DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended claims 1, 10, 12, and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai (US 20130283227 A1) in view of Weiner (JP 5238659 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Sakai teaches a pattern defect inspection device (“FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a configuration of a semiconductor inspection system including a recipe making tool from failure analysis and an EDA tool according to the present embodiment.” Paragraph 0028) comprising:
an inspection apparatus configured to inspect a pattern on a substrate (“FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a configuration of a semiconductor inspection system including a recipe making tool from failure analysis and an EDA tool according to the present embodiment.” Paragraph 0028);
a database (“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045, storage tool 218) storing a pattern layout including a plurality of defect patterns from the inspection apparatus (“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045), a field of view (FOV) size (“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045), and a target measurement number (“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045);
and a processor (“These functional blocks may be formed by combining arithmetic processing circuits that perform processes of each unit (so-called hardware implementation) or may be realized by providing a memory (not illustrated) storing programs corresponding to processes of each unit in the recipe making tool or the pattern review tool and causing a processor of a computer connected to the recipe making tool or the pattern review tool to execute the programs. Alternatively, part of functional blocks may be realized by a dedicated processing circuit and the remaining functional blocks may be realized as software by programs and a processor. When the functional blocks are realized by programs, it is possible to upgrade the existing recipe making tool and pattern review tool by a storage medium storing the programs.” Paragraph 0036) configured to set a plurality of inspection regions of the inspection apparatus based on the pattern layout (“Therefore, the pattern review tool needs to acquire images along the net to be reviewed which is selected as described above and review the images. To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size. However, when the centers of imaging are set by the above method, images at a boundary between imaging areas are discontinuous.” Paragraph 0071),
search for a region defect pattern existing in at least one of the plurality of inspection regions in the pattern layout (“The failed portion input from the failure analysis system is not necessarily a defective position, but it may be considered that a defect actually occurs at another portion in the net that includes the defective portion. Therefore, the pattern review tool needs to acquire images along the net to be reviewed which is selected as described above and review the images. To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size.” Paragraph 0071),
arrange the plurality of inspection regions based on the region defect pattern (“Next, a net to be reviewed by the pattern review tool is selected from a plurality of nets output from the failure analysis support tool 2 (S203). The nets output from the failure analysis support tool are displayed on a screen and an operator can select a net to be reviewed from the displayed nets. The display format on the screen may be a list format or a map format.” Paragraph 0069 and “The failed portion input from the failure analysis system is not necessarily a defective position, but it may be considered that a defect actually occurs at another portion in the net that includes the defective portion. Therefore, the pattern review tool needs to acquire images along the net to be reviewed which is selected as described above and review the images. To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size.” Paragraph 0071),
identify at least one overlapping region wherein at least two adjacent inspection regions, of the plurality of inspection regions, overlap each other due to a distance between references points of the at least two adjacent inspection regions being less than the FOV size (“Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals.” Paragraph 0071),
remove the at least one overlapping region from the plurality of inspection regions (“Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals.” Paragraph 0071), and
select an inspection region, other than the at least one overlapping region, from among the plurality of inspection regions, as a final inspection region (“Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals.” Paragraph 0071, removes the overlap images the rest).
Sakai does not teach using a binary search.
Weiner teaches the processor being configured to search for a region defect pattern existing in at least one of the plurality of inspection regions in the pattern layout using a binary search (“In the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 3A, a binary search for defects is first performed along the x direction.” Page 4 paragraph 4).
Weiner is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Weiner is directed toward semiconductor defect detection apparatus (“The present invention relates to a method and apparatus for detecting electrical defects in a semiconductor device or test structure having a plurality of features specifically designed to create a potential that changes during voltage contrast inspection. More specifically, the present invention relates to a voltage contrast technique for detecting open and short circuit type defects in circuit or test structure features.” Technical Field). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine the system of Sakai with Weiner, by incorporating Weiner’s inspection methodology into Sakai’s inspection method with the expectation that doing so would lead to the combine system being able to detect additional types of defects commonly present in semiconductors (“Another more important disadvantage of the conventional voltage contrast test structure is that they can only detect hard opens and shorts. This is a very important problem, for example in the Cu metallization process, but a significant percentage of the defects are partial opens. This partial open at the via or at the metal line is a concern for reliability and reduces the parametric performance of the semiconductor chip.” Page 2 paragraph 4)
With respect to claim 2, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 1, Sakai further teaches wherein the processor is configured to set a point (figure 7) corresponding to one defect pattern, among the plurality of defect patterns, in the pattern layout as a first point (figure 7), and to search for a first defect pattern within a range of a first distance in a first direction from the first point (figure 7).
With respect to claim 3, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 2. Weiner further teaches wherein the processor is configured to search for a second defect pattern existing within a range of a second distance in a second direction from the first point in the pattern layout (See Examiner Figure 1), and the second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figure 3A).
Examiner Figure 1: Figure 3B from Weiner Translated
With respect to claim 4, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of
claim 3. wherein the processor is configured to set the second defect pattern as a region defect pattern of a first inspection region based on the first point (“To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size” paragraph 0071).
With respect to claim 5, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 1, Sakai further teaches wherein the processor is configured to place each of the plurality of inspection regions based on the plurality of defect patterns and to search for the region defect pattern of each of the plurality of inspection regions (“After the FOV size is determined, the center of imaging is determined by the recipe making unit 15. The failed portion input from the failure analysis system is not necessarily a defective position, but it may be considered that a defect actually occurs at another portion in the net that includes the defective portion. Therefore, the pattern review tool needs to acquire images along the net to be reviewed which is selected as described above and review the images. To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size. However, when the centers of imaging are set by the above method, images at a boundary between imaging areas are discontinuous. Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals.” Paragraph 0071).
With respect to claim 7, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 1. Sakai further teaches wherein the inspection apparatus is at least one of a scanning electron microscope (SEM), a transmission electron microscope (TEM), or an electron beam inspection apparatus (“The failure analysis tool 1 is a tool that narrows down a failed area of the chip that is determined to be a defective chip from the result of the tester. As the failure analysis tool 1, for example, an emission microscope can be used and information of a light-emitting image can be obtained. When an OBIRCH (Optical Beam Induced Resistance Change) tool is used, information of an OBIRCH image can be obtained. Alternatively, tools other than the above tools may be used as the failure analysis tool.” Paragraph 0030).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai and Weiner as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nojima (CN 110896038 A).
With respect to claim 6, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 1. Weiner teaches wherein the processor is configured to arrange the plurality of inspection regions in descending order (See Examiner Figure 1 and Figure 3A), but does not teach doing so according to a pattern number.
Nojima teaches a pattern number of a region defect pattern (“wiring pattern respectively number given in any order (pattern number) (first 1 number, second 2 number” page 9 paragraph 5).
Nojima is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Nojima is directed towards defect inspection (“Embodiments of the present invention relates to a defect inspection device and defect inspecting method” page 2 Technical Field). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the concept of numbered patterns into the combined system of Sakai and Weiner, by numbering the defect patterns present in the combined system, with the expectation that doing so would result in a reduction in inspection time (“it is possible to shorten the inspection time of the defect inspection in semiconductor manufacturing” page 21 paragraph 5)
With respect to claim 17, Sakai and Weiner render obvious all of the claim limitations as in consideration of claim 1, due to claim 17 being directed to the method claim 1’s device is configured to perform. Sakai further teaches inspecting a pattern on a substrate corresponding to the final inspection region (“Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals.” Paragraph 0071, removes the overlap images the rest).
Weiner additionally teaches wherein the processor is configured to arrange the plurality of inspection regions in descending order (See Examiner Figure 1 and Figure 3A), but does not teach doing so according to a pattern number .
Nojima teaches a pattern number of a region defect pattern (“wiring pattern respectively number given in any order (pattern number) (first 1 number, second 2 number” page 9 paragraph 5).
Nojima is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Nojima is directed towards defect inspection (“Embodiments of the present invention relates to a defect inspection device and defect inspecting method” page 2 Technical Field). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the concept of numbered patterns into the combined system of Sakai and Weiner, by numbering the defect patterns present in the combined system, with the expectation that doing so would result in a reduction in inspection time (“it is possible to shorten the inspection time of the defect inspection in semiconductor manufacturing” page 21 paragraph 5)
Claims 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai and Weiner as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ogi (US 20060133660 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 1, but do not teach further limitations. Ogi further teaches wherein the removing the at least one overlapping region includes determining whether the plurality of inspection regions overlap with a reference region (see figure 3)
Weiner further teaches a processor configured to set the reference region based on an order in which the plurality of inspection regions are arranged (See Examiner Figure 1 and Figure 3A).
Ogi is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Ogi is directed towards detecting defects (“The present invention relates to a technique for detecting a defect existing in a pattern on an object.” Paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Sakai and Weiner with Ogi, by utilizing Ogi’s defect detection strategy in combination with Sakai’s inspection methodology, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improve accuracy of defect point detection (“According to one preferred embodiment of the present invention, since the defect detector excludes a defect candidate overlapping with the defect included in the reference image from at least one defect candidate also on the basis of feature value of the defect included in the reference image and feature value of at least one defect candidate, it is possible to detect a defect existing in another block area more accurately.” Paragraph 0009).
With respect to claim 9, Sakai, Weiner, and Ogi teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 8. Ogi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform the removing the at least one overlapping region after the setting the reference region from the plurality of inspection regions (see figure 3).
With respect to claim 11, Sakai and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 1, but do not teach the further claims. Ogi further teaches wherein the removing the at least one overlapping region includes determining whether the plurality of inspection regions overlap, and the processor is configured to stop the determining whether the plurality of inspection regions overlap when a number of inspection regions determined not to overlap reaches the target measurement number (“Only one defect may exist in a reference image, though a plurality of defects are detected in the reference image in the above-discussed preferred embodiments. In this case, at least one defect candidate which includes a defect candidate derived from the defect of the reference image is detected from a target image, and one defect candidate overlapping with the defect of the reference image is excluded from at least one defect candidate on the basis of positional infomation of the defect of the reference image (and also, a feature value(s) of the defect in the reference image and a feature value(s) of at least one defect candidate)” paragraph 0068).
Ogi is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Ogi is directed towards detecting defects (“The present invention relates to a technique for detecting a defect existing in a pattern on an object.” Paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Sakai and Weiner with Ogi, by utilizing Ogi’s defect detection strategy in combination with Sakai’s inspection methodology, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improve accuracy of defect point detection (“According to one preferred embodiment of the present invention, since the defect detector excludes a defect candidate overlapping with the defect included in the reference image from at least one defect candidate also on the basis of feature value of the defect included in the reference image and feature value of at least one defect candidate, it is possible to detect a defect existing in another block area more accurately.” Paragraph 0009).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai, Weiner, and Ogi, as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Kuroda (JP 5277008 B2).
With respect to claim 10, Sakai, Weiner, and Ogi teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 8. Sakai teaches the references points include a first reference point of the reference region and a second reference point of a determination target region from among the plurality of inspection regions (“However, when the centers of imaging are set by the above method, images at a boundary between imaging areas are discontinuous. Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals.” Paragraph 0071), but does not teach the additional limitations. Kuroda further teaches wherein the FOV size includes a first horizontal directional length that is a first FOV size in a first direction and a second vertical directional length that is a second FOV size in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figures 1-3 element 104), and the processor is configured to determine that a determination target region overlaps with the reference region when at least one of a horizontal distance between a first reference point of the reference region and a second reference point of the determination target region, among the plurality of inspection regions, in the first direction is less than the first horizontal directional length or a vertical distance between the first reference point and the second reference point in the second direction is less than the second vertical directional length (“Based on the setting, the FOV pattern information is calculated using the pattern information of the design data, and the optimal measurement stored in association with the calculated FOV pattern information by referring to the database. “ page 5 paragraph 1and “Next, by setting the position and size (magnification) of the FOV on the design data, values relating to the area of the chromium pattern and the glass portion in the FOV are calculated with reference to the design data.” Page 6 paragraph 4 and figures 1-3).
Kuroda is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Kuroda is directed toward pattern matching substrate based on FOV (“In this embodiment, a database (optimized measurement condition database) in which information related to pattern density and the like obtained from design data of semiconductor devices is stored in association with information related to pattern density and measurement conditions (optical conditions of the apparatus). A method for deriving an appropriate apparatus condition will be described” page 4 paragraph 8). A person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the system of Sakai, Weiner, and Ogi with Kuroda, by utilizing Kuroda’s teachings of FOV an optimized measurement, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improvements in operation reliability (“Next, the actual pattern is verified by SEM using the optimum conditions obtained by the simulation. Finally, the simulation result is fitted based on the measurement result of the SEM to improve the reliability of the simulation and create a database of optimum conditions for pattern-dependent charging.” Page 6 paragraph 3).
Claims 12, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai, Weiner, Ogawa (JP 2021165660 A) and Ogi.
With respect to claim 12, Sakai teaches a pattern defect inspection device (“FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a configuration of a semiconductor inspection system including a recipe making tool from failure analysis and an EDA tool according to the present embodiment.” Paragraph 0028) comprising:
an inspection apparatus configured to inspect a pattern on a substrate (“FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a configuration of a semiconductor inspection system including a recipe making tool from failure analysis and an EDA tool according to the present embodiment.” Paragraph 0028);
(“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045, storage tool 218) storing a pattern layout including a plurality of defect patterns from the inspection apparatus (“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045), a field of view (FOV) size (“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045), and a target measurement number (“The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045); and
a processor configured to set a plurality of inspection regions of the inspection apparatus based on the pattern layout (“The pattern review tool 13 images a specified path on the basis of the stored recipe file (S210). When the images acquired by imaging the path as described above on the basis of the recipe are connected to each other, it is possible to panoramically image a failed net.” Paragraph 0080),
wherein the processor is configured to measure a number of defect patterns in each of the plurality of inspection regions based on the FOV size (“The pattern review tool 13 images a specified path on the basis of the stored recipe file (S210). When the images acquired by imaging the path as described above on the basis of the recipe are connected to each other, it is possible to panoramically image a failed net.” Paragraph 0080 and “The control unit 212 includes a recipe making unit 219. The recipe making unit 219 makes a recipe on the basis of the imaging conditions specified by the operator through the monitor 213 and the input unit 214. Specifically, as described below, the imaging conditions indicate setting items for acquiring an image, which include a central position of an imaging FOV (Field of View), an FOV size, an imaging magnification, a resolution, and the like. The made recipe is stored in a storage tool 218 and can be read at the next review. The recipe may be made by the recipe making tool connected through the network as illustrated in FIG. 1. In this case, the review tool includes a network interface to receive a recipe from the recipe making tool.” Paragraph 0045),
determine whether the plurality of inspection regions overlap by setting one of the plurality of inspection regions as a reference region and determining whether the reference region and one or more of a remainder of the plurality of inspection regions define an overlapping region due to a distance between a reference point of the reference region and the one or more of the remainder of the plurality of inspection regions being less than the FOV size (“To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size. However, when the centers of imaging are set by the above method, images at a boundary between imaging areas are discontinuous. Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals. In this case, the overlap area may be specified by the user through the input unit of the recipe making tool or the pattern review tool in advance.” Paragraph 0071),
remove the overlapping region of at least one of the plurality of inspection regions overlapping the reference region (“To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size. However, when the centers of imaging are set by the above method, images at a boundary between imaging areas are discontinuous. Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals. In this case, the overlap area may be specified by the user through the input unit of the recipe making tool or the pattern review tool in advance.” Paragraph 0071),
select an inspection region from among the plurality of inspection regions (“To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size. However, when the centers of imaging are set by the above method, images at a boundary between imaging areas are discontinuous. Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals. In this case, the overlap area may be specified by the user through the input unit of the recipe making tool or the pattern review tool in advance.” Paragraph 0071),
other than the overlapping region which is removed, as a final inspection region (“To image the entire path of the selected net without omission, the imaging center positions are set while shifting the position along the net at intervals corresponding to the FOV size. However, when the centers of imaging are set by the above method, images at a boundary between imaging areas are discontinuous. Therefore, considering a predetermined overlap area, it is more preferable that an interval is set by removing a size of the overlap area from the distance corresponding to the FOV size and the imaging center positions are set at the intervals. In this case, the overlap area may be specified by the user through the input unit of the recipe making tool or the pattern review tool in advance.” Paragraph 0071),
Sakai does not teach the reference region set based on an order in which the number of defect patterns increases nor correcting the FOV size and the target measurement number and reselecting the plurality of inspection regions when an expected inspection time for the final inspection region exceeds the target inspection time.
Weiner teaches determining whether the plurality of inspection regions overlap by setting one of the plurality of inspection regions as a reference region, the reference region set based on an order in which the number of defect patterns increases (See examiner figure 1 and figure 3A) and reselecting the plurality of inspection regions (See examiner figure 1 and figure 3A)
Weiner is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Weiner is directed toward semiconductor defect detection apparatus (“The present invention relates to a method and apparatus for detecting electrical defects in a semiconductor device or test structure having a plurality of features specifically designed to create a potential that changes during voltage contrast inspection. More specifically, the present invention relates to a voltage contrast technique for detecting open and short circuit type defects in circuit or test structure features.” Technical Field). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine the system of Sakai with Weiner, by incorporating Weiner’s inspection methodology into Sakai’s inspection method with the expectation that doing so would lead to the combine system being able to detect additional types of defects commonly present in semiconductors (“Another more important disadvantage of the conventional voltage contrast test structure is that they can only detect hard opens and shorts. This is a very important problem, for example in the Cu metallization process, but a significant percentage of the defects are partial opens. This partial open at the via or at the metal line is a concern for reliability and reduces the parametric performance of the semiconductor chip.” Page 2 paragraph 4)
Ogawa teaches correcting the target measurement number (“There is a "die to database (die database) inspection" that generates data (reference image) and compares this with the measurement image that is the measurement data obtained by imaging the pattern. The captured image is sent to the comparison circuit as measurement data. In the comparison circuit, after the images are aligned with each other, the measurement data and the reference data are compared according to an appropriate algorithm…” page 2 Background Art paragraph 2)
Ogawa is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Ogawa is directed towards a substrate inspection method (“The present invention relates to a multi-electron beam inspection apparatus and a multi-electron beam inspection method. For example, the present invention relates to an inspection device that inspects using a secondary electron image of a pattern emitted by irradiating a multi-beam with an electron beam.” Page 2 Technical Field). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious combine the teachings of Sakai and Weiner with Ogawa, by utilizing Ogawa’s defect detection strategy in combination with the combined system’s (Sakai and Weiner’s) inspection methodology, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improve accuracy of defect point detection (“As described above, according to the first embodiment, even when so-called crosstalk occurs in which secondary electrons of other beams are mixed in the sensor for each beam, inspection can be performed with high accuracy.” Pages 12 (last line) -13 (first two lines).
Ogi teaches correcting the FOV size (“The substrate 9 is not limited to a substrate for confirmation of the process margin, and the substrate 9 may be a semiconductor substrate produced by applying a constant process parameter. Generally, in a semiconductor substrate, by positional dependence in various processes, a shape or the like of a pattern is changed depending on a position as the above-described substrate for confirmation of the process margin.” Paragraph 0073).
Ogi is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Ogi is directed towards detecting defects (“The present invention relates to a technique for detecting a defect existing in a pattern on an object.” Paragraph 0002). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Sakai, Weiner, and Ogawa with Ogi, by utilizing Ogi’s defect detection strategy in combination with the combined system’s (Sakai, Weiner, and Ogawa’s) inspection methodology, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improve accuracy of defect point detection (“According to one preferred embodiment of the present invention, since the defect detector excludes a defect candidate overlapping with the defect included in the reference image from at least one defect candidate also on the basis of feature value of the defect included in the reference image and feature value of at least one defect candidate, it is possible to detect a defect existing in another block area more accurately.” Paragraph 0009).
With respect to claim 13, Ogawa, Kuroda, Ogi, and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 12. Ogawa further teaches wherein, the processor is configured to transfers the final inspection region to the inspection apparatus when an inspection time for the final inspection region is determined to be equal to or less than the target inspection time (“Then, the multi-primary electron beam 20 for inspection (for image acquisition) is formed by the beam group that has passed through the limiting aperture substrate 213 formed from the time when the beam is turned on to the time when the beam is turned off” page 5 paragraph 6), and the inspection apparatus is configured to inspect the pattern on the substrate corresponding to the final inspection region (“Then, the multi-primary electron beam 20 for inspection (for image acquisition) is formed by the beam group that has passed through the limiting aperture substrate 213 formed from the time when the beam is turned on to the time when the beam is turned off” page 5 paragraph 6).
With respect to claim 16, Ogawa, Kuroda, Ogi, and Weiner teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 12. Ogi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to stop the determining whether the plurality of inspection regions overlap when a number of non-overlapping inspection regions determined not to overlap from the plurality of inspection regions reaches the target measurement number (“Only one defect may exist in a reference image, though a plurality of defects are detected in the reference image in the above-discussed preferred embodiments. In this case, at least one defect candidate which includes a defect candidate derived from the defect of the reference image is detected from a target image, and one defect candidate overlapping with the defect of the reference image is excluded from at least one defect candidate on the basis of positional infomation of the defect of the reference image (and also, a feature value(s) of the defect in the reference image and a feature value(s) of at least one defect candidate)” paragraph 0068), and select at least one of the non-overlapping inspection region as the final inspection region (“see figure 4).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai, Weiner, Ogawa, and Ogi as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kuroda.
With respect to claim 14, Sakai, Weiner, Ogawa, and Ogi teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 12. Weiner teaches searching for first defect patterns within a range of a first distance in a first direction from the first point (“For example, the electron beam can be moved relative to the test structure by a predetermined incremental distance” page 4 paragraph 3), searching for a second defect pattern, among the first defect patterns (“For example, the electron beam can be moved relative to the test structure by a predetermined incremental distance” page 4 paragraph 3), within in a range of a second distance in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction from the first point in the pattern layout in a corresponding one of the first defect pattern (See examiner figure 1 and figure 3A), and determining the number of defect patterns based on a number of the second defect patterns (see examiner figure 1), but does not teach further limitations.
Kuroda teaches wherein the measuring the number of defect patterns in each of the plurality of inspection regions includes setting, as a first point, a point corresponding to one of the plurality of defect patterns (“After creating such a database, a measurement point on the design data or an FOV for measuring the measurement point is set. Based on the setting, the FOV pattern information is calculated using the pattern information of the design data, and the optimal measurement stored in association with the calculated FOV pattern information by referring to the database. Derive conditions.” Pages 4 (bottom) - 5 (top))
Kuroda is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Kuroda is directed toward pattern matching substrate based on FOV (“In this embodiment, a database (optimized measurement condition database) in which information related to pattern density and the like obtained from design data of semiconductor devices is stored in association with information related to pattern density and measurement conditions (optical conditions of the apparatus). A method for deriving an appropriate apparatus condition will be described” page 4 paragraph 8). A person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the system of Sakai, Weiner, Ogawa and Ogi with Kuroda, by utilizing Kuroda’s teachings of FOV an optimized measurement, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improvements in operation reliability (“Next, the actual pattern is verified by SEM using the optimum conditions obtained by the simulation. Finally, the simulation result is fitted based on the measurement result of the SEM to improve the reliability of the simulation and create a database of optimum conditions for pattern-dependent charging.” Page 6 paragraph 3).
With respect to claim 15, Sakai, Weiner, Ogawa, Ogi, and Kuroda teach the pattern defect inspection device of claim 14. Kuroda further teaches wherein the FOV size includes a first horizontal directional length that is an FOV size in the first direction and a second vertical directional length that is an FOV size in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figures 1-3 element 104), and the first distance corresponds to the first horizontal directional length (see figures 1-3 element 104), and the second distance corresponds to the second vertical directional length (see figures 1-3 element 104).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai, Weiner, and Nojima, as applied to claim 17, and further in view of Kuroda.
With respect to claim 18, Sakai, Weiner and Nojima teach the pattern defect inspection method of claim 17. Weiner further teaches searching for a first defect pattern within a range of a first distance in a first direction from the first point (“For example, the electron beam can be moved relative to the test structure by a predetermined incremental distance” page 4 paragraph 3), searching for a second defect pattern, among the first defect patterns (“For example, the electron beam can be moved relative to the test structure by a predetermined incremental distance” page 4 paragraph 3), within a range of a second distance in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction from the first point in the pattern layout (see examiner figure 1 and figure 3A), and determine a number of the defect patterns based on a number of second defect patterns (see examiner figure 1), and wherein the searching for the region defect pattern is repeated for each of the plurality of inspection regions (see examiner figure 1 and figure 3A), but does not teach any additional limitations.
Kuroda teaches wherein the searching for the region defect patterns include: setting, as a first point, a point corresponding to one of the plurality of defect patterns (“After creating such a database, a measurement point on the design data or an FOV for measuring the measurement point is set. Based on the setting, the FOV pattern information is calculated using the pattern information of the design data, and the optimal measurement stored in association with the calculated FOV pattern information by referring to the database. Derive conditions.” Pages 4 (bottom) - 5 (top))
Kuroda is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Kuroda is directed toward pattern matching substrate based on FOV (“In this embodiment, a database (optimized measurement condition database) in which information related to pattern density and the like obtained from design data of semiconductor devices is stored in association with information related to pattern density and measurement conditions (optical conditions of the apparatus). A method for deriving an appropriate apparatus condition will be described” page 4 paragraph 8). A person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the system of Sakai, Weiner, and Nojima with Kuroda, by utilizing Kuroda’s teachings of FOV an optimized measurement, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improvements in operation reliability (“Next, the actual pattern is verified by SEM using the optimum conditions obtained by the simulation. Finally, the simulation result is fitted based on the measurement result of the SEM to improve the reliability of the simulation and create a database of optimum conditions for pattern-dependent charging.” Page 6 paragraph 3).
With respect to claim 19, Sakai, Weiner, Nojima, and Kuroda teach the pattern defect inspection method of claim 18. Kuroda further teaches wherein the first distance corresponds to a first horizontal directional length, which is an FOV size in the first direction, and the second distance corresponds to a second vertical directional length, which is an FOV size in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see figures 1-3 element 104).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai, Weiner, Nojima, and Kuroda as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Ogawa.
With respect to claim 20, Sakai, Weiner, Nojima and Kuroda teach the pattern defect inspection method of claim 19. Weiner additionally teaches selecting the final inspection region changing the size of the plurality of inspection regions and the number of inspection regions (see examiner figure 1 and figure 3A), but does not teach any further limitations.
Ogawa further teaches wherein the selecting the final inspection region includes determining whether an expected inspection time for the final inspection region is equal to a target inspection time (“Then, the multi-primary electron beam 20 for inspection (for image acquisition) is formed by the beam group that has passed through the limiting aperture substrate 213 formed from the time when the beam is turned on to the time when the beam is turned off” page 5 paragraph 6).
Ogawa is analogous art in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Ogawa is directed towards a substrate inspection method (“The present invention relates to a multi-electron beam inspection apparatus and a multi-electron beam inspection method. For example, the present invention relates to an inspection device that inspects using a secondary electron image of a pattern emitted by irradiating a multi-beam with an electron beam.” Page 2 Technical Field). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious combine the teachings of Sakai , Weiner, Nojima, and Kuroda with Ogawa, by utilizing Ogawa’s defect detection strategy in combination with the combined system’s (Sakai , Weiner, Nojima, and Kuroda’s) inspection methodology, with the expectation that doing so would lead to improve accuracy of defect point detection (“As described above, according to the first embodiment, even when so-called crosstalk occurs in which secondary electrons of other beams are mixed in the sensor for each beam, inspection can be performed with high accuracy.” Pages 12 (last line) -13 (first two lines).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered. Upon further search and consideration, a new piece of prior art was found that teaches the amended limitations. In consideration of this, the examiner finds applicant’s arguments towards the previously used prior art combinations, moot. The examiner has additionally provided an updated rejection (see above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA COLETTE WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2677
/ANDREW W BEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2677