DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite “about” with regards to a value however the instant specification does not define the metes and bounds for ‘about.’ Thus, the term is taken to have a deviation of 10% as is standard in the art.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, and 5 objected to because of the following informalities: please correct the compositions to include subscripted numbers (i.e. Na2O, Al2O3, etc.). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veselovskaya et al. “A Novel Process for Renewable Methane Production…” (provided by the Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Veselovskaya teaches a system comprising (Figure 2):
a) At least one reactor comprising an inlet for H2 and air;
b) A stream of target gas (air) in communication with one inlet containing oxygen and carbon dioxide (section 2.4);
c) A stream of desorption (recirculation gas) in communication with at least one inlet;
d) A dual functional material (catalyst and composite comprising Ru/Al2O3- and K2CO3/Al2O3-) inside the reactor that further includes:
e) A carrier portion comprising the alumina;
f) An adsorbent potion comprising K2CO3/Al2O3- to absorb the carbon dioxide until saturation (composite sorbent, section 2.2 and 2.4, second column);
g) A catalyst portion placed adjacent to the adsorbing portion and comprising the Ru/Al2O3- (section 2.1 and 2.3) that converts the desorbed carbon dioxide into methane with a reactive gas comprising hydrogen (section 2.4, second column)
h) The temperature of the carbon capture occurs at ambient temperature (Table 1, No. 1);
i) The target gas is air (abstract, section 2.4).
Veselovskaya does not explicitly teach the amount of the dual function material includes less than about 0.1% by weight catalyst and between about 6% and about 10% by weight adsorbent. However, the amount of catalyst and absorbent used in the reactor is considered a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 2, the carrier includes Al2O3 (section 1, 2.1 and 2.2).
Regarding claim 4, the catalyst includes Ru (section 1, 2.1 and 2.2).
Regarding claim 6, Veselovskaya teaches the reactor was purged with hydrogen following the adsorption and desorption (section 2.4, 3rd paragraph), thus it is taken that at least 15% hydrogen is introduced. Alternatively, the amount of hydrogen is considered a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 7, the reactor comprises an outlet that includes the methane product (Figure 2).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. US Publication 2024/0139705.
Regarding claim 3, Veselovskaya teaches the adsorbent includes Na2CO3 and K2CO3 but nodes not explicitly teach using Na2O for the adsorbent. However, Na2O is a commonly used adsorbent to capture carbon dioxide in ambient temperatures as done in Gupta ([0062]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill it in the art to use known effective materials for direct carbon capture.
Regarding claim 5, Veselovskaya does not explicitly teach the dual function material includes: less than about 0.1% by weight Ru; and between about 6% and about 10% by weight Na2O. However, the amount of catalyst and absorbent used in the reactor is considered a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts by routine experimentation.
Conclusion
/SHARON PREGLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772