DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1, 12, and 13;and dependent claims 2-11.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “abutment member jig”, “camera”, “stage”, and “fixture” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (KR 20120100188 A….see Figs. on last 5 pages).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kwon discloses a liquid ejection head that ejects liquid, including: a liquid ejection member (18) having a print element board including an ejection port surface where an ejection port (“nozzle”) for ejecting liquid is formed and a print element (“. . . each print head 5 and eject ink through the print nozzles”) that generates energy for ejecting the liquid from the ejection port; a positioning member (300) coupled and secured to the liquid ejection member; an adjustment part (328a, 328b, 338a, 338b) for adjusting positions of the positioning member and the liquid ejection member; and a securing part (329a, 329b, 338a, 38b) for coupling and securing the positioning member and the liquid ejection member.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 3, 5, and 10, Kwon discloses that there are three or more of the adjustment parts (328a, 328b, 338a, 338b) for one positioning member. The securing part is disposed on or inside of the sides of a polygon formed by lines connecting the adjustment parts to one another (see Figs. on last 5 pages). The positioning member is provided at each of longitudinal end portions of the liquid ejection member (see Figs. on last 5 pages). The ejection head is a full-line-type liquid ejection head (see Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koga et al. (US 9,233,534).
Regarding independent claim 1, Koga discloses a liquid ejection head that ejects liquid, including: a liquid ejection member (200) having a print element board including an ejection port surface where an ejection port (see at least col. 14, lines 15-20)) for ejecting liquid is formed and a print element (see at least col. 15, lines 10-35) that generates energy for ejecting the liquid from the ejection port; a positioning member (212) coupled and secured to the liquid ejection member; an adjustment part (242, 246, 248) for adjusting positions of the positioning member and the liquid ejection member; and a securing part (248A) for coupling and securing the positioning member and the liquid ejection member.
Regarding independent claim 13, Koga discloses a liquid ejection apparatus including a detachable liquid ejection head (200), wherein the liquid ejection head has a liquid ejection member having a print element board including an ejection port surface (see at east col. 14, lines 15-20) where an ejection port for ejecting liquid is formed and a print element (see at least col. 15, lines 10-35) that generates energy for ejecting the liquid from the ejection port, a positioning member (212) coupled and secured to the liquid ejection member, an adjustment part (242, 246, 248) for adjusting positions of the positioning member and the liquid ejection member, and a securing part (248A) for coupling and securing the positioning member and the liquid ejection member, and in a case where attachment of the liquid ejection head to the liquid ejection apparatus, the positioning member performs positioning of the liquid ejection apparatus to the liquid ejection head in a liquid ejection direction (see at least col. 54, lines 54-60) and in a direction orthogonal to the liquid ejection direction (see at least col. 53, lines 25-30).
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 9-11, there are three (242, 246, 248) or more of the adjustment parts for one positioning member. The adjustment part adjusts a distance between the positioning member and the liquid ejection member in a liquid ejection direction (see at least col. 54, lines 54-60). The liquid ejection head is a full-line-type liquid ejection head (see at least col. 1, lines 35-40). The liquid ejection head is attachable to and detachable from a liquid ejection apparatus, and upon attachment of the liquid ejection head to the liquid ejection apparatus, the positioning member performs positioning of the liquid ejection apparatus to the liquid ejection head in a liquid ejection direction (see at least col. 54, lines 54-60) and in a direction orthogonal to the liquid ejection direction (see at least col. 53, lines 25-30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is allowed.
Claims 4 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Midorikawa et al. (US 10,343,411) and Shinoda (US 8,757,773) disclose liquid ejection heads with positioning members.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653