Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: all parts of the device must be numbered in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
All parts of the device must be numbered in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, recites the limitations “each arm and the body of the C-clamp comprising circumferential through-holes” in line 5, and “the through-holes of each arm and body accommodating interchangeably either the threaded clamp bolt or mounting bolts” in line 14 which make the claim indefinite. Because Claim 1 earlier recites “two opposing arms” being part of “C-shaped body”. It is not clear if applicant intended to claim --each arm of the body of the C-clamp comprising circumferential through-holes-- and --the through-holes of each arm of the body accommodating interchangeably either the threaded clamp bolt or mounting bolts--; (examination is conducted in this manner).
Claim 1, line 8 recites the limitation “said threaded bolt further comprising a head with a larger circumference” which is indefinite. Because it is not clear with which item the size of the head is compared with. For the purpose of this examination this limitation is interpreted to be --said threaded bolt further comprising a head with a larger circumference than the circumferential through holes--.
Claim 1, lines 10-11 recites the limitation “the base being attachable to an object in a fixed position, facilitating rotation of the clamp to engage objects on multiple planes”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because claim 1 earlier recites “base mountable to an object”. For the purpose of this examination this limitation is interpreted to be -- the base being attachable to the object in a fixed position, facilitating rotation of the clamp to engage the object on multiple planes--.
Claim 1, line 12 recites the limitation “he clamp being selectively pivotable, enabling engagement with objects”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because claim 1 earlier recites “base mountable to an object”. For the purpose of this examination this limitation is interpreted to be -- he clamp being selectively pivotable, enabling engagement with the object--.
Claim 1, last two lines recite the limitation “the threaded clamp bolt”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 earlier recites “a threaded bolt”. It is not clear if they are the same. For the purpose of this examination “a threaded bolt” in line 6 is interpreted to be -- a threaded clamp bolt--.
Claims 2-8 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the clamp and base”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “a base” is earlier recited in claim 1. Therefore this limitation is interpreted to be --the clamp and the base--.
Claims 3 recites the limitation “the device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because device is not earlier introduced. For the purpose of this examination “the device” is interpreted to be --the rotatable C-clamp--.
Claims 4 recites the limitation “the knob of the threaded bolt extends radially from the axis, providing additional leverage for users to adjust clamping force”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “clamping force” is earlier recited in claim 1 and “the axis” is not earlier recited. Examiner suggests amending the claim language as below to overcome this rejection:--the knob of the threaded bolt extends radially from a longitudinal axis of the bolt, providing additional leverage for users to adjust the clamping force--.
Claims 5 recites the limitation “the mounting bolt of the C-clamp”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “mounting bolts” is earlier recited in claim 1. It is not clear if they are the same or different. Figures of the invention (see below) show one mounting bolt. Therefore limitation “mounting bolts” in claim 1 should be amended to --a mounting bolt--.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Weissenborn (US 20120119427 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weissenborn teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a rotatable C-clamp comprising: a. a C-shaped body (lower C-shaped frame 3000) with two opposing arms (lower horizontal jaw 3100 and upper horizontal jaw 3200) and a base member (base member connects 3100 to 3200); b. a base (upper C-shaped frame 3000) mountable to an object (workpiece), said base having multiple threaded through holes (internally threaded apertures 1050); c. a clamp (clamp comprises at least 4900, 4300, 4500, 1010) pivotally (rotational movement of clamp about axis X of the base) mounted to said base, allowing rotation about a fulcrum (about threaded hole 1050); d. each arm and the body of the C-clamp comprising circumferential through-holes (see three lower surrounding apertures 1010, 1010 and 1010); e. a threaded bolt (lower screw 4000) with a knob (lower clamping handle 4900), engageable with said through-holes to adjust clamping force (clockwise rotation of the knob 4900 increases the clamp force of the C-shaped body on work station 200 and counter-clockwise rotation of the knob 4900 decreases the clamp force of the C-shaped body on work station 200); f. said threaded bolt further comprising a head (clamping plate 4300) with a larger circumference to prevent damage to clamped objects (larger size than outer diameter of the threaded bolt and inner diameter of the threaded apertures); g. the base being attachable to an object (workpiece) in a fixed position, facilitating rotation of the clamp to engage objects (workpiece) on multiple planes; h. the clamp being selectively pivotable, enabling engagement with objects having vertical, horizontal, or angled surfaces (by clockwise and counter-clockwise rotation of the clamp, different size workpieces can be clamped); i. the through-holes of each arm (threaded part of 1010 and 3300) and body accommodating interchangeably (because of same size threaded apertures 1010; also see par. 0147 and par. 0142) and either the threaded clamp bolt (4000) or mounting bolts (par. 0147: thumb screw 1070).
Regarding claim 2, Weissenborn teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the pivotable connection between the clamp and base is facilitated by a threaded bolt (upper bolt 4000), allowing pivotal movement (clockwise and counter-clockwise rotational movements) while maintaining a secure attachment.
Regarding claim 3, Weissenborn teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the circumferential through-holes of each arm and the body are uniform, providing versatility for users to customize the device (because of same size threaded apertures 1010; also see par. 0147 and par. 0142).
Regarding claim 4, Weissenborn teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the knob of the threaded bolt extends radially from the axis (knob 4900 extends radially from the longitudinal axis L of the bolt), providing additional leverage for users to adjust clamping force.
Regarding claim 5, Weissenborn teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the base comprises three threaded through holes (see 1st, 2nd and 3rd 1010), with two positioned at each end for mounting to an object and a third positioned between them for threadingly engaging the mounting bolt of the C-clamp.
Regarding claim 6, Weissenborn is capable of being used in carpentry, construction, and crafts applications where flexible clamping on multiple planes is advantageous (lower section clamping the work table and upper section clamping the work-piece).
Regarding claim 7, Weissenborn teaches the clamp is made of rigid material, such as metal, for durability and strength (see par. 0129 and 0161).
Regarding claim 8, Weissenborn teaches the invention provides a solution to the limitations of conventional clamps by allowing rotation at an anchor point (rotation about A), thereby enhancing its ability to engage objects on various planes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Breu (US 9463371 B1) teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a device with a lower C-clamp and an upper rotational clamp.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723