DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsutani JP 2006028271 as evidenced by Does Temperature Affect Dissolving? Lesson Plan (retrieved from: https://www.acs.org/middleschoolchemistry/lessonplans/chapter5/lesson6.html retrieved on 7/22/2026).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 6, Matsutani teaches a thermal ring closing resin comprising a polybenzimidazole precursor (Abstract). Matsutani teaches the polybenzimidazole precursor is dissolved in an organic solvent such as dimethylacetamide (Page 9).
Matsutani is silent on the size of the polybenzimidazole precursor. However, Matsutani does teach the polyimide precursor is filtered through a 3 micron filter (Page 11). This overlaps with the claimed range of 300 microns or less. It would have been obvious for the polybenzimidazole precursor to have the same size as the polyimide precursor because the polyimide precursor is listed as an equally suitable alternative to the polybenzimidazole precursor and the size is deemed suitable for similar compositions in the same application. This represents the use of a suitable precursor particle size in a similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
Matsutani is silent on the pressure of the polybenzimidazole precursor when dissolved in the solvent. Without information on the pressure condition of the environment, it would have been obvious for the pressure to be atmospheric. Atmospheric pressure is 0.1013 MPa. This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 MPa to 0.2 MPa.
Regarding claim 3, Matsutani teaches the reaction temperature occurs at 300C or less. Some amount of dissolution would occur at the reaction temperature as increased temperatures increases the solubility of the solute. The range of 300 or less overlaps with the claimed range of 140-200C (Page 1). Therefore, Matsutani reads on the limitations of claim 3.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsutani JP 2006028271 in view of Oishi 20200291181.
Regarding claim 5, Matsutani is silent on the percentage of precursor to solvent.
Matsutani teaches the precursor is cyclized (Abstract). Matsutani teaches that the resulting polybenzimidazole is used as in electronics applications (Title).
Oishi teaches a polybenzimidazole precursor (Paragraph [0025]). Oishi also teaches the polybenzimidazole precursor is dissolved in a solvent such as dimethyl acetamide (Paragraph [0125]). This reads on the claimed dimethyl acetamide solvent. Oishi teaches the polybenzimidazole precursor is cyclized (Paragraph [0024]). Oishi teaches the resulting composition is used in electronic applications (Abstract).
Oishi also teaches the precursor is dissolved at a concentration of 20% (Paragraph [0170]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 8-20%. It would have been obvious for the precursor of Matsutani to be dissolved in this ratio because this represents the use of a suitable concentration of precursor to solvent in a similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Matsutani does not teach the composition has a size of 200-300 microns.
Wang US 20060033226 teaches a polybenzimidazole precursor (Abstract). Wang teaches the powder is the size of 1 μm to 300 μm (Paragraph [0060]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 200-300 microns. However, Wang does not teach the polybenzimidazole precursor is dissolved in a solvent. Therefore, Wang does not teach on the limitations of claim 1 or 2.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762