DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1 – 6) in the reply filed on February 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Invention II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 1 and 6 recite the limitation “an electrical box” in the first paragraph of the body of the claims. It is unclear as to whether Applicant intends the limitations to refer to the “electrical junction box” previously set forth in the preamble of the claims, or whether Applicant intends to set forth a second ‘electrical box’ which is separate and independent from the ‘electrical junction box’ previously set forth. For the purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret the limitations so as to refer to the ‘electrical junction box’ previously recited in the preamble of the claims.
Each of claims 1 and 6 further recite the limitation “a knockout seal” in the last paragraph of the claims. It is unclear as to whether Applicant intends the limitations to refer to the “knockout seal” previously set forth in the preamble of the claims, or whether Applicant intends to set forth a second ‘knockout seal’ which is separate and independent from the ‘knockout seal’ previously set forth. For the purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret the limitations so as to refer to the ‘knockout seal’ previously recited in the preamble of the claims.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0243681).
As to claim 1, Chen teaches a device (abstract), said device comprising: a tool having a shaft extending between a domed grip and a plate wherein said domed grip is configured to be gripped by a user thereby facilitating said shaft to be directed towards an electrical junction box (figures 2 and 3, element 10 being the ‘shaft,’ element 11 being the ‘domed grip,’ and element 12 being the ‘plate’; paragraphs 14 – 15); and a magnet being attached to said plate wherein said magnet is configured to magnetically engage a knockout seal thereby facilitating the knout seal to be installed into an open seal in the electrical junction box (figures 2 and 3, element 1213 being the ‘magnet’; paragraph 15).
As to claim 2, Chen teaches that said domed grip has a top surface and a bottom surface (figures 1 and 3, top surface of element 11 being the ‘top surface’ and bottom surface of element 11 being the ‘bottom surface’); said top surface is concavely arcuate with respect to said bottom surface (figures 1 and 3, top and bottom surfaces of element 11); said bottom surface is planar (figures 1 and 3, bottom surface of element 11); said plate has an upper surface and a lower surface (figures 1 and 3, upper surface of element 12 being the ‘upper surface’ and element 1212 being the ‘lower surface’; paragraphs 15 and 16); and said shaft extends between said bottom surface of said domed grip and said upper surface of said plate such that said upper surface of said plate lines on a plane being oriented parallel to said bottom surface of said domed grip (figures 1 and 2, element 10, bottom surface of element 11, and upper surface of element 12).
As to claim 3, Chen teaches that said plate has a well extending into said lower surface of said plate (figure 2, element 1211 being the ‘well’; paragraph 17); and said well is centrally located on said lower surface (figure 2, element 1211; paragraph 17).
As to claim 4, Chen teaches that said magnet is positioned in said well in said lower surface of said plate having said magnet completely filling said well (figures 2 and 3, elements 1213 and 1211; paragraph 17).
As to claim 5, Chen teaches that said magnet has an exposed surface being aligned with said lower surface of said plate (figures 1 – 3, lower surface of element 1213 being the ‘exposed surface’ and element 1212; paragraph 17).
As to claim 6, the discussion of claims 1 – 5 are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726