as an air outlet. JP 349U discloses the second ring-shaped end member further comprising at least one venting opening (reference numeral 8) extending from the front surface to the rear surface of the second ring-shaped end member (i.e. opening 8 extending through the end member, see figure 4), the venting opening (reference numeral 8) being arranged as an air inlet and the venting groove (reference numeral 21) being arranged as an air outlet (see figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one venting opening extending from the front surface to the rear surface as disclosed by JP 349U for the second ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 11, Krais et al. disclose the rotor body comprising at least one venting channel (reference numeral 23a) extending from the first end portion to the second end portion through the solid material portion of the rotor body (see figure 7), the second ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 41) comprising a plurality of venting grooves (reference numeral 80) arranged in a circumferential direction of the second ring-shaped end member at the front surface of the second ring-shaped end member (see figures 7-9). Krais et al. in view of JP 349U however do not specifically disclose the first ring-shaped end member comprising at least one venting hole arranged substantially parallel to the axial direction of the rotor body, and the plurality of venting channels, the plurality of venting holes, and the plurality of venting grooves being connected to each other to form a plurality of venting ducts. JP 349U further discloses the first ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 2) comprising at least one venting hole (reference numeral 8) arranged substantially parallel to the axial direction of the rotor body (see figures 1, 3, 5), which when applied to the first ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U would disclose the plurality of venting channels, the plurality of venting holes, and the plurality of venting grooves being connected to each other to form a plurality of venting ducts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one venting hole as disclosed by JP 349U for the first ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 14, Krais et al. disclose the rotor body comprising a stack of rotor elements (Krais et al. disclose a lamination stack of individual sheets, see column 8, lines 13-14).
For claim 15, Krais et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a rotor assembly comprising: a rotor body (reference numeral 2, see figures 7, 8), a ring-shaped first ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 25, see figure 7), and a ring-shaped second ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 41, see figure 7), the rotor body being formed in a cylinder shape having an outer circumference and comprising a through-hole (i.e. hole through which shaft 4 is disposed, see figures 7, 8) extending in an axial direction of the rotor body (see figures 7, 8), a solid material portion and at least one venting channel (reference numerals 23a, 23b, see figures 7, 8), the first ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 25) being arranged at a first end portion of the rotor body (reference numeral 2, figure 7) and having an outer circumference corresponding to the outer circumference of the rotor body (see figure 7), the second ring-shaped end member (reference numeral 41) being arranged at a second end portion of the rotor body (reference numeral 2, figure 7) and having an outer circumference corresponding to the outer circumference of the rotor body (see figure 7), the venting channel (reference numerals 23a, 23b) extending from the first end portion to the second end portion through the solid material portion of the rotor body (see figures 7, 8), the second ring-shaped end member comprising at least one venting groove (reference numeral 80, figure 7) at a front surface of the second ring-shaped end member (see figure 7), the front surface facing the rotor body (reference numeral 2, see figure 7), the venting groove (reference numeral 80) extending from an interior of the second ring-shaped end member to the outer circumference of the second ring-shaped end member (i.e. groove 80 extending from an inner radial position to the outer circumference of end member 41, see figure 7), and the venting channel (reference numerals 23a, 23b) and the venting groove (reference numeral 80, figure 7) being connected to each other to form a venting duct for guiding an airflow throughout the rotor body (see figure 7), and the rotor assembly (reference numeral 2, see figure 7) adapted to be arranged within a stator assembly (see figure 7). Krais et al. however do not specifically disclose the first ring-shaped end member comprising at least one venting hole arranged substantially parallel to the axial direction of the rotor body, with the venting hole being connected to the venting channel and venting groove to form the venting duct.
JP 349U discloses a ring-shaped end member comprising at least one venting hole (i.e. hole 8 in end member 2, see figures 3, 4) arranged substantially parallel to the axial direction of the rotor body (see figures 1, 5), and when applied to the first ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. this would disclose the venting hole being connected to the venting channel and venting groove to form the venting duct.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one venting hole as disclosed by JP 349U for the first ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krais et al. in view of JP 349U as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of DeBlock et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2012/0086291 A1).
For claim 6, Krais et al. in view of JP 349U disclose the claimed invention except for a rear surface of the first ring-shaped end member and/or a rear surface of the second ring-shaped end member facing away from the rotor body being adapted to be arranged adjacent to at least one fan unit. DeBlock et al. disclose a fan unit (reference numeral 750, figure 7) arranged at a rear surface of an end member (reference numeral 702, see figure 7), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rear surface adapted to be arranged adjacent a fan unit as disclosed by DeBlock et al. for the rear surface of the first or second ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 7, Krais et al. in view of JP 349U and DeBlock et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first ring-shaped end member and/or the second ring-shaped end member being adapted to integrate the at least one fan unit or the first ring-shaped end member and/or the second ring-shaped end member being adapted to be arranged separately from the at least one fan unit. DeBlock et al. further disclose the fan unit (reference numeral 750, figure 7) being arranged separately from the end member (reference numeral 702, see figure 7), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the end member adapted to be arranged separately from the fan unit as disclosed by DeBlock et al. for the first or second ring-shaped end member of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U and DeBlock et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krais et al. in view of JP 349U as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Tokunaga et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0334912 A1).
For claim 12, Krais et al. in view of JP 349U disclose the claimed invention except for a number of the venting ducts being even. Tokunaga et al. disclose the number of venting ducts (reference numerals 44A, 44B) being even (see figure 12), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the even number of ducts as disclosed by Tokunaga et al. for the venting ducts of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
For claim 13, Krais et al. in view of JP 349U and Tokunaga et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a half of the venting ducts being adapted to guide the airflow from the first ring-shaped end member throughout the second ring-shaped end member and another half of the venting ducts being adapted to guide the airflow from the second ring-shaped end member throughout the first ring-shaped end member. Guiding the flow in opposite directions through the rotor is a known skill as exhibited by Tokunaga et al. which disclose venting ducts (reference numerals 44A, 44B, figures 12, 14, 15, 20) having the flow in opposite directions (see the arrows within ducts 44A and 44B indicating the opposite directions, see figure 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the flow in opposite directions as disclosed by Tokunaga et al. for the venting ducts of Krais et al. in view of JP 349U and Tokunaga et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the ventilation of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834