DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, a product for identifying a diseased animal, claims 8-14, in the reply filed on 01 Dec 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of groups I and II together would not present a serious burden as the method claims involve administering the same capsules as the product claims and that the differences between the groups is not so sufficient to present a reasonable burden on prosecuting. This is not found persuasive because, as noted in the restriction, the process can be practiced with a different product and the product can be used in a materially different process. For example, the process of identifying diseased animals can be done using unencapsulated beads and the product can be used in an alternative method such as identifying non-diseased animals within a group. Thus, there is sufficient distinction between the groups to warrant the restriction, in keeping with MPEP § 806.05(h).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 8-14 are under consideration.
.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Greece on 12/06/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the GREECE 20220101009 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01 Dec 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, except where noted. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-11 recite the limitation of “the capsule.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Base claim 8 recites “a plurality of capsules”, which encompasses multiple capsules, and it is unclear whether “the capsule” includes just one or more than one capsule. Claims 12-14 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 8.
Claim 12 recites “the animal” but this limitation lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Claim 8 refers to both a diseased animal and a group of animals and it is unclear whether “the animal” refers to the diseased animal or group of animals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (Contemporary Topics by the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, Vol 41, No 2, Mar 2002) in view of Chandler et al. (Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Vol 11, No 6 (November-December), 1997: pp 361-364) and Porter (Coating of tablets and multiparticulates, Clinical Gate, 15 Jun 2021).
Griffin teaches the use of fecal markers to facilitate sample collection in group housed cats (title). Griffin teaches that some studies require the collection of fecal samples but depending on the number of cats, individual sampling can be laborious and time consuming (page 51 left column). Griffin teaches that marking the stool of individual cats facilitates noninvasive sample collection in group-housed cats and eliminates the need for individual housing (page 51 left column). Griffin teaches marking the feces by adding food coloring to the cat food which imparts a distinct color to each cat’s feces and allows for identification (abstract). Griffin notes that products other than food coloring have been used for identification, including plastic beads (page 51 left column last sentence – right column).
Griffin does not teach that fecal marker beads are enclosed in a capsule with a film. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Chandler and Porter.
Chandler teaches radiopaque markers for evaluating gastric emptying and small intestinal transit time in cats (title). Chandler teaches providing cats with two sizes of nondigestible radiopaque markers (page 361 left column) which were thirty small and 9 large barium impregnated polyethylene spheres (page 362 left column). Cats that were fed had the spheres had the spheres mixed in with their food but cats that were unfed as part of the study were administered the spheres in a gelatin capsule by mouth (page 362 left column).
Porter teaches that coatings are applied to various oral dosage forms such as capsules (Introduction). Porter teaches that film coatings are contemporary and commonplace for products such as capsules and that all newly launched coated products are film coated (page 2 Film coating). Porter teaches that coatings provide various benefits such as masking the taste of unpleasant drug substances, improving ease of swallowing large dosage forms and providing a means of improving product appearance and aiding in brand identification (page 1 Reasons for coating).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed film coated capsules comprising a plurality of beads for oral delivery to an animal such as a cat and where each of the capsules and beads have a distinguishing feature such as a different color that allow for differentiation between the capsules/beads and correlation to the animal that received the capsule. The process of using fecal markers such as plastic beads and coloring fecal matter to distinguish the fecal samples of cats is known from Griffin. It is additionally known from Chandler that a plurality of spheres may be administered to a cat through the use of a capsule containing the spheres. Thus, it would have been obvious to have capsules comprising beads to administer to a group of cats and for identifying what fecal matter belongs to the cat based on the presence of the particular beads present in the fecal matter. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in administering the beads orally via a capsule as capsules are known to be suitable vessels for delivery of spheres to cats where the spheres are nondigestible and pass through cat. Additionally, capsules allow for the option of administering the beads to the cat even if the cat may be under a strict diet with limited food, as taught by Chandler. Thus, incorporating the fecal marker beads into a capsule is merely an alternative means of delivering beads to cats instead of incorporating into food. Each capsule with beads would be distinguishable from other capsules/beads, for example by color, so that the fecal matter could be accurately associated with the correct cat. It is further known that film coatings are commonly applied and provide benefits such as improving ease of swallowing. Thus, it would have been obvious to coat the capsules in a film as this is a common practice for capsule formation that provides benefits such as improved swallowing. Regarding the limitation of claim 8 that the product is “for identifying a diseased animal,” the examiner notes that the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.02. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation").
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (Contemporary Topics by the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, Vol 41, No 2, Mar 2002) in view of Chandler et al. (Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Vol 11, No 6 (November-December), 1997: pp 361-364) and Porter (Coating of tablets and multiparticulates, Clinical Gate, 15 Jun 2021) as applied to claims 8-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Higuchi et al. (US 4,406,896, published 27 Sep 1983).
The teachings of Griffin, Chandler and Porter are described supra.
Griffin, Chandler and Porter do not teach the form of a suppository. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Higuchi.
Higuchi teaches adjuvants for rectal delivery of drug substances to warm blooded animals (title, col 1 lines 14-15). Higuchi specifically teaches the delivery form as a suppository (col 1 lines 20-25). Higuchi teaches the suppositories as soft elastic gelatin capsules (col 2 lines 37-44) and teaches that suppositories offer advantages over oral administration such as avoiding the acidic, enzymatic content of the stomach and digestive attacks and microbial degradation in the gut (col 1 lines 45-54).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the capsules comprising fecal markers as suppositories. Suppositories are a form of administration to warm blooded animals for capsules that is an alternative to oral delivery and offers benefits such as avoiding the harsh conditions of the stomach and gut. Thus, the use of the capsule containing fecal marker beads as a suppository merely represents an alternative method for administering capsules and their contents and thus is simply the use of known prior art elements for their known function.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (Contemporary Topics by the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, Vol 41, No 2, Mar 2002) in view of Chandler et al. (Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Vol 11, No 6 (November-December), 1997: pp 361-364) and Porter (Coating of tablets and multiparticulates, Clinical Gate, 15 Jun 2021) as applied to claims 8-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Ju et al. (Green Chem., 23, published 21 Jul 2021).
The teachings of Griffin, Chandler and Porter are described supra.
Griffin, Chandler and Porter do not teach the beads as a biodegradable material. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Ju.
Ju teaches that due to the small size of microplastics that there is no systemic method to retrieve all types of microplastics released into nature and that microplastics carry organic pollutants and are ingested by marine animals and have been found in drinking water, coastal areas, and rivers (page 6953 left column). Ju teaches that microplastics have negative effect on the human body such as cellular damage and inflammatory and immune reactions and that microplastic pollution is irreversible because plastics are generally non-degradable and there are no practical means of collecting scattered microplastics in the ocean (page 6953 Introduction). Ju teaches that plastic microbeads are banned in rinse-off cosmetics but that there are known biodegradable alternatives to microplastics (page 6953 right column).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the plastic beads as fecal markers with biodegradable beads. Microplastics are known to be associated with a variety of negative environmental and human health issues and there is not a practical means of removing the microplastics once exposed to the environment, as taught by Ju. It is further known that the alternative to using microplastic beads is to use biodegradable options, as taught by Ju. Thus, there is a known problem associated with using microplastics and it would have been desirable to one of ordinary skill to use an alternative biodegradable bead to avoid the environmental and health related problems associated with microplastics.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. (Contemporary Topics by the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, Vol 41, No 2, Mar 2002) in view of Chandler et al. (Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Vol 11, No 6 (November-December), 1997: pp 361-364) and Porter (Coating of tablets and multiparticulates, Clinical Gate, 15 Jun 2021) as applied to claims 8-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Janzon et al. (GB 2563208, published 12 Dec 2018, listed in IDS filed 01 Dec 2023).
The teachings of Griffin, Chandler and Porter are described supra.
Griffin, Chandler and Porter do not teach the distinguishing feature as an alphanumeric indication formed by engraving. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Janzon.
Janzon teaches a means for marking animals that allows the identification of the origin of animals where the marking comprises a plurality of marker particles where the particles comprise indicia comprising identification means such as alphanumeric indicia (abstract, page 1). Janzon teaches the alphanumeric codes can be etched (page 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used alphanumeric coding to distinguish the fecal marker capsules and beads that would be administered. It is obvious to have capsules with beads that are uniquely identifiable and traceable to the animal administered to from the teachings of Griffin and Chandler. It is further known from Janzon that alphanumeric markings may be applied as part of a system of identifying markers with a particular animal. Thus, one of ordinary skill would understand alphanumeric markings as an alternative means of associating the capsules and beads to the appropriate animal and would offer a more definite means of identifying the fecal marker in the sample with the animal than other means such as color identifiers. As noted above, Janzon teaches marking with etching and thus renders obvious a surface with identifiers that are formed as grooves in the capsule, thereby rendering obvious forming by an engraving process.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/E.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600