Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: -In claim 10 stated “ UWB ” , applicant should define the definition of “ UWB ” as (“ ultra-wide band ) . -In claim 12 stated “ TWR ”, applicant should define the definition of “ TWR ” . Appropriate corrections are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-5,7-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al. -15 is cancelled. Regarding claim 1 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses Method of operating a data frame exchanging communication device, comprising the steps: - checking an on-air communication between an initiator and at least one responder wherein either the initiator or the at least one responder is part of the data frame exchanging communication device, for interference of a data frame exchanging interferer device on said on-air communication (fig. 1 and [0016] -[ 0017] discloses AP 110 A communicates wirelessly with one or more wireless stations (STAs),wherein the AP 110A- support a WiFi network using the 6 GHz band. The UWB interferer 130 transmits using UWB channel 5, creating interference in the 6 GHz band , wherein the WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130 of the communication of AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)) ; and - based on determined interference, adapting a transmission scheme of the data frame exchanging communication device in order to minimize said interference ( fig. 1 and [ 0016]-[0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 13 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses Data frame exchanging wireless communication device, comprising: - an interference detector; - a communication unit (fig.2 and [0022] -[ 0026] discloses The controller 250 includes a processor 252, a memory 260, and network components 270. In an embodiment, the controller 250 corresponds with the WLC 120, The processor 252 generally retrieves and executes programming instructions stored in the memory 260, wherein the UWB detection service 262 as being located in the memory 260, where [0017] UWB detection service configured to facilitate detecting UWB interferers using spectral processing), and - a controller adapted to check for interference between the data frame exchanging wireless communication device and a data frame exchanging interferer device (fig. 1 and [0016] -[ 0017] discloses AP 110 A communicates wirelessly with one or more wireless stations (STAs),wherein the AP 110A- support a WiFi network using the 6 GHz band. The UWB interferer 130 transmits using UWB channel 5, creating interference in the 6 GHz band , wherein the WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130 of the communication of AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)) ; and, depending on detected interference, to adapt a transmission scheme of the data frame exchanging wireless communication device for the purpose of minimizing interference (fig. 1 and [ 0016] -[ 0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 2, SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1 SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the determination of interference is done by modelling the interference (fig. 4, steps 402- 416, [0029] -[ 0042] discloses he UWB detection service generates spectrograms. the spectrograms relate to multiple FFT outputs, over time, spaced at a specified period. The spectrogram used to identify UWB interferes, for example in fig. 4, steps 402- 416 , the UWB detection service identify UWB interferes using one or more key characteristics: (1) power variation (e.g., across 160 MHz channels 65, 97, 129), (2) power slope (e.g., between 160 MHz channel 1 and 160 MHz channel 33 and between 160 MHz channel 161 and 193), (4) total power (e.g., in channel 1 and 193), (5) carrier leakage (e.g., power before the signal turns on at 6489 MHz on FFT samples), and (6) timestamps for the start of on pulses and the period of on transmissions . Regarding claim 3 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 2. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the determination of interference is done by predicting the interference ( fig. 4, steps 402- 416 ,[0029]-[0042] discloses he UWB detection service generates spectrograms. the spectrograms relate to multiple FFT outputs, over time, spaced at a specified period. The spectrogram used to identify UWB interferes, for example in fig. 4, steps 402- 416 , the UWB detection service identify UWB interferes using one or more key characteristics: (1) power variation (e.g., across 160 MHz channels 65, 97, 129), (2) power slope (e.g., between 160 MHz channel 1 and 160 MHz channel 33 and between 160 MHz channel 161 and 193), (4) total power (e.g., in channel 1 and 193), (5) carrier leakage (e.g., power before the signal turns on at 6489 MHz on FFT samples), and (6) timestamps for the start of on pulses and the period of on transmissions . Regarding claim 4 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 2. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein statistics of the on-air communication is created which contains at least one of the following parameters: power level, channel frequency ( fig. 4, steps 402- 416,[0029]-[0042] discloses he UWB detection service generates spectrograms. the spectrograms relate to multiple FFT outputs, over time, spaced at a specified period. The spectrogram used to identify UWB interferes, for example in fig. 4, steps 402- 416 , the UWB detection service identify UWB interferes using one or more key characteristics: (1) power variation (e.g., across 160 MHz channels 65, 97, 129), (2) power slope (e.g., between 160 MHz channel 1 and 160 MHz channel 33 and between 160 MHz channel 161 and 193), (4) total power (e.g., in channel 1 and 193), (5) carrier leakage (e.g., power before the signal turns on at 6489 MHz on FFT samples), and (6) timestamps for the start of on pulses and the period of on transmissions, average packet duration, average package arrival rate, average packet interval, which is used to model interference [0015] The captured spectrograms can then be analyzed for the max or average power seen across the spectrograms for each 160 MHz channel. An UWB interferer present on channel 5, for example, will have one or more of the following key characteristics: (1) Flat power across 160 MHz channels 65, 97, 129, (2) A significant increase in power between 160 MHz channel 1 and 160 MHz channel 33, (3) A significant decrease in power between 160 MHz channel 161 and 160 MHz channel 193, (4) Low power in channel 1 and 193, (5) Detectible carrier leakage at 6489 MHz, and (6) a repetitive on period that is a multiple of 1 ms. The presence of these characteristics can indicate that an UWB signal is interfering on channel 5, and the wireless network can be configured to improve performance by avoiding the interferer. For example, a wireless local area network (WLAN) controller (WLC) can configure a WiFi network for a number of APs to avoid the UWB interferer. Channel 5 is merely one example, and one or more of the techniques discussed below can be applied to any suitable band and channel . Regarding claim 5 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 2. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein a trained machine learning model is used to create a model of the interference. (see fig.5 and ( fig. 4, steps 402- 416, [0029] -[ 0042]) discloses he UWB detection service generates spectrograms. the spectrograms relate to multiple FFT outputs, over time, spaced at a specified period. The spectrogram used to identify UWB interferes, for example in fig. 4, steps 402- 416 , the UWB detection service identify UWB interferes using one or more key characteristics: (1) power variation (e.g., across 160 MHz channels 65, 97, 129), (2) power slope (e.g., between 160 MHz channel 1 and 160 MHz channel 33 and between 160 MHz channel 161 and 193), (4) total power (e.g., in channel 1 and 193), (5) carrier leakage (e.g., power before the signal turns on at 6489 MHz on FFT samples), and (6) timestamps for the start of on pulses and the period of on transmissions. Regarding claim 7 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 2. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein a transmission time scheduling is adapted such that frames of the data frame exchanging communication device do not overlap with frames of the data frame exchanging interferer device [ 0015] The captured spectrograms can then be analyzed for the max or average power seen across the spectrograms for each 160 MHz channel. An UWB interferer present on channel 5, for example, will have one or more of the following key characteristics: (1) Flat power across 160 MHz channels 65, 97, 129, (2) A significant increase in power between 160 MHz channel 1 and 160 MHz channel 33, (3) A significant decrease in power between 160 MHz channel 161 and 160 MHz channel 193, (4) Low power in channel 1 and 193, (5) Detectible carrier leakage at 6489 MHz, and (6) a repetitive on period that is a multiple of 1 ms. The presence of these characteristics can indicate that an UWB signal is interfering on channel 5, and the wireless network can be configured to improve performance by avoiding the interferer. For example, a wireless local area network (WLAN) controller (WLC) can configure a WiFi network for a number of APs to avoid the UWB interferer. Channel 5 is merely one example, and one or more of the techniques discussed below can be applied to any suitable band and channel , for example, [0031]-[0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . . Regarding claim 8 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein a transmission offset of specified data frames of the data frame exchanging communication device are adapted for the purpose of avoiding interference [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110A and the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . . Regarding claim 9, SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 8. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein a time schedule of the initiator or a time schedule of the at least one responder or time schedules of the initiator and the at least one responder are adapted [0031]-[0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . . Regarding claim 10 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the method is performed for a UWB device as a data frame exchanging communication device (fig. 1 and [ 0016] -[ 0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 11 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the method is performed for a WiFi device as a data frame exchanging interferer device (fig. 1 and [ 0016] -[ 0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 12 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 10. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the checking for interference is done at least in following circumstances: in an unused period after TWR rounds, during the message exchange by using existing UWB hardware ( fig. 1 and [ 0016]-[0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer , before every TWR round, or continuously if energy is no object. Regarding claim 14 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 13. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the data frame exchanging communication device is a UWB device and wherein the controller is adapted to check for interference with a WiFi device as data frame exchanging interferer device (fig. 1 and [ 0016] -[ 0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 17 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 2. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein a transmission offset of specified data frames of the data frame exchanging communication device are adapted for the purpose of avoiding interference (fig. 1 and [ 0016] -[ 0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110A and the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 18 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 2. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the method is performed for a UWB device as a data frame exchanging communication device (fig. 1 and [ 0016] -[ 0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 19 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 2. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein the method is performed for a WiFi device as a data frame exchanging interferer device ( fig. 1 and [ 0016]-[0017] The WLC 120 detects the UWB interferer 130of the AP 110A and one or more wireless stations (STAs)),. The WLC 120 configures the wireless communication network to avoid interference with the UWB interferer 130 and improve performance, for example, [0031] -[ 0332] discloses the a WLC detect the UWB interferer to AP 110Aand the STAs 102A-N; the WLC instructs AP to stop using the identified channel or to make using that channel less likely or The STAs to modify their own operation to improve network performance by avoiding the UWB interferer . Regarding claim 20 , SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 3. SILVERMAN further discloses wherein statistics of the on-air communication is created which contains at least one of the following parameters : power level, channel frequency (fig. 4, steps 402- 416, [0029] -[ 0042] discloses he UWB detection service generates spectrograms. the spectrograms relate to multiple FFT outputs, over time, spaced at a specified period. The spectrogram used to identify UWB interferes, for example in fig. 4, steps 402- 416 , the UWB detection service identify UWB interferes using one or more key characteristics: (1) power variation (e.g., across 160 MHz channels 65, 97, 129), (2) power slope (e.g., between 160 MHz channel 1 and 160 MHz channel 33 and between 160 MHz channel 161 and 193), (4) total power (e.g., in channel 1 and 193), (5) carrier leakage (e.g., power before the signal turns on at 6489 MHz on FFT samples), and (6) timestamps for the start of on pulses and the period of on transmissions , average packet duration, average package arrival rate, average packet interval, which is used to model interference. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al in view of ALDANA et al US20230168336A1 Regarding claims 6 and 16, SILVERMAN et al.US 2024/0187115 Al discloses all features with respect to claims1 and 2, respectively. SILVERMAN does not disclose wherein a frame exchange check between the initiator and the at least one responder is performed and, based on this check, a distance between the initiator and the at least one responder is determined. ALDANA et al US20230168336A1 discloses wherein a frame exchange check between the initiator and the at least one responder is performed and, based on this check, a distance between the initiator and the at least one responder is determined [0049] -[ 0052] the first device 302 determines the range (or distance) between the first device 302 and the peripheral device 304 based on the TOF. For example, the first device 302 may be configured to compute the range or distance between the first device 302 and the peripheral device 304 by multiplying the TOF and the speed of light (e.g., TOF×c ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang by including wherein a frame exchange check between the initiator and the at least one responder is performed and, based on this check, a distance between the initiator and the at least one responder is determined, as taught by ALDANA , in order to determine the distance between the devices (see ALDANA [0049]-[0052] ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ABDELTIF AJID whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7749 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9 am -5 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Joseph Avellino can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3905 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478