DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a cooling medium flows around the cooling structure and through a cooling channel of the cooling device (10)” in claims 1 and 8 and “the cooling structure (12) is configured as a pin fin structure including a plurality of pins” in claim 12 and “a cooling structure channel is formed between each pair of adjacent pins of the plurality of pins, wherein the cooling medium passes through each of the cooling structure channels” in claim 13 and “the cooling structure (12) includes a ribbed structure, wherein the ribbed structure is coupled to the bottom side of the cooling device (10)” in claim 14 and “a power module comprising a carrier substrate having conductive traces on which power semiconductors are arranged” in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “A method” in line 1 should be changed to “The method”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, the amended limitation “the cooling structure (12) positioned relative to the cooling device (10) such that a cooling medium flows around the cooling structure and through a cooling channel of the cooling device (10)” would fail to comply with the enablement requirement for reasons as follow:
While the specification of the instant application describes “a cooling medium may flow around the surface-enlarging cooling structure 12 through a cooling channel of the heat sink” and the cooling structure 12 is positioned under the cooling device 10 as shown in Fig. 3 (See Fig. 3 and paragraph 21), the specification does not further describe any enabling disclosure clearly and fully as to (1) what “a cooling medium” is referring to compositionally and how “a cooling medium” flows around the cooling structure 12 and (2) how “a cooling channel” is formed in the cooling device 10 structurally. As such, undue experimentation would be required for determining the undisclosed conditions (1) and (2) as discussed above in order to make and/or use the invention.
Accordingly, after considering all of the evidence of record related to the pertinent Wands factors and reasons discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, would not have been able to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. Claims 2-7 and 9-14, which depend from either claim 1 or claim 8, are also rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Regarding claims 12-14, the limitation “the cooling structure (12) is configured as a pin fin structure including a plurality of pins” in claim 12, “a cooling structure channel is formed between each pair of adjacent pins of the plurality of pins, wherein the cooling medium passes through each of the cooling structure channels” in claim 13, and “the cooling structure (12) includes a ribbed structure, wherein the ribbed structure is coupled to the bottom side of the cooling device (10)” in claim 14 are recited without the specification of the instant application clearly and fully providing the detailed structural configurations how theses “a pin fin structure including a plurality of pins”, “cooling structure channels”, and “a ribbed structure” are formed for the cooling structure 12, which is merely shown as a rectangular shape in Fig. 3 (See Fig. 3 and paragraph 21). As such, claims 12-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement with the similar reason for rejecting claims 1 and 8 as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanathan et al. (US 2018/0153030 A1; hereinafter “Viswanathan”).
Regarding claim 15, Viswanathan teaches an electrical and/or electronic device (1) comprising: - a cooling device (10) having a top side (11) (a heat dissipation structure 14 having a top side), - an electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) (a microelectronic device 28) arranged on the top (11) of the cooling device (10) having a contact surface (41) (a bottom surface of 28), wherein the contact surface (41) faces the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) and is attached to the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) by means of an intermediate layer (30) (a device bond layer 38) arranged between the cooling device (10) and the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40), wherein on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), a laminarly extending coating (20) (a heat dissipation structure 16) is applied to the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), wherein the coating (20) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) comprises at least one recess (21) (a central opening 22), in which the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) is not coated, wherein the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) in the recess (21) is in contact with the cooling device (10) and attached to the cooling device (10) (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 13-19).
Viswanathan does not teach that 1) “the coating (20) is made from nickel applied to the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) in a chemical process, the coating (20) configured to protect the cooling device (10) from corrosion” and 2) “the electronic assembly (40) is a power module comprising a carrier substrate having conductive traces on which power semiconductors are arranged”.
Regarding 1) “the coating (20) is made from nickel applied to the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) in a chemical process, the coating (20) configured to protect the cooling device (10) from corrosion”, while Viswanathan does not teach nickel as a material choice for the coating (20) (the heat dissipation structure 16), Viswanathan further teaches that the heat dissipation structure 16 is formed of a high thermal conductive material having suitable heat transfer function (paragraph 17) and the heat sink 18 is formed of a high thermal conductive material such as nickel (paragraph 16). Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the heat dissipation structure 16 with nickel as a readily-available high thermal conductive material known in the art for obtaining the desired heat transfer function and to protect the underlying heat dissipation structure 14 from corrosion (i.e., forming 16 on 14, thereby resulting 16 covering a portion of 14) as claimed. Furthermore, it is noted that the limitation “in a chemical process” is a product-by process claim and therefore is treated according to MPEP 2113 (Even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production).
Regarding 2) “the electronic assembly (40) is a power module comprising a carrier substrate having conductive traces on which power semiconductors are arranged”, while Viswanathan does not teach the electron assembly (40) (the microelectronic device 28) is a power module since only a single microelectronic device 28 is shown in Fig. 1, Viswanathan further teaches that the microelectronic module 10 can include any practical number of interconnected microelectronic devices with non-exhaustive list of microelectronic devices (paragraph 15). Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that to provide the power module comprising at least two power semiconductor devices electrically connected together formed on a carrier substrate such as a circuit board having conductive traces in order to provide the desired device functionality (for example, power amplifying, etc.) from the microelectronic module 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended and newly submitted claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections as set forth above in this Office Action.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. While Goel et al. (US 2016/0294340 A1) is not cited for rejecting pending claims in this Office Action, Goel et al. teaches substantially identical electrical and/or electronic device (1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893