DETAILED ACTION
The IDS has been considered by the examiner.
The specification and drawings have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shako (US 2019/007969 in view of Takeda (US 2020/0404651).
Referring to claim 1, SHAKO discloses a communication apparatus (FIG. 3, AP 300, FIG. 6, and Par. 17, “access point”. Par. 6, “access points (hereinafter, abbreviated as APs), ”APs #101 and #102) comprising:
a receiver configured to receive upward data being transmitted from a terminal (FIG. 1, “AP#2”. Par. 6, 57, “downlink data is transferred in the path from the GW to the STA via APs #101 and #102, and uplink data is transferred in the opposite path”. FIG. 11-15, “uplink time periods are set in which uplink data is transferred”, note that figures 11-15 and 6 and 57 describe uplink data transferred from STA to Aps #101 and #102. Here, uplink is equivalent to upward from station to access point) during an upward period from a terminal transmission start time to a terminal transmission end time in an upward slot (FIG. 20, FIG. 23, Par. 174, “match the transmission start position of the uplink data of the TDD type. For example, the GW 200 measures the delay period when data is sent and received in the path from the GW 200 to the STA 400; and, based on the delay period, the STA 400 adjusts the timing for sending data”. Par. 144, “plurality of slots identified as “SLOT #0”, “SLOT #1”, . . ., “SLOT #9” assigned to a single frame, the notification information (beacon information) is assigned to the first slot “SLOT #0”. The notification information processing unit of a plurality of wireless communication devices (in this case, the GW 200 and the AP 300) assigns, in a plurality of paths P21 and P22”, note that in 4G/5G, stations or UEs and access points use different, complementary timing slots for uplink (UE to network) and downlink (network to UE) communication, scheduled by the base station, to avoid interference. Further, figure 23 shows that the access points have their own slots e.g., transmission slot #1 and the station has its own slot for reception e.g., reception slot #1), during an own apparatus reception period being equal in length to the upward period from an own apparatus reception start time being later than the terminal transmission start time by a propagation delay time (FIG. 20, 22-23, and Par. 152, 153, 8 and 57, “information #0 is sent from the GW 200 to the two APs 300 (identified as “AP #1” and “AP #2” illustrated in FIG. 22). At that time, the beacon information #1 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #1” to the STA 400, and the beacon information #2 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #2” to two STAs 400 (“STA #1” and “STA #2” illustrated in FIG. 22”, “gap periods are formed due to delay periods (the delay in slot units and the space propagation delay) occurring at the time of performing data transfer”. Par. 8, “during the transfer of downlink data, a delay period Δt 101 attributed to the delay in slot units and attributed to the space propagation delay occurs”. Note that the station or User Equipment (UEs) and access points use different, complementary timing slots for uplink (UE to network) and downlink (network to UE) communication, scheduled by the base station, to avoid interference. Further note that as depicted in figure 23. Further note that the propagation delay is absolutely inherent; it's a fundamental physical limitation caused by the finite speed of signals traveling through any medium (wires, fiber, air) and the internal delays within electronic components like logic gates, making it an unavoidable part of all electronic communication and data transfer. While you can minimize it with faster materials and shorter distances, you can't eliminate it because signals can't travel infinitely fast, even at the speed of light); and
a transmitter configured to transmit downward data during an own apparatus transmission period being equal in length to a downward period from an own apparatus transmission start time being earlier than a terminal reception start time by the propagation delay time (FIG. 23, 47-49, Par. 6, 8, “downlink time periods are set in which downlink data is transferred (see “TDMA downlink”, “uplink time periods are set in which uplink data is transferred (see “TDMA uplink” in FIG. 48)”), in such a way that the terminal receives the downward data during the downward period from the terminal reception start time to a terminal reception end time in a downward slot (Par. 8, 56, “During the transfer of uplink data, it is the opposite to the case of downlink data transfer. In this case, at the time of performing downlink data transfer and uplink data transfer between the GW and the STA; for example, after sending data during downlink time slots, the GW waits for a predetermined delay period (gap period) until data is received during uplink time slots”, “ downlink data is transferred in the path from the GW 200 to the STA 400 via the two APs 300 (“AP #1” and “AP #2” in FIGS. 1 and 2)”, note that the downlink is equivalent to downward and the access point transmits data downlink to the station in its timeslot that happens during the downward period from the terminal reception start time to a terminal reception end time in a downward slot, as depicted in figure 23), wherein the propagation delay time is calculated based on a position of the terminal and a position of an own apparatus (Par. 8, “during the transfer of downlink data, a delay period Δt 101 attributed to the delay in slot units and attributed to the space propagation delay occurs between . . . the AP #102 and the STA”, note that propagation delay is directly a function of distance, calculated as the physical distance divided by the signal's propagation speed, meaning the farther the transmitter and receiver are, the longer the delay, thus it is calculated based on a position of the terminal and a position of an own apparatus), a partial period of the own apparatus reception period and a partial period of the own apparatus transmission period overlap temporally (FIG. 23, 25, 27, Par. 57, “gap periods are formed due to delay periods (the delay in slot units and the space propagation delay) occurring at the time of performing data transfer”, note that figures 23, 25 and 27 clearly show that the reception period of the station and the transmission period of the access point have gaps between them, which reads on overlapping of the reception and transmission slots, thus, a partial period of the own apparatus reception period and a partial period of the own apparatus transmission period overlap temporally).
SHAKO is not relied on for disclosing a frequency of an upward carrier wave that carries the upward data and a frequency of a downward carrier wave that carries the downward data are identical.
In an analogous art, Takeda disclose a frequency of an upward carrier wave that carries the upward data and a frequency of a downward carrier wave that carries the downward data are identical (Par. 54, “uplink and downlink are subjected to time division multiplexing in the identical frequency band”, “it has been also studied for the future radio communication system to apply multi-slot scheduling, and apply Time Division Duplex (TDD). TDD is applied to the legacy LTE systems, too, and an identical frequency band of different slots (time slots) are used to perform communication on uplink and downlink. That is, according to TDD, uplink and downlink are subjected to time division multiplexing in the identical frequency band”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of SHAKO by incorporating the teachings of Takeda so that both frequency bands for uplink and downlink would be identical, and thus, using TDD scheme which provides specific channel reciprocities, for the purpose of used in as desired with the frequency sharing scheme of carrier aggregation, for the purpose of allowing for simplified hardware (one antenna), dynamic bandwidth sharing, and efficient spectrum use. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 7, SHAKO. A system (FIG. 3 and Par. 4, “wireless communication system, the present-day Wi-Fi is operated based on a technology called the CSMA technology (CSMA stands for Carrier Sense Multiple Access). In the CSMA technology, each wireless communication device (an access point or a device) performs communication by monitoring the radio waves of other wireless communication devices.”) comprising:
a communication apparatus (FIG. 3, AP 300, FIG. 6, and Par. 17, “access point”. Par. 6, “access points (hereinafter, abbreviated as APs),” APs #101 and #102. Note that AP 300 is the apparatus); and
a terminal configured to communicate with the communication apparatus (FIG. 3, 11 and 16 and Par. 4 and 6, “each wireless communication device (an access point or a device) performs communication by monitoring the radio waves of other wireless communication device”, “access points (hereinafter, abbreviated as APs), and a station (hereinafter, abbreviated as STA). Herein, downlink data is transferred in the path from the GW to the STA via APs #101 and #102, and uplink data is transferred in the opposite path.”), wherein the communication apparatus includes:
a receiver configured to receive upward data being transmitted from the terminal during an upward period from a terminal transmission start time to a terminal transmission end time in an upward slot (FIG. 1, “AP#2”. Par. 6, 57, “downlink data is transferred in the path from the GW to the STA via APs #101 and #102, and uplink data is transferred in the opposite path”. FIG. 11-15, “uplink time periods are set in which uplink data is transferred”, note that figures 11-15 and 6 and 57 describe uplink data transferred from STA to Aps #101 and #102. Here, uplink is equivalent to upward from station to access point. Also see FIG. 20, FIG. 23, Par. 174, “match the transmission start position of the uplink data of the TDD type. For example, the GW 200 measures the delay period when data is sent and received in the path from the GW 200 to the STA 400; and, based on the delay period, the STA 400 adjusts the timing for sending data”. Par. 144, “plurality of slots identified as “SLOT #0”, “SLOT #1”, . . . , “SLOT #9” assigned to a single frame, the notification information (beacon information) is assigned to the first slot “SLOT #0”. The notification information processing unit of a plurality of wireless communication devices (in this case, the GW 200 and the AP 300) assigns, in a plurality of paths P21 and P22”, note that in 4G/5G, stations or UEs and access points use different, complementary timing slots for uplink (UE to network) and downlink (network to UE) communication, scheduled by the base station, to avoid interference. Further, figure 23 shows that the access points have their own slots e.g., transmission slot #1 and the station has its own slot for reception e.g., reception slot #1), during an own apparatus reception period being equal in length to the upward period from an own apparatus reception start time being later than the terminal transmission start time by a propagation delay time (FIG. 20, 22-23, and Par. 152, 153, 8 and 57, “information #0 is sent from the GW 200 to the two APs 300 (identified as “AP #1” and “AP #2” illustrated in FIG. 22). At that time, the beacon information #1 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #1” to the STA 400, and the beacon information #2 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #2” to two STAs 400 (“STA #1” and “STA #2” illustrated in FIG. 22”, “gap periods are formed due to delay periods (the delay in slot units and the space propagation delay) occurring at the time of performing data transfer”. Par. 8, “during the transfer of downlink data, a delay period Δt 101 attributed to the delay in slot units and attributed to the space propagation delay occurs”. Note that the station or User Equipment (UEs) and access points use different, complementary timing slots for uplink (UE to network) and downlink (network to UE) communication, scheduled by the base station, to avoid interference. Further note that as depicted in figure 23. Further note that the propagation delay is absolutely inherent; it's a fundamental physical limitation caused by the finite speed of signals traveling through any medium (wires, fiber, air) and the internal delays within electronic components like logic gates, making it an unavoidable part of all electronic communication and data transfer. While you can minimize it with faster materials and shorter distances, you can't eliminate it because signals can't travel infinitely fast, even at the speed of light); and
a transmitter configured to transmit downward data during an own apparatus transmission period being equal in length to a downward period from an own apparatus transmission start time being earlier than a terminal reception start time by the propagation delay time (FIG. 23, 47-49, Par. 6, 8, “downlink time periods are set in which downlink data is transferred (see “TDMA downlink”, “uplink time periods are set in which uplink data is transferred (see “TDMA uplink” in FIG. 48)”),
in such a way that the terminal receives the downward data during the downward period from the terminal reception start time to a terminal reception end time in a downward slot (Par. 8, 56, “During the transfer of uplink data, it is the opposite to the case of downlink data transfer. In this case, at the time of performing downlink data transfer and uplink data transfer between the GW and the STA; for example, after sending data during downlink time slots, the GW waits for a predetermined delay period (gap period) until data is received during uplink time slots”, “ downlink data is transferred in the path from the GW 200 to the STA 400 via the two APs 300 (“AP #1” and “AP #2” in FIGS. 1 and 2)”, note that the downlink is equivalent to downward and the access point transmits data downlink to the station in its timeslot that happens during the downward period from the terminal reception start time to a terminal reception end time in a downward slot, as depicted in figure 23),
the propagation delay time is calculated based on a position of the terminal and a position of an own apparatus ((Par. 8, “during the transfer of downlink data, a delay period Δt 101 attributed to the delay in slot units and attributed to the space propagation delay occurs between . . . the AP #102 and the STA”, note that propagation delay is directly a function of distance, calculated as the physical distance divided by the signal's propagation speed, meaning the farther the transmitter and receiver are, the longer the delay, thus it is calculated based on a position of the terminal and a position of an own apparatus), a partial period of the own apparatus reception period and a partial period of the own apparatus transmission period overlap temporally (FIG. 23, 25, 27, Par. 57, “gap periods are formed due to delay periods (the delay in slot units and the space propagation delay) occurring at the time of performing data transfer”, note that figures 23, 25 and 27 clearly show that the reception period of the station and the transmission period of the access point have gaps between them, which reads on overlapping of the reception and transmission slots, thus, a partial period of the own apparatus reception period and a partial period of the own apparatus transmission period overlap temporally)
and the terminal includes:
a terminal transmitter configured to transmit the upward data during the upward period; and a terminal receiver configured to receive the downward data during the downward period (FIG. 20, 22-23, and Par. 152, 153, 8 and 57, “information #0 is sent from the GW 200 to the two APs 300 (identified as “AP #1” and “AP #2” illustrated in FIG. 22). At that time, the beacon information #1 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #1” to the STA 400, and the beacon information #2 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #2” to two STAs 400 (“STA #1” and “STA #2” illustrated in FIG. 22”, “gap periods are formed due to delay periods (the delay in slot units and the space propagation delay) occurring at the time of performing data transfer”. Par. 8, “during the transfer of downlink data, a delay period Δt 101 attributed to the delay in slot units and attributed to the space propagation delay occurs”. Note that the station or User Equipment (UEs) and access points use different, complementary timing slots for uplink (UE to network) and downlink (network to UE) communication, scheduled by the base station, to avoid interference. Further note that as depicted in figure 23. Further note that the propagation delay is absolutely inherent; it's a fundamental physical limitation caused by the finite speed of signals traveling through any medium (wires, fiber, air) and the internal delays within electronic components like logic gates, making it an unavoidable part of all electronic communication and data transfer. While you can minimize it with faster materials and shorter distances, you can't eliminate it because signals can't travel infinitely fast, even at the speed of light).
SHAKO is not relied on for the claim language: a frequency of an upward carrier wave that carries the upward data and a frequency of a downward carrier wave that carries the downward data are identical.
In an analogous art, Takeda discloses a frequency of an upward carrier wave that carries the upward data and a frequency of a downward carrier wave that carries the downward data are identical (Par. 54, “uplink and downlink are subjected to time division multiplexing in the identical frequency band”, “it has been also studied for the future radio communication system to apply multi-slot scheduling, and apply Time Division Duplex (TDD). TDD is applied to the legacy LTE systems, too, and an identical frequency band of different slots (time slots) are used to perform communication on uplink and downlink. That is, according to TDD, uplink and downlink are subjected to time division multiplexing in the identical frequency band”, note that downlink and the uplink frequencies are identical).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of SHAKO by incorporating the teachings of Takeda so that both frequency bands for uplink and downlink would be identical, and thus, using TDD scheme which provides specific channel reciprocities, for the purpose of used in as desired with the frequency sharing scheme of carrier aggregation, for the purpose of allowing for simplified hardware (one antenna), dynamic bandwidth sharing, and efficient spectrum use. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Referring to claim 13, SHAKO discloses a method (FIG. 3 and Par. 4, FIG. 16, “wireless communication system, the present-day Wi-Fi is operated based on a technology called the CSMA technology (CSMA stands for Carrier Sense Multiple Access). In the CSMA technology, each wireless communication device (an access point or a device) performs communication by monitoring the radio waves of other wireless communication devices.”) comprising:
receiving upward data being transmitted from a terminal during an upward period from a terminal transmission start time to a terminal transmission end time in an upward slot (FIG. 1, “AP#2”. Par. 6, 57, “downlink data is transferred in the path from the GW to the STA via APs #101 and #102, and uplink data is transferred in the opposite path”. FIG. 11-15, “uplink time periods are set in which uplink data is transferred”, note that figures 11-15 and 6 and 57 describe uplink data transferred from STA to Aps #101 and #102. Here, uplink is equivalent to upward from station to access point. Also see FIG. 20, FIG. 23, Par. 174, “match the transmission start position of the uplink data of the TDD type. For example, the GW 200 measures the delay period when data is sent and received in the path from the GW 200 to the STA 400; and, based on the delay period, the STA 400 adjusts the timing for sending data”. Par. 144, “plurality of slots identified as “SLOT #0”, “SLOT #1” . . . “SLOT #9” assigned to a single frame, the notification information (beacon information) is assigned to the first slot “SLOT #0”. The notification information processing unit of a plurality of wireless communication devices (in this case, the GW 200 and the AP 300) assigns, in a plurality of paths P21 and P22”, note that in 4G/5G, stations or UEs and access points use different, complementary timing slots for uplink (UE to network) and downlink (network to UE) communication, scheduled by the base station, to avoid interference. Further, figure 23 shows that the access points have their own slots e.g., transmission slot #1 and the station has its own slot for reception e.g., reception slot #1), during an own apparatus reception period being equal in length to the upward period from an own apparatus reception start time being later than the terminal transmission start time by a propagation delay time (FIG. 20, 22-23, and Par. 152, 153, 8 and 57, “information #0 is sent from the GW 200 to the two APs 300 (identified as “AP #1” and “AP #2” illustrated in FIG. 22). At that time, the beacon information #1 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #1” to the STA 400, and the beacon information #2 is sent from the AP 300 identified as “AP #2” to two STAs 400 (“STA #1” and “STA #2” illustrated in FIG. 22”, “gap periods are formed due to delay periods (the delay in slot units and the space propagation delay) occurring at the time of performing data transfer”. Par. 8, “during the transfer of downlink data, a delay period Δt 101 attributed to the delay in slot units and attributed to the space propagation delay occurs”. Note that the station or User Equipment (UEs) and access points use different, complementary timing slots for uplink (UE to network) and downlink (network to UE) communication, scheduled by the base station, to avoid interference. Further note that as depicted in figure 23. Further note that the propagation delay is absolutely inherent; it's a fundamental physical limitation caused by the finite speed of signals traveling through any medium (wires, fiber, air) and the internal delays within electronic components like logic gates, making it an unavoidable part of all electronic communication and data transfer. While you can minimize it with faster materials and shorter distances, you can't eliminate it because signals can't travel infinitely fast, even at the speed of light); and
transmitting downward data during an own apparatus transmission period being equal in length to a downward period from an own apparatus transmission start time being earlier than a terminal reception start time by the propagation delay time (FIG. 23, 47-49, Par. 6, 8, “downlink time periods are set in which downlink data is transferred (see “TDMA downlink”, “uplink time periods are set in which uplink data is transferred (see “TDMA uplink” in FIG. 48)”), in such a way that the terminal receives the downward data during the downward period from the terminal reception start time to a terminal reception end time in a downward slot (Par. 8, 56, “During the transfer of uplink data, it is the opposite to the case of downlink data transfer. In this case, at the time of performing downlink data transfer and uplink data transfer between the GW and the STA; for example, after sending data during downlink time slots, the GW waits for a predetermined delay period (gap period) until data is received during uplink time slots”, “ downlink data is transferred in the path from the GW 200 to the STA 400 via the two APs 300 (“AP #1” and “AP #2” in FIGS. 1 and 2)”, note that the downlink is equivalent to downward and the access point transmits data downlink to the station in its timeslot that happens during the downward period from the terminal reception start time to a terminal reception end time in a downward slot, as depicted in figure 23), wherein the propagation delay time is calculated based on a position of the terminal and a position of an own apparatus (Par. 8, “during the transfer of downlink data, a delay period Δt 101 attributed to the delay in slot units and attributed to the space propagation delay occurs between . . . the AP #102 and the STA”, note that propagation delay is directly a function of distance, calculated as the physical distance divided by the signal's propagation speed, meaning the farther the transmitter and receiver are, the longer the delay, thus it is calculated based on a position of the terminal and a position of an own apparatus),
a partial period of the own apparatus reception period and a partial period of the own apparatus transmission period overlap temporally (FIG. 23, 25, 27, Par. 57, “gap periods are formed due to delay periods (the delay in slot units and the space propagation delay) occurring at the time of performing data transfer”, note that figures 23, 25 and 27 clearly show that the reception period of the station and the transmission period of the access point have gaps between them, which reads on overlapping of the reception and transmission slots, thus, a partial period of the own apparatus reception period and a partial period of the own apparatus transmission period overlap temporally).
SHAKO is not relied on for the claim language: a frequency of an upward carrier wave that carries the upward data and a frequency of a downward carrier wave that carries the downward data are identical.
In an analogous art, Takeda discloses a frequency of an upward carrier wave that carries the upward data and a frequency of a downward carrier wave that carries the downward data are identical (Par. 54, “uplink and downlink are subjected to time division multiplexing in the identical frequency band”, “it has been also studied for the future radio communication system to apply multi-slot scheduling, and apply Time Division Duplex (TDD). TDD is applied to the legacy LTE systems, too, and an identical frequency band of different slots (time slots) are used to perform communication on uplink and downlink. That is, according to TDD, uplink and downlink are subjected to time division multiplexing in the identical frequency band”, note that downlink and the uplink frequencies are identical).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of SHAKO by incorporating the teachings of Takeda so that both frequency bands for uplink and downlink would be identical, and thus, using TDD scheme which provides specific channel reciprocities, for the purpose of used in as desired with the frequency sharing scheme of carrier aggregation, for the purpose of allowing for simplified hardware (one antenna), dynamic bandwidth sharing, and efficient spectrum use. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-6, 8-12 and 14-18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14:
The prior art does not disclose the limitation: “a transmission-reception dual-use reflective antenna including a primary radiator, an antenna receiver, and a reflection mirror, wherein the primary radiator is configured to cause the downward data being transmitted from the transmitter to be incident on the reflection mirror at a transmission incidence angle, the reflection mirror is configured to reflect the downward data being incident at the transmission incidence angle, at a transmission reflection angle, transmit the downward data to the terminal, reflect the upward data being incident at a reception incidence angle from the terminal, at a reception reflection angle, and transmit the upward data to the antenna receiver, the antenna receiver is configured to receive the upward data reflected at the reception reflection angle, and transmit the upward data to the receiver, and, at a reflection point of the reflection mirror where the downward data are reflected and where the upward data are reflected, the transmission reflection angle and the reception incidence angle are identical, and the transmission incidence angle and the reception reflection angle are different”, as recited in claims 2, 8 and 14 along with other limitations of base and intermediate claims.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17:
The prior art does not disclose the limitation: “a transmitting reflective antenna including a primary radiator and a transmitting reflection mirror; and a receiving reflective antenna including an antenna receiver and a receiving reflection mirror, wherein the downward data being transmitted from the transmitter are reflected by the transmitting reflection mirror via the primary radiator, and are transmitted to the terminal, the upward data being transmitted from the terminal are reflected by the receiving reflection mirror, and are transmitted to the receiver via the antenna receiver, and the transmitting reflection mirror and the receiving reflection mirror are disposed at positions where detouring electric power from the transmitting reflective antenna to the receiving reflective antenna becomes a predetermined electric power value or less”, along with other limitations of base and intermediate claims.
Claims 3-4, 9-10 and 15-16 depend upon allowable claims 2, 8 and 14 respectively, mentioned as allowable above, thus, they are allowable for being dependent on allowable claims.
Claims 6, 12 and 18 depends upon allowable claims 5, 11 and 17 respectively, mentioned allowable above, thus, they are allowable for being dependent upon allowable claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KATHY W WANG-HURST whose telephone number is (571)270-5371. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/FRED A CASCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644