DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (US 2021/0274974) in view of Little et al. (US 2013/0265847) and Khalid (US 5,836,687). Regarding claim 1, Abraham discloses a method of positioning a power shaft (731) of a micro puree machine (100), the
method comprising moving (see Figs. 2A-2E) a drive motor assembly (735) disposed within a first
housing (901) of the micro puree machine between a first position (for example Fig. 2B) and a second
position (for example Fig. 2D), the drive motor assembly further comprising: a drive motor (733)
operable to rotate the power shaft relative to the first housing, the drive motor provided in the drive
motor assembly such that the drive motor moves with the drive motor assembly and within the first
housing between the first position and the second position; wherein the power shaft is configured to
move together with the drive motor assembly between the first position and the second position (see
Figs. 2A-2E). However, the drive motor assembly is inline with the power shaft. Little teaches a power
shaft (18A) and a drive motor assembly (16) wherein the entirety of the drive motor assembly is offset
from vertical alignment with the power shaft. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date to have offset the motor from the drive as taught by Little, to permit intervening elements which provide a different rotation speed than the output of the motor. While in Little a belt and pulley are utilized to deliver power form the motor to the shaft, Little recognizes the equivalence of belt and pulley arrangements to gears (see [0003]). As additional evidence of obviousness, Khalid teaches providing a gear box assembly including a plurality of gears (13C) for delivering power from a drive motor to a power shaft. Again, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized gearing to control speed. Khalid further teaches that a second housing (13) extending between the drive motor assembly and the power shaft, and wherein the plurality of gears is housed within the second housing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided such as housing to fix the axe about which the gears rotate. Regarding claim 4, Little further teaches that the power shaft and drive motor assembly are connected to the lower portion of a housing (see Fig. 1). Regarding claim 5, Khalid further teaches that the power shaft moves together with the plurality of gears and the drive motor assembly between the first position and the second position (see Figs. 1 and 2). Regarding claim 6, Abraham further discloses a position motor (807 or 8071) coupled to the drive assembly such that the position motor is operable to move the drive assembly between the first position and the second position. Regarding claim 7, the first housing includes an upper support member and a lower support member positioned within an upper housing, the position motor being mounted to the lower support member (see Fig. 7). Regarding claim 8, Khalid further teaches two pillars (11) that extend between upper and lower supports (see Fig. 2) as well as moving a drive motor assembly (13) vertically along the pillars. Regarding claim 9, the first housing includes an upper housing and a middle housing, and the drive motor is configured to move within the upper housing and the middle housing (see Figs. 2A-2E). Regarding claim 10, Little further teaches a reversible motor (see [0019]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “as illustrated in Fig. 3 of Khalid, the gearing 13C is positioned in the same housing as the drive motor 13B” (emphasis omitted). However, there is nothing in the claim language prohibiting the drive motor from being in the same housing as the gearing. Furthermore, as seen in instant Fig. 8B, gearing is in the same housing as the motor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774