DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 3 recites “ inject a liquid electrode”, which has been interpreted as “inject a liquid electrolyte “ in view of instant specification [0005].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2020/0266406A1 (Cheng).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Cheng teaches a method comprises preparing a polybenzimidazole-based separator, placing the separator in an oven of 150° C. for one hour and then taken out from the oven for cooling down ([0021] and [0063]), wherein the separator has a thermal shrinkage percentage of less than 3%, for example, 1.5 to 2.6% (Table 1), which meets the claimed method and shrinkage percentage.
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches a method for manufacturing an electrochemical device comprises placing the polybenzimidazole-based separator between a positive electrode and a negative electrode, and injecting an electrolyte is into the electrode assembly ([0025]), wherein the separator being heat treated at 60° C before cooling to room temperature([0047], [0052], [0054], [0056] and [0058]), which meets the claimed method.
Regarding claim 4, since Cheng teaches the same separator heat-treated at the same temperature, i.e., 60°C, as the claimed, the claimed shrinkage percentage would naturally arise and be achieved by Cheng’s separator under the same treatment temperature. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by "Highly proton conductive, dense polybenzimidazole membranes with low permeability to vanadium and enhanced H2SO4 absorption capability for use in vanadium redox flow batteries", Jung-Kyu JANG et al., Journal of Materials Chemistry A, vol. 4, No. 37, January 1, 2016, pages 14342-14355 (Jang), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a method comprises heating a polybenimidazole-based (PBI)separator membrane at 80°C and cooling to room temperature (p14344, right column, paragraph 3), which meets the claimed method.
Regarding claims 3 and 6-7, Jang teaches a method for preparing a redox flow battery (VRFB) comprises sandwiching the heat-treated PBI membrane between two carbon-felt electrodes and adding 100 mL volume of 1.65 M V3+/VO2+ in 4MH2SO4 as both the negative and positive electrolyte (p14345, right column, paragraph 3), which meets the claimed method, aqueous secondary battery and redox flow battery.
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 5, since Jang teaches the same separator heat-treated at the same temperature and immersed in the same electrolyte as instantly disclosed, the claimed shrinkage and expansion percentage would naturally arise and be achieved by Jang’s PBI membrane separator under the same treatment conditions. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766