Response to Request for Continued Examination (RCE)
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of Request for Continued Examination (RCE), dated on 09/21/2026.This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 09/15/2026. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10,12-14 ,16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1.
-15 is cancelled.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses
A method of operating a wireless communication device, comprising:
13. A wireless communication device, comprising:
an interference detector;a communication circuit; and a controller coupled to the interference detector and the communication circuit[0057] method 100 may be also implemented in a computer program (product) having a program code for performing an embodiment of the proposed method, when the computer program is executed on a computer, a processor, or a programmable hardware component, wherein the controller is adapted to: detecting WiFi-related interference over an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication link between the wireless communication device and at least one second wireless communication device; FIG. 2 [0059] a user device 210 and a vehicle 220 are supposed to communicate in a UWB communication session. However, a WUAN signal 242 of a WUAN device 240 may potentially interfere with the UWB communication session 230 which may have an undesired impact on the UWB communication session, The WUAN device 240, e.g., is a WUAN router and may be installed in vehicle 220. Alternatively, the WUAN device 240 belongs to another vehicle or to infrastructure in the surrounding, wherein the UWB communication session, i.e., a UWB channel, UWB transmission, and/or reception, may be controlled by one or both of the user device 210 and the vehicle 220. So, the user device 210 and/or the vehicle 220 may be configured to detect potentially interfering signals and to adapt the UWB transmission and/or reception for interference mitigation according to the proposed concept)
estimating an interference pattern based on detected WiFi-related interference; and
adapting, based on the estimated interference pattern, a time-slotted transmission schedule of the wireless communication device to reduce an impact of the estimated interference pattern [0060]-[0061] the user device 210 and the vehicle 220 may communicate UWB signals in the UWB communication session 230 and determine, based on the UWB signals, the distance and/or relative position of the user device 210. However, the ranging may be interfered by the WUAN signal 242 of the WUAN device 240, e.g., when the UWB signals and the WUAN signal 242 are emitted simultaneously. In practice, e.g., the WUAN signal 242 interferes with the UWB signals such that the ranging fails. This may be avoided according to the proposed concept of interference mitigation. information on a potentially interfering radio signal is obtained. The information on the radio signal may indicate that the WUAN signal 242 may interfere with the UWB communication session 230. Consequently, based on this information, one or more of the proposed measures for interference mitigation may be taken. In doing so, e.g., the UWB communication session 230 is configured and/or timed/rescheduled such that the WUAN signal 242 at least interferes less with the UWB communication session 230, the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 both may be configured to take the proposed interference mitigation measures, e.g., the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 may be capable of selecting or changing the UWB channel and/or timing/rescheduling the UWB communication session 230. For example, [0012] obtaining information on a first time slot and second time slot for the UWB communication session within a frame. In such cases, the method may further comprise obtaining, based on the information on the radio signal and the first time slot, information on interference of the radio signal with the first time slot. Then, configuring the UWB communication session may comprise selecting the second time slot for the UWB communication session based on the information on the interference with the first time slot. In this way, a less interfered time slot may be selected for the UWB communication in order to avoid or further reduce data or information loss in the UWB communication session,
sending information from the wireless communication device to the at least one second wireless communication device, the information indicating when to transmit to avoid the WiFi- related interference (fig. 2 and [0059]-[0060] discloses a user device 210 and a vehicle 220 are communicating in a UWB communication session230 the user device 210 and the vehicle 220 are equipped with appropriate UWB devices,, the user device 210 and/or the vehicle 220 detect potentially interfering signals from WUAN signal 242 of a WUAN device 240 potentially interferes with the UWB communication session 230, wherein the user device 210 and/or the vehicle 220 adapt the UWB transmission and/or reception for interference mitigation. When the user device 210 and/or the vehicle 220 determine that WUAN signal 242 of a WUAN device 240 potentially interferes with the UWB communication session 230, the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 both may be configured to take the proposed interference mitigation measures, e.g., the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 select or change the UWB channel and/or timing/rescheduling the UWB communication session 230 and [0012] obtaining information on a first time slot and second time slot for the UWB , wherein the information on the radio signal in the first time slot, interfere with the information of the UWB communication session in the first time slot, the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 selecting the second time slot for the UWB communication session based on the information on the interference with the first time slot. In this way, a less interfered time slot may be selected for the UWB communication in order to avoid or further reduce data or information loss in the UWB communication session.
Regarding claim 2 and 14, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 1 and 13, respectively.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein estimating an interference pattern includes modelling the detected WiFi-related interference [0040]- [0042] the UWB receiver may detect the WLAN signal and the information on the radio signal may indicate that the UWB receiver detected a potentially interfering radio signal, i.e., that a potentially interfering radio signal is present. In particular, the UWB receiver may be also configured to determine a frequency, a frequency band, and/or a type (here: WLAN signal in the 6 GHz band) of the radio signal in order to determine which of the available UWB channels is/are affected/interfered. In practice, the WLAN signal in the 6 GHz, e.g., only interferes with UWB channel 5 while UWB channel 9 is not interfered. Accordingly, the information on the radio signal may indicate whether a UWB channel and/or which UWB channel is interfered. For example, the information on the radio signal indicates that UWB channel 5 is interfered. Consequently, the UWB application may be adjusted such that UWB channel 5 is avoided, e.g., by selecting and/or switching to UWB channel 9 or any other available UWB channel in order to avoid interference with the detected radio signal.
Regarding claim 3, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 2.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein modelling the detected WiFi-related interference includes predicting WiFi-related interference [0040]- [0042] the UWB receiver may detect the WLAN signal and the information on the radio signal may indicate that the UWB receiver detected a potentially interfering radio signal, i.e., that a potentially interfering radio signal is present. In particular, the UWB receiver may be also configured to determine a frequency, a frequency band, and/or a type (here: WLAN signal in the 6 GHz band) of the radio signal in order to determine which of the available UWB channels is/are affected/interfered. In practice, the WLAN signal in the 6 GHz, e.g., only interferes with UWB channel 5 while UWB channel 9 is not interfered. Accordingly, the information on the radio signal may indicate whether a UWB channel and/or which UWB channel is interfered. For example, the information on the radio signal indicates that UWB channel 5 is interfered. Consequently, the UWB application may be adjusted such that UWB channel 5 is avoided, e.g., by selecting and/or switching to UWB channel 9 or any other available UWB channel in order to avoid interference with the detected radio signal.
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 2 and 14.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein modelling the detected WiFi-related interference includes determining at least one of
power level,
channel frequency[0040]- [0042] the UWB receiver may detect the WLAN signal and the information on the radio signal may indicate that the UWB receiver detected a potentially interfering radio signal, i.e., that a potentially interfering radio signal is present. In particular, the UWB receiver may be also configured to determine a frequency, a frequency band, and/or a type (here: WLAN signal in the 6 GHz band) of the radio signal in order to determine which of the available UWB channels is/are affected/interfered. In practice, the WLAN signal in the 6 GHz, e.g., only interferes with UWB channel 5 while UWB channel 9 is not interfered. Accordingly, the information on the radio signal may indicate whether a UWB channel and/or which UWB channel is interfered. For example, the information on the radio signal indicates that UWB channel 5 is interfered. Consequently, the UWB application may be adjusted such that UWB channel 5 is avoided, e.g., by selecting and/or switching to UWB channel 9 or any other available UWB channel in order to avoid interference with the detected radio signal),
average packet duration,
average package arrival rate, or
average packet interval.
Regarding claim 5, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 2.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein modelling the detected WiFi-related interference includes utilizing a trained machine learning model to generate a model of the WiFi-related interference.
[0010] discloses the UWB application comprises a UWB communication session between a vehicle and a user device. In such embodiments, adjusting the UWB application may comprise configuring the UWB communication session based on the information on the radio signal. In this way, (potential) data or information loss in the UWB communication may be avoided or at least reduced. In practice, a first and at least one second UWB channel may be available for the UWB communication session. In this case, the information on the radio signal may comprise information on an interference of the radio signal with at least one of the first and the second UWB channel. Configuring the UWB communication session, then, may comprise selecting one of the first and the second UWB channel for the UWB communication session based on the information on the interference with at least one of the first and the second UWB channel. This, e.g., allows to avoid interfered UWB channels and/or to select an interference-free or less interfered UWB channel for less data or information loss in the UWB communication session.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 13, respectively.
Kuelzer further discloses
performing a frame exchange check between the wireless communication device and the at least one second wireless communication device; and determining, based on the frame exchange check, a distance between the wireless communication device and the at least one second wireless communication device. [0060] the UWB communication session 230 serves ranging, i.e., determining a distance and/or position of the user device 210 relative to the vehicle 220 in order to make sure that the user device 210 cannot lock/unlock, start, and/or move the vehicle 220 from too far away (i.e., more than a certain maximum distance away) using the user device 210. To this end, as the skilled person having benefit from the present disclosure will understand, the user device 210 and the vehicle 220 may communicate UWB signals in the UWB communication session 230 and determine, based on the UWB signals, the distance and/or relative position of the user device 210.
Regarding claim 7, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 2.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein the time-slotted transmission schedule includes UWB transmission slots [0060]-[0061] the user device 210 and the vehicle 220 may communicate UWB signals in the UWB communication session 230 and determine, based on the UWB signals, the distance and/or relative position of the user device 210. However, the ranging may be interfered by the WUAN signal 242 of the WUAN device 240, e.g., when the UWB signals and the WUAN signal 242 are emitted simultaneously. In practice, e.g., the WUAN signal 242 interferes with the UWB signals such that the ranging fails. This may be avoided according to the proposed concept of interference mitigation. information on a potentially interfering radio signal is obtained. The information on the radio signal may indicate that the WUAN signal 242 may interfere with the UWB communication session 230. Consequently, based on this information, one or more of the proposed measures for interference mitigation may be taken. In doing so, e.g., the UWB communication session 230 is configured and/or timed/rescheduled such that the WUAN signal 242 at least interferes less with the UWB communication session 230, the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 both may be configured to take the proposed interference mitigation measures, e.g., the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 may be capable of selecting or changing the UWB channel and/or timing/rescheduling the UWB communication session 230. For example, [0012] obtaining information on a first time slot for the UWB communication session within a frame including the first and at least one alternative second time slot for the UWB communication session. In such cases, the method may further comprise obtaining, based on the information on the radio signal and the first time slot, information on interference of the radio signal with the first time slot. Then, configuring the UWB communication session may comprise selecting the second time slot for the UWB communication session based on the information on the interference with the first time slot. In this way, a less interfered time slot may be selected for the UWB communication in order to avoid or further reduce data or information loss in the UWB communication session.
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 1 and 13, respectively.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein adapting a time-slotted transmission schedule includes applying a transmission offset to one or more packet transmissions over the UWB communication link. 0060]-[0061] the user device 210 and the vehicle 220 may communicate UWB signals in the UWB communication session 230 and determine, based on the UWB signals, the distance and/or relative position of the user device 210. However, the ranging may be interfered by the WUAN signal 242 of the WUAN device 240, e.g., when the UWB signals and the WUAN signal 242 are emitted simultaneously. In practice, e.g., the WUAN signal 242 interferes with the UWB signals such that the ranging fails. This may be avoided according to the proposed concept of interference mitigation. information on a potentially interfering radio signal is obtained. The information on the radio signal may indicate that the WUAN signal 242 may interfere with the UWB communication session 230. Consequently, based on this information, one or more of the proposed measures for interference mitigation may be taken. In doing so, e.g., the UWB communication session 230 is configured and/or timed/rescheduled such that the WUAN signal 242 at least interferes less with the UWB communication session 230, the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 both may be configured to take the proposed interference mitigation measures, e.g., the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 may be capable of selecting or changing the UWB channel and/or timing/rescheduling the UWB communication session 230. For example, [0012] obtaining information on a first time slot for the UWB communication session within a frame including the first and at least one alternative second time slot for the UWB communication session. In such cases, the method may further comprise obtaining, based on the information on the radio signal and the first time slot, information on interference of the radio signal with the first time slot. Then, configuring the UWB communication session may comprise selecting the second time slot for the UWB communication session based on the information on the interference with the first time slot. In this way, a less interfered time slot may be selected for the UWB communication in order to avoid or further reduce data or information loss in the UWB communication session.
Regarding claim 9, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 8.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein the transmission offset is applied to packets transmitted by the wireless communication device over the UWB communication link0060]-[0061] the user device 210 and the vehicle 220 may communicate UWB signals in the UWB communication session 230 and determine, based on the UWB signals, the distance and/or relative position of the user device 210. However, the ranging may be interfered by the WUAN signal 242 of the WUAN device 240, e.g., when the UWB signals and the WUAN signal 242 are emitted simultaneously. In practice, e.g., the WUAN signal 242 interferes with the UWB signals such that the ranging fails. This may be avoided according to the proposed concept of interference mitigation. information on a potentially interfering radio signal is obtained. The information on the radio signal may indicate that the WUAN signal 242 may interfere with the UWB communication session 230. Consequently, based on this information, one or more of the proposed measures for interference mitigation may be taken. In doing so, e.g., the UWB communication session 230 is configured and/or timed/rescheduled such that the WUAN signal 242 at least interferes less with the UWB communication session 230, the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 both may be configured to take the proposed interference mitigation measures, e.g., the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 may be capable of selecting or changing the UWB channel and/or timing/rescheduling the UWB communication session 230. For example, [0012] obtaining information on a first time slot for the UWB communication session within a frame including the first and at least one alternative second time slot for the UWB communication session. In such cases, the method may further comprise obtaining, based on the information on the radio signal and the first time slot, information on interference of the radio signal with the first time slot. Then, configuring the UWB communication session may comprise selecting the second time slot for the UWB communication session based on the information on the interference with the first time slot. In this way, a less interfered time slot may be selected for the UWB communication in order to avoid or further reduce data or information loss in the UWB communication session.
Regarding claim 10 and 16, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 1 and 14, respectively.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein the wireless communication device operates as an UWB initiator for a ranging exchange with the at least one second wireless communication device. 0060]-[0061] the user device 210 and the vehicle 220 may communicate UWB signals in the UWB communication session 230 and determine, based on the UWB signals, the distance and/or relative position of the user device 210. However, the ranging may be interfered by the WUAN signal 242 of the WUAN device 240, e.g., when the UWB signals and the WUAN signal 242 are emitted simultaneously. In practice, e.g., the WUAN signal 242 interferes with the UWB signals such that the ranging fails. This may be avoided according to the proposed concept of interference mitigation. information on a potentially interfering radio signal is obtained. The information on the radio signal may indicate that the WUAN signal 242 may interfere with the UWB communication session 230. Consequently, based on this information, one or more of the proposed measures for interference mitigation may be taken. In doing so, e.g., the UWB communication session 230 is configured and/or timed/rescheduled such that the WUAN signal 242 at least interferes less with the UWB communication session 230, the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 both may be configured to take the proposed interference mitigation measures, e.g., the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 may be capable of selecting or changing the UWB channel and/or timing/rescheduling the UWB communication session 230. For example, [0012] obtaining information on a first time slot for the UWB communication session within a frame including the first and at least one alternative second time slot for the UWB communication session. In such cases, the method may further comprise obtaining, based on the information on the radio signal and the first time slot, information on interference of the radio signal with the first time slot. Then, configuring the UWB communication session may comprise selecting the second time slot for the UWB communication session based on the information on the interference with the first time slot. In this way, a less interfered time slot may be selected for the UWB communication in order to avoid or further reduce data or information loss in the UWB communication session.
Regarding claim 12, Kuelzer et al US20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Kuelzer further discloses wherein detecting WiFi-related interference is performed prior to a two-way ranging (TWR) round or between TWR rounds. [0040]the information on the radio signal may be obtained prior to executing of the UWB application. To this end, the UWB receiver, e.g., checks whether a potentially interfering radio signal is present before the UWB application is initiated, for example, before the UWB communication session is established. Accordingly, this may be understood as “UWB-based” LBT. UWB-based LBT, e.g., allows to adjust the UWB application in such a way that no interference occurs at all, i.e., that interference is avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kuelzer et al US20250365033A1 in view of ALDANA et al US20230168336A1
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Kuelzer et alUS20250365033A1 discloses all features with respect to claims10 and 18, respectively.
Kuelzer does not disclose wherein the wireless communication device is a key fob.
ALDANA et al US20230168336A1 discloses wherein the wireless communication device is a key fob. [0064] The user device 704 may be a mobile device, a keyfob, a tag or token, etc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuelzer by including wherein the wireless communication device is a key fob, as taught by ALDANA, in order to determine the distance between the devices (see ALDANA [0049]-[0052]) .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument:
Applicant argued that the references cited do not disclose " sending information from the wireless communication device to the at least one second wireless communication device, the information indicating when to transmit to avoid the WiFi- related interference ",as cited in claim 1.
Examiner’s response:
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Kuelzer discloses the limitation “sending information from the wireless communication device to the at least one second wireless communication device, the information indicating when to transmit to avoid the WiFi- related interference” (fig. 2 and [0059]-[0060] discloses user device 210 and a vehicle 220 communicating with each other using UWB communication session230 using first time slot and second time slot, wherein user device 210 and a vehicle 220 determine the existence of the interference in first time slot with WUAN signal 242 of a WUAN device 240 , user device 210 and a vehicle 220 adapt the UWB transmission and/or reception for interference mitigation, wherein the user device 210 as well as the vehicle 220 selecting the second time slot for communication between each other, to avoid interference causes by WUAN signal 242 of a WUAN device 240 .
Based on the fact, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the prior art cited does not teach the limitation of the independent claim 1, as argued by applicants. The other Independent Claims, recite features analogous to those of Claim 1, the cited passages teach the other independent claims, as well. Furthermore, the cited passages teach dependent claims, as well.
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478