DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Request for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.1141
This action is a Non-Final action on the merits in response to the application filed on 07/13/2026.
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 13 have been amended. Claims 17 and 18 have been added. Claims 1 – 18 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment has been considered.
Applicant’s amendment is sufficient to overcome the claim objection set forth in the prior office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks have been considered.
Applicant argues, “The amended claim therefore applies any alleged coordination of human activity through a concrete technological system that controls a laundry machine and automatically responds to sensor-derived information regarding the machine's physical operation. These limitations impose meaningful limits on the claim and integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two.” (pg. 3)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the additional elements of terminals for clients, delivery personnel, laundry machine, a laundry machine and a server terminal and laundry machine with each terminal, a server terminal, each terminal comprising one or more processors in communication with data storage. The terminals are generic computer components generally recited as performing generic computer functions (see Spec ¶0028).
For instance, the steps of receiving a service request from a client terminal, directing the delivery person to pick up the articles, receiving a status signal from a laundry machine terminal, directing the delivery person to collect laundered articles by communicating service request, communicating a machine command to execute a laundering cycle according to wash mode, receiving a status signal, automatically communicating collection instruction to delivery person an directing the delivery person are sending/receiving data (e.g. data gathering activity). The step of determining a delivery person involves analyzing data (e.g. data gathering activity) . Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components (e.g. a terminal w/ a processor). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (e.g. a processor). Examiner notes that the limitations with communication terminals and causing execution of the laundry cycle on the laundry machine generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (laundry machine and laundry machine terminal). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites, “in response to the received status signal indicating completion of laundering,…” The Specification does not explicitly disclose ‘a status signal’. The Specification does disclose receiving a status from a laundry machine (see ¶0010). The language is not consistent with the Specification.
Claims 2-8 and 17 and Claims 10-16 and 18 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1 and Claim 9 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites:
receiving a service request from [a client terminal], the service request comprising a laundry pickup address, a laundry delivery address, and a selected wash mode;
determining a delivery person to respond to the service request;
directing the delivery person to pick up the articles to be laundered by communicating the service request to a [delivery personnel terminal] associated with the delivery person;
receiving, [by a server terminal from the laundry machine terminal], a status signal generated based on sensor data indicated a status of the laundering cycle;
in response to the received status signal indicating completion of laundering, automatically communicating, [by the server terminal,] a collection instruction to [the delivery personnel terminal the collection instruction indicating to the delivery person that the laundered articles are to be collected; and
directing the delivery person to deliver the laundered articles to the laundry delivery address.
The limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities related to managing personal behavior or interactions between people, but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. a processor). For example, receiving a service request, determining a delivery person, directed delivery person to pick up laundry, etc., reflect managing interactions between people (e.g. client and delivery person). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Independent Claim 9 substantially recite the subject matter of Claim 1 and also include the abstract idea identified above. The dependent claims encompass the same abstract ideas. For instance, Claim 2 is directed to receiving a further service request (data gathering/ send/receive), Claim 3 is directed to recording images (data gathering), Claim 4 is directed to receiving a status of laundry machine, Claim 5 is directed to receiving selection of wash modes, Claim 6 is directed to further directions for delivery person, Claim 7 is directed to predicting demand of laundry machines; Claim 8 is directed to adjusting a pricing of service and Claim 17 is directed to correcting errors. Claims 10-18 substantially recite the subject matter of Claims 2-8 and 17 and encompass the same abstract idea. Thus, the dependent claims further limit the abstract concept found in the independent claims.
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional elements of terminals for clients, delivery personnel, laundry machine terminal, laundry machine and a server terminal. Claim 9 recites the additional elements of a server terminals, terminals for clients, delivery personnel, laundry machine terminal and laundry machine with each terminal, a server terminal, comprising one or more processors in communication with data storage. These are generic computer components generally recited as performing generic computer functions (see Spec ¶0028).
For instance, the steps of receiving a service request from a client terminal, directing the delivery person to pick up the articles, receiving a status signal from a laundry machine terminal, directing the delivery person to collect laundered articles by communicating service request, communicating a machine command to execute a laundering cycle according to wash mode, receiving a status signal, automatically communicating collection instruction to delivery person an directing the delivery person are sending/receiving data (e.g. data gathering activity). The step of determining a delivery person involves analyzing data (e.g. data gathering activity) . Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components (e.g. a terminal w/ a processor). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (e.g. a processor). Examiner notes that the limitations with communication terminals and causing execution of the laundry cycle on the laundry machine generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (laundry machine and laundry machine terminal as the claims are directed to automated coordination of pickup and delivery for laundry services. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated above, the additional elements of a server, client, delivery person, and laundry machine terminals, laundry machine and each terminal comprising one or more processors are considered generic computer components performing generic computer functions that amounts to no more than instructions to implement the judicial exception, which does not provide an inventive concept.
The steps of receiving a service request from a client terminal, directing the delivery person to pickup, receiving a status from a laundry machine terminal, directing the delivery person to collect laundered articles and directing the delivery person to deliver are sending/receiving data are considered extra-solution activity in Step 2A, this has been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background does not provide any indication that terminals including one or more processors is anything other than a generic computer components. The court decision i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be ineligible for the same reason above and the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract. The additional limitations of the dependent claims when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination and individually adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use generic computer components, to "apply" the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, Claims 1-18 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10,13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al. (US 2013/0218727) In view of Patterson et al. (US 2021/0108351) further in view of Aborishade (US 2019/0347601).
Claim 1:
Lutnick discloses:
A method automated coordination of pickup and delivery of laundry services for laundering articles at a self-service laundromat, the method comprising: (see at least ¶0283 and ¶0290, requesting laundry services)
receiving a service request from a client terminal, the service request comprising a laundry pickup address, a laundry delivery address, and a selected wash mode; (see at least Abstract, receiving a request; see also ¶0263, service requested; see also ¶0286, customer address; see also ¶0105)
determining a delivery person to respond to the service request; (see at least ¶0286, the system uses determines user location and determines which providers are within the radius; see also ¶0105, pickup or delivery and delivery agent)
directing the delivery person to pick up the articles to be laundered by communicating the service request to a delivery personnel terminal associated with the delivery person; (see at least ¶0106, sending communications to delivery agent)
While Lutnick discloses the above limitations, Lutnick does not disclose the following limitations; however, Patterson does disclose:
communicating, by the delivery personnel terminal to a laundry machine terminal associated with a laundry machine, a machine command identifying the selected wash mode; (see at least ¶0007, user may initiate the start of operation thru a user input on the machine control user interface; see also ¶0053; see also ¶0145-¶00150 and Figures 3A-3D and associated text, user controls washer settings and start)
causing, by the laundry machine terminal in response to the machine command, the laundry machine to execute a laundering cycle according to the selected wash mode; (see at least ¶0007, user may initiate the start of operation thru a user input on the machine control user interface; see also ¶0053; see also ¶0145-¶00150 and Figures 3A-3D and associated text, user controls washer settings and start)
receiving, by a server terminal from the laundry machine terminal, a status signal generated based on sensor data indicated a status of the laundering cycle; (see at least ¶0058-¶0059, notification module generates notifications to be sent to client device; see also ¶0067; see also ¶0149)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick with the washer machine control using a device of Patterson to facilitate the controlling, managing and operation of laundry machines (see abstract).
While Lutnick and Patterson disclose the above limitations, neither explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Aborishade does disclose:
in response to the received status signal indicating completion of laundering, (see at least ¶0044, laundry client has set a preference indicating a desire for the completed laundry to be picked up to be delivered back to the laundry client, once notified then the server immediately begins to identify a new driver to pick up laundry; see also ¶0056-¶0057 )
directing the delivery person to deliver the laundered articles to the laundry delivery address. (see at least ¶0044, laundry client has set a preference indicating a desire for the completed laundry to be picked up to be delivered back to the laundry client, once notified then the server immediately begins to identify a new driver to pick up laundry; see also ¶0056-¶0057 )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick with the washer machine control using a device of Patterson and identifying a driver once laundry is complete of Aborishade to facilitate contacting drivers for pick-up service(see Abstract).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the washer communicating completion with the server as taught in Aborishade with the laundry machine communicating completion with the server of Patterson since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the washer performing communication for the laundry machine performing the communication.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Claim 2:
While Lutnick, Patterson and Aborishade disclose claim 1, Lutnick nor Aborishade explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Patterson does disclose:
further comprising receiving a further service request, and wherein while the laundry machine is operating, communicating the further service request to the delivery person. (see at least ¶0088, requesting additional services)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick and the washer machine control using a device of Patterson with the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade to facility communication and service provision between individuals needed laundry services (see Abstract).
Claim 5:
While Lutnick, Patterson and Aborishade disclose claim 1, Lutnick nor Aborishade explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Patterson does disclose:
wherein the selected wash mode is received from the client terminal and communicated by the server terminal to the delivery personnel terminal for use in generating the machine command (see at least ¶0007, user may initiate the start of operation thru a user input on the machine control user interface; see also ¶0053; see also ¶0145-¶00150 and Figures 3A-3D and associated text, user controls washer settings and start)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick and the washer machine control using a device of Patterson with the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade to facility communication and service provision between individuals needed laundry services (see Abstract).
Claim 6:
While Lutnick, Patterson and Aborishade disclose claim 1, Lutnick nor Patterson explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Aborishade does disclose:
wherein the service request further comprises directions to the delivery person to iron, fold, pack, or a combination thereof, the articles. (see at least ¶0030, folding and ironing)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick and the performing of laundry service of Patterson with the additional services of Aborishade to since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 9, 10, 13 and 14 for a system (Lutnick Figure1) substantially recites the subject matter of Claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al. (US 2013/0218727) in view of Patterson et al. (US 2021/0108351)further in view of Aborishade (US 2019/0347601) further in view of Tae (KR 20240023951) further in view of Bover et al. (US 2021/0079579).
Claim 3:
While Lutnick , Patterson and Aborishade disclose claim 1, neither explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, Tae does disclose:
wherein the delivery personnel terminal comprises a video recording device to records images or videos of the pickup of the articles to be laundered, [operation of the laundry machine], and delivery of the articles to be laundered. (see at least pg. 5, para 5, user can view captured video of laundry provided by laundry terminal)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick, the control of the laundry machine of Patterson and the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade with the capturing of video picked up laundry of Tae in order to effectively track and confirm laundry pickup/drop-off.
While Tae discloses the above limitation, Tae does not explicitly disclose operation of the laundry machine; however, Bover does disclose:
wherein the delivery personnel terminal comprises a video recording device to records images or videos of [the pickup of the articles to be laundered], operation of the laundry machine, and [delivery of the articles to be laundered. ] (see at least ¶0015, recording of activity of the different washing machines; see also ¶0025)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick, the control of the laundry machine of Patterson and the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade and the capturing of video picked up laundry of Tae with the recorded images of washing/drying machines of Bover to provide machine and pattern tracking (see ¶0025).
Claim 3 for a system (Lutnick Figure1) substantially recites the subject matter of Claim 11 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al. (US 2013/0218727) in view of Patterson et al. (US 2021/0108351) further in view of Aborishade (US 2019/0347601) further in view of Hubig et al. (US 2008/0072448).
Claim 4:
While Lutnick ,Patterson and Aborishade disclose claim 1, neither explicitly discloses the following limitation; however Hubig does disclose:
further comprising receiving a status from the laundry machine terminal associated with a dryer subsequent to the delivery person loading the articles to be laundered into the dryer. (see at least ¶0017, alerting laundry personnel of dryer status)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick, the controlling of the laundry machine of Patterson and the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade with the dryer status monitoring of Hubig to assist in facilitating laundry service.
Claim 4 for a system (Lutnick Figure1) substantially recites the subject matter of Claim 12 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 7, 8, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al. (US 2013/0218727) in view of Patterson et al. (US 2021/0108351) further in view of Aborishade (US 2019/0347601) further in view of Lerro (US 12165232).
Claim 7:
While Lutnick , Patterson and Aborishade disclose claim 1, and Patterson further discloses further comprising predicting demand of [the laundry machines at the self-service laundromat based on historical usage data of the laundry machines and time of day patterns (see at least ¶0007 and ¶0089), neither Lutnick , Patterson and Aborishade explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Lerro does disclose:
further comprising predicting demand of [the laundry machines at the self-service laundromat based on historical usage data of the laundry machines and time of day patterns] using a predictive model. (see at least column 6, lines 59-65, predicted behavior can be used to adjust predicted costs; see also column 19, lines 4-10, demand prediction model)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick, the control of the laundry machine of Patterson and the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade with the predicting demand of service of Lerro to help facilitate pricing adjustments based on demand.
Claim 8:
While Lutnick, Patterson , Aborishade and Lee disclose claim 7, neither Lutnick nor Patterson explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Lerro does disclose:
further comprising adjusting a pricing for the service request based on the predicted demand. (see at least column 6, lines 59-65, predicted behavior can be used to adjust predicted costs; see also column 19, lines 4-10, demand prediction model)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick, the control of the laundry machine of Patterson and the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade with the predicting demand of service of Lero to help facilitate pricing adjustments based on demand.
Claims 15 and 16 for a system (Lutnick Figure1) substantially recites the subject matter of Claims 7 and 8 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 7, 8, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al. (US 2013/0218727) in view of Patterson et al. (US 2021/0108351) further in view of Aborishade (US 2019/0347601) further in view of Kim et a. (US
Claim 17:
While Lutnick, Patterson and Aborishade disclose claim 1, neither explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Kim does disclose:
further comprising comparing, by the delivery personnel terminal, the selected wash mode with a setting of the laundry machine and, in response to identifying a discrepancy between the selected wash mode and the setting, communicating an instruction to correct the setting of the laundry machine. (see at least ¶0020, user may remotely change a setting or value of an appliance upon determining an error; see also ¶0137)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the identifying of providers to perform services including laundry of Lutnick, the control of the laundry machine of Patterson and the determining if drop of is needed and identifying a driver of Aborishade with the remote ability to change operational setting of Kim to quickly identify and resolve issues with appliances.
Claim 18 for a system substantially recites the subject matter of Claim 17 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered relevant but not applied:
Wahab et al. (US 2024/0185146) discloses notify/instruct the selected laundry provider for picking up the laundry from a pickup location and delivering the items once laundry service is complete.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Renae Feacher whose telephone number is 571-270-5485. The Examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Beth Boswell can be reached at 571-272-6737.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to 571-273-8300.
Hand delivered responses should be brought to the United States Patent and Trademark Office Customer Service Window:
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/Renae Feacher/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625