DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement:
While independent claim 1 now recites “a drive motor assembly within a drive motor housing” the specification as filed instead says at [0072] “drive motor assembly 240 includes a drive motor housing 242 and a drive motor 244”. In other words, the drive motor assembly is the combination of the motor (244) and the housing (242) rather than the assembly being within the housing. Furthermore, concerning the recitation “the drive motor provided in the drive motor assembly such that the drive motor moves with the drive motor assembly and within the drive motor housing between the first position and the second position”, according to the application as filed, the drive motor and drive motor assembly do not move within the drive motor housing”. Instead, the drive motor assembly, which includes the drive motor and the drive motor housing, move within the combination of the upper housing and middle housing. Quoting [0074]: “drive motor assembly 240 moves down into a cavity 122 in the middle housing 120 (see FIGS. 5B and 6B)”. Claims 4-8 and 10 fall with claim 1 concerning this issue.
Claim 4 contains further new matter in that the power shaft extends from the lower side of gearbox housing (222) itself rather than from a housing portion extending between the drive motor housing and gearbox housing as now claimed. Also, there is not mention of a housing portion extending between the gearbox housing and drive motor housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (US 2021/0274974) in view of Little et al. (US 2013/0265847) and Khalid (US 5,836,687). Regarding claim 1, Abraham discloses a method of positioning a power shaft (731) of a micro puree machine (100), the method comprising moving (see Figs. 2A-2E) a drive motor assembly (733) disposed within a drive motor housing (735) of the micro puree machine between a first position (for example Fig. 2B) and a second position (for example Fig. 2D), the drive motor assembly comprising: a drive motor (733) operable to rotate the power shaft relative to the drive motor housing, the drive motor provided in the drive motor assembly such that the drive motor moves with the drive motor assembly and within the drive motor housing between the first position and the second position; wherein the power shaft is configured to move together with the drive motor assembly between the first position and the second position (see Figs. 2A-2E). However, the drive motor assembly is inline with the power shaft. Little teaches a power shaft (18A) and a drive motor assembly (16) wherein the entirety of the drive motor assembly is offset from vertical alignment with the power shaft. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have offset the motor from the drive as taught by Little, to permit intervening elements which provide a different rotation speed than the output of the motor. While in Little a belt and pulley are utilized to deliver power form the motor to the shaft, Little recognizes the equivalence of belt and pulley arrangements to gears (see [0003]). Little teaches housing (21) for the belt and pulleys being apart from the motor. Khalid teaches providing a gear box assembly including a plurality of gears (13C) for delivering power from a drive motor to a power shaft. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized gearing to control speed.
Regarding claim 4, Little further teaches that the power shaft and drive motor assembly are connected to the lower portion of a housing portion (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Khalid further teaches that the power shaft moves together with the plurality of gears and the drive motor assembly between the first position and the second position (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 6, Abraham further discloses a position motor (807 or 8071) coupled to the drive assembly such that the position motor is operable to move the drive assembly between the first position and the second position.
Regarding claim 7, the first housing portion includes an upper support member and a lower support member positioned within an upper housing, the position motor being mounted to the lower support member (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Khalid further teaches two pillars (11) that extend between upper and lower supports (see Fig. 2) as well as moving a drive motor assembly (13) vertically along the pillars.
Regarding claim 10, Little further teaches a reversible motor (see [0019]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has redirected all the claims to new matter as explained above.
Abraham discloses just motor (733) being in motor housing (735).
Little discloses belt and pulley housing (21) being apart from a motor assembly, gears being considered obvious over the belt and pulleys.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774