DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to a paper filed on 11/13/2025 in which claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abramov (US 2014/0043004 A1) in view of Pazhayaveetil et al (hereinafter Pazhayaveetil) (US 2018/0337597 A1).
As to claims 1, 12 and 20, Abramov discloses power system (Fig 3, 300) configured to be coupled to at least one energy-storage device (Fig 3, Vin, parag [0004]), the power system comprising:
a first switch (Fig 3, 302);
a second switch (Fig 3, 304); and
at least one controller (Fig 3, 306) configured to:
detect a DCM based on an output power of the energy-storage device, and a relation between the output power of the energy-storage device and the boundary power value, and control the first switch to be open in one of a buck mode or a boost mode based on detecting the DCM (see Fig 3, parags [0069-0075]).
Abramov does not disclose: determine, based on an output voltage of the energy-storage device, a boundary power value representing a threshold above which the power system is in a constant conduction mode (CCM) and below which the power system is in a discontinuous conduction mode (DCM).
However, Pazhayaveetil discloses a boundary power value representing a threshold above which the power system is in a constant conduction mode (CCM) and below which the power system is in a discontinuous conduction mode (DCM) (see parags [0051], [0055]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Abramov to include the teachings as taught by Pazhayaveetil in order to effectively control the power supplied to the load.
As to claims 3 and 14, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to detect the DCM responsive to determining that the output power of the energy-storage device is less than the boundary power value (Pazhayaveetil, see parags [0051], [0055]).
As to claims 4 and 15, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to detect the continuous conduction mode (CCM) responsive to determining that the output power of the energy-storage device is greater than the boundary power value (Pazhayaveetil, see parags [0051], [0055]).
As to claims 5 and 16, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to control the first switch to be closed in one of the buck mode or the boost mode based on detecting the CCM (Abramov, see Fig 8, parags [0097-0104]).
As to claims 6 and 17, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to detect the continuous conduction mode (CCM) based on the relation between the boundary power value and the output power (Pazhayaveetil, see parags [0051], [0055]).
As to claims 7 and 18, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to control the first switch to be closed in one of the buck mode or the boost mode based on detecting the CCM (Abramov, see Fig 8, parags [0097-0104]).
As to claims 8 and 19, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to: control the first switch to be closed in the boost mode based on detecting the CCM; and control the second switch to be closed in the buck mode based on detecting the CCM (Abramov, see Figs 8 & 14, parags [0097-0104]).
As to claim 9, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to:
control the first switch to be open in the boost mode based on detecting the DCM; and
control the second switch to be open in the buck mode based on detecting the DCM (Abramov, see parags [0077], [0083-0086]).
As to claim 10, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising an inductor (Abramov, Fig 3, L) coupled to the first switch and the second switch.
As to claim 11, the combination of Abramov and Pazhayaveetil discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the inductor is configured to discharge stored energy through a body diode of the first switch while the first switch is open (Abramov, see Fig 3, parag [0084]).
Conclusion
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 December 9, 2025
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836