DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 14-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schiebel et al. (WO2009137579).
Regarding claim 1, Schiebel discloses a vehicle (100) (fig 1), comprising: a car body (body of 100, fig 1); wheels (104) rotatably supported by the car body (fig 1); a steering wheel steering (182) the wheels ([0081]); a seat (176) more rearward than the steering wheel (fig 1); and a dashboard including a dashboard body (203, 215) (fig 1), a left cup holder (643, left, fig 41), and a right cup holder (643, right, fig 41), the dashboard body being more forward than the seat (fig 1), the left cup holder being located to the left of a middle in a vehicle-width direction (fig 41), the right cup holder being located to the right of the middle in the vehicle-width direction (fig 41).
Regarding claim 4, Schiebel further discloses that he left cup holder is in symmetric alignment with the right cup holder with respect to the middle in the vehicle-width direction (fig 41).
Regarding claim 5, Schiebel further discloses that a steering column (183) supporting the steering wheel on one side in the vehicle-width direction (fig 1, fig 13), wherein the left cup holder or the right cup holder on the one side in the vehicle- width direction is located more outward than the steering column in the vehicle-width direction (fig 4).
Regarding claim 6, Schiebel further discloses a steering column (183) supporting the steering wheel (fig ), wherein opening perimeters of the left cup holder and the right cup holder are located above a root (626) of the steering column with respect to the dashboard (fig 41) ([00144]).
Regarding claim 7, Schiebel further discloses that opening perimeters of the left cup holder and the right cup holder are located below a top of the dashboard (fig 41).
Regarding claim 8. Schiebel further discloses that the dashboard body includes an upper dashboard body (203) (figs 40-41), and a lower dashboard body (215) under the upper dashboard body (figs 40-41), and the upper dashboard body includes the left cup holder or the right cup holder (figs 40-41).
Regarding claim 9, Schiebel further discloses that he dashboard body includes a support recess (630) supporting an external apparatus in a standing position ([00145]), the support recess being more forward than the left cup holder or the right cup holder (figs 40-41).
Regarding claim 10, Schiebel further discloses that an opening perimeter of the support recess is located above an opening perimeter of the left cup holder or the right cup holder (figs 40-41).
Regarding claim 11, Schiebel further discloses a partition wall (wall between 630 and 643, figs 40-41) is located between the support recess and the left cup holder or the right cup holder (figs 40-41).
Regarding claim 14, Schiebel further discloses a holder (634) detachably holding an external apparatus (content of glove box, [00145]) above an opening perimeter of the left cup holder or the right cup holder (figs 39-41, [00145]).
Regarding claim 15, Schiebel further discloses that the holder is located at a position different from a position of the left cup holder or the right cup holder in a plan view (figs 39-41).
Regarding claim 18, Schiebel further discloses front pillars (214) (fig 1), wherein an outside portion of the seat in the vehicle-width direction is opened (fig 1), and the left cup holder or the right cup holder is located more rearward than the front pillars (figs 1, 39-41), and is opened at a position to be observed from above in a plan view (figs 1, 39-41).
Regarding claim 19, Schiebel further discloses that an outside portion of the seat in the vehicle-width direction is opened (fig 1), and the dashboard includes a vertical wall (sidewall of 203, fig 41) located more outward than an opening of the left cup holder or the right cup holder in the vehicle-width direction (fig 41), the vertical wall protruding more upward than the opening (fig 41).
Regarding claim 20, Schiebel further discloses that an outside portion of the seat in the vehicle-width direction is opened (fig 1), and at least a part of a portion enclosing an opening of the left cup holder or the right cup holder of the dashboard is a sloped surface (sidewall surface of 203, figs 40-41) lower than the opening and sloped more downward as the sloped surface extends rearward (figs 40-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiebel et al. (WO 2009137579) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harmon et al. (US 20240208388).
Regarding claims 2-3, Schiebel is silent regarding the fact that the information device includes a touch panel that displays information and receives a touch operation.
Harmon teaches an information device (24) that includes a touch panel (24) that displays information and receives a touch operation ([0085], fig 1)
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Schiebel and Harmon before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Schiebel to include the touchscreen as taught by Harmon in order to allow users to easily scroll through vehicle-related data.
Claims 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiebel et al. (WO 2009137579) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deschler (DE102021110665A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, Schiebel is silent regarding the fact that the left cup holder or the right cup holder includes a recess partially recessed downward from an opening perimeter of the left cup holder or the right cup holder.
Deschler further teaches that the left cup holder or the right cup holder includes a recess (recess of 4, fig 1) partially recessed downward from an opening perimeter of the left cup holder or the right cup holder (4) (fig 1).
(Claim 13) Deschler further teaches that the recess is located rearward in the opening perimeter of the left cup holder or the right cup holder (fig 1).
(Claim 16) Deschler further teaches that the left cup holder includes a first left cup holder and a second left cup holder (fig 1), and the right cup holder includes a first right cupholder and a second right cup holder (fig 1).
(Claim 17) Deschler further teaches that the first left cup holder and the second left cup holder are aligned in the vehicle-width direction (fig 1), and the first right cup holder and the second right cupholder are aligned in the vehicle-width direction (fig 1).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Schiebel and Deschler before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Schiebel to include the left cup holder or the right cup holder including a recess partially recessed downward from an opening perimeter of the left cup holder or the right cup holder as taught by Deschler in order to achieve a space-saving design (page 1)
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
1/2/2026