DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRICAL AND/OR ELECTRONIC DEVICE COMPRISING ELECTRICAL AND/OR ELECTRONIC ASSEMBLY FORMED ON COOLING DEVICE
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, it appears that “an electrical and/or electronic assembly” in line 1 should be changed to, as a suggestion, “an electrical and/or electronic device” in order to correctly refer to an electrical and/or electronic device 1 as shown in Figs. 2-3.
Regarding claim 9, “A method for manufacturing an electrical and/or electronic assembly” should be changed to “The method for manufacturing the electrical and/or electronic device”.
Regarding claim 10, “an electrical and/or electronic assembly” should be changed to “the electrical and/or electronic device”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 8 with the limitation “means of an intermediate layer” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goel et al. (US 2016/0294340 A1; hereinafter “Goel”).
Regarding claim 1, Goel teaches an electrical and/or electronic device (1) comprising: at least one cooling device (10) having a top side (11) (a single metal flange 102 having a top side), an electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) (a semiconductor die 120) arranged on the top (11) of the cooling device (10) having a contact surface (41) (a bottom surface of 120), wherein the contact surface (41) faces the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) and is attached to the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) by means of an intermediate layer (30) (a die attach material, not shown in Fig. 1) arranged between the cooling device (10) and the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40), wherein on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), a laminarly extending coating (20) (a circuit board 108) is arranged on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), wherein the coating (20) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) comprises at least one recess (21) (an opening 112), in which the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) is not coated, wherein the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) in the recess (21) is in contact with the cooling device (10) and attached to the cooling device (10) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 15-21).
Regarding claim 2, Goel teaches wherein the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) in the recess (21) of the coating (20) is soldered to the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), wherein the intermediate layer (30) is configured as a solder layer (a die attach material such as a solder, not shown in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 3, Goel teaches wherein the cooling device (10) is formed from copper (paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 5, Goel teaches wherein the recess (21) has a larger surface extent than the contact surface (41) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Goel teaches a method for manufacturing an electrical and/or electronic assembly, wherein the method comprises the following steps: - providing a cooling device (10) having a top side (11) (a single metal flange 102 having a top side) - coating the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) with a coating (20) (a circuit board 108), wherein the coating (20) is carried out while leaving a recess (21) (an opening 112) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), wherein the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) is not coated in the recess (21), - providing an electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) having a contact surface (41) (a semiconductor die 120 having a bottom surface), - arranging and attaching the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) in the recess (21) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) by means of an intermediate layer (30) (a die attach material, not shown in Fig. 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 15-21).
Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Viswanathan et al. (US 2018/0153030 A1; hereinafter “Viswanathan”).
Regarding claim 1, Viswanathan teaches an electrical and/or electronic device (1) comprising: at least one cooling device (10) having a top side (11) (a heat dissipation structure 14 having a top side), an electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) (a microelectronic device 28) arranged on the top (11) of the cooling device (10) having a contact surface (41) (a bottom surface of 28), wherein the contact surface (41) faces the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) and is attached to the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) by means of an intermediate layer (30) (a device bond layer 38) arranged between the cooling device (10) and the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40), wherein on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), a laminarly extending coating (20) (a heat dissipation structure 16) is arranged on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), wherein the coating (20) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) comprises at least one recess (21) (a central opening 22), in which the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) is not coated, wherein the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) in the recess (21) is in contact with the cooling device (10) and attached to the cooling device (10) (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 13-19).
Regarding claim 3, Viswanathan teaches wherein the cooling device (10) is formed from copper (paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 5, Viswanathan teaches wherein the recess (21) has a larger surface extent than the contact surface (41) (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Viswanathan teaches wherein the contact surface (41) is arranged entirely within the recess (21) of the coating (20) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Viswanathan teaches wherein the intermediate layer (30) is arranged entirely within the recess (21) of the coating (20) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Viswanathan teaches a method for manufacturing an electrical and/or electronic assembly, wherein the method comprises the following steps: - providing a cooling device (10) having a top side (11) (a heat dissipation structure 14 having a top side) - coating the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) with a coating (20) (a heat dissipation structure 16), wherein the coating (20) is carried out while leaving a recess (21) (a central opening 22) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10), wherein the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) is not coated in the recess (21), - providing an electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) having a contact surface (41) (a microelectronic device 28 having a bottom surface), - arranging and attaching the contact surface (41) of the electrical and/or electronic assembly (40) in the recess (21) on the top side (11) of the cooling device (10) by means of an intermediate layer (30) (a device bond layer 38) (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 13-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viswanathan.
Regarding claim 4, Viswanathan does not explicitly teach that the coating is formed from nickel. However, with Viswanathan teaching the coating (the heat dissipation structure 16) formed of a metal having a high thermal conductivity (paragraph 17) and the high thermal conductivity metal materials such as aluminum, copper, or nickel is listed for the heatsink 18 (paragraph 16), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one of readily available high thermal conductivity material such as nickel for the material of the coating in order to obtain the desired high thermal conductivity characteristics.
Regarding claims 9-10, Viswanathan does not explicitly teach a step of masking the top side of the cooling device by masking prior to coating the top side of the cooling device with the coating. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a masking pattern only in a region where the recess is to be formed with either soft or hard masking material on the top side of the cooling device prior to coating step in order to effectively provide the recess formed in the coating exposing the top side of the cooling device after completing the coating step and performing the removing step of the masking pattern as one of well-known patterning processes known in the art.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893